Cakes, Toppers, & Stands in Richmond, KY: Bit of Whimsy Cakes
Bit of Whimsy Cakes
123 Highland View
Richmond, KY 40475
(859) 582-5010

Bit of Whimsy Cakes



View Bit of Whimsy Cakes in a new window.

write a review
  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 8 Reviews
Review: AWESOME!!!
09/09/2012
  • Sarah C

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • For my wedding I selected a four tier cake with two layers of red velvet with cream cheese filling and the other two were marble. The cake was amazing and a HUGE hit! Everyone, myself included, absolutely loved it! The cake was moist and tasted very fresh the buttercream was delicious. We also ordered a chocolate with peanut butter filling tool box grooms cake and if you are a peanut butter fan, then this cake is a must have!
  • The butter pecan was delicious
  • I was very pleased with my experience and I plan on using Becky for all other events.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Couldn't have been better!
12/31/2011
  • Amanda R

  • Wedding Date: 09/17/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I got a 3 tier round cake. The top layer was red velvet, middle layer butter pecan and the bottom layer was also red velvet. The icing my husband and went with was cream cheese in between the layers and then butter icing for the outside. It was amazing! I loved that we were able to switch it up and do different flavors for different layers!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? The main color I went with for my wedding was orange. I found a pic online that I really liked and when I saw the finished produt at the reception, I couldn't believe how AWESOME it looked! It was just a swirl design that was from top to bottom.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? I COULDN'T HAVE BEEN HAPPIER ABOUT THE CAKE! They did a fantastic job on the design! I had a friend that was supposed to do the grooms cake and she bailed 2 days before the wedding. My mom called Bit of Whimsy Cakes and she said it would be no problem and it turned out great! It was a round chocoalate cake with a yankees symbol on top.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? "That cake was better than my own wedding cake!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Deliciously Affordable
01/18/2011
  • Kimberly D

  • Wedding Date: 05/22/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Bit of Whimsy created my wedding cake as well as my one-of-a-kind full scale bass guitar groom's cake. They were both absolutely delicious- the best wedding cake I've ever tasted. The presentation was perfect. My guests are still talking about the cake!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Becky helped me design my own cake, offering her expert advice but allowing me to make all of the decisions. She was so helpful.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? When you look back on your wedding day, you only remember the things that stood out, and the cakes were definitely a stand out! I would recommend Bit of Whimsy to anyone, and will absolutely go to her first the next time I need a cake!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? "I didn't know that guitar was cake, I thought it was real!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Berea, Kentucky Wedding
01/07/2011
  • Amy G

  • Wedding Date: 09/05/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I wanted a more simple cake than a lot of brides and even though Rebecca can do elaborate well, she was happy to accommodate me too. I got a two-tiered square yellow cake with the signature butter cream. The cake was white frosting with white frosting dots.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? I didn't try any other options.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Yes I was happy with it! I had won a gift certificate for a shower cake, but we wanted a small cake for the wedding since we were serving other desserts, so she was willing to apply the gift certificate to the wedding cake. We ended up ordering a much smaller shower cake from her to try it out!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? Most guests didn't get any wedding cake at the wedding, because we cut it so late. However we have it all in the freezer and brought some out for family at Christmas and they all raved about it!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Delicious
01/06/2011
  • Dackoma S

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? A three tiered square pecan cake with butter cream icing. The bottom of each tier was wrapped in red ribbon. The top tier was decorated in flowers and our intials. The cake was reasonably priced and worth every penny.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? The strawberry cake with cream cheese frosting.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? The cake was truly delicious! Our wedding guests ate everything but the top tier and that was because it had been stashed away in the fridge by the caterer. Would definitely use Bit of Whimsy again!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? The cake is soo pretty and tastes great, it is probably one of the best wedding cakes I have every tasted!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Morehart + Shanks Wedding Cake = Amazing!!!
10/23/2010
  • Jenna S

  • Wedding Date: 10/16/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Originally, I went to Becky not knowing what I wanted for our wedding cake. About the only thing I knew was I wanted our cake to be the highlight and focal point of our reception...boy, did I get just that! In our sitting, my now mother-in-law and I browsed through a few cake magazines and I saw this cake that I thought "That's different, but I REALLY like it!" The cake Becky delivered was more than that! It was absolutely AMAZING! It was a five tier wedding cake with a glass container holding a flower and lights in the middle, all five tier's sitting on a stand with tulle all around with lights under the cake. I had given her some of the remaining artificial flowers and told her "Not sure what you can do with these, but here they are and have at it!" I also had a 6 inch monogram cake topper which she included with the flowers and the cake was just far better than I could have ever imagined!! Oh, and the taste of the cake was absolutely delicious!! Out of ALL of the cake I had tried in the 1 1/2 years we were engaged (at bridal events and whatnot), this was by far the best tasting! She has many different flavors and fillings- we went with vanilla cake with peanut butter filling on two of our layers, chocolate cake with peanut butter filling, vanilla with a filling, and strawberry with buttercream filling. ALL the layers were a big hit for the guests!! The favorite was the vanilla cake with peanut butter filling!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Yes! Becky was full of ideas! She takes your thoughts and runs with it! If you know exactly what you want, she'll create it! If you don't really know what you want, she'll give you ideas, but either way, she makes your dreams reality and she gives you much more than you could ever have imagined!
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? I was very happy and definitely would do it again! I recommend Bit of Whimsy to anyone and everyone! I have already started getting word out by word of mouth and just posting pictures, everyone is amazed! The cake was absolutely gorgeous and better than I could have ever imagined! I teared up when I saw our wedding cake for the first time at our reception! It was absolutely amazing! (Can you tell I really REALLY LOVED our cake!)
  • What was the best comment from a guest? The best comment from a few of my guests was "It is absolutely the most amazing cake I have ever seen!" And many of them commented that it was the best tasting wedding cake they have ever had! All in all, it was absolutely wonderful! Many people wanted to take some home with them, so you know it tasted good!! :-)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Martin Wedding!!!
04/05/2010
  • Dorian M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I had one of the biggest cakes made, it was a three tier cake with five cakes for the base. It was white and buttercup with beautiful flowers. She did a fantastic job on our wedding cake, making it one of the best days of my life. My cake i know was one of the best around.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? I only went to Becky for my cake design, i didn't trust anyone else.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? I am very happy with how everything turned out. My wedding cake is in my freezer whats left of it anyway and i cannot wait to get a slice on our first anniversary.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? The very best cake decorator around!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful!
04/05/2010
  • Mallory M

  • Wedding Date: 03/06/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? There were wonderful cake selections and they all looked and tasted wonderful!
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? The chocolate cake with peanut butter filling
  • What was the best comment from a guest? The Ale-8 Cake!!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review