Cakes Confidential
344 West 38th Street btw 8th and 9th Ave
New York, NY 10018
(917) 941-0487

Cakes Confidential



View Cakes Confidential in a new window.

write a review
  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 4.9
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 9 Reviews
Review: elegant (fake) wedding cake :)
02/17/2011
  • K P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • A three tier oval cake with an oversized middle tier that had a monogram on it. It had pale yellow fondant and the only other decoration was some simple piping. I wanted understated elegance and that's what I got the cake looked exactly like the picture I gave them.
  • Yes but i know what I wanted. I love researching so I brought tons of pictures with me.
  • Yes on both counts.
  • "That's the cake I want when I get married, now I need to find the guy. So your brother's looking awfully cute..." my college roomie

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Snow flake cake
02/17/2011
  • Aisha S

  • Wedding Date: 12/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I ordered 3 tier snowflake cake that was round with snowflakes on it. It was great.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Yes. Anya showed us several options but we were having a winter wedding and that was the design I liked best for our theme.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Yes. I recommended faux wedding cakes to all my friends who are getting married. By end of the night no one wants cake anyway and most of it get thrown away. Or it tastes awful. Why is wedding cake always so bad?? We saved money, had a pretty cake to take pictures with and made my grandparents happy (the cake was oddly important to my grandmother, she loved it I just didn't tell her it was fake ).
  • What was the best comment from a guest? Awwww sweetie. Its beautiful! -my grandma

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: 5 Stars
02/17/2011
  • Misha V

  • Wedding Date: 01/14/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I ordered one of their DIY Fake Cakes (4 tiers, square, with ivory fondant). I always wanted to do my own wedding cake but after reading all the warnings not to or it'll be a disaster on wedding sites I was scared. A friend who used one of their fake cakes for her wedding recommended it and I saw the DIY option on their website. I loved getting to personalize my wedding cake. I made it special for us.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Nope. I really wanted to decorate my own cake. Cakes Confidential basically made me a perfect blank model cake (its fake inside, but that didn't brother me) for me to decorate. We served cookies and milk for dessert. Since it was fake and there's no time constraints. I got it 3 weeks early and decorated when I had free time.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Yes and yes.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? 'That's so cool.. how did the baker know... you did it .. . Wow" I'm an part time artist so I paint pictures on events when we were dating that were meaningful to Ryan and I on the sides of the cake with cake coloring. Its still in my kitchen I don't want to get rid of it yet.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fake & Great
02/17/2011
  • ida c

  • Wedding Date: 02/12/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We got a 5 tier cake, covered in pearlized fondant, with lots of flowers cascading down the side.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Yes. I already knew the type of cake that I wanted.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? I was thrilled. Every other wedding cake place I emailed quoted me $1,100 or more for the cake that I wanted and Cakes Confidential did it for just over $500 and it looked great. No one guessed it was fake (until I told them, and they thought I was smart to save the money).
  • What was the best comment from a guest? "that's an amazing cake!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Cakes Confidential
02/03/2010
  • Shanon M

  • Wedding Date: 11/07/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I loved my cake.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? "Soooo pretty..." "I love your cake!!" "The best cake ever"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Everyone rent their cake
02/03/2010
  • Megan O

  • Wedding Date: 01/02/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Cakes Confidential - great experience
02/03/2010
  • JaneRyanwedding@gmail.com

  • Reviews Posted: 1

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 4.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Cake Rentals?? - best thing ever!
02/03/2010
  • Katty H

  • Wedding Date: 05/29/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Our cake is stunning. Love it! We never could have afforded a cake like ours without Cakes Confidential.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Beautiful & Affordable
02/03/2010
  • Ann S

  • Wedding Date: 12/12/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? The cake was an amazing 5 tiers with rhinestones and pale pink roses. It was exactly what I wanted. We ordered our sheet cake from Cakes Confidential too. We had the carrot cake which everyone said was the best wedding cake they'd ever had. Its true what they say about sheet cake tasting better because its fresh.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? "Best wedding cake I've ever tasted" - Best Man "Stunning" - Groom's Mother

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor