Cakes, Toppers, & Stands in Castalia, OH: Tonya's Cakes
Tonya's Cakes
5812 Tiffin Avenue
Castalia, OH 44824
(419) 684-9000

Tonya's Cakes



View Tonya's Cakes in a new window.

write a review
  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 17 Reviews
Review: Absolutely Amazing Cakes
10/15/2011
  • Victoria K

  • Reviews Posted: 27

  • Tonya baked our wedding cake and a groom's cake. The flavors we decided on for our wedding cake were Chocolate Chocolate Chip and Cappuccino. I suprised my husband with a groom's cake which was Red Velvet. Every flavor was beyond delicious! And the cakes were very moist. Our guests really enjoyed the cake, people were going back for seconds! I took a piece of each because I wanted to make sure I got to have each flavor, it will be totally worth the time at the gym. Also, our wedding cake was absolutely beautiful! It exceeded my expectations. The groom's cake was also fantastic and a big hit with our guests. Tonya was so helpful helping me decide on a design for the groom's cake. I will reccomend Tonya over and over again for any occasion or if someone just wants a really delicious cake. Tonya is a very warm and inviting person who is very easy to work with, I am really happy we had the opportunity to meet her and her husband.
  • There are so many selections that it is hard to narrow it down because you want to try all of them. In my opinion any choice would be an excellent one. You won't be disappointed!
  • We were very thrilled with everything! We would most definetly go to Tonya again and again! She is fabulous!!!
  • OooooooooooooMmmmmmmm, its like little bits of Heaven, oh this is so good.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: Fabulous cake! Tonya was great to work with!
12/23/2010
  • Maria K

  • Wedding Date: 09/25/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Four-tiered, round wedding cake with fondant-like buttercream and four flavors of cake - chocolate peanut butter w/chocolate ganache filling, cappuccino w/chocolate ganache filling, strawberry w/cream cheese filling, peaches & cream w/peaches & cream filling. Loved my wedding cake!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Tonya has several flavors and fillings to pick from. There are so many combinations you can pick. She also has three different types of frosting to choose from as well. I love the fact that she creates a separate anniversary tier and decorates it similar to the cake. The anniversary tier does not go to the ceremony. Instead when you return all the cake parts (stands, supports, etc), she gives you your anniversary tier.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? I was extremely happy with my wedding cake. I would definitely use Tonya again for future cakes.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? I had so many people tell me that they loved the cake. Several people told me they had two pieces. One of my guests had seven pieces of cake - no lie!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: The Best of The BEST!!!
09/23/2010
  • Grace W

  • Wedding Date: 08/22/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Wedding cakes on separate teirs with a castle on the bottom cake, monogram on the top cake, and calla lillies on top of the other cakes....set off by a fountain with purple water in the middle of it all. one word.......WOW!!!! The grooms cake was phenominal!!! My husband is a poet and he wanted a microphone for his cake......It was BIG!!! By the time we got to cut into it, there were so many finger prints because no one belived it was a real cake!!! two words.....breath taking!!!!!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Anything we all could think of was an option!!!
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? We were all happy and cant wait to be able to use Tonyas cakes again.....
  • What was the best comment from a guest? There were soooooo many........"WOW", "BREATH TAKING", "AMAZING", "IS THAT REAL", "VERY DELICIOUS", "WOW SHE IS SOOOOOO ARTISTIC", "ITS LIKE A FAIRYTALE", "THATS THE BIGGEST MICROPHONE I'VE EVR SEEN".........."I GOTTA GET HER NUMBER"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: Dolphin Wedding Cake
08/29/2010
  • Tabatha S

  • Wedding Date: 08/06/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We got our wedding cake and it turned out absolutely Beautiful. Our wedding was a dolphin, water themed wedding and Tonya made it to go with the theme. She made fondant dolphins to be put on the cake and made it look very nice.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Yes, she had all kinds of options to choose from and to help design our own cake. We had no idea how we wanted our cake to look. By going through her pictures and finding little pieces from each cake that we liked, she helped us design a cake that we were very pleased with.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? We are very happy with how the cake turned out. It turned out even better then we could have imagined or pictured ourselves as designing for our wedding. We would gladly go to Tonya again, and if we ever need to have another cake made, we will def. go to her first.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? Most every guest that I know of thought that the cake was very pretty and very different.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: Blushing Bride
08/16/2010
  • Terri W

  • Wedding Date: 08/07/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We receiced the perfect wedding cake that was made just for us on our special day. It was a 3 tier cake that met allll our expectations. Tonya and her husband were very friendly and you can see that they are very passionate about the work that they do with the cakes that they put together for people.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Tonya had so many different styles and different kinds of flavor of cakes that you can pick from.....u can also sample the different kinds of cakes if you ask her.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? yesssssss we were/happy with going with Tonya's Cake. I have her number program in my phone for our next cake event.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: Tonya is wonderful!!
07/16/2010
  • Kelly C

  • Wedding Date: 06/26/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Tonya created a beautiful, unique, and delicious wedding cake for us. We went to various bakers around the area and none compared to Tonya's great tasting cake. We stopped at Catawba island Club to take pictures before guests arrived and my husband and i were able to see everything set up. We were blown away by how beautiful the cake looked. We provided a tree trunk cake base to go with our wedding theme, and Tonya brilliantly placed the cascading green and white flowers to give the cake that "WOW" factor every bride is looking for. She also created a groom's cake for us (the Spartan "S") and placed it by all of my husband's Michigan State Baseball memorabilia. This was a hit with all of our groomsmen.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Tonya has so many choices on flavors, fillings, and design. She is also open to unique ideas, which is something that I really liked about her. In the inital stages of planning, I would give an idea and Tonya would take it in various directions in order to give me some options as to what she could do. I LOVED working with her.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? We were beyond happy. We truly loved everything about our wedding cake experience. When I picked up our anniversary tier, I told Tonya that I plan on ordering cakes from her for all occasions. She is not only a wonderful baker, she is a wonderful person, and i look forward to seeing her throughout the years and eating her wonderful cake!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? My husband's brother is the biggest wedding cake critic there is, so if he says the cake is good...it must be outstanding. So our best comment came from hiim: "Wow, that was one heck of a cake. Nice job with that." In addition to him, we had so many compliments throughout the night. In fact, we did not have any extra cake left over. Good thing Tonya put out a container that had directions for the person cutting the cake to put a piece of each flavor in it for us to enjoy the next day. That was wonderful!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: Wedding Cake
07/05/2010
  • Barb P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We were open for suggestions. After seeing her collection of cakes she had done in the past we knew anything she did would be gorgeous! The cake was 4 tiers, bottom square, second and 3rd layers were hexagon and top was round. Thr bottom of each layer was a light eggplant fondent wrapped with white pearls and with white clusters of dotted swiss randomly. The flavors were wedding white, strawberry champaign and chocolate/chocolate chip. The frosting was a butter cream that was delicious (not real sweet). We also purchased a rasberry sauce to drizzle over the cake. The cake was very moist.
  • Did they have any other options you liked? Oh yes!!! We visited her house prior to booking her for numerous samples to taste. She also sent home samples for the groom since he could not make it to the visit. Her prices could not be beat even though we payed extra for delivery, living in a different county.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? We were beyond happy!!! When you return the cake supplies Tonya has the Anniversary topper waiting and ready for freezing. Did not have to worry about transporting the topper home that night. She also gave directions for freezing and defrosting along with pictures of the cake, brides parents with the cake in 2 copies for both the bride and the parents!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? Cannot count the times we were asked "where did you get this cake from"!!!! They loved the different flavors, rasberry glaze, moistness and the "not too sweet/sugary taste"! I will make the 4o min. drive again for other occassion cakes!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!!
06/20/2010
  • iissabrina

  • Wedding Date: 06/05/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? A beautiful 4 tiered wedding cake that was white and Tiffany blue...and a white fondant bow on top. Butter cream icing and lots of gorgeous piping detail/work.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE CAKE! Got tons of compliments from guest! Not only was it an amazing cake but it tasted yummy! Tonya was wonderful to work with. I planned my wedding from out of town and she was very accommodating any time I had any questions or needed to make an appointment. Her and her husband are dolls and are such a sweet loving couple. I would absolutely order another cake from her! Can't wait to eat my anniversary tier-that she made for us separately! My whole experience was a delight!!!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? YES! we got TONS of compliments on the cake...still receiving them. The cake was the only object we have over 20 pictures of just from other people....that has to say something! You will not regret getting your cake from Tonya!! She's very talented and it showed!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: Our wedding cake was amazing!
03/10/2010
  • Rob M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We requested a three tiered Monet inspired design; Tonya worked her magic and nailed it. It looked as if Claude Monet himself painted my cake! Each tier was a different flavor, one just as tasty as the next...
  • Did they have any other options you liked? We didn't want the traditional style wedding cake, so we went with a design that incorporated just three basic tiers without the frilly piping and boarders; then Tonya "hand painted" the frosting to replicate Monet's "Water Lillies" painting

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

Review: Hands Down, Best Cakes Anywhere
12/20/2009
  • Heidi H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We had a small wedding and Tonya was able to put together the aspects of the cake we wanted, and downsizing to the right size we needed. She had so many flavors to choose from! Thankfully we had the option of choosing different flavors for each tier. The cake flavor was to die for. The best I've ever tasted.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? We were absolutely happy. I can honestly say that I could eat Tonya's cakes on a daily basis and be happy. We have continued going through her for other family events, including birthdays. I no longer need to call for my birthday cake on a yearly basis. She has me penciled in. Yes, she is that good.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? Everyone loved Tonya's cake and were ready for second helpings. I've never seen that with anyone else's cake.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor