Cakes, Toppers, & Stands in Gresham, OR: Sweet Cakes By Melissa
Sweet Cakes By Melissa
44 Ne division
Gresham, OR 97030
(503) 674-5400

http://www.sweetcakesweb.com



View http://www.sweetcakesweb.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Design Selection : 4.7
  • Option Selection : 4.7
  • Presentation : 4.7
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 4.7
  • 4.7

  • 15 Reviews
Review: Terrible Service!
02/10/2013
  • John M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Terrible Service! Not personalized at all, had to wait almost a week to get a response regarding a cake order. Ordered a cake for a wedding a few months ago and was heavily disappointed, very dry and stale, had to eat with milk to keep it down.
  • None
  • Not at all, would look elsewhere
  • At least we had milk to wash down the cake

Overall Rating: 1.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 1.0
  • Option Selection : 1.0
  • Presentation : 1.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 1.0

write a review
Review: Everything you could hope for...and more!
10/30/2009
  • Diane T

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Our daughter chose Portland, OR, for her destination wedding on July 25, 2009, so, except for one meeting with Melissa 9 months before the big day, all of our contact with Sweet Cakes was primarily by email. We were delighted with Melissa & company from our first contact. She was very warm and friendly, let us taste test as much cake as we wished and had an amazing selection of flavors and designs. Not only did the cakes look fantastic but they were delicious, too. Sweet Cakes made a Girls Night Out Cake (the Bra Cake in white with black trim for 50) that was perfect as well as a 3 tier wedding cake that was exquisite. All she had as guidance for the wedding cake was a magazine picture and our color choices. Sweet Cakes handled last minute needs calmly and effortlessly. We never had a moment's concern that anything unexpected would happen with the cakes. Melissa will even be recreating the top tier for the first anniversary celebration. So cool. What more could you ask for? Thanks, Sweet Cakes.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Zebra cake
10/30/2009
  • Eva P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I wanted a zebra pattern fondant cake with hot pink ribbon around like a wrapped present. The cake was stunning to say the least. The zebra pattern could not be more precise, it was great! We requested the blackberry cream for flavor and that was also really good. I have absolutely no complaints! Melissa was great communicating back and forth and answering all my questions and requests. She was awesome to work with! The whole experience was an absolute blessing! The party guests are still talking about it Thanks Melissa!
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? ABSOLUTELY PLEASED!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful wedding cake
09/21/2009
  • Jennifer J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was the best comment from a guest? Melissa did a fabulous job on my wedding cake. Not only was it absolutely beautiful, it was delicious! We ran out of cake... people came back for thirds! People keep telling me that was the best that they have ever had! You have a customer for life. I will refer everyone I know to you! You are the best! -Take care, Jennifer Kain Jackson

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Melissa is awesome!
03/09/2009
  • Rohl

  • Wedding Date: 03/15/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I was really undecided on what style of cake I wanted, so I left it up to Melissa at Sweet Cakes. I sent her a picture of the day my husband proposed and asked her to recreate the scene somehow and surprise me. I did not see the cake until our wedding day. It was amazing! The poppyseed/strawberry was so good we talk about how it still after a year of marriage. Thank you Sweet Cakes by Melissa! Highly recommended!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: The Perfect Cake for our day
02/09/2009
  • csm.cummings

  • Wedding Date: 06/21/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? Our wedding cake design was simple and unique. Melissa found a design that incorporated our colors, light blue and charcoal grey, that suited both of our tastes. We had the Tuxedo cake for one layer and two layers of the cinnamon chocolate swirl. They were unique flavors, but not so unique that it deterred any guests looking for a traditional cake flavor. I, the bride, don't normally like cake much, but I loved everything about our cake from Sweet Cakes. It was delicious!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? We knew we would have a cake, but we were not sure on size or flavor. We did also have a dessert bar with brownies and different tarts. They looked nice on the cake table, but the cake was the star of the show!
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Yes, actually we could not wait to eat our left overs until our one year anniversary and have already finished what was left of the cake. We are thinking of ordering a small cake for our one year anniversary because we loved it so much.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? People always tell us how amazing the cake looked and that it was beautiful, but simple. Everyone tells us how good it tasted and that they wish they had grabbed another slice before the reception was over!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: No one compares!
12/17/2008
  • veedubchick

  • Wedding Date: 04/26/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We chose a four tier cake with two different flavors. We had white cake with fresh strawberries, and chocolate cake with vanilla custard filling. They were both so delicious that I probably couldn't choose between the two of them. We got 2 huge pieces of each cake to take to our hotel room that night, and we ate it all up!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? When we went over to Melissa's house, we tried a chocolate peanut butter cake that was out of this world! I would have picked that one if we didn't choose the other chocolate one. I ordered the chocolate peanut butter one for my best friend's birthday, and everyone at the party flipped it was so good!
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Melissa went above and beyond our expectations! She was the 1st wedding cake place that we tried. We had a few other appointments with other bakery's, but after we met her and fell in love with her cakes (and her) we canceled our other appointments and told her we'd love her to make our cake! Melissa is one of the sweetest ladies, she was such a pleasure to work with!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? That is was really yummy! I've even had a few guests ask for her number for other events, such as an anniversary party and birthday parties.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Yummy and pretty!
12/14/2008
  • Erinwinton

  • Wedding Date: 08/31/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? We had a three teir cake and all three teirs were different flavors. The top was after dinner mint, middle fantasy fruit, bottom was an amazing chocolate w/ strawberry (con't remember the name. It looked great and tasted AMAZING!! We will be getting one for our 1 year anniversary because it was so scrumptious!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? I don't remember.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Absolutely! Melissa is awesome!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? They thought it was great!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Cakes!!!!
12/12/2008
  • HarmonyMaxwell

  • Wedding Date: 08/23/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? My now husband and I are a rather "modern" couple, so we wanted a cake that would reflect our funky style. Melissa personally designed a custom cake just for us and it was amazing! Everyone at the wedding was talking about it all night. Not only was it awesome looking but it tasted great too! We had a different flavor on each layer and it was delicious!!! It was a 3-tier square cake with a buttercream frosting (champagne colored) with black and crimson waves and circles on it and a stainless steel Monogram ("M") on top. It was amazing looking!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? We went to SEVERAL cake shops and most places were big on floral decorations (yuck). Melissa went through several different designs with me! Different shaped, heights, designs, layers, etc. We tried stripes, waves, solid colors, circles. Needless to say she was very patient with me! Unlike some places that wanted me to get a round cake with flowers and anythings outside of those specifications "wouldn't be pretty" (so says Beaverton Bakery........)
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Meet? She exceeded them! Right from thew start at the tasting she more than a dozen cake flavors she made just for us to try. And from there she was more than helpful with my millions of questions! Not to mention she was very well priced! Especially for such a custom cake!
  • What was the best comment from a guest? They loved it! They thought it was the most unique and amazing cake they'd ever seen. They also kept commenting on how good it tasted! It was more than I could have hoped for!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
Review: Simply Amazing!
12/12/2008
  • Sookie

  • Wedding Date: 12/10/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What did you get and how did you like it? I've had the great pleasure of experiencing many of Melissa's cakes. Not only are they beautiful, the flavor is absolutely astounding. I've been in the events business for 12 years now and have seen and tasted many cakes. Melissa's are beautifully done, and she is not limited in her design abilities. If you can dream it, she can create it! The texture and flavor of her cakes is the best out there, and she is always coming up with new and delicious recipes!
  • Did they have any other options you liked? All of the cakes I've tasted from Melissa are amazing. If I had to pick a current favorite it would be the chocolate dipped strawberry cake. The balance of flavors is perfect. A close second would be the kahlua mudslide - absolutely scrumptious. I do like her poppyseed cake as well, however I feel it has been overdone at events. This is another reason to go with Melissa - she always has fresh, new recipes available that haven't been over done in the event industry.
  • Were you happy? Would you do it again? Melissa's cakes have exceeded my expectations every time. Melissa herself exceeded my expectations. Within seconds of meeting her it was obvious she truly loves what she does, and she truly cares about her customers and making their experience whether a wedding, birthday, or any occassion the best possible.
  • What was the best comment from a guest? Everyone has loved every one of them. Many of my friends are also in the event industry in one capacity or another. We all agreed Melissa's cakes are some of the best we've ever tasted, and certainly the best around right now. You can't go wrong with Sweet Cakes by Melissa!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Design Selection : 5.0
  • Option Selection : 5.0
  • Presentation : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly Staff : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor