Catering in West Chester, PA: Delightful Desserts and Culinary Creations
Delightful Desserts and Culinary Creations
510 East Barnard St Unit 14A
West Chester, PA 19382
(610) 692-5551

Delightful Desserts and Culinary Cr



View Delightful Desserts and Culinary Cr in a new window.

write a review
  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 8 Reviews
Review: Flawless!
09/02/2010
  • Jamie J

  • Wedding Date: 06/26/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • I have known Merrill for years and I had the utmost confidence that she would help make our wedding one of the best days of our lives. Everything from the cocktail hour to the cake cutting was done to perfection. We asked that our wedding be laid back as it was a small amount of close friends and family. Merrill was able to execute our requests to a t with a balance of professionalism and warmth. The servers and bartender were excellent in all that they did. The tables were set up beautifully and Merrill really did more than just provide the food, she helped us plan our day.
  • Cocktail hour consisted of two butlered hors d'ouvres and a magnificent antipasto spread. There was enough antipasto left for the late night snackers! For dinner, we had filet and tuna steak. Both were presented artistically and there the servings were perfect. Merrill also provided our wedding cake which was delicious!
  • From start to finish - from the place settings, centerpieces, colors, set up, and even tent, the whole wedding was one of a kind.
  • Our cake, which had a hazelnut prailine chocolate filling and a hazelnut french buttercream icing was one of the best cakes I have ever had.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Couldn't be happier
06/19/2010
  • Ellie B

  • Wedding Date: 05/20/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Favorite part of wedding day catering? Merrill and her crew! They took care of everything, and were very, very good at it. We didn't have to think about anything, because they had it all covered, and they were very friendly. The food was another favorite!
  • How was food presented at the wedding reception? Cocktail hour? After-party? Brunch? We loved the presentation. We had cocktail hour followed by a sit-down dinner, and everything was beautifully arranged, and delicious. The service was equally wonderful.
  • Most creative part of your wedding day catering? The menu offerings were creative and interesting -- not just the usual stuff. We had an incredible roasted pear salad that was top notch, and all of our guests commented on it.
  • Favorite wedding dessert? We love carrot cake, so that's what we asked for, and it was fabulous. Even though we had a very, very small number of guests that would have been covered by a small cake, Merrill provided a traditional tiered cake, including a layer to save for our anniversary. We supplied flowers for the cake the day of the wedding, and they made it beautiful without any advance notice about what they would be working with.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: November 2008 Wedding at Faunbrook B & B
07/09/2009
  • piperack

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Favorite part of wedding day catering? Everything. As a bride planning my wedding in less than a year and from afar (bride/groom in Central NY with wedding in West Chester, PA) all the while juggling three different moves, a house purchase, and a full-time job one can imagine the difficutly in tending to wedding details as well. I didn't have time to mess around. Merrill was an absolute delight to work with. She had fantastic ideas, a great eye for color, was passionate about my wedding, and was extremely responsive and detail oriented. She and DD&CC were exactly the caterer I needed. They provided me with what I needed & wanted and came up with great solutions. They were with me through every step of planning the catering and seating through the ceremony and the reception. On wedding day, waitstaff were attentive and supportive throughout the whole day which made for an extremely smooth execution. AND the food...! FABULOUS.
  • How was food presented at the wedding reception? Cocktail hour? After-party? Brunch? DD&CC went above and beyond. We had a 65 count reception buffet which included a special menu for children. The buffet table and cake were both beautifully decorated with fresh flowers to go with our colors. Cocktails and hors d'oeuvres were plentiful and absolutely delicious (I'm still thinking about that pumpkin ravioli). The buffet was mouth-watering and received rave reviews from my extremely particular Italian family with discerning tastes. Waitstaff were wonderful, pleasant, and attentive to everyone. Merrill also incorporated a special children's menu and child-sized seating much to our delight and theirs.
  • Most creative part of your wedding day catering? The food...and cake. I wanted a menu which would appeal to all palates with a little pizzaz. Merrill came up with a menu to suit the Fall season and added a gourmet twist which was perfection.
  • Favorite wedding dessert? ..and the cake. The cake was our only dessert, but what a cake! My husband and I wanted something special for our wedding cake and Merrill was happy to provide. It was the most amazing bananna cake with a chocolate ganache center, covered over with buttercream frosting and served with milk! For those who were not as keen on banana as we were, Merrill made a smaller pound cake with buttercream frosting - yum.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: June Wedding at Faunbrook B&B, West Chester, PA
07/03/2009
  • rutlandla

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Favorite part of wedding day catering? The food was beautifully displayed and delicious. The hors d'oeuvres (especially the coconut shrimp with curry sauce) were all tasty, efficiently and unobtrusively passed among the guests, and the quiches and salmon that made up the main luncheon course were spectacular.
  • How was food presented at the wedding reception? Cocktail hour? After-party? Brunch? Hors d'oeuvres were passed to the guests and bridal party during the receiving line and after-ceremony photo shoots; lunch was an indoor, self-service buffet, with elegant flower centerpiece, and tables were set up on the porch and patio. We served wine, beer, champagne, lemonade and iced tea. The wait staff really knew what they were doing and kept the hospitality part of the reception moving right along.
  • Most creative part of your wedding day catering? The food was just really excellent and interesting in flavor and texture. Merrill iced the wedding cake in a pallet knife style decorated with fresh flowers. It was striking.
  • Favorite wedding dessert? We served only the wedding cake for dessert. It was a vanilla pound cake with a very light frosting.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfect intimate day
06/11/2009
  • tntengaged

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Favorite part of wedding day catering? Everything -- the food quality was far-and-away better than anything else we tasted. My wife and I sampled other vendors who use menus that you choose from, and Merrill was far superior. Service prior and during the event was perfect. Each waiter was very well-mannered and helped make our guests feel welcome.
  • How was food presented at the wedding reception? Cocktail hour? After-party? Brunch? Cocktail hour food was AMAZING. Best spread I've seen at any wedding. DD Creations will work with you on a customized menu for you and your guests, using your tastes and preferences to produce the perfect menu for your perfect day. Reception presentation and preparation was perfectly timed, and the meals looked wonderful. Our event was small (55 guests) but the meals were quick to come out and warm and delicious. If I had to do it again, I would choose Delightful Desserts in a heartbeat.
  • Most creative part of your wedding day catering? Merrill and DD Creations works with you on ever specific need for your day. My wife and I discussed the menu details and presentation very specifically, and they fulfilled our needs to every detail. We worked with Merrill on each of our likes/dislikes for food and presentation, picked out specific utensils, plates, table coverings, etc. Amazing experience and 110% worth the value she provides.
  • Favorite wedding dessert? Cake was all we had (set up a tea bar also). It was high quality and looked wonderful. You can see obviously the detail and effort put into each dish and item they prepare.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: RHMEG08 - Fall into Love
06/10/2009
  • rhmeg08

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Favorite part of wedding day catering? This was not a traditional wedding but, a Commitment Ceremony which has its challenges when you have two micro-managing gay guys. Merrill from the start was attentive, meticulous, professional and sensitive. My favorite part of the day was 'no worries'. I knew and trusted Merrill to make sure that all went perfect. Her staff made me feel like a King (OK Queen). She and her staff attended not to food, but the bar and the people issues as well. Merrill made our special day without a doubt memorable!
  • How was food presented at the wedding reception? Cocktail hour? After-party? Brunch? The festivities began with a cocktail hour of butlered hor d'ouevres that were dynamite. The Wedding Reception at Faunbrook Bed & Breakfast was a Buffet dinner with an Autumn theme. Merrill and her staff did a beautiful presentation with all the food being seasonal, delicious and crowd pleasing. 75 guests and all raved at Merrills professional, gracious staff and delicious food!
  • Most creative part of your wedding day catering? Faunbrook is a great site for small intimate ceremonies. At 75 guests we were at capacity. The challenge was setting-up for the ceremony on the terrace and then turning over the terrace and balcony space for the reception/buffet. Merrills solutions: get every inside after the ceremony, have a champagne toast add more drinks and hor d'ouevres while her staff reset the tables for dinner. It was executed quickly and discretely. Our guests returned to the balcony and patio and wondered how it all happened!!
  • Favorite wedding dessert? We chose to have the wedding cake only for dessert. Which Merrill made to specification. A white 3 tiered cake, with edible brown ribbons boarding each layer and a cascade of edible fall leaves in ornage, yellow and red, topped with real flowers of the fall season. Beautiful and delicious.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Delightful Wedding
05/31/2009
  • dunnces

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Favorite part of wedding day catering? Merrill created a wonderfully eclectic and exotic menu that fit our personalities to a T. Everything was extremely tasty and beautifully presented. She created an absolutely magical wedding reception that my guests are still talking about one year later. She and her staff were very professional and made my day stress and worry free. I could not have asked for a better day.
  • How was food presented at the wedding reception? Cocktail hour? After-party? Brunch? We had a fantastic cocktail hour with passed appetizers and then a creative buffet setup that took full advantage of our unique location-Faunbrook Bed and Breakfast.
  • Most creative part of your wedding day catering? I have an allergy to gluten and Merrill was the only caterer that we met with who did not shy away from this. She embraced it and designed a wonderful menu that not only satisfied my allergy requests but was yummy for ALL at the wedding.
  • Favorite wedding dessert? Merrill's chocolate mousse cake is by far the BEST cake I have ever tasted. It was so yummy I had TWO pieces at the wedding. It was decorated beyond beautifully as well, artfully covered with flowers from our bouquets.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Seamless service; perfect party
05/31/2009
  • cmrenzi

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Favorite part of wedding day catering? We had a rehearsal dinner for friends-- about 30-35 guests. Merrill was creative in planning a seasonal menu, and fitting in all special requests. It was delicious, and not at all stressful during the planning, event time, or clean-up. We can't wait to have antoher party where DDCC can create such a great meal and pleasant mood for all.
  • How was food presented at the wedding reception? Cocktail hour? After-party? Brunch? Everything looked appetizing, and was served hot or cold, as needed.
  • Most creative part of your wedding day catering? When the bride said parsnips, a fantastic soup was suddenly on the menu-- made to order.
  • Favorite wedding dessert? Fruit- based sweets or choco holic style-- all are musts!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Food Quality : 5.0
  • Food Presentation : 5.0
  • Service Quality : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor