Dancing Instruction in Philadelphia, PA: Moving Image Dance Academy
Moving Image Dance Academy
2030 Sansom St 2nd floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 665-8411

Wedding Dance



View Wedding Dance in a new window.

write a review
  • Instruction Quality : 4.9
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 4.7
  • Overall : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 7 Reviews
Review: best dance instruction ever!!
01/17/2014
  • nico

  • Wedding Date: 10/19/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • My husband and I learned a very nice fox trot dance routine.
  • Yes, very couple friendly and very proficient. We had no dance skill level and were terrified about doing our first dance, so we got started not expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised by our teacher. Ken at Moving Image Dance Academy more than exceeded our expectations.
  • I don't think we could compare with the professionals on Dancing with the Stars, but Ken made us the dancing stars at our wedding reception.
  • Ken was a highly skilled pro with a lot of patience. He was excellent at breaking down the steps of the fox trot to make it easy for us to grasp. He covered all the details of partnering so that we could make the dance flow nicely and taught us a special beginning and an impressive ending that made us look better than we really are. Being in such capable and caring hands helped calm our nervousness about dancing in front of a crowd and made the lessons enjoyable. It felt really good to be prepared for our first dance and we got a big standing ovation. We're still taking lessons with Ken, learning other dances so that we can dance when we attend other weddings, social functions and just for fun. We don't want to be a couple of one trick ponies.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Instruction Quality : 5.0
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • Overall : 5.0

write a review
Review: Love This Dance School
01/16/2014
  • Marga

  • Wedding Date: 08/04/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Dance moves learned? Attempted? Learned dance steps in the waltz, foxtrot, swing, and salsa.
  • Couple-friendly lessons? Meet your dance skill level? My husband and myself found the lessons to be exactly what we wanted, and an awful lot of fun too.
  • Dance moves improved? Ready for starring role in Dancing with the Stars? Our instructor was Ken and he was awesome. A fabulous dancer himself and very knowledgeable about how to work with total novices like us. He taught us figures in a few different dances, by our request, but most importantly he gave us the ability to dance together. He worked on the techniques of the various dances which we really appreciated and we felt great progress at each lesson.
  • How did dance instructors make you confident, ready for your first dance? Ken made us feel comfortable and confident with his expert advice and patient manner and it really paid off at our wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Instruction Quality : 5.0
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • Overall : 5.0

write a review
Review: Excellent Dance Lessons
01/15/2014
  • Kimb

  • Wedding Date: 08/24/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Dance moves learned? Attempted? We learned so much, I can't even write it all here.
  • Couple-friendly lessons? Meet your dance skill level? The lessons were tailored to us as a couple, taking into consideration my wedding dress and shoes. Ken helped us choose a song and clearly explained every detail. He worked very well within the confines of our abilities while motivating us to to do more than we could have imagined.
  • Dance moves improved? Ready for starring role in Dancing with the Stars? Ken worked to accommodate our busy schedules and the limited time we had in which to learn. He not only taught us the steps, he taught us how to move through the dance with some style. We only put in a small fraction of the time that they do on Dancing with the Stars but what we learned got us big compliments at our wedding.
  • How did dance instructors make you confident, ready for your first dance? Ken was such a highly skilled professional, we felt confident, and very lucky to have him in or corner. He helped us every inch of the way with extreme patience and an easy going sense of humor that made the lessons fun.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Instruction Quality : 5.0
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • Overall : 5.0

write a review
Review: Swinging First Dance
01/11/2014
  • rego

  • Wedding Date: 05/26/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Dance moves learned? Attempted? We learned a lot of really fun moves in the swing, with lots of spins and turns and a big intro.
  • Couple-friendly lessons? Meet your dance skill level? The lessons we had were very couple friendly. My husband was hesitant to try learning, but our instructor did an awesome job getting us ready for our big day.
  • Dance moves improved? Ready for starring role in Dancing with the Stars? We had no prior experience, but with expert instruction, managed to impress everyone at our wedding,
  • How did dance instructors make you confident, ready for your first dance? Our Instructor, Ken made us feel at ease right away, which really surprised my husband who was so nervous about dancing. He taught us a great routine with a special entrance, covered all the details surrounding our first dance, and made the whole process a lot of fun.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Instruction Quality : 5.0
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • Overall : 5.0

write a review
Review: fantastic!!
01/20/2013
  • p c

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Dance moves learned? Attempted? Tried several styles with different music we had in our mind.
  • Couple-friendly lessons? Meet your dance skill level? Yes! very couple-friendly. Our instructor gave attention to us indivisually as well as a couple. His lessons were just at the right level for us beginners.
  • Dance moves improved? Ready for starring role in Dancing with the Stars? Considering we had no prior experience, our skills improved significantly over the course of 2 months. On our wedding day, we felt very confident, comfortable and natural on the dance floor!
  • How did dance instructors make you confident, ready for your first dance? We were very happy with our private lesssons. We had a same instructor for each lesson so there was a great continuity.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Instruction Quality : 5.0
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • Overall : 5.0

write a review
Review: great dance lesson for our first dance!
01/20/2013
  • m s

  • Wedding Date: 09/09/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Dance moves learned? Attempted? Both my fiance and I did not have any prior dance experience. Based on our music preference and wedding outfit (dress/shoe style), our instructor, Ken, suggested us Rumba style for our first dance. It turned out great!
  • Couple-friendly lessons? Meet your dance skill level? Very couple-friendly lessons. As neither of us had any dance experience, Ken taught each move step by step, paying great attention to each of us. We started from basic steps. Ken was very patient and pleasant. Every step, he payed great attention to each of us and then as a couple. We also greatly appreciated flexible shedule. As both of us have very busy jobs, it can be very difficult to corrdinate our shedule especailly on the weekedays. Ken was very considerate and offered us eveing and weekend sessions.
  • Dance moves improved? Ready for starring role in Dancing with the Stars? We felt very comfortable and ready after total of 9 private sessions over the course of 1.8 month. Private lessson was a great choice for us since we did not have much time and we needed 100% attention. Hey, we were still far from starring in Dancing with the Stars but this was a great accomplishment for us with zero dance experience! Both of us were very happy how our first dance came out. We received many compliments from our guests! My fiance and I made our goal very clear and realistic from the beginning...we weren't preparing for a competition but for a romantic, elegant and memorable first dance. In our opinion and experience, it's important to realize your own skill level and goals before taking the lesson and communicate them with the instrcutor.
  • How did dance instructors make you confident, ready for your first dance? Overall we had wonderful experience working with Ken. It was byond our expectations. He was very professional, polite, patient, and pleasant. When we first met, he asked us about our prioir dance experience, wedding attire (dress/shoe style), wedding location, preference on music etc..then he suggested what type of dance would work out best for us. He also explained us about his approach. As he really wanted our first dance to look good, he started from basic steps which turned out to be very important for the real dance steps. We became more confident each time. Also, as he suggested, we practiced in our real wedding shoes so that we know we can really dance on the big day! The best thinng we did was we went to Ken open minded and listened to his professioal advice. Great dance is not just about music and move. The dress, shoes, type of dance floor, etc..there are many factors that can affect dance, and Ken incorporated all these factors to make our first dance a fantastic one! On our wedding day, both of us felt very comfortable on the dance floor. We performed just as we did in our practice session and flowed very well. In fact, we recevied so many compliments from our guests and families! BIG thanks to Ken for making our sppecial day wonderful! We say "YES" to Ken!

Overall Rating: 4.2 / 5.0

  • Instruction Quality : 4.0
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 4.0
  • Overall : 4.0

write a review
Review: Great Personalized Classes & Fun Instructor
01/15/2013
  • devon m

  • Wedding Date: 10/27/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Dance moves learned? Attempted? Rumba, Salsa, Cha Cha, and special introductory dance to our first song at the wedding. We had lots of fun dancing the rumba at our wedding, and the special introductory dance was a huge hit! We plan to continue taking lessons focusing on other dance including salsa and cha cha.
  • Couple-friendly lessons? Meet your dance skill level? The lessons are great for any couple, learning for a first dance at the wedding, or just for fun. The lessons are personalized to your skill level, desired dance, including consideration of your song choice and type of wedding gown
  • Dance moves improved? Ready for starring role in Dancing with the Stars? Yes and yes!
  • How did dance instructors make you confident, ready for your first dance? The dance instructor helped me to feel more graceful and sure of my self performing in front of other people, or even dancing in public setting.

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Instruction Quality : 5.0
  • Flexible Schedule : 5.0
  • Value : 4.0
  • Overall : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor