DJ's Bands & Musicians in Chicago, IL: David Rothstein Music
David Rothstein Music
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 244-1239

www.drsmusic.com



View www.drsmusic.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 44 Reviews
Review: THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR NIGHT!!!
02/27/2014
  • Lisa M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • From start to finish David was pretty much the coordinator of events the night of our wedding. The first time I spoke with him over the phone I knew David was the guy for the job, he was so accommodating and helpful the entire time planning our wedding. We booked him almost 2 years ahead of time, he was always available to us for any questions, concerns of suggestions. We met with him twice at his office and he made us feel very comfortable and at ease with the choice that we made. I was very excited leading up to our wedding about the David Rothstein Band because of the videos I have seen, and my first hand experience with David. We were blown away by the intimacy David and his band brought to our wedding. My husband and I love Elvis Presley- Graceland's front steps is where my husband proposed to me. After getting to know us David had purchased a stand up cut out of Elvis (that also talked) to have all of our guests sign, along with a very unique Elvis PEZ dispenser. Then he helped us recreate the Entrance Song that Elvis played prior to every concert he performed in the 70's, which was our entrance song at our reception. To our surprise the band played an awesome Elvis Medley toward the end of the night & gave us Elvis sunglasses to wear while dancing to Elvis Hits!!! He really takes the time to get to know the bride and groom and it shows the night of the wedding. Overall, our guests and us were left speechless when the night was over. Anything I needed that night, David made it happen. Everyone loved how interactive the band was playing instruments on the dance floor and including the crowd in many of the songs choruses. I have pictures of my husband holding the Mic and singing with the lead singer-it doesn't get any cooler than that! We have heard many compliments from our guests but our favorites have been "Your wedding ruined it for any other wedding I will ever go to", "Nothing compares to this" and "I do not remember the last time I danced the entire night at a wedding"! Exactly what we were looking for and I am sure you are too! Even my grandfather's only living sibling was out there right after dinner with her walker having a blast!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: If you want an unforgettable reception..
12/16/2013
  • David T

  • Wedding Date: 11/02/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • First dance song? Til Kingdom Come by Coldplay
  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? The mid dinner dance -- most guests had a look of confusion for the first five seconds and then realized this wasn't your average wedding party. The band coming out into the dance floor at times. The singer coming out onto the dance floor at times. The professionalism of the band and just the pure talent. Older people loved it as much as younger crowd. Friends/family that are serious musicians were impressed and thought it was the coolest thing ever.
  • DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged? Unreal.
  • Favorite wedding reception song & dance? Hard to pick. I liked our song we danced to. Till Kingdom Come by Coldplay. Not a very popular song and their live version was awesome.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Amazing Band!
08/07/2013
  • NancyTyler

  • Wedding Date: 08/03/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? Blown Away!! If you are searching for a band...stop. We hired David Rothstein for our daughter's wedding and it was the best decision. They are energetic, fun and sound amazing. The dance floor was packed the entire night. I cannot recommend David Rothstein enough! David as the MC was perfect. The night was perfect

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Awesome Band!!!!!!
07/08/2013
  • JodiBF

  • Wedding Date: 03/03/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? Awesome! Energetic! Accommodating! David Rothstein Band DELIVERS! We had many special requests for the band- including learning our favorite blue grass song for our ceremony, bringing in extra band members to play particular string instruments, accommodating a wild HOUR LONG HORA with an extra Hebrew singer, among other things! We were very particular about the songs on our "do not play list" and the band listened! Our dance floor was packed the entire time and David Rothstein lead a really fun interactive dance toward the end of the night that we loved and my friends loved- people are still talking about our party and the band 4 months out! Thank you DRB!!!!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Best Wedding Band Ever!
11/03/2012
  • Blanca B

  • Reviews Posted: 2

  • First dance song? First Day of My Life by Bright Eyes
  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? Best Band Ever! The David Rothstein Orchestra is amazing. My husband was hesitant about hiring a band initially, but after said it was one of the best decisions we made. David was really great about working with us throughout the whole wedding planning process. We had a few family traditions and special favors we wanted included in the night and he was really accomodating to our requests. He also made really good suggestions about how to keep the energy going during the night. And the night of our wedding was just great. The band is great - they sound great, are fun, have a ton of energy and get everyone excited to be out dancing. So many people came up to us after and told us how great the band was. There is also another thing that stands out about working with David. He really cares about what he does and you having a good time & it shows. He knew we liked to cook and had all our guests sign this huge bowl for cooking. We had such a great time at our wedding and so glad David Rothstein Orchestra played.
  • DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged? Just enough to keep the party going and so fun!
  • Favorite wedding reception song & dance? Probably Shout - they came out with the trumpets into the crowd, it was amazing!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Perfect Wedding
10/29/2012
  • Jessica B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged? Amazing! How do you express in words something that made your wedding so special. My husband and I had David's musicians at both our wedding ceremony and the reception. It took me a long time to convince my husband that David's band was the way to go, and a DJ could never compare. It is worth the investment! David and his team were so accommodating and flexible and patient. By far the hardest thing for me (because I am not the least bit musically inclined or knowledgable) was picking the ceremony music, so I turned the decisions over to my father-in-law. Alex (who directed the musicians at the ceremony) was very helpful with suggestions and spent a lot of time talking to my father-in-law about the details of the ceremony music. It could not have been more perfect. They worked in perfect harmony with the organist at our church, it was beautiful. As for the reception, my husband and I had total confidence in David to pick the write music for the moment at the reception, so we simply told him songs we did not want, and left the rest up to him. We had chosen two songs to be played from iTunes and David was able to accommodate that and make the music transition seamless. I spent nearly all night on the dance floor with all my guests (of course the floor was always packed), even my 80 year old grandfather with Parkinson's got out on the dance floor. Such priceless moments like that would never had happened without David. He interacted with my guests, who of course loved him, and danced with my Mom and step-mom (both of them were just tickled). David even coordinated with my brother-in-law to sing a song by the Bee-Gees, it was so much fun. I can honestly say that it absolutely made my wedding everything I ever wanted. I could not have asked for more. Thank you so much David.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Made it a night to remember
10/29/2012
  • Stephanie H

  • Wedding Date: 09/02/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? We are so happy that we chose David Rothstein Music for our wedding. Unlike other bands that we looked into, DRM was willing to work directly with our reception hall so we didn’t have to. Even though our reception was several hours away from Chicago, David made everything run so smoothly. Not only was the music amazing, but David and his talented musicians had everyone up and having fun on the dance floor. So many of our guests told us that it was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding and we are still getting compliments months later. No matter what we had for entertainment we were going to remember the night forever, but David Rothstein Music made our reception a night that everyone there will remember forever.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Great Wedding Band!
10/29/2012
  • Andrew M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • First dance song? Just Breathe - Pearl Jam
  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? One of the definite "musts" for our wedding was a great band and a great dance party. We searched a number of Chicago bands and decided to go with DRM and could not be happier with our decision. David assured me that the band was amazing and that they would keep our guests dancing all night and he was absolutely right! Our wedding set up was somewhat nontraditional, but Jeff Sanders worked closely with us to figure out the best setup and a rocking dance party ensued. DRM was also very helpful in the planning process and made our wedding and reception music selection process a breeze. Definitely check out this band, you wont be upset.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Best event entertainment ever!
10/18/2012
  • Mary F

  • Wedding Date: 09/22/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? If I could score DRM above a 5.0, I would! I was the MOH at my best friends wedding. When she decided against a DJ I was a little worried. How upbeat and request friendly could a live band be? Not only was I wrong (which never happens) but I was WAY WRONG!! DRM was better than any DJ could have ever been. They played a variety of music, took requests, and kept the party going. David was on the floor with us from start to finish. He assisted in the speeches, kept us from being nervous, gave us an awesome entrance, and had some fun group numbers to do that made the entire wedding feel like we were not just a number on his schedule. The Best Man's speech was very involved and needed participation from guests. Not only did the guests participate, but so did the band. They were great sports. David purchased a Sox jersey for the bride and groom and had everyone at the reception sign it for them. DRM made everything so personal, like they were just more friends there to celebrate, but with more talent then the rest of us. And a little secret, I DO NOT DANCE! I did at this wedding. I don't think I sat down once actually. Stop looking for your event entertainment, you just found them!
  • Favorite wedding reception song & dance? Favorite was a special dance David had us do for the bride and groom. The bride and groom sat in chairs in front of the band while every reception guest lined up in three lines (think U shaped). Each line then took turns dancing up to the bride and groom and the other lines then had to do the same dance. It was great fun!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Review: Mandy
10/15/2012
  • Mandy R

  • Wedding Date: 09/15/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did your wedding musicians keep the party going? My husband and I had always said the one thing we wanted at our wedding was a live band, and a full dance floor all night. We met with and researched a lot of different Chicago based bands, but something was different about DRM, something that made him stand out from the other bands we considered. After meeting with David for the first time, my husband and I left with a huge sense of confidence that if we hired him, our wedding would be flawless and we wouldn't have to worry about a thing. Not to mention, our guests would have an absolute blast, and our wedding would be "that wedding" that people talk about 10 years from now as the best wedding they've ever been to. DRM did not disappoint. David ran the entire show from beginning to end. He made sure the entire bridal party was lined up for introductions, ensured all toasts were in order and on time; even made sure to have a glass of non-alcoholic champagne waiting to hand my father immediately following his toast (since he doesn't drink alcohol). Knowing that David was in charge was a huge relief and allowed me to relax and enjoy our special day. In addition to the organizational side of things, the band was amazing. I have never been to a wedding that the entire dance floor was so packed I had to literally fight to get one foot on the dance floor...and this was before dinner ever started! Our guests had such a good time, and throughout the night people kept coming up to me telling me how awesome our wedding was and how much fun they were having. The lead singer had a beautiful voice. I didn't know how well our first dance song would sound live (vs. just playing it on an ipod), but it was wonderful. Even though we griped about the high investment associated with DRM, looking back, it was well worth the investment and I have no regrets. I would highly recommend DRM if you are considering a band.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Selection : 5.0
  • Accommodating : 5.0
  • Friendly : 5.0
  • Sound Quality : 5.0

Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor