Andrea's Vintage Bridal
723 West 26th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55408
(612) 716-8006

http://andreasvintagebridal.com



View http://andreasvintagebridal.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Dress, Tux Selection : 4.4
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 4.7
  • Accessory Selection : 4.4
  • Alterations Quality : 4.5
  • 4.5

  • 14 Reviews
Review: Andrea is the best!
06/14/2011
  • Allison V

  • Wedding Date: 05/28/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Andrea has an amazing collection of vintage and antique gowns in her shop. For someone who shops/wear vintage everyday, it was a treasure trove that I didnt think existed in Minneapolis. Turns out, it does! She is also very good at knowing when you do not love a gown, and urging you to move on. I loved this, because it keep the appointment moving and did not seem like a big sales pitch. She genuinely loves seeing brides in her dresses, and brides loving them! All of her dresses are so very affordable, considering that you are buying a one of a kind gown, and are doing the earth a favor buy buying second-hand. Dresses range on average from $200-$700. What a steal!!
  • Emily helped me with some minor alterations. She was quick, and super affordable. It was also comforting knowing that someone with experience altering vintage clothing (delicate fabrics, and one of a kind items) was handling my alterations. I do think that some of her alterations seemed a little bit amateur, but I didnt get anything overhauled, so did not worry about it. If you have a tailor that you use regularly, and trust with your life, then of course I would recommend you use them.
  • While Andrea has lots of shoes (vintage, and some more modern), and lots of beautiful antique headpieces, I did not purchase one here.
  • Would 100% recommend this shop to any vintage bride, lover of vintage, or someone with adventurous, unique style. Vintage is not for everyone, it deserves to be loved and cherished. But since I am in this catagory, and know other women who are, I had to make it known that this little shop is a goldmine! I love Andrea, she felt like a family member after all that she said and did for me! I feel like we are kindred hearts.

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 4.0
  • Alterations Quality : 4.0

write a review
Review: Perfect Dress Shopping Experience!
10/22/2010
  • Becca L

  • Wedding Date: 10/30/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? Andrea has a very large selection of unique dresses from a variety of eras. All of the dresses were very special, and Andrea was helpful in suggesting which dresses look better on a person than on a hanger.
  • Wedding dress or tux alterations or customization needed? What kind? Since each dress is one of a kind, you have to pick based on style, not fit. Andrea has inexpensive and talented seamstresses that she suggests. The work is quality and much less than you would pay, even at a place like David's Bridal.
  • Purchase wedding accessories (think shoes, tiaras, jewelry, lingerie, tie, pocket square, cufflinks)? What kind? I got a simple tulle veil, but also tried on the bird cage veils, which were so much fun! Andrea has so many beautiful pieces. She even carries vintage shoes! I might have to go back for a cute purse.
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? I highly recommend this shop. I love my dress so much and could not have found a nicer dress for a lower price. The store is also so much fun -- much more charming and sweet than a cookie-cutter bridal boutique. I also enjoyed Andrea so much. She was considerate and very helpful. I thought picking out my wedding dress would be stressful and overwhelming, but Andrea's boutique made it a very pleasant experience.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 5.0
  • Alterations Quality : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing!
07/07/2010
  • Vanessa R

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? The selection was amazing! I wanted a vintage dress and I had opitions here ! It was a wonderful and fun experience. I found my dress and it fit me like it was made for me! I love my dress!!!. Andrea was so helpful and sweet through the process. I highly recommed her to anyone looking for a unquie dress with personality
  • Wedding dress or tux alterations or customization needed? What kind? My dress needed no alterations. It fit me perfectly!
  • Purchase wedding accessories (think shoes, tiaras, jewelry, lingerie, tie, pocket square, cufflinks)? What kind? I purchased a silk flower for my hair. It's beautiful . They have a great selection of accessories.
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? Yes I would recommend Andrea's Vintage Bridal! I found my dress within hours, it was a fun experience, Andrea was so helpful and I had a wonderful time trying on dresses. The selection was great! I love my dress and I'm so happy I went to Andreas Vintage Bridal.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 5.0
  • Alterations Quality : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great shop!!
06/23/2010
  • Hannah E

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? I went to countless bridal shops with much disappointment I finally went to Andreas and I am SOO happy I did! She has tons of fabulous dresses. I was a little nervous because when I called to set up my appointment I asked about larger size options and it sounded like there wouldn't be many options for me. But I went and I found that while there are lots of teeny tiny dresses, there were also plenty of options for a size 12/14. I love the dress that I (finally) picked is beautiful and Andrea even discounted the dress because of a tiny little spot on the dress that I never would have even noticed. I definitely recommend this shop!
  • Wedding dress or tux alterations or customization needed? What kind? My dress needed to be hemmed on the bottom and spot cleaned, which Andrea gave me the business card of a woman for the cleaning.
  • Purchase wedding accessories (think shoes, tiaras, jewelry, lingerie, tie, pocket square, cufflinks)? What kind? After talking to me throughout the dress fittings about my wedding style and my aesthetic she had a pretty good idea how to get me the perfect accessories. I ended up purchasing a great necklace and an awesome vintage feathered hair fastener.
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? I highly recommend this shop!! Andrea was awesome and she was never pushy or tried to rush me on anything. Also she had a great understanding of the style i was looking for and encouraged me to try on other styles as well that would flatter my body.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 5.0
  • Alterations Quality : 5.0

write a review
Review: Andrea's Vintage: Such a find!
06/15/2010
  • Brandy S

  • Wedding Date: 08/02/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? The variety of dresses available was staggering. I was encouraged to try on a lot of different things, and to envision how they could be changed to fit my style. I didn't feel overwhelmed by the selection, as happened at other dress shops. Andrea was personally there to make suggestions and offer tips on how dresses could be tailored.
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? Going vintage was an important decision for me - trying on new dresses (and reading the price tags) made me realize what a manufactured occasion weddings have turned into. I found the vintage dresses more comfortable, more flattering, quite a bit simpler (fewer flounces, petticoats, beadwork) and much much cheaper. I got to play dress up for 2 hours, and then found the right dress for me!

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 4.0
  • Alterations Quality : 4.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful Vintage Bridal Gowns
05/15/2010
  • Em L

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? Andrea offers a very personalized shopping experience. She is uncannily able to hone in on your style and body type to help find the best options and help you narrow them in a helpful way. Never pushy, she offers great advice about potential alterations that could change the look of the dress for you. There is an amazing selection of dresses considering they are vintage, but it is obviously not the same as a typical bridal salon. The variety of styles is amazing. You will have the most options, particularly in the 50's-60's era, if you are tiny, a zero or two, though there are plenty of options for the rest of us as well. There are dresses from the 20's through "not old" and they are well marked with prices (very reasonable!) and notes on origin, style, and any defects.
  • Wedding dress or tux alterations or customization needed? What kind? Most dresses will need some kinds of alterations to modernize or customize to your style/body, and Andrea makes suggestions regarding this. She gives contact information for a sewer that she has worked with in the past.
  • Purchase wedding accessories (think shoes, tiaras, jewelry, lingerie, tie, pocket square, cufflinks)? What kind? There were lots of accessories and jewelry, though I did not get to explore these very much on my visit. Even if you have a non-vintage gown, it is worth checking out the jewelry here.
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? Highly recommended. This is a very relaxed, personalized, and unique experience. Even though I was not able to bring a friend with me, I felt very comfortable, due to the input Andrea and her 2 staff offered. They are friendly and skilled without being the least bit pushy, nosy, or bossy, which is a rare combination in this field!

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 4.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 4.0
  • Alterations Quality : 5.0

write a review
Review: One of a kind vintage bridal dresses
04/13/2010
  • Susan T

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? This lovely, small shop has an excellent selection of vintage bridal dresses, reasonably priced. If you are looking for a one-of-a-kind dress this is the best place to go. Andrea is wonderful at helping you figure out what dress will suit your figure and style (and pocketbook!) best. Some dresses that don't look that great on a hanger can really pop when you try them on, and Andrea is great at that. The dresses, being vintage, have been worn before, but all are in excellent condition and have been repaired if necessary and cleaned. Plus, she has an excellent selection of accessories.
  • Purchase wedding accessories (think shoes, tiaras, jewelry, lingerie, tie, pocket square, cufflinks)? What kind? A great selection of vintage jewelry, shoes, tiaras, and some nice lingerie.
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? I would totally recommend this shop. Andrea will spend as much time as you need to help you find what will make your wedding special. Plus, if you are lucky you might get to meet her adorable standard poodle, Pierre, who sometimes keeps her company in the shop. Don't miss this special boutique!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 5.0
  • Alterations Quality : 5.0

write a review
Review: Don't go expecting any service or suggestions
03/21/2010
  • Catherine P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? The owner chose to talk to some guy who wandered in seconds before us. The only time she spoke to us was to ask if we wanted to have her open any of the glass cases containing accessories and jewelry. I had been looking forward to going there for some time and my friend and I planned a special trip during our work lunch hours. When we first arrived--supposedly opens at noon--there was a sign on the door saying she'd be back at 1:30. Back we came, only to be completely ignored. Yes, there are a lot of dresses there--but you're on your own.
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? I would never go back there and would not recommend this place to anyone unless you want 100% self service.

Overall Rating: 1.0 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 1.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 1.0
  • Accessory Selection : 1.0
  • Alterations Quality : 1.0

write a review
Review: A definite MUST!
03/08/2010
  • Colleen S

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? A limited selection of vintage dresses and accessories but DEFINITELY worth checking out!!!
  • Wedding dress or tux alterations or customization needed? What kind? Yes, alterations needed. Andrea had the vision to take a dress from the 30s and repurpose it to fit and flatter. Very reasonable alteration rates.
  • Purchase wedding accessories (think shoes, tiaras, jewelry, lingerie, tie, pocket square, cufflinks)? What kind? We did not purchase any accessories but there were so many cute clutches, jewelry, hats, gloves and shoes. And, there's more than just wedding dresses! Adorable vintage shift dresses, cocktail attire and more!
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? My best friend and I went shopping at Andrea's on 3/5/10 looking for a 50s style dress that could be repurposed for my friend's 5/29/10 wedding. The store typically closes at 5pm but we were able to come in after-hours for our appointment. After trying on a few dresses, my friend fell in love with an ivory satin and lace dress from the 30s that could be altered to fit and compliment her figure. Andrea saw the vision in all the dresses she pulled. She loves what she does and it shows! I've shopped at more traditional dress shops and the process can be a little painful sometimes. At Andrea's, it was easy and quick! We were done in less than an hour and Andrea was so much fun to work with. Great accessories, shoes, gloves, hats and much more than just wedding dresses! I would definitely recommend Andrea's Vintage Bridal if you are looking for add uniqueness to your wedding!

Overall Rating: 4.2 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 3.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 4.0
  • Alterations Quality : 5.0

write a review
Review: Marvelous dresses, patient and knowledgeable owner
03/08/2010
  • Erin M

  • Wedding Date: 10/15/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Lots of wedding dresses & tuxedos? Ask about your wedding style? Trunk show? Discounts? The selection may not rival that of boring basic bridal shops' for sheer numbers, but if you aren't looking for the basic bridal shop dress, you'll be astounded by what she has. Do note though that if you're seeking the white ballgown, she has those too, but I'm sure I'd have never found my dress elsewhere! Prices are amazing and I got my dress for $330. I suspect it's never been worn either, but who cares as it's perfect and in perfect shape. I did love how she gave me ZERO pressure and also wasn't steering me to more expensive dresses as I suspect has happened at bridal shops.
  • Wedding dress or tux alterations or customization needed? What kind? My dress will need to be altered and she gave me the card of the woman she recommends, so that will be fine. As I tried on a few different styles recommended by Andrea than those I would have originally selected, she explained how the dress could be customized pretty easily to fit better or look differently than how it was presented.
  • Purchase wedding accessories (think shoes, tiaras, jewelry, lingerie, tie, pocket square, cufflinks)? What kind? Lots of accessories and I got a gorgeous pearl and gold mini-tiara there. She knows her stuff and has an uncanny sense for what will not only look nice with the dress you've chosen, but also will be beautiful on you! The shoe selection is understandably small as shoes didn't seem to survive as well as other accessories, but maybe a woman with smaller feet than mine will have better luck?
  • Recommend this bridal shop or tuxedo rental? What did you love most? Recommend whole-heartedly. She spent a full two hours with me and I absolutely loved her pressure-free style and her excellent eye. I was by myself, which had me a bit twitchy, but while I'd not go to a bridal shop by myself, you're in fine shape if you see Andrea by yourself. She'll give you the unvarnished truth and you'll never feel pressured. Thanks, Andrea!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Dress, Tux Selection : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Accessory Selection : 5.0
  • Alterations Quality : 5.0

write a review