Hair, Makeup, & Spas in New York, NY: Maira Ortiz- Makeup & Hair Services
Maira Ortiz- Makeup & Hair Services
.
New York, NY 10021
(917) 922-9505


Hair, Makeup, & Spas: Maira Ortiz- Makeup & Hair Services


write a review
  • Gorgeousness Level : 4.9
  • Salon Style : 4.9
  • Product Selection : 4.9
  • Range of Services : 5.0
  • 4.9

  • 44 Reviews
Review: MAIRA IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!!
06/26/2012
  • Andrea P

  • Wedding Date: 06/22/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • My hair was styled in loose curls with one part pinned back.
  • Maira's services more than exceeded my wedding needs! She came with two other stylists and they had everything to make me and my girls look gorgeous on my wedding day. Not only did everyone look absolutely beautiful but the atmosphere with Maira and her team was relaxed and fun. Let me tell why this was so important, on my wedding day as we were all getting ready there was a severe lightening storm and the power went out, throughout all this Maira and her team kept me relaxed and continued to style the girls as much as they could. Once the power came back on they put on the finishing touches, even with this insane interruption Maira never lost her cool, finished us on time, and had us looking even better than our best.
  • Absolutely, they were so much fun to have style us! We were dancing and laughing the whole time!!
  • EVERYTHING!!! Maira is the BEST!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: Picture perfect hair and makeup
01/17/2012
  • Anne Marie H

  • Wedding Date: 09/24/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? For my wedding day hair, Maira created a soft up-do. I absolutely loved the look, and I received so many compliments.
  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? Maira did an amazing job on my wedding day. My hair and makeup were perfect! I felt so beautiful. She was wonderful to work with, and I truly appreciate her upbeat and warm personality. I would highly recommend Maira!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: Maira Ortiz Review
11/06/2011
  • Leslie B

  • Wedding Date: 10/16/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? I had a low bun that was swooped to the side. When I came to Maira for the trial, I brought a picture with me. Maira not only re-created the look, but she made it unique to my face. In about a half an hour Maira finished the hairstyle and it look incredibly elegant.
  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? Her services most certainly met my needs. My hair and make-up looked flawless the entire day into the night. My husband snapped a photo of me at 1am and if you compare it to photos of when Maira finished in the morning I look exactly the same! And that's after hours of running around, dancing, and eating. One thing a bride should never have to worry about is, "how does my hair/make-up look?" Maira uses the best products to ensure that the bride never even wonders about that.
  • Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience? The best part is the fact that Maira put me at total ease. She will work diligently to make sure she finishes the look you want and is punctual at the same time. Maira is extremely professional and I have no doubt she will make you look amazing. I not only found a wonderful make-up artist but I also feel like I made a friend. Every bride should be lucky enough to have Maira.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: If You're Looking for Perfection...
07/24/2011
  • Sharon S

  • Wedding Date: 10/10/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? There aren't enough great things I can say about Maira and her team! For my wedding, it was as important for me to have a warm, calming spirit in my bridal suite with the rest of my bridal party as it was to get hair and makeup done by a top professional who could visualize the EXACT look I wanted for my wedding day. Maira and her team are hands down the BEST of the BEST when it comes to hair and makeup -- and transformed our suite into a fun, relaxed party atmosphere that was the perfect prep for walking down the aisle. Maira and her team are just as fun, reliable and flexible as they are masterful at what they do. They care just as much about your special day as you do -- which sets them apart from the other professionals out there -- and they make sure that your bridal party is as happy with their looks as you are with yours. If you are looking for perfection when it comes to your wedding day look, look no further -- Maira Ortiz and her team are in your corner every step of the way!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: Makeup by Maira Ortiz
07/13/2011
  • Rachel K

  • Wedding Date: 06/12/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? I just had my makeup done!
  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? Absolutely! Maira did a BEAUTIFUL job on my wedding day makeup!! She made me look absolutely stunning!!! She also has an amazingly professional set-up -- she comes with a special makeup chair and tons of equipment, and even brings her own lighting and music! When we had my trial, she carried a laptop with her and entered all of the makeup she did on my into the computer, and took professional-quality photos of what we had done! I was really impressed with all of that. The only down-side is that she is expensive, but it was well worth it for how she made me look on my wedding day! Also, I was convinced I would need her around for touch-ups, so I booked her for extra time to stay and touch up my makeup during the course of the day -- but she did such an amazing job with her airbrush makeup, that it didn't fade or smear at ALL, even after hours of taking pictures outside and tons of dancing! The only touching up I required was my lipstick! When I was getting ready for bed at 5:00 AM, after having worn my makeup for almost 20 hours, it was still absolutely PERFECT and looked as good as when it was freshly applied -- I was amazed by the staying power! I was so sad when I had to wash my face before bed!
  • Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience? I don't think I have ever looked so beautiful!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: Maira's a magician
06/26/2011
  • Janet P

  • Wedding Date: 06/11/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? Maira did both my daughters' hair in updo's, mine half up, half down and she did the groom's mother and sisters' hair also. Her assistant did our makeup.
  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? The services far exceeded our expectations. Maira had done a trial run for hair/makeup for the bride and on the day of the wedding the results were nothing less than spectacular. I have never heard so many people comment that they had never seen a more beautiful bride, and that they loved her hair and makeup. Maira made us all relax and have a good time through the entire process, but never lost her professionalism.
  • Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience? Maira is friendly and casual which made my very tense and nervous daughter so much more relaxed, which in turn made me feel a lot more relaxed myself. She played music, took pictures and the whole experience was just wonderful.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: The Best Hair & Makeup Artist
04/27/2011
  • Alana H

  • Wedding Date: 04/03/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? My hair was done up in a low ponytail with with alot of volume on the top of it.during my trial we had done a different hairstyle that was down with a lot of curls. At the last minute we decided to change it to a ponytail and I am so glad I did. Maira was able to create something that was better than I could ever ask for. It was so perfect and gorgeous!
  • Were you BFFs with your stylists? Yes, my bridal party used and everyone was extremely happy with her. My whole party came out looking gorgeous.
  • Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience? Maira and her team came to my house and setup an entire studio with music and lights and everything. It was so professional, I was very impressed. If there was something I was unsure about Maira was happy to change it. I would absolutely recommend the air brush, it is well worth the money and I am so happy that I did it. Maira and her team are incredibly talented and I would recommend her to anyone doing an important event, especially your wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: Review of Maira Ortiz-Makeup & Hair Services
11/11/2010
  • Jessica F

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? My hair was half up, half down with soft curls.
  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? Maira and her team did a fantastic job. Maira knew exactly what I wanted and made sure I looked great. My hair was beautiful. Maira also did an amazing job on my makeup. I was getting compliments on my eye makeup the entire night. Maira and her team did hair and makeup for 4 of my bridesmaids and for the mothers of both the bride and groom. Everyone was really happy with their hair and makeup. I was very impressed both during my trial and during the wedding on how professional Maira was. I would highly recommend her services for weddings.

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 4.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding Day Hair and Makeup
10/05/2010
  • Kathryn B

  • Wedding Date: 10/02/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? My hair was down with soft curls and held off my face by a headband.
  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? Absolutely! Maira listened to exactly what I wanted. She modified the make-up she did for my trial-run on my Wedding Day when I said I wanted something a little more dramatic.
  • Were you BFFs with your stylists? Maira was wonderful to work with! Very professional and accommodating.
  • Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience? Working with Maira! She made me feel so beautiful. I highly recommend her to any bride!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
Review: Beautiful work that lasted all night
09/23/2010
  • Jennifer B

  • Wedding Date: 08/28/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted? Updo with slightly messy low bun.
  • Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not? Maira and her team did makeup and hair for me, my four bridesmaids, and my mother. She was super organized, professional, and made everyone look the best I've ever seen them. She's a good listener and was able to help all of my girls look the way they wanted, despite their very different tastes and desires. Everyone's hair stayed in place from beginning to end (and then some), and I amazingly looked fresh and made up even after the after party was over. I recommend the air brushing- it feels like you're not wearing anything at all and it STAYS ON! In case I haven't made it clear before, I would like to emphasize how reliable Maira is. Not only did they get everyone made up with plenty of time before the wedding (we were on a tight schedule), but she also showed up to the hotel early! Anyway, I can't recommend Maira enough- she's stress free and will make you look stunning on your special day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Gorgeousness Level : 5.0
  • Salon Style : 5.0
  • Product Selection : 5.0
  • Range of Services : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor