Above Heavens Gate
san diego, HI 92104
619-405-2509

http://www.hawaiiweddings.com/



View http://www.hawaiiweddings.com/ in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 4.2
  • Customized Ceremony : 4.0
  • Reliable : 4.2
  • Presence : 4.1
  • 4.1

  • 10 Reviews
Review: Amazing
07/01/2014
  • Kaitus

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Yes, very welcoming and warm.
  • A very deep, spiritual and unique speech went meant alot for myself and husband. Something you know has not been repeated over for other. Soley unique for us and I would not change anything.
  • "This will be a wedding I will never forget, absolutely amazing"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Captain Howie in the best!
08/18/2012
  • Mary Rose H

  • Wedding Date: 08/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? To start off, our wedding was beyond words! Captain Howie made our entire wedding party feel like family, especially Patrick and I. From start to finish, it was perfect. Captain Howie and his entire staff were great and very helpful.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We can't thank Captain Howie enough for our touching ceremony. It was better than anything that we could have anticipated. The words he spoke were so true and we will keep them in our hearts for the rest of our lives. And, by the way, we were both amazed at his lung capacity when he blew into his conch shell! We could not get over the Hobbit House and how beautiful it was. Everyone made us feel so comfortable. Pukalani Falls Garden is an absolutely beautiful place to have a wedding. The pictures and video that were taken there were absolutely amazing. The photographer and videographer were very patient and talented. They made our pictures and video look totally awesome. They are treasured keepsakes of our special day.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We chose a combination location with both the beautiful Pukalani Falls Garden and Hobbit House, and Angels Bay beach. All the flowers we chose were even more eloquent than we expected. We could not get over the Hobbit House and how beautiful it was. Pukalani Falls Garden is incredible and so were the pictures and video that were taken there. It is an absolutely beautiful place to have a wedding and pictures taken. The photographer and videographer were very patient and talented in making our pictures and video look so amazing. They are treasured keepsakes of our special day.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? We did not have any guests at our wedding. However, when our friends and family saw our wedding photographs and video, they could not believe their eyes. Several of our friends asked how they could get in touch with Captain Howie so they can renew their wedding vows with him next time they come to Hawaii. All of our exceptions were exceeded.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Not For Everyone.
08/15/2012
  • Sally B

  • Wedding Date: 05/01/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Do the wedding on the Beach, do not let them make u do the wedding in the garden. Hire your own photographer as you can see on the website the photographer has the same shots over and over. Get a photographer with more creativeness. DO NOT EVER take the video on your package. VERY BAD QUALITY. if you are thinking that the video will look like the HD that captain Howie did on the website you are wrong. Ask for sample. I had a small unclean shack to get dress in and my husband got the bathroom. IT WAS SUCH A DISAPPOINTMENT for him. I make do with what I have but when you have to get dress in a bathroom its so not good. One thing that was stuck in my memory was the sick cat. I am a bet lover but when you see a cat with open wound on your wedding day its a total turn off. No, he is a bit weird. Wish I had written my own vow and just have him say nothing.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? about my religion. he just assume because i look indian that I'm a Hindu.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Got my own photographer thank God and own musician

Overall Rating: 1.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 1.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 1.0
  • Reliable : 1.0
  • Presence : 1.0

write a review
Review: Recommended for a Hawaii beach wedding
06/28/2010
  • tom h

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Capt Howie was as described: an old hippie....so am I so no problem.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Really nothing except everything was right on time. The booking was easy online with a little time on the phone. Then called back a week ahead to confirm. We got the license downtown in 20 minutes then to Capt Howies a couple days ahead to see the place and pay. The make up guy called at 9:30 and arived at 10:00 on time. The Limo arrived at 1:15 on time. The photgrapher was there when we arrived and took pictures then called Capt Howie who came over and talked to me about the scariest flying experience in my 30 years as a pilot which he included in the ceremony. Our teen age kids were there and thought it was great! He blew the horn a VERY long time. Then back to limo and waikiki for dinner at the top of the Sheraton.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? It was all very much as described on their website. I highly recommend the beach instead of their backyard garden and manmade waterfall. My wife let me arrainge it as long as i wore a black suit. For a guy it is the simplest, easiest way i can imagine and the end result is a stunning beach wedding with photos the wife can remember it by.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone thought it was a stunning beach wedding, hardly anyone else on beach and the few there stayed a long distance away. A beautiful wedding on an unspoiled Hawaii beach with no BS.

Overall Rating: 4.2 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 3.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 4.0

write a review
Review: Capt. Howie Wedding
03/19/2010
  • Doug H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Capt. Howie was so easy to work with. He replied to every email I sent and assured me that our day would be perfect. It was not a 'big dollar' day. Just a simple ceremony on the beach of Hawaii. Capt. Howie made me feel as though it was the most important day of his life.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? He added an audio cd that we received when we go home. Completely unexpected. He truly wanted to make our day special.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We just wanted a simple ceremony, nothing special, and it turned out to be something we will always remember. Capt. Howie's words will live forever in our hearts.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? It was just my wife and I and Capt. Howie. What a wonderful day. Everything was perfect and we are truly blessed to say we were married by Capt. Howie on that Hawaiian Beach. Thank you Capt. Howie, your person will live forever in our hearts and words.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Hawaiian wedding planners
11/12/2009
  • Sharice D

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Captain Howie, was wonderful. His warmth opened up my shy fiancé and made him feel very comfortable. His company is appropriately named Above Heaven's Gate. Prior to booking with them, we prayed and asked God to lead us to a place to hold our sacred ceremony. Honestly, Hawaii wasn't even on our minds. However, God led us there. When surfing the net for wedding planners in Hawaii we saw the name of the company, it was confirmation for us. The entire staff was amazing. The makeup artist, who did my hair and makeup, was phenomenal. We went to a luau that night, and I received so many compliments all night long. People said they had never seen a hairstyle so beautiful. There is nothing we would change ever about the experience we had there. It was one of the best days of our lives, and we appreciate Above Heaven’s Gate for making it possible. When we received our pictures, we were floored. My husband actually hates being photographed, but you would never know from the pictures The words Capt. Howie spoke to us will forever live in our hearts. We highly recommend Captain Howie and his hard working staff to anyone looking into wedding planners in Hawaii.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? A great sense of humor.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Captain Howie did not read from a script. He spoke like he knew us.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Your wedding photos are amazing!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Worlds Best Wedding
10/27/2009
  • Samantha Z

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I know many people have great weddings but I don’t believe people truly have their dream wedding as we sure did. Steve and I wanted our wedding to be very personal and intimate and that is exactly what Captain Howie and his staff gave us. We did not want a cookie cutter wedding and thankfully our wedding in Hawaii was anything but that. From the minute we walked in we knew we had chosen the right place. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our makeup artist Wade did an amazing job on my hair and make-up which made me feel beautiful, just as every bride should. The flowers were absolutely beautiful and Wade made the flowers in my hair look like an art piece. The scenery and the setting for our wedding at Pukalani Falls was paradise. I am left speechless trying to describe the beautiful paradise from the koi pond, to the waterfall, to the lush garden, it truly was paradise. Our photographer, Fernando was great! He was very personable and made both of us feel very comfortable. Fernando had great ideas and knew exactly what he was doing. We can’t wait to see what an amazing job he did with our pictures. In reality, his job will show everyone how perfect our wedding was. Since it was just Steve and I, Fernando did us a favor and took pictures with our camera as well so we would have a few pictures to show our family while waiting for the professional pictures to be finished. We really appreciated him going out of his way and doing that for us. Lastly, our ceremony! From Pukalani Falls we walked right across the way to the beach at Angels Bay which was beautiful. The sand was golden, the water was crystal clear, and the mountains in the background were perfect. Everything was perfect. Captain Howie spoke kind words that truly captured the essence of my relationship with Steve. He related the ceremony to our personal life and made it especially meaningful to the two of us. If he does this for every wedding then I believe Captain Howie should marry every single couple on the planet. He truly seems to insightfully understand what each couple is all about. Captain Howie and his wonderful staff absolutely made our dream wedding come true!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Based on testimonials we read, we were expecting a lot. What we got, however, was even more wonderful!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Captain Howie must have gone in our hearts and and met our souls!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our joy knows no bounds seeing your happiness!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Highly Recommended Company
10/17/2009
  • Marissa M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I just needed to express our utter joy and excitement with how smoothly our wedding in Hawaii went, and how touching and beautiful the entire affair was! First the limo ride that picked us up right from our hotel became our own little private tour as we enjoyed the magnificent sites from the comfort of our seats… but it just kept getting better. As soon as I stepped out of the limo at Pukalani Falls and saw Captain Howie's Hobbit House for the first time, I knew Scotty and I made the right decision. The venue was phenomenal… with its paradise-like atmosphere of exotic plants and flowers, soothing waterfalls, and well-loved cats, dog, beautiful parrots, and brightly-colored koi, my jaw dropped at the unbelievably gorgeous and serene environment. Capt. Howie’s staff was so relaxed and friendly, it’s as if our small wedding party of five was just visiting family. Our Makeup artist Wade took his time with my makeup and hair and the results were incredible… I felt like a glamorous island girl after I glimpsed at the results!!! Fernando, our photographer, was laidback and very attentive to all of our requests. Chrissy was right there any time setup was needed, along with Captain Howie’s wife Deva. Jenny was also busy helping out with the background tasks. And finally, there’s Captain Howie himself… what a beautiful, loving soul… he transformed our Hawaiian wedding ceremony into a deeply spiritual and unforgettable experience. My dream was to have an eclectic, unique, FUN wedding and Hawaii Wedding delivered and went beyond any of my high expectations. Captain Howie and his entire staff gave Scotty and me an unbeatably spectacular day of unforgettable memories. We feel truly blessed and proud to say we had our dream wedding in Hawaii with Captain Howie at Above Heaven’s Gate!!! Sincerely, Marissa and Scott Myers Portland, Oregon Married – August 7th 2009
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Capt. Howie made us feel like we were old childhood friends.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Capt. Howie did not read from a script or repeat something from memory. He took the time to ask us about our religious beliefs and spoke a beautiful and poetic ceremony from his heart.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The favorite comment we heard many times was - "I'm jealous".

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Our Dream Hawaiian Wedding with Captain Howie
10/14/2009
  • kel J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Kelly and I just wanted to take the time to tell other “married couples in waiting” about our wonderfully intimate experience with Capt. Howie, and the beautifully unique service he gave us. From the moment we arrived we both had this calming feeling that our day was going to be most special. The stunning Hobbit House, the beautifully maintained gardens and waterfall at Pukalani Falls with the mountain backdrop, reinforced the idyllic setting we had been dreaming about. But nothing truly prepares you for the magical way you feel when you are actually there. Having never met, and having only corresponded by telephone and e mail, many a couple might be put off by such radical and technological means of organizing your wedding day. However, when we tell you about the amazing service, speed of response to any questions or requests, dedication to detail, friendliness, personal touches and accuracy of the website all you need is your own imagination for your special day. Above Heavens Gate really will take care of the rest. Kel’s hair and make up artist, our photographer and DVD editor were fantastic. A wealth of experience, humble and relaxed professionals, all of whom have charming personalities and a dash of fun and flair which made us feel like a pair of ‘A’ list celebs for the day! Our wedding on the beach at Angels Bay was nothing more than perfect. The sun shined brightly, and Capt. Howie spoke from his heart. He composed a very unique ceremony – all about us as a couple, our journey ahead and the meanings and sanctity of marriage. We received our wedding photos and DVD shortly after returning home. A very fast service with the upgraded delivery service meant a lovely blessing and party for our family made this whole experience complete. The DVD had our family members weeping with happiness at the beauty of my bride and the surroundings of the wedding, whilst the quality photographs captured moments in time of our purest happiness together that will last forever. Above Heavens Gate comes with our highest recommendation. We traveled half way around the world, and of all the Hawaii destination weddings, we found the most perfect wedding organizers and minister. How lucky we were!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Capt. Howie took our ceremony to a level deeper than Kel and I had ever expected. It was absolutely wonderful!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Capt. Howie spoke to us both at length before the ceremony to learn all about our spiritual and religious beliefs.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? This was the most genuine wedding we have ever witnessed.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: They are NOT for everyone
04/29/2009
  • Sad Bride

  • Wedding Date: 01/30/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 2 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Well they’re right about one thing – they are NOT for everyone. After reading their site and everyone’s review on their site (which of course they would only post the positive comments), they made it sound like getting married by Above Heaven’s Gate was SO easy, simple and fun. Sadly, I was sold on that idea – easy, simple and fun. So here are my experiences and comments that I hope will help you on your decision of going with Above Heaven’s Gate. 1. Photographer -- Captain Howie was not happy at all with me for having my own photographer and charged me $200 for having my own photographer. He repeatedly asked me why and I told him that for the $2,000 that you’re charging for 100 photos, I paid the same price and got over 750+ photos and she did an amazing job. I looked through Above heaven’s Gate photo galleries and the style was inconsistent. If you read some of the review you can see that some even made comments that it was captain Howie taking the pictures. If that is what you want that’s great. But I just went for the best bang for my bucks. By the way, my $2000 on photos included – all the photos took that day, a wedding album with as much picture as I wanted, photos slide show set to any song/ music and delivering/shipping to the mainland. So do your research and you will be amaze with what you can get for $2000, but be warn Captain Howie will hate you. 2. The Garden/ waterfall -- The garden is small but nice. It’s their backyard. So don’t imagine or hope for a large garden area for pictures. I was disappointed because I thought that his backyard with be at least .25 acre. It was more like .10 or less of an acre. 3. The bridal suit -- This one was highly disappointing. I had asked Chrissy (the person who was helping me plan my wedding, their coordinator, who disappeared on me on my wedding day) about if I should bring flowers to help decorate the suit. I didn’t know what to expect of the “suit” so for photos purposes I asked if I should bring some flowers. She said no. That’s very nice of them because the “suit” was a garden shack. It was small, dark, two sky light (not enough for putting on make up, by the way captain howie was also upset that I had my own make-up artist. I pretty much had my own everything due to better price and quality. He didn’t like that because it was not good for his business. But don’t worry, they charge you for every thing -$200 for your own photographer, $35 for setting up the cake, but they treat you badly for free.) So where was I, oh the shack, okay so they have an11x14 mirror in the shack to put on make up along with one full length mirror. The 11x14 mirror was next to a poster size painted picture of captain howie. A little narcissistic? You be the judge. Oh, they also have a futon that is covered in dog hair. I have a cat and I know how difficult it can be keep fur off of furniture but I would think they would have a cover for the futon so that you can rest your dress on it. 4. The day before the wedding -- So I told Deva that I was going to be arriving at Captain Howie’s place the day before our wedding to finish any little detail plus give her the last check/payment. We arranged the time, the date (and I confirmed it twice with her) of when we were going to show up. So it only had sense that when I showed up to our appointment that she wasn’t there. So we spoke to captain howie, who had 3 sentences for me and spent the remaining hour asking my now husband about how to fix his computer problem. So yes, I was paying them so that my husband to consult for hours. They conservation continues on my wedding day when I was getting ready. And because my darling husbands the computer/network connection/ memory storage topic lead into our wedding ceremony. 5. Our Ceremony – So you know how my husband was answering a million questions for captain howie to be nice on how to fix his computer issue? Well at the opening of our ceremony, as we stood there together staring into each other eyes. Ready turn to a new chapter of lives as husband and wife, captain howie stated the following: “life without love is like computers without electricity.” He even went on and described other parts and working of computers to our love. I wanted to die. There was not one single smiling nice picture of me during our ceremony. By the way, captain howie even called after our honeymoon to ask for more advice on his computer problem. So if you or your spouse can help captain howie in his quest off the perfect computer, go with Above Heaven’s Gate and ask for a HUGE discount on your bill. So do your research before going with Above Heaven’s Gate or whatever they are calling themselves now. If it sounds too good to be true it normally is. And in my case, I wouldn’t go with them again.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? The comment that he made after describing our love as electricity -- He said "well, you're both nerds so you know what I'm talking about right?!"
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We got our own photographor, flowers, make-up artist and they were great but captain howie wasn't too thrilled with that. I guess I missed out on all of the kicks.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? oh dear god, I would have cried my eyes out if anyone was there. People were laughing so hard when we told them the story. Our wedding was ranked the second worst wedding by 50+ people (that was not our intentions).

Overall Rating: 1.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 1.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 1.0
  • Reliable : 1.0
  • Presence : 1.0

write a review