Officiants & Clergy in San Diego, CA: Ceremonies by Bethel
Ceremonies by Bethel
Please call for appointment
San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 302-3035


San Diego Officiants & Clergy: Ceremonies by Bethel


write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 43 Reviews
Review: Bethel was amazing!!
09/27/2014
  • ckrabbitt

  • Wedding Date: 09/13/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Bethel really took the time to get to know us which made all the difference!
  • Everything was personal and unique from the vows to the ring warming. Bethel gave us lots of ideas and then pulled it all together.
  • We were married on our 17th anniversary and we wanted the wedding to be a celebration of our journey and how each of them were/are a part of it, even those not with us. Bethel nailed it. It was perfect! Everyone said afterwards how it was just so “us”. It was serious and funny, spiritual – it was unique and full of love.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Elopement on the Beach with Bethel
09/10/2014
  • cgreen

  • Wedding Date: 08/26/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Bethel is a wonderful woman, completely dedicated to her work and her clients. She made us feel so comfortable from the first day we met her, even skyping from 2,000 miles away. Throughout the entire process over several months, her correspondence was impeccable and professional and what we loved the most was her sincere commitment in getting to know the both of us and how we came together as a couple. On our special day, the way she spoke and her delivery of the ceremony was so warm and sweet and touching...and that is something that we will always be grateful for. In ten years from now, we'd like to renew our vows in the same spot on the beach and would be honored to have Bethel as our officiant again and our friend, as she has truly become.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? We eloped on the beach, but the photographer loved it!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding Ceremony by Bethel
09/03/2014
  • PRamirez

  • Wedding Date: 07/26/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Extremely comfortable
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She helped us create the perfect ceremony
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? They were touched by her words.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bethel is Amazing!
07/07/2014
  • nbloom

  • Wedding Date: 06/14/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I don't even know where to begin with how amazing Bethel is. She is friendly and caring and took the time to get to know me and my husband in order to create a ceremony that was a true reflection of us. She made us feel comfortable within minutes of meeting her and it was an easy decision to have her as our officiant. From the initial meeting to the many conversations we had after that, I could tell she genuinely wanted to make our ceremony a wonderful and meaningful experience for us and for our friends and family and that she wasn't just going through the motions with another client. She walked us through the entire process of planning the ceremony and gave us wonderful suggestions, tons of options and all different ways to make our ceremony unique and beautiful. She really helped us make it everything we wanted it to be - it wasn't too short wasn't too long and was a great mix of sweet, funny, unique and traditional. Bethel far exceeded our expectations in every way. Not only is she a great person who has truly found her calling, she is super organized, prompt and extremely professional. Even though she always has multiple couples that she is working with at the same time, she always responded to my emails promptly and always made me feel like I was a priority. Every single detail was thought out, planned and executed perfectly. Bethel is truly amazing and I 100% recommend her to everyone.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bethel made our ceremony!
06/23/2014
  • u164876

  • Wedding Date: 05/31/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I don’t even know where to start with saying a million AMAZING things about Bethel. She was one of the people who made our wedding and I am soo so happy that we chose her (and GRATEFUL that she chose us)!! I literally CANNOT imagine our ceremony without her. I was first referred to Bethel by our wedding planner. I spoke with Bethel via email and then met her shortly after at Bridal Bazaar. Before meeting her in person, we were leaning towards having a family member be our officiant which my Mom was pretty adamant about. However, as soon as my Mom and I met Bethel in person at Bridal Bazaar, my Mom said that we had to go with her. The family member was out the door! My husband, fiancé at the time, was also originally hesitant about having someone we didn’t know be our officiant. But! Right after he met her and spoke with her, he said that we had to have her. I remember that when I took my husband to meet her for the first time after I met her at Bridal Bazaar I but was nervous because I really wanted her, but wasn’t sure what his reaction was going to be since we were already over budget. Afterwards, as we were walking to the car, I asked him, “What did you think?” His immediate reaction was, “Call her. We have to have her.” We didn’t even make it to the car before I contacted her. Best decision ever. Not only was Bethel amazing with getting to know me and my husband as individuals, but also getting to know us as a couple. She showed real sincerity and care towards us and our future as a married couple. She made us laugh and feel comfortable around her within minutes of meeting her and she was genuine. Another thing that I loved about her was her organization and prompt replies! It can be stressful planning a wedding, but every time I would contact her she would get back to me ASAP and make us feel so much better. She never left us hanging and was always there for us. Her ideas and suggestions were soo good and things that I had never thought about before, either. I loved it! Since the wedding, which was about a month ago now, we still have people talking to us about the ceremony and asking where we found Bethel. They have said things along the lines that it was the most “emotional” and “personal” ceremony they had ever been too. They have said that they really felt like they too were a part of the ceremony because it wasn’t your typical cookie-cutter ceremony. Bethel made the ceremony to be a reflection of us and not a reflection of what is traditionally done during a wedding ceremony. This is what made it memorable and really meaningful. She also put me and my husband at ease in front of 200 people since we were both terrified. Once we were up there with her, we didn’t really notice that there were 200 sets of eyes on us. She made it all about our relationship and our future to come. Asking Bethel to be our officiant was one of the best, if not the best, decision we made during the whole “wedding process.” I know that we will remain in touch with her which is very exciting and means a lot. Bethel is in high demand and if she is to be your officiant, you are soo lucky. Call her soon though! She is in high demand!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: BEST EVER!!!!!!
06/11/2014
  • sarieriksen

  • Wedding Date: 06/07/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 2

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? If we could stick Bethel in our pocket and take her everywhere with us we would!!! Even the most planned out, elaborate ceremonies that you could possibly dream of would not compare to the one she will design for you and work with you on personally! We fell in love with Bethel just from her picture and reviews and once we met her in person we knew for sure that she was the officiant for us!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She leaves a section out of the draft ceremony and surprises you and your spouse to be during the real ceremony! She takes answers from your "homework" and uses them in a way that is respectful and fun and gives your guests a closer look into your relationship and it in no way shape or form is embarrassing.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? It's give and take with Bethel! She gives suggestions and you take them or leave them and she invites you to come up with your own style as well. Whatever you don't like she will take out and replace with what you want or will give you suggestions on what it could be replaced with. It's a totally personal process that you will never regret!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? That is the best ceremony I've ever been to!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: AMAZING!
04/06/2014
  • mchleva

  • Wedding Date: 03/20/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? When we first met Bethel, we knew she was going to be amazing. We met first over a Skype session since we live in a different state than her and when we finished the call we just sat there in awe over how much “she got us” after one short conversation. She was able to incorporate some of the best stories about our relationship into our ceremony. She had us laughing and smiling the entire time. She was a joy to work with and her positive energy and outlook on life radiates from her every word and action. She has to be one of the most sincere people we have ever met. She welcomed us with open arms and we never once felt like we were “different” than her other couples. She is a true believer in equal rights and is an ally of the LGBT community. She prides herself on being an open officiant that is respectful to all types of relationships. We never once felt judged, uncomfortable or like we were an inconvenience to her. She was always prompt and respectful with her emails (as that was our main form of communication). She was also full of knowledge and different ideas on how to make our ceremony unique. She was comforting when we needed it and it really helped us feel at ease with our wedding ceremony. She has been a joy to work with and if we could do it all over again, we would still stick with Bethel! Her ceremonies are truly from the heart and you can tell she has a passion for her job because it shows in all aspects of her work, and work ethic. She was one of the best things about our wedding ceremony! ~Melody and Natasha Dockery-Chleva
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She compiled stories from my wife and I and shared them in our ceremony! It was beyond our expectations!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She gave us lots of options on how we could really make our ceremony unique.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? So many people commented on how joyous she was and how she radiated happiness!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: The most beautiful wedding ever!
02/11/2014
  • Tammy L

  • Wedding Date: 02/05/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I believe in referrals and when it came time to find the perfect person to marry us I reached out to my best friends Kristen and Craig Weiss. They both said, “You have to talk to Bethel”. They were her first couple that she married. Both said that she is “incredible”! We made the phone call and set up the first meeting. At our first meeting, as she sat down and asked us to tell her our story, she went over her process and what to expect. She even had one of us in tears of joy 15 minutes into the meeting (note: not the bride). We both agreed that Bethel would preside over our ceremony. We went home and emailed her to say that we would love for her to marry us. Deposit made that day! As far as the “homework” that Bethel sent us, to start writing our vows, far from it. It was a walk down 37 years of memory lane. It brought back beautiful fun memories of school and a friendship that has lasted a life time. It even helped us better understand the depth and strength of the love we had for one another. Bethel was quick to respond to every email, private message on Facebook and phone call. She was encouraging, inspirational and most of all, reminding us every step of the way that at the end of the day, we were going to be married to each other. She was even there when my wedding dress arrived and it was too small. Bethel knew that we did not want the “canned” wedding vows and she guided us every step of the way to make our vows ours! She interwove the story of our lives and our journey to this point. She used sincerity, joy and humor as she describe our very special moment. There is not another couple in this world that can say the vows that we did at our wedding. They are ours and ours alone! As Bethel started our ceremony, I can honestly say that all I heard was her voice, not the pounding of my heart, the crashing of the waves or the guests at our wedding. Her words filled our hearts and our guest’s hearts as many friends posted excerpts of our wedding on line. Friends in attendance remarked that they had been to many weddings, but never one as personal and enjoyable as ours. It is a true testament to Bethel’s professionalism, passion for life, caring nature and love of people. We had the ring blessing as a part of our ceremony and we were honored that when the rings came back to Bethel, after our guests had given their love and blessings to them, she took a moment to give hers as well. We can honestly say that Bethel is a part of our family! Couple 469 Greg and Tammy Landes
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Bethel encouraged us to make it our own from beginning to end. She even have a blessing to our wedding rings!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Bethel gave us our own personalize vows and ideas that made our wedding ours and one in a million.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The best wedding I ever attended with laughs, tears and love all wrapped up in the couples love!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: MUCH BETTER THAN EXPECTED
02/10/2014
  • mosestram

  • Wedding Date: 02/04/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Bethel was absolutely amazing in helping us plan our perfect day!! From the initial consultation, to the homework to get to know us and helping us to get to know each other, the coordination and contact back-and-forth to customize the ceremony, and delivery on the big day.....every bit of it was way more than we expected!! Bethel truly made this the best day of our lives to date!!! She was completely receptive to assisting us in finding a great location on the beach, lodging in San Diego, and resources for finding a photographer to match our needs and budget. There are no words to express how much Bethel's help and support in this process means to us!!! There is NO ONE else who would have made our elopement more meaningful that Bethel. 100% recommend her to anyone sincere in their convictions to marry and looking for an easy going coordinator to work with on planning the ceremony.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Personalized service in customizing the ceremony to match our personalities
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Incorporated personal vows, poetry, and activities that were meaningful to us.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Your ceremony was AMAZING!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bethel
02/01/2014
  • wendylu

  • Wedding Date: 01/25/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? One of the best decisions we made for our wedding, was choosing Bethel to be our officiant. She was there every step of the way from the time we made the decision to engage her services. She was invaluable in facilitating the writing of our vows, helping us choose special, unique touches we wanted to include , and keeping us on schedule to complete the process so we felt calm and ready on the BIG day! I don't know how we would have done this without her help. She is a fun, intelligent, caring, spiritual, loving person, and the BEST officiant I have seen at any wedding ever. I LOVE her!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Lots of suggestions for special touches. Her sparkling eyes, wonderful presence and obvious love for marrying people.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Hand fasting ceremony, wrote our own vows....all with Bethel's help
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Brother: "That was one of the most pleasant experiences I've ever had!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor