Officiants & Clergy in San Diego, CA: Ceremonies by Bethel
Ceremonies by Bethel
Please call for appointment
San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 302-3035


San Diego Officiants & Clergy: Ceremonies by Bethel


write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 46 Reviews
Review: The most beautiful wedding ever!
02/11/2014
  • Tammy L

  • Wedding Date: 02/05/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • I believe in referrals and when it came time to find the perfect person to marry us I reached out to my best friends Kristen and Craig Weiss. They both said, “You have to talk to Bethel”. They were her first couple that she married. Both said that she is “incredible”! We made the phone call and set up the first meeting. At our first meeting, as she sat down and asked us to tell her our story, she went over her process and what to expect. She even had one of us in tears of joy 15 minutes into the meeting (note: not the bride). We both agreed that Bethel would preside over our ceremony. We went home and emailed her to say that we would love for her to marry us. Deposit made that day! As far as the “homework” that Bethel sent us, to start writing our vows, far from it. It was a walk down 37 years of memory lane. It brought back beautiful fun memories of school and a friendship that has lasted a life time. It even helped us better understand the depth and strength of the love we had for one another. Bethel was quick to respond to every email, private message on Facebook and phone call. She was encouraging, inspirational and most of all, reminding us every step of the way that at the end of the day, we were going to be married to each other. She was even there when my wedding dress arrived and it was too small. Bethel knew that we did not want the “canned” wedding vows and she guided us every step of the way to make our vows ours! She interwove the story of our lives and our journey to this point. She used sincerity, joy and humor as she describe our very special moment. There is not another couple in this world that can say the vows that we did at our wedding. They are ours and ours alone! As Bethel started our ceremony, I can honestly say that all I heard was her voice, not the pounding of my heart, the crashing of the waves or the guests at our wedding. Her words filled our hearts and our guest’s hearts as many friends posted excerpts of our wedding on line. Friends in attendance remarked that they had been to many weddings, but never one as personal and enjoyable as ours. It is a true testament to Bethel’s professionalism, passion for life, caring nature and love of people. We had the ring blessing as a part of our ceremony and we were honored that when the rings came back to Bethel, after our guests had given their love and blessings to them, she took a moment to give hers as well. We can honestly say that Bethel is a part of our family! Couple 469 Greg and Tammy Landes
  • Bethel encouraged us to make it our own from beginning to end. She even have a blessing to our wedding rings!
  • Bethel gave us our own personalize vows and ideas that made our wedding ours and one in a million.
  • The best wedding I ever attended with laughs, tears and love all wrapped up in the couples love!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: MUCH BETTER THAN EXPECTED
02/10/2014
  • mosestram

  • Wedding Date: 02/04/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Bethel was absolutely amazing in helping us plan our perfect day!! From the initial consultation, to the homework to get to know us and helping us to get to know each other, the coordination and contact back-and-forth to customize the ceremony, and delivery on the big day.....every bit of it was way more than we expected!! Bethel truly made this the best day of our lives to date!!! She was completely receptive to assisting us in finding a great location on the beach, lodging in San Diego, and resources for finding a photographer to match our needs and budget. There are no words to express how much Bethel's help and support in this process means to us!!! There is NO ONE else who would have made our elopement more meaningful that Bethel. 100% recommend her to anyone sincere in their convictions to marry and looking for an easy going coordinator to work with on planning the ceremony.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Personalized service in customizing the ceremony to match our personalities
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Incorporated personal vows, poetry, and activities that were meaningful to us.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Your ceremony was AMAZING!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bethel
02/01/2014
  • wendylu

  • Wedding Date: 01/25/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? One of the best decisions we made for our wedding, was choosing Bethel to be our officiant. She was there every step of the way from the time we made the decision to engage her services. She was invaluable in facilitating the writing of our vows, helping us choose special, unique touches we wanted to include , and keeping us on schedule to complete the process so we felt calm and ready on the BIG day! I don't know how we would have done this without her help. She is a fun, intelligent, caring, spiritual, loving person, and the BEST officiant I have seen at any wedding ever. I LOVE her!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Lots of suggestions for special touches. Her sparkling eyes, wonderful presence and obvious love for marrying people.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Hand fasting ceremony, wrote our own vows....all with Bethel's help
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Brother: "That was one of the most pleasant experiences I've ever had!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bethel is a top-notch officiant who cares
01/15/2014
  • davidwhittaker

  • Wedding Date: 01/01/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We were looking for someone who could not only officiate our elopement, but help us plan the ceremony, and most importantly be as genuine and present as a lifelong friend. Bethel was exactly that. From our first phone call with her, we knew she was the right person. When we told her what we were looking for, we felt she asked the right questions and she immediately started putting things in motion towards making our ceremony perfect. Bethel offered sample readings, traditions, and vows based on our distinctive relationship and discussions of what we wanted. She genuinely listened to our stories about how we met, what we find special about each other, and why each of us think we're the luckiest guy on the planet. She took that information, along with our wording selections, and crafted the perfect ceremony tailored just for us, infused with elements of our unique love. During the ceremony, she put her heart and soul into the reading, truly feeding on our bond for each other. Bethel took the time to get to know us, and that came out in her delivery. To all who were there, it seemed like she had been a friend of ours since the beginning of our relationship. After the ceremony, she took care of all the paperwork and we were free to take pictures and be with our friends and family. The whole event was perfection and in big part because of Bethel. We cannot recommend her enough to any couple who wants a caring, knowledgeable officiant who will be completely devoted to your unique ceremony both before and during the event.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: This woman touched our hearts!
01/06/2014
  • ldl

  • Wedding Date: 12/31/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We could not have made a better choice in selecting Bethel to perform our Coronado Dunes wedding ceremony on New Years Eve! In planning a small three-guest elopement wedding from our home in Indiana with only web searches to assist us, our biggest fear was we would end up with a cookie cutter ceremony performed by an uninterested officiant reading from a canned script. Bethel's simple and direct "open to all" message on her website really spoke to us, and, once we met her via FaceTime, we knew we needn't worry about anything other than adequately explaining what we wanted because she would make every effort to assure our ceremony was exactly right for us. Bethel was there for us every step of the way during the planning process, responding promptly to all of our nervous questions, explaining the all-important logistics of a California beach wedding, helping us find fantastic photographers (La Vida Creations), and offering all the guidance we needed to craft a personal and intimate ceremony. Even via a long-distance connection, she has a remarkable personable talent for drawing others out to learn who they really are and what they need to make their wedding as memorable, unique, and celebratory as it should be. But most of all, Bethel was so generous in sharing her abundant energy, passion, and joy in what she does on our wedding day that she became an integral part of our ceremony - not just its officiant - and made the occasion even more heart-stirring and memorable than we had anticipated.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Choose Bethel
11/12/2013
  • cowhorse45

  • Wedding Date: 09/10/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Bethel is amazing! Our ceremony was a perfect reflection of our love and commitment to each other . The best thing about Bethel was that she let us have the complete freedom of putting together a ceremony that was truly ours. She gave of endless guidelines and ideas and we were then able to choose the things that were most important to us. Her 'homework' was so fun to do and it really showed us that she was determined to get to know our relationship. She took our information and prepared a ceremony that was amazing and beautiful. The time and loving effort that she puts into her work shows that this is truly her passion and not just a job. We highly recommend her!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: HIRE HER!!!
09/16/2013
  • Kimberly P

  • Wedding Date: 09/08/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? What to say about Ceremonies by Bethel? There is not enough time nor words to completely express how we felt about her being our officiant. Bethel was absolutely AMAZING and worth every penny that we paid for her. Bethel was so caring, personable, and involved in US which made our ceremony the best it could be because she really learned about us and our relationship. We cannot say enough about what she did for us. We had 200 guests at the wedding and a majority of the people could not stop talking about her and the ceremony. Their comments ranged from “That was the best ceremony that we have ever been to”, “we did not want the ceremony to end”, (which is never the case), and “where did you find her? She made your ceremony AMAZING”. If you want a ceremony that is written just for you and captures every little thing about your relationship, Bethel is the officiant that you want. She is the most caring and loving person that we have met and my husband and I are so HONORED to have had her create and perform the ceremony of our dreams. The other thing that puts her over the bar is the fact that when we got home 5 days after the wedding and our short honeymoon we had an envelope at home waiting for us. In this envelope was our ceremony typed on beautiful paper, a certificate of our marriage that she made, a card from her, and a copy of our marriage license that she went and personally submitted and filed for us. There is so much more I can say but just know that if you want a ceremony that is personal, filled with love and really captures your relationship please chose Bethel!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Love, laughter and happily ever after with Bethel!
06/24/2013
  • NatalieBrawner

  • Wedding Date: 06/15/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Personal stories
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our own vows, selected readings, and our own ring ceremony
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Most touching and personal ceremony they had ever been to!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: HIRE THIS WOMAN
04/02/2013
  • tikibird13

  • Wedding Date: 03/30/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? YES!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very Personable and down to earth. Attentive and engaging with her couples.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She added herself. Bethel is someone you feel like you have known forever. She radiates good, loving energy!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She uses homework questions to get to know her couples as well as uses the answers in her ceremony. She keeps the Bride and Groom engaged in the ceremony building process through choices of unity rituals as well as readings.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? " She makes me want to renew my vows." "I wish I knew about her for MY ceremony"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We LOVED Bethel!
11/17/2012
  • Patrick J

  • Wedding Date: 08/26/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We met Bethel at the Bridal Bazaar in San Diego.  For anyone who has been, you know that there are thousands of people walking around, hundreds of vendors, and it is a very intense event.  It’s hard to get any individualized attention from vendors, many of who are there just to get clients and make money.  However, we came across Bethel and she just clicked with us from the first time we met her.  She talked directly with us and spent quality time getting to know us and gave us individual, personalized attention.  She was very warm, and even though there were thousands of people around us, she made us feel like we were the only people there and she really created a genuine connection.  Clearly, she is not there just to collect clients and make money, she does this to connect with people, share their love, and make their special day unforgettable.  We are so glad that we meet Bethel that day and that we could make her part of our big day.  Neither of us are particularly religious people, and we were concerned with finding an officiant who was not judgmental about this and could still give us a meaningful ceremony without tying in too much traditional, religious views.  We really appreciated her unique approach, her understanding of our views and beliefs, and her tireless work to make our ceremony perfect.  Bethel worked with us for many months to create a very personal, unique, and moving ceremony.  She provided various “homework” assignments (i.e., written questions) to get to better know us as individuals and as a couple.  She was always very patient and understanding with us when we would turn them in late. By learning so much about us, Bethel was able to create a very personal ceremony that captured us as a couple, was respectful of our views, and kept the audience’s attention from beginning to end.  Our guests raved about the ceremony and how special it was.  The ceremony was at times funny, genuine and moving, and at all times infused with love.  Bethel’s passion for her work shines through and infuses the entire ceremony with heartfelt emotions. 

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor