Officiants & Clergy in San Diego, CA: Ceremonies by Bethel
Ceremonies by Bethel
Please call for appointment
San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 302-3035


San Diego Officiants & Clergy: Ceremonies by Bethel


write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 43 Reviews
Review: Bethel is a top-notch officiant who cares
01/15/2014
  • davidwhittaker

  • Wedding Date: 01/01/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • We were looking for someone who could not only officiate our elopement, but help us plan the ceremony, and most importantly be as genuine and present as a lifelong friend. Bethel was exactly that. From our first phone call with her, we knew she was the right person. When we told her what we were looking for, we felt she asked the right questions and she immediately started putting things in motion towards making our ceremony perfect. Bethel offered sample readings, traditions, and vows based on our distinctive relationship and discussions of what we wanted. She genuinely listened to our stories about how we met, what we find special about each other, and why each of us think we're the luckiest guy on the planet. She took that information, along with our wording selections, and crafted the perfect ceremony tailored just for us, infused with elements of our unique love. During the ceremony, she put her heart and soul into the reading, truly feeding on our bond for each other. Bethel took the time to get to know us, and that came out in her delivery. To all who were there, it seemed like she had been a friend of ours since the beginning of our relationship. After the ceremony, she took care of all the paperwork and we were free to take pictures and be with our friends and family. The whole event was perfection and in big part because of Bethel. We cannot recommend her enough to any couple who wants a caring, knowledgeable officiant who will be completely devoted to your unique ceremony both before and during the event.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: This woman touched our hearts!
01/06/2014
  • ldl

  • Wedding Date: 12/31/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We could not have made a better choice in selecting Bethel to perform our Coronado Dunes wedding ceremony on New Years Eve! In planning a small three-guest elopement wedding from our home in Indiana with only web searches to assist us, our biggest fear was we would end up with a cookie cutter ceremony performed by an uninterested officiant reading from a canned script. Bethel's simple and direct "open to all" message on her website really spoke to us, and, once we met her via FaceTime, we knew we needn't worry about anything other than adequately explaining what we wanted because she would make every effort to assure our ceremony was exactly right for us. Bethel was there for us every step of the way during the planning process, responding promptly to all of our nervous questions, explaining the all-important logistics of a California beach wedding, helping us find fantastic photographers (La Vida Creations), and offering all the guidance we needed to craft a personal and intimate ceremony. Even via a long-distance connection, she has a remarkable personable talent for drawing others out to learn who they really are and what they need to make their wedding as memorable, unique, and celebratory as it should be. But most of all, Bethel was so generous in sharing her abundant energy, passion, and joy in what she does on our wedding day that she became an integral part of our ceremony - not just its officiant - and made the occasion even more heart-stirring and memorable than we had anticipated.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Choose Bethel
11/12/2013
  • cowhorse45

  • Wedding Date: 09/10/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Bethel is amazing! Our ceremony was a perfect reflection of our love and commitment to each other . The best thing about Bethel was that she let us have the complete freedom of putting together a ceremony that was truly ours. She gave of endless guidelines and ideas and we were then able to choose the things that were most important to us. Her 'homework' was so fun to do and it really showed us that she was determined to get to know our relationship. She took our information and prepared a ceremony that was amazing and beautiful. The time and loving effort that she puts into her work shows that this is truly her passion and not just a job. We highly recommend her!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: HIRE HER!!!
09/16/2013
  • Kimberly P

  • Wedding Date: 09/08/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? What to say about Ceremonies by Bethel? There is not enough time nor words to completely express how we felt about her being our officiant. Bethel was absolutely AMAZING and worth every penny that we paid for her. Bethel was so caring, personable, and involved in US which made our ceremony the best it could be because she really learned about us and our relationship. We cannot say enough about what she did for us. We had 200 guests at the wedding and a majority of the people could not stop talking about her and the ceremony. Their comments ranged from “That was the best ceremony that we have ever been to”, “we did not want the ceremony to end”, (which is never the case), and “where did you find her? She made your ceremony AMAZING”. If you want a ceremony that is written just for you and captures every little thing about your relationship, Bethel is the officiant that you want. She is the most caring and loving person that we have met and my husband and I are so HONORED to have had her create and perform the ceremony of our dreams. The other thing that puts her over the bar is the fact that when we got home 5 days after the wedding and our short honeymoon we had an envelope at home waiting for us. In this envelope was our ceremony typed on beautiful paper, a certificate of our marriage that she made, a card from her, and a copy of our marriage license that she went and personally submitted and filed for us. There is so much more I can say but just know that if you want a ceremony that is personal, filled with love and really captures your relationship please chose Bethel!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Love, laughter and happily ever after with Bethel!
06/24/2013
  • NatalieBrawner

  • Wedding Date: 06/15/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Personal stories
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our own vows, selected readings, and our own ring ceremony
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Most touching and personal ceremony they had ever been to!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: HIRE THIS WOMAN
04/02/2013
  • tikibird13

  • Wedding Date: 03/30/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? YES!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very Personable and down to earth. Attentive and engaging with her couples.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She added herself. Bethel is someone you feel like you have known forever. She radiates good, loving energy!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She uses homework questions to get to know her couples as well as uses the answers in her ceremony. She keeps the Bride and Groom engaged in the ceremony building process through choices of unity rituals as well as readings.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? " She makes me want to renew my vows." "I wish I knew about her for MY ceremony"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We LOVED Bethel!
11/17/2012
  • Patrick J

  • Wedding Date: 08/26/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We met Bethel at the Bridal Bazaar in San Diego.  For anyone who has been, you know that there are thousands of people walking around, hundreds of vendors, and it is a very intense event.  It’s hard to get any individualized attention from vendors, many of who are there just to get clients and make money.  However, we came across Bethel and she just clicked with us from the first time we met her.  She talked directly with us and spent quality time getting to know us and gave us individual, personalized attention.  She was very warm, and even though there were thousands of people around us, she made us feel like we were the only people there and she really created a genuine connection.  Clearly, she is not there just to collect clients and make money, she does this to connect with people, share their love, and make their special day unforgettable.  We are so glad that we meet Bethel that day and that we could make her part of our big day.  Neither of us are particularly religious people, and we were concerned with finding an officiant who was not judgmental about this and could still give us a meaningful ceremony without tying in too much traditional, religious views.  We really appreciated her unique approach, her understanding of our views and beliefs, and her tireless work to make our ceremony perfect.  Bethel worked with us for many months to create a very personal, unique, and moving ceremony.  She provided various “homework” assignments (i.e., written questions) to get to better know us as individuals and as a couple.  She was always very patient and understanding with us when we would turn them in late. By learning so much about us, Bethel was able to create a very personal ceremony that captured us as a couple, was respectful of our views, and kept the audience’s attention from beginning to end.  Our guests raved about the ceremony and how special it was.  The ceremony was at times funny, genuine and moving, and at all times infused with love.  Bethel’s passion for her work shines through and infuses the entire ceremony with heartfelt emotions. 

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: 100% Recommended
10/28/2012
  • Lauren B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Bethel definitely made us feel comfortable. She listened to all of our conerns about the ceremony, and was very responsive to questions we had.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Bethel brings many things to the ceremony: suggestions for readings and rituals, a format that includes stories from each partner in the marriage, and a wealth of experience as an officiant
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We personalized our ceremony with stories about each other.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The vote was unanimous from guests that they loved Bethel, and thought she was the perfect choice for our wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Julia & Gordon Dankberg
10/04/2012
  • Julia L

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We found Bethel on-line and contacted her on short notice. She was really great and happy to work with us on our fast timeline. She was very flexible and very organized as well as lighthearted and humorous, exactly what we wanted. All of our guests complimented us on our choice. They loved her, as did we. Highly recommend.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Great Day!
08/09/2012
  • ally f

  • Wedding Date: 08/04/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Bethel was so professional. She really listened to us and what we wanted. We were so glad we chose her. She made our ceremony.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She was so funny, yet well spoken. Everyone who attended shared with us later how they enjoyed the ceremony.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She helped us write our own vows. She has a great deal of information and helped up create a fantastic and thoughful ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? She did an all around great job. You can tell she is very passionate about what she does.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor