Minnesota Reverend
7118 Grimes Ave North
Minneapolis, MN 55429

Minnesota Reverend



View Minnesota Reverend in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 7 Reviews
Review: A wedding ceremony in the rain
12/28/2011
  • Kayla A

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Rev. Derek came extremely prepared to our meetings and made us comfortable in the fact we knew this was an aspect of the wedding that was taken care of. He took the time to get to know us to make the ceremony personal.
  • We were married in the rain! :) He came prepared to stand out in the rain with the rest of us and made it the most memorable wedding ceremony any of us had ever been to. We shortened a few parts of the ceremony minutes before we walked down the aisle and he comforted us in making it seem like it wasn't a big deal that all of our guests were huddled under umbrellas.
  • We made our own vows for the wedding- which definitely made it personal to us.
  • It was a wedding no one will ever forget.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Reverend Derek
12/25/2011
  • Palleap W

  • Wedding Date: 04/09/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? YES! Reverend Derek was personable and open to any ideas we had. He had wonderful suggestions and really wanted to make the ceremony ours.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We did not have a tradition wedding day. We started out early in the morning with a Cambodian ceremony and continued with a traditional western style wedding into the night. It was great of Reverend Derek to listen and remember what we would be doing throughout the day and incorporated it into the ceremony. We LOVED that he said not alot of people married twice in one day ;)
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? For the unity part of the ceremony, we wanted to do something different. Reverend Derek sent us several suggestions; the one we decided on was the Hand Blessing Ceremony. When we read it, we felt the true meaning of it and knew it would be a beautiful addition to the ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Reverend Derek had suggested we stand at facing each other, but at a 45 degree angle towards the guests. Our guests enjoyed the ability to see our faces and not the back of our heads during the ceremony. We also appreciated seeing the many faces, all of family and friends who were there to support us. This was one of the many great ideas of Reverend Derek!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Personalized and Personable
12/23/2011
  • Chris J

  • Wedding Date: 04/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely. Derek was humorous and energetic. He had the willingness (and took the time) to listen to exactly what we wanted out of the ceremony.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? He had many good ideas in the planning stage that he based on listening to what we wanted. We incorporated many of them. During the ceremony, he kept us calm and made the ceremony exactly what we wanted.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Readings from our favorite pieces, the entire group walking in together to the ceremony rather than traditional march, music.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The ceremony felt personal and unscripted to everyone (including us), so much so that after the ceremony some of our family asked how long we'd known Derek. They couldn't believe we'd only met twice.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Minnesota Reverend will make your wedding special!
12/21/2011
  • Stephanie H

  • Wedding Date: 08/11/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Reverend Derek demonstrated his warmth and professionalism from our first meeting through the wedding day. We could sense right away that he was passionate about helping us create the ceremony we envisioned. He took the time to get to know us and was very helpful in the planning stage. He gave us a custom ceremony, and it was even better than we'd hoped. His personal words were meaningful, sincere, and shared with a touch of humor.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Reverend Derek was extra flexible as we had to change the wedding date at the last minute! He was also excellent at adapting to our less-traditional ceremony and venue (our wedding took place outdoors on an island, and involved a boat ride to and from the location.)
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Many components of our ceremony were personal. We wrote our vows, selected readings that held special meaning to us, and chose a style of ceremony that reflected our religious beliefs. Reverend Derek made sure that all of our wishes were honored.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our guests remarked that the ceremony was beautiful, personal, and respectful of the religious beliefs of all in attendance. It was the perfect blend of solemnity and humor. Reverend Derek helped make our wedding day extra special, and I know he'll do the same for you!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Professional and Helpful
12/21/2011
  • Zak U

  • Wedding Date: 07/09/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Rev Derek was great to work with. He was very professional and helpful throughout our planning process. He was quick to respond to email and phone calls and had great suggestions. Our ceremony was exactly what we wanted!! Thank you Derek for making our day so special!!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Rev Derek didn't push any particular ideas for the ceremony, but opened it up for us and offered suggestions when he knew we were struggling.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our ceremony was small (25 people) and we wanted it to be loose and fun. Rev Derek was able to get everything we wanted accomplished in the appropriate time frame. We only heard positive feedback from the attendees.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
12/20/2011
  • Jennifer H

  • Wedding Date: 05/13/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We truly can't say enough good things about Reverend Derek! He was so fast to respond to our questions and great at guiding us to plan an absolutely perfect wedding!! He is extremely detailed & organized, professional, personable, fun and has such a calming nature. We knew right from the start of planning that we were in great hands, so we never once worried about how our ceremony would turn out. Even with those positives thoughts it still somehow exceeded our expectations!!! Our ceremony was exactly what we were looking for -- a simple ceremony in a non-traditional venue. IT WAS AMAZING!!!! WAHOOOO! We also did our premarital counseling with Rev. Derek and would HIGHLY recommend that as well. Why anyone wouldn't do premarital counseling is beyond me. We go to school for years and years to prepare for so many facets of life, so why not this all important one! My husband & I feel far more prepared now to handle the things that we will encounter along our journey in our newly joined lives.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: August 20, 2011 wedding
12/20/2011
  • Tanya P

  • Wedding Date: 08/20/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We highly recommend Rev. Derek! We were very comfortable with him from the first moment and we loved his many entertaining stories. He was respectful of- and helped us find a good balance between- our differing religious points of view. He was very responsive to our questions and provided his helpful expert advice when necessary as we worked together to incorporate several personal touches to our ceremony. He was attentive to detail, supportive, and flexible throughout the whole process. Our ceremony was beautiful and we couldn't be happier with the essential role he played! Thank you, Rev. Derek!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor