Social Graces
Duluth - Two Harbors, MN 55616
(218) 834-6280

Social Graces, Wedding Officiant



View Social Graces, Wedding Officiant in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 43 Reviews
Review: Thank you Social Graces!!!
11/15/2012
  • Chris L

  • Wedding Date: 06/12/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Our experience with Social Graces was absolutely incredible! Dana helped us to plan the perfect day and location for our wedding on the North Shore of Lake Superior. She was very gracious and open to meeting us at our desired time and location outside on the rocky terrain of Artist Point Harbor in Grand Marais, MN. We highly recommend Social Graces to everyone, she was very nice and held a wonderful ceremony for us. Thank you Social Graces for all your great work with us, for a perfect, once-in-a-lifetime wedding! :) -Chris and Phil Lorenz
  • She helped us customize our ceremony to exactly what we desired. The time of day, length, location and wording was all up to us, but she also helped provide us with ideas and examples when we fell short on preference or ideas.
  • We wanted it outside along the shores of Lake Superior, and were able to all hike back to an ideal location on the rocky shore of Artist Point Harbor in Grand Marais. We also added a unity rope, a matrimony vase to drink from, which Dana was able to easily work into our ceremony at the perfect time, and in a wonderful way. :)
  • The wedding was a perfect reflection of our personalities: unique, romantic, and fun!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Awesome!
07/01/2012
  • Rachelle S

  • Wedding Date: 06/10/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely! She was very warm and welcoming, and gave us suggestions about where to eat after our private beach wedding. We'd hired her before we actually met her, but once we met Dana, we knew we'd made the right choice.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She definitely kept in contact with us, asking how plans were going and if there was anything she could help with...and since we don't live in the area where we got married, that was so helpful! She also managed to squeeze a meeting with us into her busy schedule so we could talk with and get to know her while we spent a weekend in Duluth.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We kept it short and sweet, deciding to write our own vows. Dana offered her services if we felt we needed help putting our feelings into words.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Short and beautiful :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Love Dana!
06/27/2012
  • Shannon L

  • Wedding Date: 06/09/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes!!! Me and my husband absolutely loved Dana! I had many people in the wedding, including many of the groomsmen, tell me how much they loved our officiant. She was really good about organizing everything so that I didn't have to worry about a single thing. Another thing that is VERY RARE with wedding vendors is prompt response times with emails, Dana returned every single email that I sent her either the same day or the next. We really loved her and highly recommend her to any other brides!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Just What We Hoped For!
06/18/2012
  • Niki K

  • Wedding Date: 05/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? She sure did! I was planning the ceremony from across the country, and my fiance was away at work. It led to a lot more stress than I was looking for, and Dana was very comforting about making sure the ceremony was how we wanted it.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? I wanted the ceremony to be a surprise, so besides the basic layout of the ceremony, it was all a surprise. It was just what I was looking for!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Instead of a unity candle, we did a unity tea ceremony. We each chose different teas and steeped them. Since the wedding was on the beach, we kept the tea separate in thermoses and for the unity ceremony we mixed the teas.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our guests thought that the ceremony suited both of us really well. There were some unique little touches that were really special to both of us.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Mrs. Courtney Hulsebusch
01/03/2012
  • Courtney H

  • Wedding Date: 12/31/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: So Satisified
11/06/2011
  • Thomas P

  • Wedding Date: 10/14/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Dana making you feel comfortable is an understatement. You will not find anyone that is more professional, personable, caring, and experienced as Dana. She made our ceremony so special and worked with us in every aspect making our special day so memorable. Any questions we had, she was so prompt in answering them and offered many suggestions to help make our ceremony unique and special. Dana was our first choice to be our officiant and we were blessed to have her marry us.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We wanted to honor our grandparents that had passed and also honor two of them that are still with us, but couldn't be at our ceremony. Dana suggested a great idea with roses on empty chairs that offered a wonderful, yet simple touch. She also suggested an idea to include my fiance's daughter during the ceremony with me giving her a piece of jewelry.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? This was our second marriage, so we opted for a small, intimate type wedding with just close family and friends. Dana's appraoch and style, complimented our ceremony quite well.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Countless people commented how organized Dana was and how well she spoke. I think the favorite moment for our guests was when I presented a piece of jewelry to my now, stepdaughter. Thank you Dana for making our wedding day so special and memorable!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Everything we needed!
10/23/2011
  • Jennifer A

  • Wedding Date: 09/23/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Dana is very proficient and experienced at what she does. After a few phone consults we were able to design our ceremony over email which was very convienant since we lived 3+ hours away. She was always very quick to respond to any changes we requested in our ceremony and would send back an amended draft within a day or two at the most. She is very professional and easy to work with.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Drafts of different ceremony options along with her expertise on how the order of the ceremony should run. She did a fantastic job at the Rehearsal (which I highly recommend!) You can tell she has done this for years because she was able to command the attention of my wedding party of 19 and get the rehearsal done in less than 30 minutes!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We chose our own readings which were not your typical "wedding readings." We also chose our own songs which were not typical "wedding songs." We had a "family unity candle" to blend our families together which everyone LOVED.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The 5 of us lighting the Family Unity Candle and the sermon that Dana gave along with it :) Thanks again Dana! Fantastic JOB!! Jen & Ken

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfect!
10/13/2011
  • Heidi M

  • Wedding Date: 09/30/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Dana made both myself and my husband very comfortable. She explained how the timeline to us and what she needed from us.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Favorite Wedding Offciant..Dana Parvey of Social G
09/24/2011
  • Misty M

  • Wedding Date: 09/10/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? From the very moment I dialed Social Graces I was greeted with a very friendly voice by the name of Dana Parvey. From there I immediately felt comfortable and we began to talk about my wedding plans and I knew right then and there that I just had to have her perform our wedding ceremony. She has been such a delight to work with, is prompt in responding to emails, phone calls, and is always there to lend any advice along the way to saying “I Do!”. I also found it an added bonus that she has wedding planning experience too. Dana was able to give me a couple places to look into for wedding chairs and what she suggested we ended up using. Dana sent over several samples of wedding ceremonies to choose from and was very patient with us in waiting until we decided on the perfect one and then I asked if we could add in a scripture reading and she also provided several to choose from too! Then Dana compiled everything together and it was amazing to read our ceremony for the first time and on our wedding day both myself, and my now husband forgot how beautiful our wedding ceremony was and it made us love finding Dana even more. It truly was special having her there reading our wedding ceremony to us in that very special moment of ours. Before the wedding ceremony she fastened my wedding necklace and I gave her free reign to set-up the sand ceremony table and it far exceeded all of my expectations!! During the entire service you could see the joy, passion, and energy that radiates from inside her and it made my wedding day that much more special. When the time comes, I will be contacting her again to have her renew our vows too. I can’t thank Dana enough for all of her wisdom and advice along the way it may sound cliche’ but finding her was like a God send for us both.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? When we drove up to split Rock Lighthouse there was traffic stopped on one side for over 20 minutes and only one side was able to proceed forward at one time not both sides. When we finally were able to proceed we were so late for our scheduled wedding rehearsal with Dana. I began calling Dana to inform her of the situation and couldn't get a hold of her but kept calling in hopes to catch her before she left. When we arrived, I asked the state park employees, the historical site employees if they had seen Dana and they replied no. We tried to call her and there literally is no cell phone service there. We were so fortunate for her to turn around and come back when she received our voicemails so we could have our rehearsal and meet for the first time in person. We thought for sure we were out of luck. Thank you Dana for performing our walk-thru and calming us down when we saw you. Dana just has an inner light that radiates and made both Jason and myself feel at ease. When she came to the trail center at split rock lighthouse, she fastened my wedding necklace and volunteered to set-up the sand ceremony, set-up the stand, put two table cloths over it and was a complete genius in finding a use out of the maple leaf wreath that I brought up, she also filled up the sand in each vase and made it look spectacular and when I walked down the aisle I was mesmerized by the groom of course and by the wonderful surprise that Dana did..thank you again Dana..that meant the world to me and Jason!!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We were given many options to choose from as far as our wedding ceremony was concerned. Dana sent back the initial wedding ceremony and then we wanted to add in a scripture reading and she provided several options to choose from and lastly we wanted to add in the lake superior sand ceremony. From there she compiled the entire ceremony together and we had the perfect wedding ceremony!!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone just raved about how great Dana was and could see how much passion she has for performing wedding ceremonies. We will be contacting her when the time comes to renew our wedding vows. We are so lucky to have found her.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Ceremony of Our Dreams!!!
09/11/2011
  • Jennifer H

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Dana has an incredible energy and presence that immediately makes you feel at ease and completely comfortable throughout the process, from the planning stage to the ceremony. She has a warm glow about her and a positivity and optimism that can easily defuse the wedding jitters of any couple. All our guests commented on how personable she was and how beautiful the vows of her ceremony were.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? I think what we found most unexpected in having Dana as our officiant was her flexibility and how genuinely invested she seemed in making the dreams of our Big Day a reality. Dana was completely respectful of our choice of a non-denominational ceremony and helped us brainstorm on ways to best represent our personal and spiritual beliefs. The personal attention she gave to helping create our ceremony made us feel that she was truly invested and cared about making our wedding day all we hoped it could be. And it turned out exactly how we had envisioned it - thank you, Dana!!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We wanted many unique and non-traditional elements in our ceremony (i.e. a reading from a classic children's book, a music-only sand ceremony, a bagpiper!). Dana was completely open to all our ideas and gave us feedback on how best to time and weave the different elements together. When we were stuck on transitions, she helped us locate the perfect quote. And in considering vows, Dana has several unique ceremony versions she has created to choose from. They are all beautiful, but the romantic ceremony was definitely a great fit for us and really added an extra fairytale quality to our wedding.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? From scores of our guests (and also from our attendants and parents), we were told that ours was the prettiest/most beautiful ceremony they had EVER attended! People are still talking about it a week later and posting pictures, videos and comments. Pretty impressive for a couple who had a pretty small wedding budget. Dana played a major part in making everything go so smoothly and beautifully - thank you so much again from the bottom of our hearts!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor