Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 92 Reviews
Review: The Perfect Officiant!
06/26/2014
  • MaryGates

  • Wedding Date: 05/24/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Everyone says their wedding is one of the most special moments of their lives. Having your guests purposely contact you days and even weeks following the wedding, many on multiple occasions, to express how YOUR wedding was such a memorable, loving, tender, joyous and special moment for THEM makes it even more fulfilling. After being together for more than 22 years, it was important we find the right officiant to help us craft our wedding ceremony. We could not have selected a better partner! Sheila helped us create a ceremony to honor our past, celebrate the moment, and embark on a joyous future. We were not just another couple or a "job" to Sheila. She took the time to get to know us and really understand our 22 year journey, which she so beautifully shared with our guests as part of the ceremony. Full of laughter and tears, our ceremony was unique and all about us. Nothing was generic or something you would see at every other wedding. Many of our guests have expressed it was the most beautiful and wonderful wedding they have ever attended. If you want a run of the mill wedding, Sheila is a great officiant and can accommodate your needs. If you want a wedding tailored just for you, full of love, laughter and capturing the essence of who you are as individuals as well as a couple, then there is no one better than Sheila!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfect xxxx
06/22/2014
  • melissa123

  • Wedding Date: 06/30/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us feel extremely comfortable. She is a very warm person who is very easy to talk to. She really listens to you and understands what you want from your special day (sometimes before you know it yourself!!) She always responded very quickly to emails and spent a lot of time getting to know us as people.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She made the ceremony very personal to us. She told our love story as though she had always known us! This made the ceremony so special and brought back lots of lovely memories for us. She added so many little details to the ceremony such as having a musician play a very personal song to us and our wedding location. We would never have thought of that ourselves and it really made the ceremony. Sheila made the ceremony more than we could have ever dreamed of. It was such a wonderful day thanks to all the time and effort she put in.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The wedding ceremony was COMPLETELY personalised to us. Sheila spent a great deal of time asking us questions about ourselves and each other so that when it came to sharing our love story she spoke in great detail as though she had know us for years. She made the ceremony very inclusive of our guests. This was very important to us as we had a small group of people (22) who had travelled a long way to be with us. She made it so they all got a chance to share their blessings with us and feel part of it. She encouraged us write our own vows and assisted us both with them. I am so glad we did this now as I was a little nervous about being able to express myself properly but it made it very special on the day.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? All our guests commented that it was the best ceremony they had been to and how beautiful it was. There were lots of happy tears from all our guests on the day and have been even more watching the video back again and again.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Personal Touch
03/30/2014
  • happyday1234

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? If a unique and memorable ceremony is what you’re seeking, look no further. Sheila is AMAZING! We wanted our ceremony to be the centerpiece of our special day and could not have been happier with our experience in working with Sheila. Her approach of actually spending time with her couples, to really get to know them, is unprecedented. She invested valuable time and energy into learning about us, both as individuals and as a couple. Her genuine interest in learning both about our history and our hopes and dreams, allowed her creativity to design a unique and fun experience that incorporated our guests into the ceremony. The reaction was unanimous. Our friends and family felt like they were a part of the wedding, not just attending another ceremony. Sheila is detail oriented and a consummate professional, whom we would recommend to all couples of any faith.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Wedding
03/26/2014
  • tonyfico

  • Wedding Date: 03/23/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Amazing Ceremony We contacted Sheila after reading a few comments left by previous couples who were married by her. We were made to feel so comfortable and we were enlightened by her vision of how our ceremony should be and she helped us through all the jitters of preparing our function, even communicating with the venue owner to make sure that everything would be in order. The ceremony was spectacular. EVERYONE commented on how beautiful it was and they were all captivated by Sheila's words. The ceremony was unique and expressly written for us with such care, touching upon the many experiences in our lives that brought us even closer together. Without a doubt, we would highly recommend the services that Sheila can provide.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful!
03/09/2014
  • benlaur2014

  • Wedding Date: 03/01/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Our wedding was the best day of our lives, and it easily starts at the very beginning when we worked with Sheila. Ben and I were skeptical working with an officiant that did not know us; that we had no prior relationship with. We knew that we wanted a very personal ceremony, one that helped everyone to understand who we are and why we love each other. We wanted everyone to feel like they were participants in our day, not just observers. Sheila really put in the time to learn who we both are, as individuals and as a couple. She really understood how to personalize a moment and skillfully bridge our guests into it--we all shared the experience. Sheila did not insert our names into a traditional script that we all have heard a dozen times before. She told the story of us. It has been a week since our wedding, and we've lost count at the amount of compliments we've received about ceremony and Sheila. It was touching, unifying, and memorable. It surpassed expectations, and was the perfect start to the beginning of the rest of our lives together. An absolute PLEASURE to work with. We'd give her 6 stars if we were allowed!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: More wonderful than we ever would have expected!
03/04/2014
  • Ondrelique O

  • Wedding Date: 02/15/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I reached out to a lot of officiants in the area, and Rev. Dr. Sheila was the only one who responded immediately not with a scripted message or template message but a personal email inviting me to speak with her. Throughout our preparation for the ceremony, she was easy to contact, very prompt to reply--more prompt than me!--and incredibly patient and friendly. She has a wonderful, pleasant personality that is conveyed through the phone and through email as well as in person. She comes across to me as incredibly warm-hearted and caring. From the very first time we spoke, I felt like my husband-to-be and I were in good hands with her as officiant; she immediately showed that she cared about our marriage and that making our ceremony as best as it could be was her priority. I did not expect to find an officiant who cared about myself and my husband personally as people enough to be open to our wants, needs and feelings, but Rev. Dr. Sheila took the time to get to know us as people and as a couple and allowed us to have our small ceremony conducted in her own home. I felt incredibly comfortable every step of the way, almost as if we were just dealing with a friend or neighbor; there was no stress and no uneasiness at all.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? I did not expect to be asked about how my husband and I met; I did not think that it would matter or be relevant, because I saw an officiant's duty as a sort of cut-and-dried, impersonal affair. I was very pleasantly surprised when Rev. Dr. Sheila, instead of asking us to pick a script for our ceremony as other officiants did, instead gave us a set of questions for my husband and I to answer about our relationship and how it started and grew. I was surprised, by the end of the ceremony, how much more deeply involved with and connected to the wedding I felt. It was a wonderful experience, and my husband really enjoyed filling out the questionnaire; it brought back such beautiful memories for the both of us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The ceremony was almost entirely personalized based on the questionnaire that Rev. Dr. Sheila asked my husband and I to fill out and by requests I made in our conversations during the preparation period before our wedding day. I was very hesitant and indecisive about what I wanted our ceremony to be like; Rev. Dr. Sheila very gracefully--not forcefully at all--took the lead to apply her experience as an officiant to create a ceremony when my husband and I were too uncertain. It's like she knew what we wanted better than we did but was incredibly flexible to additional ideas or questions from us; in the end, our wedding ceremony was personalized by Rev. Dr. Sheila's retelling of the way that my husband and I met and grew closer, but in addition to that, she showed that she had a remarkable understanding of our relationship and our needs in our marriage beyond what we told her. She spoke of the road that we have ahead as a couple and gave a voice to the kind of personalized love that we felt we have that is particular to us as a couple. It was amazing to hear that: something that so perceptively addressed not only what has happened for us as a couple already but what lies ahead. There was so much in the ceremony that we connected to, that personally engaged my husband and me and our friends/family attending. It was much more personalized than I ever expected, and yet it was a comfortable almost cozy experience.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? My best friend's mother attended the wedding and spoke a few words at the ceremony. She had not seen myself and my husband together very much; she's always known me much better. After Rev. Dr. Sheila told the story of how my husband and I met and got to know each other, my best friend's mother said that she could tell how much we loved each other and understood the depth of our relationship; I feel that this is thanks to the highly-personalized nature of the ceremony that Rev. Dr. Sheila prepared; she made it not about the words that needed to be spoken to marry us but about us as people and those also who were there to see us be married, and as well as the people attending the wedding knew us, they got to know us even better after what Rev. Dr. Sheila had to say in our ceremony. It was a lovely gift to receive: having our attending family/friends be so happy along with us.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Outstanding
02/13/2014
  • Dan C

  • Wedding Date: 08/03/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us feel extremely comfortable. She invited us over her house to chat about how we met, what was important to us, and how we wanted every last detail of the wedding. She was very amicable and kind.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She completely customizes the ceremony to exactly what you want. She suggested having our brothers speak in the middle of the ceremony in addition to making a special toast to our mothers.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We personalized it because Sheila told our story as part of her sermon. She told our guests exactly what we had gone over together during our initial meeting at her apartment.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Every last person told us it was the nicest ceremony they have ever seen. Far from the usual boring blah blah blah!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila is the best!
01/27/2014
  • annmckinnon

  • Wedding Date: 01/18/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us feel very comfortable whether it was by phone, email or in person. She is a really warm person and I feel like we got along right away.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? I don't think that it was necessarily unexpected because we discussed the ceremony ahead of time, but we were really pleased with how personalized the ceremony was, how she incorporated our loved ones and was able to suggest a way to incorporate our Korean culture that was fun and fit with who we are.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila helped to create a totally personalized ceremony by listening to us talk about our relationship, ourselves and our families and then weaving all of those things together into a beautiful ceremony that was totally unique and told our story. We also had loved ones speak during our ceremony to express their love and support of us and our relationship, wrote our own vows and had all of our guests pronounce us at the end. All of these were things that Sheila recommended and helped us with and worked to make it a perfect ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Lots of people told us that ours was the most fun and unique ceremony they'd ever attended. They laughed, they cried and they said it really stood out from any other wedding they'd attended!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Simply Amazing!
12/01/2013
  • MarcellaAndDideo

  • Wedding Date: 11/09/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Rev. Dr. Sheila Gross was an absolute joy. She was extremely responsive to all of our wants and needs and made the entire process a happy fun experience. She never hesitated to follow up with us whenever we had a question.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She gave us a ceremony that was unlike anything we've ever been a part of. Her heart, her spirit, her love and kindness are something that we felt through every moment. We absolutely love her and she will always be a part of our lives.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Every one of our guests commented on how personal and touching our ceremony was, and that they've never been to such an amazing ceremony. The way she involved our guests made them all feel like they were not only witnessing our wedding but that they were a part of it.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding officiant
10/25/2013
  • ewatkins979

  • Wedding Date: 10/19/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely! The second I spoke to her on the phone Sheila put me at ease regarding our ceremony. This was solidified once my husband and I met with her in person. We felt as if we had known her for years.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila included special family members throughout the ceremony, such as my mother, grandfather, and sister. She was able to describe our deceased parents as if she had personally known them!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila added two very special and unique aspects to our ceremony. It was a beautiful touch that added a personal component for us.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Multiple family member commented on how well Sheila "got us" and our relationship. They felt she was the perfect compliment to our special union.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor