Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 92 Reviews
Review: The Ceremony is the best part
09/14/2013
  • bsommer6

  • Wedding Date: 09/07/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Sheila was professional and took the time to get to know us and our story. She made us very comfortable throughout the entire process.
  • Sheila really brought a lot of unique aspects from all faiths to our ceremony, with quotes from a wide variety of spiritual leaders and other elements from a well versed spiritual practice. She involved all of our guests, honored our loved ones not able to be there, and truly made the ceremony uniquely ours.
  • My partner Shari and I wrote our own vows and we had live music as part of our ceremony. We also used "blessers" who stood and recited their own anecdotes about us and our relationship as part of our ceremony. It was really lovely.
  • We are a gay couple and I have a great Uncle who is a Jesuit Priest. He came to our ceremony and at the end told me how moved and wonderful our ceremony was. He was truly touched and told us so. My partner's family is Jewish and we have many friends who practice other faiths. Everyone really took something away from our ceremony. It really was the best part of our wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Perfect Wedding!
08/05/2013
  • John S

  • Wedding Date: 06/29/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made me and my partner extremely comfortable. She took the time to learn about us and our "love story." She was extremely pleasant and it was always very easy to get in contact with her. Initially, my partner and I did not know how to go about planning our wedding and it was very overwhelming. However, Sheila made us feel very comfortable by working through the ceremony with us step by step. She was very patient, encouraging, and overall a remarkable officiant!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila created a ceremony that not only involved us but involved the guests as well. Everyone present felt as if they were part of our special day! It was amazing!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? " The ceremony was amazing! I have never been to a ceremony so beautiful!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: more than I could have hoped for
06/30/2013
  • mmcarthur123

  • Wedding Date: 03/30/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely. She spoke with me via email, initially, then over the phone and in person. She made my (now) husband comfortable enough that he was willing to step outside his comfort zone and include things in the ceremony he normally would have rejected. I asked him why, he said "because she 'gets' us"
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She remembered so many little details from our meeting together and she added them to her "love story" about us. What made this so special is that although our families know us very well and are so close, those little details and comments we made gave them a whole new depth to our relationship. It was something we wouldn't have been able to do, even if we said it ourselves. I also love that she picked up on my deep respect for my family and our sense of humor. She brought both into the ceremony and it was surprising and delighted us and our families
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila suggested some form of union ceremony, possibly a wine ceremony. I'm Irish, so I looked into Irish traditions. We found one about using a wedding goblet - specially made of wood. We mentioned it to Sheila and she embraced the tradition with open arms and even told the story of how the wooden wedding goblet came to be at the ceremony. Such a wonderful touch to a fairly common wine ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Uncle "I haven't been to a hippie wedding since my own, 30 years ago. This was absolutely wonderful". Aunt: i never knew all that about you and rob - she did such a great job that I feel I know you better. Wish all weddings were more like this one. Aunt: completely different type of ceremony - great switch from the traditional wedding factory type ceremony. Best wedding I've been too. Actually, we heard "best ceremony" from many of the guests in the past few months. Not a comment but, my great uncle, who is deeply religious, used to refuse to go to non-religious ceremonies. He's softened as he's gotten older. His comments to me at the wedding (and in the months since) have only been about how absolutely wonderful and personalized the ceremony was. My aunt said she said my gr. uncle cry at the ceremony. Sheila has great power to be able to move this man, who is so strong in his beliefs. Also: not a comment, but the look on my mom and dad's face when we turned to the guests. Absolute joy in their hears (and tears streaming down my mom's face). I will never forget that moment.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Uniquely Memorable Experience
05/23/2013
  • mvuoncino

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us feel incredibly comfortable because she focused on creating a ceremony based on us as opposed to trying to fit us into a standard one.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? It was wonderfully surprising that Sheila was so skillfully able to add her words and emotions to those we shared with her during our meetings.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila revolved every aspect of the ceremony around us and our story. For example, she suggested that, in lieu of readings which did not interest us, three of our closest friends who were instrumental in our relationship could speak during the ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? All of our guests commented that it was the most beautiful, unique, and lastingly memorable wedding ceremony they had ever seen.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Truly special
03/21/2013
  • ashleyw

  • Wedding Date: 03/02/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? After four months of not enjoying the wedding planning process, my husband and I decided to cancel our original wedding date set for August and instead set a date two weeks away. I emailed a few officiants with my now rush request. Sheila was the first to respond (she emailed me back within the hour) and I knew after our first email that she had to be our officiant. We had family and friends flying in last minute from all over the country to be with us on our special day and I wanted the ceremony to be personal and intimate. Sheila made sure that happened. She was very flexible with our schedule and made us feel so comfortable that we really didn't worry about the ceremony at all. She added personal touches and stories that really felt like 'us'. We've had so many friends and family members tell us it was the best ceremony they've ever witnessed and there were both moments of laughter and tears. We both feel truly blessed that Sheila was able to share our special day with us. I would highly recommend her. THANK YOU SHEILA!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wunderbar! (5 of 5 stars :))
03/05/2013
  • Katharina G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila transformed all the details we provided into a wonderful, truly unique and special ceremony. She was able to totally capture “us” and our chemistry. Nothing about it ever felt manufactured or random. Every part of the process – from the first phone call to our personal meeting until the big day was a wonderful, easy, lighthearted, very personal though professional & caring experience. Amazing also how Sheila included our family and friends into the ceremony and made them feel to be a special part of it and still left room for spontaneity. Wunderbar!!! THANK YOU, Sheila! Love, Kat&Paul

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: The best part of our wedding!
12/13/2012
  • Rachel A

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us very comfortable. She is very warm and a great listener, from the moment we met, I felt she "got" us.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She integrated so much of what we said about each other during our first session together into the ceremony. It made the whole ceremony very personal and truly about who we are to each other.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? It was a surprise wedding, halfway through our engagement party! Besides that, we wrote our own vows, and our best man, my mother, and my grandfather made beautiful speeches.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? This is the best wedding I ever went to.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Central Park Vow Renewal
12/05/2012
  • Mike K

  • Wedding Date: 11/24/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? From the first moment i had established contact with Sheila I knew that I was dealing with someone who really cared about my needs. Sheila is warm, friendly and goes beyond expectations to make people feel comfortable, it did not seem to matter what time it would be, her response was always quick and reassuring. Since I was planning the vow renewal as a surprise for my wife, Sheila was there to lead me through the process and I felt that she would go to any length to work with our unique circumstances.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? My wish was for my wife and I to renew our wedding vows outdoors in Central Park. Keep in mind that we are talking the end of November and the conditions were never going to be all that pleasant. Sheila did offer alternatives but in the end we decided that Central Park was to be the venue and Sheila bravely stood out with us in the brisk cold air and performed a heart warming ceremony for us. I knew that I was asking a lot but Sheila was respectful of my wishes and for that I am truly grateful to her.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our ceremony was more a celebration of my wife and her meaning to me. Sheila was able to create a wonderful ceremony and added plenty of loving touches and insight to the moment. Sheila has a great understanding of people and with intuition is able to say and create the right atmosphere for any situation. I am so glad we chose you Sheila.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Catholic-Hindu Ceremony
09/07/2012
  • Raghav H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? The greatest compliments we received on our wedding were about the ceremony. Sheila composed such a warm, loving, tribute to our relationship. It was uniquely us. I am Hindu by birth, and my wife is Catholic. Our lifestyle is far from orthodox, but we wanted to incorporate Hindu and Catholic traditions to honor our families and our upbringing. My wife and I had no idea how to create this hybrid ceremony. Thankfully, Sheila came to our rescue. Sheila put our minds at ease when we met with her. Her experience and confidence showed through while offering solutions to all of our concerns. Before that meeting the planning process was just tasks on a to-do list, but after we met with her everything started to become real. It was the first time my wife and I were able to envision our wedding day. Sheila stayed in constant contact throughout. The weekend of our wedding she was gracious enough to drive 2 hours for our ceremony near Philadelphia, despite having to go back for another wedding the next night. Sheila delighted both of our families by weaving our two cultures together seamlessly. We are so grateful to have found her. Thank you Sheila, we love you!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Highly Recommend this Officiant!!
08/22/2012
  • Claire M

  • Wedding Date: 07/28/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is extremely friendly, outgoing, and welcoming. Both meetings my husband and I had with Sheila were in her living room, which made me feel like we were old friends, rather than clients. Sheila is also easy to talk to, obviously took our concerns and goals to heart, and was just a wonderful kind-hearted and interesting person to get to know! I assure you that you will find her to be extremely personable and easy to work with.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila is also amazingly flexible and responsive. She not only helped us create our dream ceremony down to the detail, but she was also available whenever we needed her to work through issues such as acquiring our marriage license (we were getting married out of the state we live in) and writing our vows. Every time I emailed or called Sheila she got back to me later that day, if not within the hour - not to schedule an appointment to talk but to actually have a conversation. I feel like you don't run into that sort of personalized service very often these days.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? I really felt like she took the time to get to know me and my husband before beginning to suggest ideas for our ceremony. She invited us over to her home where she asked us questions about how we met, what we like about each others, our plans for the future, and our families. She also made sure she really understood what we wanted our ceremony to be like. My husband and I represent two cultures, and neither of us are religious but I would say we are spiritual. Sheila suggested some amazing ideas for our ceremony that incorporated our beliefs and backgrounds while really capturing our love for each other. Her ideas were so great and so sentimental that she made me cry during our initial meeting!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? After the wedding (which was extremely sentimental and made both my husband and I teary eyed for its duration), many of my guests told me that our ceremony was the most moving ceremony they had ever seen. I had a guest describe the ceremony as "wonderful and uniquely you." Even my guy friends told me that they were choked up while watching the ceremony. Sheila's suggestions, ideas, and attitude were paramount to the ceremony's success.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor