Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 90 Reviews
Review: Carol Hannan
05/21/2012
  • Carol H

  • Wedding Date: 05/29/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Dr. Sheila Gay Gross
03/26/2012
  • Megan K

  • Wedding Date: 03/23/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Dr. Sheila Gay Gross recently provided her services as an officiant at my wedding. She did an AMAZING job with our ceremony. From the moment she first left me a voicemail responding to an inquiry looking for an officiant, I could tell she was a great choice over other officiants I looked at. My finance (husband now)and I, met with Dr. Gross at her home where she welcomed us warmly and our children as well. We spent a few hours getting to know each other, and filling her in about our story as a couple. She was great at eliciting information from us to incorporate into our personalized ceremony. I felt like she was really taking the time to get to know us and allowed us to share things about each other and our future that we really wanted to include for our ceremony. In addition, she is extremely creative and suggested ways to incorporate our older daughter into the ceremony which was fantastic.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Also Dr. Gross is extremely creative, she is willing to perform the ceremony to accommodate the desires and wishes of the couple. Anything we wanted to include was included. She volunteered to read a letter on behalf of my grandfather who was not able to attend the wedding due to health reasons which really meant the world to me. Her words brought tears to my eyes but also laughter to help get me through the ceremony (which I was so nervous for). When our photographer failed to show up the day of our wedding, she got on the phone in the bridal suite and began making phone calls to get someone there ASAP. This was above and beyond anything I could have asked for.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My husband and I are a biracial couple and grew up influenced by two different religions. We are no longer are practicing either. We wanted out ceremony to be about the love between us and our children. After Sheila suggested quite a few creative ideas for our ceremony, we settled on a sand ceremony that allowed our older daughter to participate, a Celtic and an African American blessing to bring in our heritages. In addition, Sheila had our guests in addition to herself as the officiant announce us "husband and wife," which everyone really enjoyed. I can honestly say I have never been to a ceremony that was so unique as Dr. Gross made ours, and so personalized to my husband and I. I can only imagine that each couple feels the same way about their own ceremonies!! I had so many friends and family come up to me during the reception and ask how we found Dr. Gross because she did such an amazing and beautiful ceremony!! Dr. Sheila Gay Gross made a huge impact on our special day and I cannot thank her enough for all her ideas and exceptional execution!! Working with her was a real pleasure!! I would recommend her as an officiant to other brides who want professionalism, grace, creativity, and who want to work with someone who really values the importance of the services she provides.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "Where did you find her?" "That ceremony was amazing. Can I have her email to thank her for the fantastic job she did?" "What is the officiant's name, and where is she willing to travel for ceremonies?"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Simply Magical
03/12/2012
  • Beth L

  • Wedding Date: 02/26/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? From the first moment I spoke with Sheila I knew she was the officiant that would marry us. A simple introductory phone conversation with Sheila made me feel warm and connected. She was kind, in tune and so attentive. Upon meeting with Sheila, I knew we had to look no further. She welcomed us into her home and spent over 2 hours getting to know us. She listened to our "love story" and took careful notes. Speaking to Sheila brought tears to our eyes. At times, her interpretation of our relationship and how she explained how she would perform our ceremony filled us with a sense of complete joy and made me, as an excited bride, cry tears of utter joy. We booked Sheila on the spot, there was no need to meet with anyone else.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Throughout the planning process, Sheila was there for us every step of the way. She kept in constant contact with me as we spoke on the phone and communicated via email. Sheila kept me calm, and her guidance and support made me feel everything was going to turn out just perfectly! When I spoke to Sheila and told her that we hadn't found a musician for our wedding, she immediately made a recommendation. She was so in tune with us and with our vision for our wedding day, that the musician she recommended was the perfect fit....we hired him and his band! Sheila was there for me unlike I ever imagined!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila spent a lot of time personalizing our wedding ceremony. My husband's father passed away and we felt his presence in our lives needed to be remembered. With respect and care, Sheila placed his father's ring on the ceremony table. There was not a dry eye in the room, as Sheila thoughtfully helped our guests remember my husband's father. Both of us have children from previous marriages. Sheila involved our children by incorporating a beautiful sand ceremony that helped us celebrate our children and their importance in our lives. Our vows were very important to us and Sheila helped us write and exchange vows that were personal and meaningful to the both of us. Sheila ended our ceremony with such a special personal touch. I had described the feeling of the love shared between my husband and I as a warm chocolate chip cookie. To end our ceremony, Sheila invited us to celebrate that love as we each took a bite of a chocolate chip cookie! Sheila created a personal, warm and heart felt ceremony, one that I always dreamed of. She afforded all of us with beautiful memories that will last a lifetime. The magic she added to our wedding will never be forgotten.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? There were so many wonderful comments from our guests, some of our favorites were: "The evening of your wedding was magical. Your ceremony was the most beautiful ceremony I ever attended." "I have never witnessed a more personal and heartfelt ceremony before in my life! Where did you find her?" "I really felt the love and connection you two share. I have never been to a wedding that made me feel this way. I actually cried...your officiant was just incredible!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Doshia
03/06/2012
  • doshia m

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? This lady is the QUEEN of COMFORTABLE....I believe her background as a psychologist creates a feeling of safeness and understanding!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? As Mother of the Bride I was very pleased with the entire ceremony...it was a blend of conventional and new age an SO UNIQUE that our guests asked me all evening "Who was that lady..that was the best ceremony we have seen is a long time!"
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The way the ceremony was personalized was having Sheila spend many hours with the couple..learning their history, how they met,what they saw that bonded them..............than she wove it into a beautiful ceremony..Thank Goodness we had a videographer so we can listen again to the astonishing service!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? See above

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Incredible Ceremony
02/22/2012
  • Paula S

  • Wedding Date: 02/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us feel comfortable since our first phone conversation. She is someone you feel like you've known for years.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila took the time to plan out every detail of our ceremony with us. She had so many wonderful ideas for rituals and traditions that were unique to us. We chose a few and she organized our ceremony into a spectacular memory we will have forever.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My fiance wrote me a children's book for our first Christmas together, which was the story of how we met. The second book he wrote me was for my birthday last year and on the last page he proposed! When we told Sheila this she came up with a marvelous idea: reading our vows from the books! We did just that and our guests can't stop talking about how unique it was.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Every single guest told us that our ceremony was the BEST ceremony they've ever witnessed. It was engaging and truly captured who we are as individuals and a couple.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Couldn't Ask For More From an Officiant - #1
02/22/2012
  • John G

  • Wedding Date: 02/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is by far a master of her domain. We personally come from two separate religions (Catholic and Jewish) and when meeting with Sheila we made it clear that we didn't want the ceremony to be about a particular 'God' but rather about us, as a couple. She did just that.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Nothing - Everything Sheila did was planned and discussed ahead of time. She hit every mark perfectly!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? I wrote Paula two books which chronicled our lives together. The most recent book was used as part of the proposal. It was Sheila's idea to use the books during the ceremony. We actually read our vows from the books at the altar which have meant so much to our relationship. It was very personal to us and our guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Sheila engulfed our guests in a ceremony which took them through our history as a couple and incorporated bits of our personal story which really connected with each one of our guests. I can't even count the number of guests, literally probably 90%, of them who made an effort to come up to us and gush over how this was the BEST ceremony they have ever seen. Although the cost for Sheila's service was on the higher end of officiants we considered - it was absolutely worth every penny for the impact and memories that it not only left with our guests but also with my wife and I. No regrets here and have already recommended her to multiple friends getting married. Highly recommended to anyone looking to make their ceremony unforgettable.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A great intimate ceremony
01/11/2012
  • Mazi G

  • Wedding Date: 12/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely. Dr.Gross is really a very sweet and caring lady. She took her time to get to know both myself and my wife well ahead of time to really create a special and very memorable ceremony. Her ability to weave interfaith thoughts was beautiful. We really were happy with the outcome.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? No.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She took the time to learn about us by asking appropriate and relevant questions. She also asked the brides father to provide her with thoughts and incorporated the family into the wedding in a very intimate way. We had a very small ceremony with only about 20 guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "The best wedding I've ever been to" (no kidding)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila was an essential part of making our Big Day
12/22/2011
  • Vanessa N

  • Wedding Date: 11/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila was a dream to work with. I felt an initial connection with her upon our first phone conversation. But despite that, I went against my better instincts and hired someone else. When I notified Sheila that I'd went with another officiant she was the ONLY one (of all the other officiants I had reached out to) that despite not being chosen, still took the time to write me a beautiful, heartfelt message wishing myself and soon-to-be-hubby the best of luck in this next chapter of our lives. Some of the other officiants got a bit on the rude or pushy side, or failed to say anything at all in response. Needless to say, plans fell through with that other officiant and for the best because as soon as that happened I knew it was meant to be that we pick Sheila.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? One-on-one she shared her script with me over the phone and it helped me really paint the picture of how our day would be. I got teary eyed hearing her words. And knew that the ceremony would flow perfectly. It did. And even better than I had imagined. She improvised and really made our couple-story sparkle with bits and pieces of who we are as individuals... and most importantly who we are as a couple. Can't thank you enough, Sheila. You were a huge piece of our Big Day and I couldn't have imagined doing it without your guidance and warmth.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Since 'Day-1' Sheila has truly taken the time to get to know me on a personal level and went out of her way to understand our love story. We communicated frequently throughout email and phone in the months leading up to our wedding. She kept me up-to-date on the progress of our ceremony throughout the entire time. She is not only professional, reliable and dedicated... but she is such a lovely human being. She made our ceremony a unique and memorable experience for us and our guests. We pretty much hand-made that whole ceremony from start to finish. We worked collaboratively and fed off of one another for creative additions. She appreciated our need to be unique and to have our ceremony be as far from traditional and predictable as possible.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "The most original and heartfelt ceremony they ever sat through."

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Heather and Joe
11/23/2011
  • Heather T

  • Wedding Date: 10/14/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Reverend Dr. Sheila Gay Gross officiated our Wedding on October 14, 2011 in Shamong, NJ. She did an amazing job. She created a beautiful ceremony that reflected our 9 year relationship. She custom designed every part of our ceremony; she incorporated wine for the winery we were married at and she included our mothers which brought tears to many guests. She had all our guest in love with the ceremony. We are still receiving compliments about Sheila! The personal touches made it seem like she has known Joe and I for years. Lots of family and friends said it was the best ceremony they had ever attended. Joe and I would highly recommend Reverend Dr. Sheila Gay Gross! She really made our day special. We love Sheila and hope she can perform a baby blessing when the time comes.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila Gross is the best!
11/20/2011
  • Luke X

  • Wedding Date: 05/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We felt extremely comfortable with Sheila Gross during our initial phone conversation and throughout all of our interactions. She had an uncanny ability to connect with us through our minds and soul. This connection was unique and personal. In addition to her warmth and spirituality, Sheila is professional and courteous. On the day of any wedding, things can get rather unorganized and chaotic. Sheila came in extra early to help things get organized, prepare props for the ceremony, and direct people to the right locations; Sheila did more than what was necessary to ensure that we felt comfortable.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila added a cultural wine and cup ceremony to our wedding. Albeit this ceremony was esoteric and unique, however, the presentation of the cultural legend allowed the audience to relate and enjoy. Sheila also incorporated group participation and pronouncement. After the wedding ceremony, one guest reminded me of this and mentioned how appropriate and accurate a group pronouncement is - indeed the union and creation of two individual are the result of those that came before us and those that are present with us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our wedding ceremony was personalized by honoring specific members of our family that were absent and present. The inclusion of our love story and the details of our courtship made our wedding ceremony personalized and interesting. We also added a second cultural ceremony that pleasantly surprised our guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? A colleague and friend, who is also an officiant in the state of Montana, said this was by far the best wedding he has ever attended or officiated. Other guests said the wedding ceremony was heartfelt, fun, witty, and genuine. Most importantly, Sheila Gross was wonderful and eloquent.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor