Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
104 Panorama Drive
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 93 Reviews
Review: Highly Recommend this Officiant!!
08/22/2012
  • Claire M

  • Wedding Date: 07/28/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Sheila is extremely friendly, outgoing, and welcoming. Both meetings my husband and I had with Sheila were in her living room, which made me feel like we were old friends, rather than clients. Sheila is also easy to talk to, obviously took our concerns and goals to heart, and was just a wonderful kind-hearted and interesting person to get to know! I assure you that you will find her to be extremely personable and easy to work with.
  • Sheila is also amazingly flexible and responsive. She not only helped us create our dream ceremony down to the detail, but she was also available whenever we needed her to work through issues such as acquiring our marriage license (we were getting married out of the state we live in) and writing our vows. Every time I emailed or called Sheila she got back to me later that day, if not within the hour - not to schedule an appointment to talk but to actually have a conversation. I feel like you don't run into that sort of personalized service very often these days.
  • I really felt like she took the time to get to know me and my husband before beginning to suggest ideas for our ceremony. She invited us over to her home where she asked us questions about how we met, what we like about each others, our plans for the future, and our families. She also made sure she really understood what we wanted our ceremony to be like. My husband and I represent two cultures, and neither of us are religious but I would say we are spiritual. Sheila suggested some amazing ideas for our ceremony that incorporated our beliefs and backgrounds while really capturing our love for each other. Her ideas were so great and so sentimental that she made me cry during our initial meeting!
  • After the wedding (which was extremely sentimental and made both my husband and I teary eyed for its duration), many of my guests told me that our ceremony was the most moving ceremony they had ever seen. I had a guest describe the ceremony as "wonderful and uniquely you." Even my guy friends told me that they were choked up while watching the ceremony. Sheila's suggestions, ideas, and attitude were paramount to the ceremony's success.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A ceremony filled with personality and love!!!!
06/18/2012
  • Danielle R

  • Wedding Date: 05/20/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? First off I just need to say..... Sheila is now part of my family and always will be!!!!! Shelia was beyond caring taking her time to really get to know my husband and I. From the moment we had contact, my husbands schedule changes so often and sometimes last minute, Sheila was flexible. We went over her house and there were so many questions that evoked so many tears of joy and little things that go on everyday in our lives, (the things that really count) that we were able to share. My husband lost a brother when he was young and Shelia was able to bring that into the ceremony without making it upsetting rather celebrating his life. I never once felt rushed. I am the type that doesn't like surprises, but Shelia was on top of what she knew about us - taking notes, sending emails, calling regardless if she wasn't in town, building trust and making us feel secure. She was also great at giving options, because the reason we choose to meet with her, was because of bringing different cultures in. We had a few more meetings, mainly because I wanted to. A few days prior to the wedding, she called us, went over how it was going to run though, what she was going to say, and let us know she will be there prior to the ceremony for the rehearsal. Day of, I was really excited, not nervous at all and she surprised both of our mothers (my husband and I both knew what she was going to ask them to do) with a special moment in the ceremony. It was also very special by having my father bring up the glass to break. She also knows a ton about many cultures. My husband is Turkish and we did a little tradition that brought everyone to laughter. She had a way of incorporating our true personalities into the ceremony. When it was over, I CANNOT tell you, how many people came up to my parents, my husband and I and just gave us the most raving reviews on how intimate and personal of a ceremony it was and how excellent of an officiant Sheila was!!! In fact, I can guarantee no one else was ever at wedding that the brides and grooms true colors came through. By the end, I feel like she is part of my family now and I cant wait to go back to her for the next big steps in our lives.... children. She was truly amazing and I wouldn't change a thing!!! We love Shelia!!! <3
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We incorporated all parts of our faith, we wanted it to be traditional with some twists. She brought our mothers up during the ceremony, with a very special saying that she tailored to us that surprised and delighted them. She also asked the audience for permission to marry.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila personalized the ceremony because it was more about us, our personalities, what brought us together, why we love each other and how we'll continue to keep that growing. She brought in little things my husband says that makes me laugh and things about my family and cats. We also broke a glass and before he did that, I stepped on his foot. In the Turkish tradition, the wife steps on his foot saying - I rule the roost. The other part, was having everyone involved. She asked the entire audience for permission for us to marry and let them them feel part of it. They truly loved it and felt such a presence with us there.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Honestly, this may sounds untrue, but i don't think there was one person that DIDN'T come up to us and my parents just ranting and raving and throwing compliments out to us on how special, unique and truly personal the ceremony was. Not one person has ever been to a wedding that touched them, like Sheila was able on May 20th!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Happily married wife
05/22/2012
  • Kim S

  • Wedding Date: 05/20/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Our first meeting with Reverend Sheila Gay was extremely comfortable. She invited us to her house where we were able to talk about ourselves and our personal story. She did a great job, the atmosphere was warm and we were able to open up about the best times of our lives.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She returned my inquiry at 10pm. I had just received word a few days prior that our previous Rev. had "scheduling conflicts" and wasn't able to perform our ceremony. Needless to say I was pretty stressed out. So I began searching again and found Rev. Sheila. After days of worry she called in a matter of minutes to alleviate all my fears. I didn't know how I was going to sleep that night knowing that, in a matter of months we were getting married with no one to perform the ceremony. I didn't expect her to take us on such short notice but I am blessed and so grateful that she did!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? While talking with Rev. Sheila we realized what a profound impact trees had in our relationship together. Whether it was conversations under branches or proposals across fallen trunks, there was definitely a theme (not that we realized it at the time). Rev. Sheila was not only able to recognize this important factor in our relationship but also able to incorporate and elevate our personal history with trees into the ceremony. So ingenious. A tree planting ceremony was perfect, planting our roots and watching our lives together grow.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? My uncle had brought his new girlfriend to the wedding, meeting the family for the first time. At the reception his girlfriend told me that "although I am just meeting you and your husband, after watching the ceremony I feel as if I know you already". Rev. Sheila was able to incorporate enough of our personal lives and experiences into the ceremony that strangers were instantly united as family. Love. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for such an amazing day!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Carol Hannan
05/21/2012
  • Carol H

  • Wedding Date: 05/29/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Dr. Sheila Gay Gross
03/26/2012
  • Megan K

  • Wedding Date: 03/23/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Dr. Sheila Gay Gross recently provided her services as an officiant at my wedding. She did an AMAZING job with our ceremony. From the moment she first left me a voicemail responding to an inquiry looking for an officiant, I could tell she was a great choice over other officiants I looked at. My finance (husband now)and I, met with Dr. Gross at her home where she welcomed us warmly and our children as well. We spent a few hours getting to know each other, and filling her in about our story as a couple. She was great at eliciting information from us to incorporate into our personalized ceremony. I felt like she was really taking the time to get to know us and allowed us to share things about each other and our future that we really wanted to include for our ceremony. In addition, she is extremely creative and suggested ways to incorporate our older daughter into the ceremony which was fantastic.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Also Dr. Gross is extremely creative, she is willing to perform the ceremony to accommodate the desires and wishes of the couple. Anything we wanted to include was included. She volunteered to read a letter on behalf of my grandfather who was not able to attend the wedding due to health reasons which really meant the world to me. Her words brought tears to my eyes but also laughter to help get me through the ceremony (which I was so nervous for). When our photographer failed to show up the day of our wedding, she got on the phone in the bridal suite and began making phone calls to get someone there ASAP. This was above and beyond anything I could have asked for.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My husband and I are a biracial couple and grew up influenced by two different religions. We are no longer are practicing either. We wanted out ceremony to be about the love between us and our children. After Sheila suggested quite a few creative ideas for our ceremony, we settled on a sand ceremony that allowed our older daughter to participate, a Celtic and an African American blessing to bring in our heritages. In addition, Sheila had our guests in addition to herself as the officiant announce us "husband and wife," which everyone really enjoyed. I can honestly say I have never been to a ceremony that was so unique as Dr. Gross made ours, and so personalized to my husband and I. I can only imagine that each couple feels the same way about their own ceremonies!! I had so many friends and family come up to me during the reception and ask how we found Dr. Gross because she did such an amazing and beautiful ceremony!! Dr. Sheila Gay Gross made a huge impact on our special day and I cannot thank her enough for all her ideas and exceptional execution!! Working with her was a real pleasure!! I would recommend her as an officiant to other brides who want professionalism, grace, creativity, and who want to work with someone who really values the importance of the services she provides.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "Where did you find her?" "That ceremony was amazing. Can I have her email to thank her for the fantastic job she did?" "What is the officiant's name, and where is she willing to travel for ceremonies?"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Simply Magical
03/12/2012
  • Beth L

  • Wedding Date: 02/26/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? From the first moment I spoke with Sheila I knew she was the officiant that would marry us. A simple introductory phone conversation with Sheila made me feel warm and connected. She was kind, in tune and so attentive. Upon meeting with Sheila, I knew we had to look no further. She welcomed us into her home and spent over 2 hours getting to know us. She listened to our "love story" and took careful notes. Speaking to Sheila brought tears to our eyes. At times, her interpretation of our relationship and how she explained how she would perform our ceremony filled us with a sense of complete joy and made me, as an excited bride, cry tears of utter joy. We booked Sheila on the spot, there was no need to meet with anyone else.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Throughout the planning process, Sheila was there for us every step of the way. She kept in constant contact with me as we spoke on the phone and communicated via email. Sheila kept me calm, and her guidance and support made me feel everything was going to turn out just perfectly! When I spoke to Sheila and told her that we hadn't found a musician for our wedding, she immediately made a recommendation. She was so in tune with us and with our vision for our wedding day, that the musician she recommended was the perfect fit....we hired him and his band! Sheila was there for me unlike I ever imagined!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila spent a lot of time personalizing our wedding ceremony. My husband's father passed away and we felt his presence in our lives needed to be remembered. With respect and care, Sheila placed his father's ring on the ceremony table. There was not a dry eye in the room, as Sheila thoughtfully helped our guests remember my husband's father. Both of us have children from previous marriages. Sheila involved our children by incorporating a beautiful sand ceremony that helped us celebrate our children and their importance in our lives. Our vows were very important to us and Sheila helped us write and exchange vows that were personal and meaningful to the both of us. Sheila ended our ceremony with such a special personal touch. I had described the feeling of the love shared between my husband and I as a warm chocolate chip cookie. To end our ceremony, Sheila invited us to celebrate that love as we each took a bite of a chocolate chip cookie! Sheila created a personal, warm and heart felt ceremony, one that I always dreamed of. She afforded all of us with beautiful memories that will last a lifetime. The magic she added to our wedding will never be forgotten.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? There were so many wonderful comments from our guests, some of our favorites were: "The evening of your wedding was magical. Your ceremony was the most beautiful ceremony I ever attended." "I have never witnessed a more personal and heartfelt ceremony before in my life! Where did you find her?" "I really felt the love and connection you two share. I have never been to a wedding that made me feel this way. I actually cried...your officiant was just incredible!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Doshia
03/06/2012
  • doshia m

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? This lady is the QUEEN of COMFORTABLE....I believe her background as a psychologist creates a feeling of safeness and understanding!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? As Mother of the Bride I was very pleased with the entire ceremony...it was a blend of conventional and new age an SO UNIQUE that our guests asked me all evening "Who was that lady..that was the best ceremony we have seen is a long time!"
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The way the ceremony was personalized was having Sheila spend many hours with the couple..learning their history, how they met,what they saw that bonded them..............than she wove it into a beautiful ceremony..Thank Goodness we had a videographer so we can listen again to the astonishing service!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? See above

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Incredible Ceremony
02/22/2012
  • Paula S

  • Wedding Date: 02/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us feel comfortable since our first phone conversation. She is someone you feel like you've known for years.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila took the time to plan out every detail of our ceremony with us. She had so many wonderful ideas for rituals and traditions that were unique to us. We chose a few and she organized our ceremony into a spectacular memory we will have forever.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My fiance wrote me a children's book for our first Christmas together, which was the story of how we met. The second book he wrote me was for my birthday last year and on the last page he proposed! When we told Sheila this she came up with a marvelous idea: reading our vows from the books! We did just that and our guests can't stop talking about how unique it was.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Every single guest told us that our ceremony was the BEST ceremony they've ever witnessed. It was engaging and truly captured who we are as individuals and a couple.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Couldn't Ask For More From an Officiant - #1
02/22/2012
  • John G

  • Wedding Date: 02/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is by far a master of her domain. We personally come from two separate religions (Catholic and Jewish) and when meeting with Sheila we made it clear that we didn't want the ceremony to be about a particular 'God' but rather about us, as a couple. She did just that.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Nothing - Everything Sheila did was planned and discussed ahead of time. She hit every mark perfectly!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? I wrote Paula two books which chronicled our lives together. The most recent book was used as part of the proposal. It was Sheila's idea to use the books during the ceremony. We actually read our vows from the books at the altar which have meant so much to our relationship. It was very personal to us and our guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Sheila engulfed our guests in a ceremony which took them through our history as a couple and incorporated bits of our personal story which really connected with each one of our guests. I can't even count the number of guests, literally probably 90%, of them who made an effort to come up to us and gush over how this was the BEST ceremony they have ever seen. Although the cost for Sheila's service was on the higher end of officiants we considered - it was absolutely worth every penny for the impact and memories that it not only left with our guests but also with my wife and I. No regrets here and have already recommended her to multiple friends getting married. Highly recommended to anyone looking to make their ceremony unforgettable.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A great intimate ceremony
01/11/2012
  • Mazi G

  • Wedding Date: 12/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely. Dr.Gross is really a very sweet and caring lady. She took her time to get to know both myself and my wife well ahead of time to really create a special and very memorable ceremony. Her ability to weave interfaith thoughts was beautiful. We really were happy with the outcome.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? No.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She took the time to learn about us by asking appropriate and relevant questions. She also asked the brides father to provide her with thoughts and incorporated the family into the wedding in a very intimate way. We had a very small ceremony with only about 20 guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "The best wedding I've ever been to" (no kidding)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor