Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
104 Panorama Drive
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 96 Reviews
Review: Incredible Ceremony
02/22/2012
  • Paula S

  • Wedding Date: 02/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Sheila made us feel comfortable since our first phone conversation. She is someone you feel like you've known for years.
  • Sheila took the time to plan out every detail of our ceremony with us. She had so many wonderful ideas for rituals and traditions that were unique to us. We chose a few and she organized our ceremony into a spectacular memory we will have forever.
  • My fiance wrote me a children's book for our first Christmas together, which was the story of how we met. The second book he wrote me was for my birthday last year and on the last page he proposed! When we told Sheila this she came up with a marvelous idea: reading our vows from the books! We did just that and our guests can't stop talking about how unique it was.
  • Every single guest told us that our ceremony was the BEST ceremony they've ever witnessed. It was engaging and truly captured who we are as individuals and a couple.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Couldn't Ask For More From an Officiant - #1
02/22/2012
  • John G

  • Wedding Date: 02/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is by far a master of her domain. We personally come from two separate religions (Catholic and Jewish) and when meeting with Sheila we made it clear that we didn't want the ceremony to be about a particular 'God' but rather about us, as a couple. She did just that.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Nothing - Everything Sheila did was planned and discussed ahead of time. She hit every mark perfectly!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? I wrote Paula two books which chronicled our lives together. The most recent book was used as part of the proposal. It was Sheila's idea to use the books during the ceremony. We actually read our vows from the books at the altar which have meant so much to our relationship. It was very personal to us and our guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Sheila engulfed our guests in a ceremony which took them through our history as a couple and incorporated bits of our personal story which really connected with each one of our guests. I can't even count the number of guests, literally probably 90%, of them who made an effort to come up to us and gush over how this was the BEST ceremony they have ever seen. Although the cost for Sheila's service was on the higher end of officiants we considered - it was absolutely worth every penny for the impact and memories that it not only left with our guests but also with my wife and I. No regrets here and have already recommended her to multiple friends getting married. Highly recommended to anyone looking to make their ceremony unforgettable.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A great intimate ceremony
01/11/2012
  • Mazi G

  • Wedding Date: 12/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely. Dr.Gross is really a very sweet and caring lady. She took her time to get to know both myself and my wife well ahead of time to really create a special and very memorable ceremony. Her ability to weave interfaith thoughts was beautiful. We really were happy with the outcome.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? No.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She took the time to learn about us by asking appropriate and relevant questions. She also asked the brides father to provide her with thoughts and incorporated the family into the wedding in a very intimate way. We had a very small ceremony with only about 20 guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "The best wedding I've ever been to" (no kidding)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila was an essential part of making our Big Day
12/22/2011
  • Vanessa N

  • Wedding Date: 11/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila was a dream to work with. I felt an initial connection with her upon our first phone conversation. But despite that, I went against my better instincts and hired someone else. When I notified Sheila that I'd went with another officiant she was the ONLY one (of all the other officiants I had reached out to) that despite not being chosen, still took the time to write me a beautiful, heartfelt message wishing myself and soon-to-be-hubby the best of luck in this next chapter of our lives. Some of the other officiants got a bit on the rude or pushy side, or failed to say anything at all in response. Needless to say, plans fell through with that other officiant and for the best because as soon as that happened I knew it was meant to be that we pick Sheila.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? One-on-one she shared her script with me over the phone and it helped me really paint the picture of how our day would be. I got teary eyed hearing her words. And knew that the ceremony would flow perfectly. It did. And even better than I had imagined. She improvised and really made our couple-story sparkle with bits and pieces of who we are as individuals... and most importantly who we are as a couple. Can't thank you enough, Sheila. You were a huge piece of our Big Day and I couldn't have imagined doing it without your guidance and warmth.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Since 'Day-1' Sheila has truly taken the time to get to know me on a personal level and went out of her way to understand our love story. We communicated frequently throughout email and phone in the months leading up to our wedding. She kept me up-to-date on the progress of our ceremony throughout the entire time. She is not only professional, reliable and dedicated... but she is such a lovely human being. She made our ceremony a unique and memorable experience for us and our guests. We pretty much hand-made that whole ceremony from start to finish. We worked collaboratively and fed off of one another for creative additions. She appreciated our need to be unique and to have our ceremony be as far from traditional and predictable as possible.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "The most original and heartfelt ceremony they ever sat through."

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Heather and Joe
11/23/2011
  • Heather T

  • Wedding Date: 10/14/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Reverend Dr. Sheila Gay Gross officiated our Wedding on October 14, 2011 in Shamong, NJ. She did an amazing job. She created a beautiful ceremony that reflected our 9 year relationship. She custom designed every part of our ceremony; she incorporated wine for the winery we were married at and she included our mothers which brought tears to many guests. She had all our guest in love with the ceremony. We are still receiving compliments about Sheila! The personal touches made it seem like she has known Joe and I for years. Lots of family and friends said it was the best ceremony they had ever attended. Joe and I would highly recommend Reverend Dr. Sheila Gay Gross! She really made our day special. We love Sheila and hope she can perform a baby blessing when the time comes.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila Gross is the best!
11/20/2011
  • Luke X

  • Wedding Date: 05/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We felt extremely comfortable with Sheila Gross during our initial phone conversation and throughout all of our interactions. She had an uncanny ability to connect with us through our minds and soul. This connection was unique and personal. In addition to her warmth and spirituality, Sheila is professional and courteous. On the day of any wedding, things can get rather unorganized and chaotic. Sheila came in extra early to help things get organized, prepare props for the ceremony, and direct people to the right locations; Sheila did more than what was necessary to ensure that we felt comfortable.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila added a cultural wine and cup ceremony to our wedding. Albeit this ceremony was esoteric and unique, however, the presentation of the cultural legend allowed the audience to relate and enjoy. Sheila also incorporated group participation and pronouncement. After the wedding ceremony, one guest reminded me of this and mentioned how appropriate and accurate a group pronouncement is - indeed the union and creation of two individual are the result of those that came before us and those that are present with us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our wedding ceremony was personalized by honoring specific members of our family that were absent and present. The inclusion of our love story and the details of our courtship made our wedding ceremony personalized and interesting. We also added a second cultural ceremony that pleasantly surprised our guests.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? A colleague and friend, who is also an officiant in the state of Montana, said this was by far the best wedding he has ever attended or officiated. Other guests said the wedding ceremony was heartfelt, fun, witty, and genuine. Most importantly, Sheila Gross was wonderful and eloquent.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Wedding Ever
10/24/2011
  • evan s

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila was the officiant at our wedding this past Sept in Stony Point, NY. My wife and I went back and forth regarding the use of a rabbi and priest to officiate our wedding and finally agreed upon using an interfaith minister. We truly got lucky by finding Sheila. She welcomed us into her home to discuss who we were as individuals and as a couple to get to know us, our personalities, and the true reason why we decided to get married. She was extremely attentive, asked the right questions, and pieced together all these bits into a ceremony that truly represented the union of my wife and I.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? When we met Sheila, she sat us down and spent a good amount of time getting to know my wife and I. Fast forward to the ceremony....Sheila referenced and pulled together so many little bits of information we discussed in that one meeting. This added a greatly welcomed feeling of comfort and support, which I feel makes Sheila a leader of her craft.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We pulled in traditional Jewish and Catholic elements, while also embracing my wife's hispanic background. Sheila helped us achieve this seamlessly. Sheila also helped me to honor my mother who passed away a few years ago by setting up a beautiful floral arrangement next to the wedding party.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? I have been told, and I have to agree, every element of our wedding made as a few of our guests said, "The Best Wedding EVER!" If you choose to make Sheila part of your day, I promise you, you will not regret it.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: There wasn't a dry eye in the place!
10/24/2011
  • Natalie A

  • Wedding Date: 10/08/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We knew from the second that we met her that she was the one! She has an energy/presence that instantly makes you feel at ease. She "held our hand" every step of the way. She worked around the tricky family politics that always going into planning a wedding. And, just her general outlook on life and how much she's loves to be in the presence of true love.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? There were a few nuances that she mentioned in the ceremony about my, now husband, and I that we didn't even realize that she heard, noticed or was even paying attention to while we the three of us knew each other for over a year of wedding planning. The things that she saw touched our hearts and made the our moment even more special (if that could even be possible).
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We decided to do something called a hand fastening (google it, its really cool) while we said our vows and we used a piece of my grandmothers wedding dress to fasten our hands. Also, instead of the Unity Candle we decided to use 2 smaller glasses of red wine and we poured them into one big glass of wine and we both drank from it.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "That was the best wedding i've ever been to" and we heard that from most of our guests. Some of them have been to litterly hundreds of weddings!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: LOVE & MOTION BY THE ZODIACS
09/15/2011
  • Jacqueline C

  • Wedding Date: 09/10/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? DR. SHEILA GROSS HAS A WONDERFUL PERSONALITY. WE KNEW AN INSTANTLY, THAT WE WERE GOING TO SELECT HER AS OUR WEDDING OFFICIANT!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? DR. SHEILA GROSS GOT OUR GUEST INVOLVED DURING EVERY ASPECT OF OUR WEDDING CEREMONY! OUR GUEST LOVED HER!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? WE PERSONALIZED OUR CEREMONY, BY SAYING OUR OWN WEDDING VOWS.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? OUR GUEST ENJOYED THE HAND WASHING CEREMONY!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: One of a Kind
08/22/2011
  • Brandon H

  • Wedding Date: 06/26/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is an amazing wedding officiant and person. I knew she was "the one" from our first phone conversation because of how comfortable she made me feel. She welcomed my wife and I into her home to discuss the details and she had so many unique ideas that we knew our ceremony was going to be very special and unlike any our quests have ever seen.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She told the story of how we met and involved everyone there in the ceremony.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Neither of us are religious so the feel was very spiritual while still incorporating a couple aspects of our family's' religious backgrounds. My aunt who recently passed away was responsible for my wife and I getting together (as we met at her funeral) and Sheila made sure her presence was felt and known not only with her heart felt words but also with a flower of her favorite color on the table to represent her. Every one of our quests were included in the ceremony which made it feel very intimate and special, even with 200 people. There was not a dry eye in the room.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone came up to us afterward and told us how amazing and engaging the ceremony was, not like most other generic boring ones.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor