Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 92 Reviews
Review: A Little Love Goes a Long Way
07/14/2011
  • Margie Z

  • Wedding Date: 07/08/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • I could not have asked for a more loving and professional officiant. It's as if G-d read my mind and guided Sheila right to my door.
  • Sheila created a very personal and beautiful ceremony perfect for my husband and me. We weren't able to meet in person before the actual event but through a couple of phone conversations she was able to read me and come up with the ceremony of my dreams.
  • It was quite an intimate event with a select amount of people (mostly immediate family) little did I know that Sheila would include every single one of our guests to participate in the ceremony, this was a very touching surprise. Perfect just for us.
  • Everyone agreed that the Jewish traditions that took place were lovely and so touching.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Officiant Ever!
05/02/2011
  • Diane S

  • Wedding Date: 10/17/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila did a FABULOUS job officiating our wedding and we would HIGHLY recommend her. My husband and I are an interfaith couple and decided last minute to have a wedding celebration. After speaking with her via telephone just a few times, she ended up being my one and only call for hiring an officiant. I am certainly glad I hired her. Sheila quickly made us feel at ease with her openness, her warmth, and caring personality that’s complimented by a fun-loving sense of humor! Sheila addressed all the concerns we had as an interfaith couple, was always professional and very accommodating. We were blessed to have found Sheila and have her perform our ceremony. We could not have been happier with the outcome and would not change a thing! We offer the highest of recommendations. Any couple, interfaith or not, who are planning a wedding will be in excellent, caring hands when choosing Sheila as their celebrant.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Our ceremony “wowed” everyone and most importantly, us as the Bride & Groom. Sheila exceeded our expectations. Sheila had so many creative ideas that you never see at weddings. Sheila honored us as individuals and as a couple. She incorporated our spirituality, blended the different religions and even included our guests as part of the ceremony making it so unique and personalized! It was all unexpected given that we’re accustomed to the “typical” type of wedding ceremony. Our ceremony had unique twists yet still maintained that traditional feel.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila quickly grasped the essence of our relationship by asking pertinent questions, guiding yet allowing us to comfortably and fully convey our innermost thoughts all while listening intently so that she was able to gather all the necessary information she needed to personalize our ceremony. She “understood and got us”. Our ceremony reflected that so well that most guests thought she was a personal friend of ours that we knew for years on end. She captured us that perfectly. All her words had special meaning, she captured us as individuals, as a couple and as a group by including our guests as part of the ceremony. Everyone felt the positive energy, the love and the warmth leaving many of us with tears of joy and ear-to-ear smiles as she brilliantly and creatively conveyed our love story. She tailored our ceremony and vows to uniquely fit our needs while emphasizing the common bond of all the religions making each person feel welcomed, loved and connected to one another as if we were all one unit.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Because we only had less than one and a half months to plan our wedding, we relied heavily on referrals from friends, family and our event coordinator at our wedding venue. Sheila came so highly recommended, with glowing reviews such as “the best wedding ceremony I’ve ever heard”. Well, every guest of ours had a similar response. Guests were saying “it was genuinely the most beautiful, heartfelt ceremony they have ever attended”, “amazing” and “absolutely loved it”. Most of all, we loved it and so did our parents, who are from different faiths and we were initially worried as to how they would respond to an interfaith ceremony. We still get compliments to this day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Our newest family member...Sheila Gay-Gross
04/16/2011
  • Ed M

  • Wedding Date: 03/19/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us feel special and loved. It was evident that Sheila wanted to do everything she could to make our wedding ceremony memorable and filled with love and tenderness. Her priority was Amy and myself. We were invited to Shelia's home 11 months prior to our ceremony. She instantly made us feel at home and at ease. She took many notes as we conversed and shared our love story. Our 1-hour meeting concluded after 2.5 hours of laughing, crying and getting to know one-another. We loved Shelia from day-one.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila made many wonderful suggestions that were both refreshing and insightful. We incorporated most of her ideas into our final ceremony plan. We had spoken by phone and by email numerous times. Sheila ALWAYS made time for us. She was ALWAYS prepared with new thoughts and suggestions which addressed our concerns. Sheila is a professional in every sense of the word. She even traveled several hundred miles for our ceremony and stayed with us for 2 days for the final wedding prep.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila incorporated our stories, our values, our families and everything we hold dear into our ceremony. We incorporated traditions and symbolism from several different religions to capture the tenderness and true meaning of our wedding. Sheila is well-versed and worldly in the areas of religious beliefs and philosophy. She did not hesitate to think outside the religious box to represent our love in the most appropriate ways.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Every one of our wedding guests commented on our ceremony. Most said that it was "hands down the most memorable and enjoyable ceremony they had ever been a part of". Sheila did just that...involved every one of our guests in pronouncing us "wife and husband". She made it fun for everybody. The feeling of love and joy filled our day and brought all of our guests together as one family. This was our underlying goal. Sheila made it happen. Amy and I highly recommend Sheila. Her charisma and natural ability to lead a group to a desired end result are worthy of recognition and praise. Thank you Sheila and Congratulations on a wonderful success story!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: An intimate and fun ceremony
04/12/2011
  • Stacy G

  • Wedding Date: 04/02/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? My husband and I were quite at ease with Sheila, for she is an outgoing, sincere woman who was willing to take our ideas -- we had quite a few -- and coordinate them into a cohesive ceremony. We first met with her at her home seven months before our wedding. In between, we touched base and bounced a few ideas off of one another. Whenever I called and left a message, Sheila responded promptly; if I sent her an email, she would take time to come up with a thoughtful reply. What made me most comfortable with Sheila is her dedication to being an officiant. I quickly realized that being an officiant is her calling, and that she was going to lead a memorable, poignant ceremony. She told my husband and me during our first meeting that she thought the ceremony is the most important part of the wedding. At that moment, I was certain she would be a good fit for us.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Since we planned in advance with Sheila, we had no surprises. She had plenty of suggestions that came from her experience, such as where our parents would sit, how we would arrange the various parts of our ceremony, and how my husband and I would face the audience. My husband, moreover, is outspoken and has quite a sense of humor. He said a few words during the ceremony that might have taken another officiant off guard. Sheila, being flexible, stayed focused and kept a sense of humor while letting my husband and me be who we are in front of our guests.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My husband and I were interested in a sand ceremony that would involve our parents and a hand fasting ritual that would include our brothers. Sheila led us through the processes and told us the best ways to come up with the supplies. At her suggestion, my husband and I created our own sand kit and wove our own hand fasting cord. Sheila also told “our story,” which started before we both met in person; she then gave the important details our first date and the many adventures my husband and I have had together. She described our personalities, how they mesh together, and how important my husband and I are to one another. A few weeks before the wedding, I shared with Sheila how my then fiancé helped me cope with and grieve the deaths of two of my beloved cats just months before the wedding. She was able to incorporate my feelings about the support my now husband gave me during this difficult time. Furthermore, Sheila very successfully told a few stories about my husband’s late mother. She approached her absence with dignity and sensitivity for my husband and his extended family; her words were followed by a tender moment of silence.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Nearly all of our guests raved about Sheila. Several of our guests asked us how long we had known Sheila. They assumed we had been friendly with her for a while, for she was able to talk about us expertly during the ceremony. One of our friends blogged about Sheila, calling her “awesome.” One of my best friends said it was the best ceremony she had ever attended, for it was intimate, drew in our audience, and reflected the love between my husband and I as well as the importance of our families and friends.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: THE PERFECT TOUCH OF INTIMACY
04/12/2011
  • Marcus C

  • Wedding Date: 04/02/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is very engaging and comfortable to talk to. My wife and I have a love story that is very beautiful, yet hard to believe, being as though we have been together for less than a year. Sheila was very attentive in learning about us and our love story.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She suggested a venue (Rebecca’s Restaurant) to have the wedding, due to our time and money constraints, without forcing it on us. Sheila also had a prior engagement the day of our wedding and decided to forego the engagement to do our wedding. We pretty much planned the wedding in our meeting with Sheila. She was so active behind the scenes in making sure everything was taken care of. She should probably add wedding planner to her title as well.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Being that we didn't have all the time in the world to plan, Sheila suggested some cultural elements to the wedding that went over great. Those elements incorporated a lot of our family, which is very important to me and my wife.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our ceremony left many of our guests saying it was the most beautiful, heartfelt, and intimate ceremony that they ever witnessed. The consensus was that Sheila is awesome, great, and fantastic!!!!! Guests and family are still raving about how wonderful Sheila was and how she brought our story to life for everyone to see and feel.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila made day special, delightful, & memorable
04/10/2011
  • Andrew C

  • Wedding Date: 09/12/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila was the officiant at our Union Ceremony, and were beyond thrilled with everything that she did for us. She is highly personable and when we met her felt that she like a dear friend. Sheila was highly flexible with us regarding our timing, and went out of her way multiple times to accommodate our schedule and our needs - including doing an abridged second ceremony for us that was technically required which was just as memorable and touching as the Big Day. (And I must note that she cut short a vacation to be there for us as well!)
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? First, she met with us and got to know us as a couple. She asked questions that surprised us at first - but she listened, guided us and heard our story. She ultimately used that conversation to inform the ceremony in ways that made not only the day special, but made the large gathering of family and friends meaningful in a way that delighted and touched us all.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila used everything she knew about us as a couple and shaped it into a ceremony, a day and a memory that is so special to us that we will be forever grateful. We could not recommend her more highly!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? I lost track of the number of people who told me that it was the "best wedding they'd ever been to" - which surprised me when some of them were including their own!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: I couldn't get Sheila but she found someone for us
03/03/2011
  • Amanda G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is very warm and easy to talk to. She's very professional, creative, and willing to answer any questions I threw at her.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila isn't actually available for the day of my ceremony. However, she called me back right away and referred me to another officiant that is available! It worked out very well--Sheila's recommendation was a perfect match for my fiance and I. She even told me about some ideas that she had had about our ceremony site! If she takes this much care of someone who's not even her client, think of how much care and energy she must put into those who are her clients! We're thankful that she took that extra step to call another officiant and help us create a ceremony that will touch the hearts of all our guests.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: <3
11/01/2010
  • teri w

  • Wedding Date: 09/17/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely! By the end of our first meeting, Sheila was our friend!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Everything! We weren't sure how we wanted the ceremony to flow, but Sheila hand crafted the most magical ceremony that truly spoke to who we were as a couple. I espeically loved how she had our family and friends pronounce us as husband and wife!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Instead of a unity candle, we had two separate glasses (each engraved with our names) and we each poured a drink from those into a main glass engraved with our monogram. From there we drank from the glass to symbolize our unity and committment to marriage.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? They thought the ceremony was fun, joyous, romantic, personal and interactive. Everyone kept saying it was the best ceremony they ever saw and it was personalized specifically for me and my husband.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: The perfect ceremony
10/25/2010
  • Zach E

  • Wedding Date: 10/17/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? My wife and I are not religious at all, and initially we viewed our ceremony as a necessary formality. Our intention was to just find an officiant who would perform a simple quick service with just myself, my bride and our parents. To be frank, we wanted an officiant who would say the bare minimum required by law and then send us on our way. The "wedding", as we saw it, would be the reception that followed where both of our families would join us and celebrate. After just a few minutes on the phone with Sheila, we changed our minds. Truth be told, we could have listened to Sheila speak for hours. She got to know us ahead of our union and she put together a very personal ceremony that drew in ideas from a variety of different faiths. It is difficult to describe, but Sheila's ceremony spoke directly to us. It was meaningful, beautiful and genuine... There wasn't a dry eye in the room. So, to the point, I really can't recommend Sheila strongly enough. If you want a cookie cutter ceremony, look elsewhere. If you want a truly unique ceremony that speaks to the individuals involved and is delivered from the heart, your search ends here.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Actually, everything was pretty much unexpected. We didn't give Sheila much guidance at all, since we didn't really know what we wanted in a ceremony. Instead, Sheila got to know us. In doing so, she was able to put together a ceremony that really spoke to us on a number of levels.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? See above!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? More important than any comment was our guests' favorite part, which was definitely when Sheila passed the rings around to each guest (there were only four — our parents) and had them say a little something. It gave each of our parents an opportunity to add a personal note to the ceremony, and it really made it that much more special.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Fell in Love with Rev. Sheila :)
09/16/2010
  • Rebecca M

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely. Sheila is one of the most incredible people we have even met. You can tell just by spending a few minutes with her, how sincere and caring she is. Upon our first time meeting with Sheila, we spent approx. 2 hours with her...talking, laughing, story telling. We instantly knew she was the officiant we wanted for our special day!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila was there for us whenever we needed her. She was extremely reponsive to all of my emails and phone calls. We would talk about once or twice a month. She became not only our officiant, but a friend to us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The entire ceremony was personalized and that is exactly what we wanted. We wanted to Sheila to make the entire ceremony about us, and she did just that and more. When we first met with Sheila she asked us when we both knew that we were the "one" for each other. We explained to her how my husband was in a horrible car accident a few years ago and spent almost 3 weeks in the hospital. During our ceremony she explained the story and spoke about at the moment, tradgedy turned into love and hope. The guests at our wedding were in tears!!! Happy tears, that is :)
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? We came home from our honeymoon to tons of emails from family and friends telling us how beautiful the ceremony was and how they have never been to one that meaningful and personal before. Guests were telling us how much they loved the celtic hand fasting, and the warming of the rings (each member of the bridal party held the rings and passed them to the next, sending their love into the rings).

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor