Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
104 Panorama Drive
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 93 Reviews
Review: Simply the best
07/14/2009
  • fchang75

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • My wife and I were completely comfortable with working with Sheila. Prior to the wedding, we spent several hours over the course of three meetings planing out our service. During that time we got to know Sheila a little more and more importantly, Sheila took the time to get to know us. Which allowed her to create a very personalized service.
  • Sheila has a vast knowledge of wedding ceremonies from around the world. So when we were planning our service, she would suggest using elements from different cultures and religions to create a very personalized ceremony for us. This was really great for us since we weren't looking for a straightforward traditional ceremony. Sheila really created service that was uniquely us.
  • The most distinctive way we personalized our ceremony was by incorporating our favorite beverage (Mountain Dew) into the ceremony. It was something that Sheila suggested when she found out that our love of the soda was one of the early indicators that my wife and I were right for each other.
  • We heard from more than a few guests that the ceremony was one of the most fun, most personal, most touching and classiest ceremonies they've attended.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Dewayne & Alyshia's Wedding
07/08/2009
  • MDBassPro

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? As a guest and observer of the wedding service I must say it was one of the best services I have viewed. I was so touched I will be using Rev. Dr. Gay to renew my vows.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Everything was unique and non traditional. I really enjoyed the stories, especially the one about throwing the stick.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? N/A
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The stories and how personal and intimate she made the service.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila is AMAZING!!!
06/24/2009
  • jdillon

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? My husband and I just got married this past Saturday, June 20th 2009 at the Hyatt Regency in Jersey City and I have to say, it was everything we dreamed of but more perfect!! Sheila absolutely made us feel 100% comfortable. The first time we met her at her home, we chatted with her for over an hour. During that conversation, she asked us a series of questions about us, and was so genuine with getting to know us. She took about 7 pages of notes and remembered every single bit of it the next time we saw her. AMAZING.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Everything she did at the ceremony was completely explained to us prior. She had such beautiful ideas, which included the guests, and our friends and family. She had asked me prior to the ceremony if she could open with something she had been working on(a story), a suprise. I said yes, because I trusted her so much and it turned out to be a wonderful opener.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? IN EVERY DETAIL. After the ceremony, every single guest told us that our ceremony was the best they have ever been to because it was warm, touching, funny, sweet, and included them. The vibe of the ceremony was so inviting to the other guests, they felt exactly how we felt. She definitely set the tone for the reception afterwards. Everyone was full of love, joy, and RAVING about the ceremony.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Two thumbs up!!
06/22/2009
  • owackowski

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila invited us to her home to meet us and to get to know us and our "love story". She was so friendly, and full of ideas for how to make our ceremony special. She was great at keeping in touch with us between the day we met her and our wedding day, and always made us feel like we could call her about anything.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? During the rehearsal, Sheila encouraged both of our fathers to say a few words at the ceremony which was such a beautiful and sweet surprise when it happened the next day.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? We received so many compliments about our ceremony and officiant! Our guests loved how personal it was and many told us it was the best ceremony they've ever attended!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila was absolutely amazing!
06/05/2009
  • cellolang

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? When we met with Dr. Gross (Sheila) to discuss our plans, it was as if we'd known each other for years. She KNEW us. She is such a warm and engaging person, and we enjoyed meeting with her so much that we didn't want to leave that day! Sheila created a ceremony that absolutely represented both of our spiritual beliefs while respecting those of our families.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Dr. Gross completely tailored the ceremony to match our personalities perfectly. She asked the right open-ended questions to get the information she needed without it seeming like the inquisition. We felt like we were talking to an old friend. (Indeed, we intend to keep in touch with Sheila!)
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? No one could believe that my sister, who helped plan the wedding, had found Sheila on the Internet! Sheila really was one of the family on our special day, giving us a beautiful wedding gift with her ceremony, which was perfect.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing and Couldn't Have Wished For More!
05/16/2009
  • medinasmall

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila has the wonderful ability to make you feel comfortable - as if you've known her forever. She is a great listner and attentive to any concerns or questions that you have. As we are a gay couple, there were reservations about finding an officient who wouldn't judge, be biased or harbor any negative feelings about gay marriage - and Sheila IMMEDIATLY removed any of those possibilities. In four words: SHE IS A BLESSING!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Her knowledge of different cultural norms and traditions is outstanding. She was able to tell "OUR" story as if she were there with us along the way. She was personable - almost like a family friend.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila incorporated every single detail that we shared with her....how we met...the moment we KNEW...how much joy we bring to one another. It was amazing to see and hear during your own ceremony-just how real and personal the ceremony was.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our family and friends have raved about the entire day - but we've heard so many people say" Your ceremony was touching!" "Your officiant was amazing!" "Her attention to detail and knowing about different customs and sayings were fantastic!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Danielle + Donald McNair
01/15/2009
  • danielle368

  • Wedding Date: 06/28/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? What DIDN'T she do! From the moment we met Sheila we knew she was the one. She was so genuine, and really took a lot of time to hear our story and wanted to feel as if she's known us forever. We had so much fun talking to hear, explaining our wants and desires, things we hoped to incorporate in the ceremony.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? The story of how we met! When we met with her we told her exactly how we met, I thought she just wanted to know to get a better sense of who we are but to our suprise she told everyone during the ceremony!! It was great, some of my husbands relatives that I didn't know so well later told me that they felt they knew me better because of the detail Sheila has in our ceremony.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? sheila incorporated my mom and my husbands father who are deceased into the cermony in such a happy way as well as our 5 nieces and nephews. Donald and I really wanted to stay true to ourselves and have the ceremony really speak to us and our relationship and with Sheila's guidance and expertise it was everything and more than i ever hoped for. And...my only wish was that we wrote our own vows and my husband initially was not too excited BUT Sheila has this way about her and she guided him to write his own vows and i have to say that I was so touched and it was one of the best parts of the ceremony. And if you know my husband you would have never in a million years thought he would agree to writing his vows. But Sheila is amazing and he wrote the most beautiful vows ever!! It was the best present.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? To this day we still receive compliments on the ceremony, how it was so personalized and interesting, not the typical boring ceremony. I can't stop raving about her, she is great person with a loving heart and if you choose to have her you will NOT be diappointed. There needs to be more Sheila's out there!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Mr. & Mrs. Julio Cotto
10/25/2008
  • Julio Cotto

  • Wedding Date: 10/25/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Shiela made ou weding truly ours. She took the time to get to know us and created the most personalized ceremony imagineable. She crossed every T and dotted every i throughout the entire process and we knew from the day we booked her that he very crucial portion of our union was in good hands.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Incorporated everyone in attendance in our ceremony. Her recollection of detail about us was amazing, as if she knew us from the early days.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Mostly information and some menial items that are now some of our most values and memorable symbols of our union.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Dear Sheila, Words can not begin to properly express the gratitude Raquel and I have for the amazingly perfect ceremony you performed. We have received numerous compliments about how personal and elegant the ceremony was. We have repeatedly been told how our guest have never been to a wedding ceremony like ours. Words like "unique", "elegant", "personal", "beatiful", and "special" have filled our voicemail and they are all compliments to you. How personal and simply beautiful it was. I believe I will be getting tons of request for your number. We can not stop thinking about how perfect you made our wedding. We thank you and we love you, if our ceremony is any indication of how our marriage will be then we have a wonderful future ahead of us. I am so glad our paths crossed when they did, it was truly a match made in heaven. You were meant to marry us. Thank you and all the blessings and good fortune to you. Mr. & Mrs. Cotto

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Johnson/Summer Solstice Wedding
10/15/2008
  • erinjohnson

  • Wedding Date: 06/21/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila is a people person! She is full of wonderful energy and a warm spirit! She listened closely to our story of how we met and related it back in the ceremony with added humor which delightfully surprised us! Shelia was able to translate our specific needs into a beautifully orchestrated ceremony. She gathered our excitement and nerves into a relaxing and fun and down-to-earth yet serious wedding. We were both applauded for how cool, calm and collected we looked, but it was because Sheila was able to keep us smiling. Sheila was also polite and friendly to our families. Everyone commented on how she was a great director and ceremony leader.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Our story of how we met. It was grreat!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? All we had to do was explain to her our backgrounds, our families' religious backgrounds, what we didn't want and we sort of knew what we did want. Sheila was able to fill in blanks with exactly what worked for us - such as spiritual love stories, a handfasting that didn't accentuate paganism, but honored Love as all traditions do.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? EVERYONE LOVED HER! It was our favorite part of the day!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Our fun wedding ceremony!
10/15/2008
  • megbah

  • Wedding Date: 06/08/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? She let us add as much or as little of our religion into the ceremony as we wanted. She really made it a Christian ceremony for us, even though she may not share our exact beliefs. She never made it an issue, which was very important to us, and made us feel very comfortable that she knew just what she was doing.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? During the ceremony, we realized that there was no glass of wine for our communion part of the ceremony. So instead of cutting that part out, she thought on her feet and continued along with the ceremony using "invisible" bread and wine. It was really special and I'm glad she "made it happen"!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We met with Sheila twice before the ceremony. She took very detailed notes on the questions she asked us. She wanted to know all about our families, one another, and what we wanted our ceremony to be. From here, she was able to suggest some really awesome ideas and readings that we could choose from to include in our ceremony to make it personalized for us.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone, and I mean everyone, absolutely loved it. It was non-traditional, and fun!! There's no reason a ceremony has to be boring and serious. We were able to really express who we were in this ceremony. People are still talking about my wedding and how much they loved that they got to pronounce us husband and wife along with Sheila!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor