Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
104 Panorama Drive
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007

http://www.sheilagay.com



View http://www.sheilagay.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 96 Reviews
Review: We couldn't be more pleased
09/04/2009
  • Leah M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • When we first met Sheila, we immediately felt comfortable with her presence. She was warm, personable, and down to earth. Sheila asked all of the right questions to get to know us individually, and as a couple. During our ceremony, she kept it interesting at all times. She was lighthearted, funny, and upbeat.
  • She commented on something about when my husband and I had our first date. Something I had never told him about. Everyone including the both of us thought it was so funny. The entire guest audience was hysterical, in a laugh out loud uproar. It was great! And when "Sheila Speaketh" everyone was listening...
  • Being collectively non-religious but spiritual, Sheila gave us so many ideas on how to make the ceremony uniquely our own, and how to make all of our guests feel as though they were sharing in our journey. We both have children but husband's daughter lives in another country, and she doesn't see him for long periods of time in between her visits. It was very important for us to show her that she is a part this union no matter how far the distance. Sheila recommended a sand ceremony to have the children be a part of the ceremony itself. Each parent acknowledged the child by stating a unique quality about the child, and having the new parent give them a wish. The children loved it, the guests enjoyed it, and we all felt closer to each other after it. It was wonderful.
  • There were so many comments from our guests that it is hard to pick just one. We had guests tell us that it was the most "heartfelt ceremony they had ever seen", a guest told us that he "never cries ever", and yet he found himself in tears. Some told us that they were actually interested in paying attention because "it was so special and unique", and that most ceremonies that they have experienced have been very boring. Some told us that they were able to "see firsthand" what we have together and they "felt special for being a part of it". All around it was a great day and we would reccomend Sheila to anyone who is getting married.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: All that we could have asked for, and more
08/04/2009
  • Alysha C

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila was funny, friendly, personable, and put us at ease. From our initial phone conversation, we were hooked. We met for a consultation at her home, and she had us in a combination of tears and stitches. Her personality and heart really spoke to us and we knew she'd connect perfectly with our friends and family.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Just before our rehearsal, she read a story to me about faith. It was something she'd found and re-worked, which really spoke to my husband's outlook on love and marriage. It was so appropriate and touching. She'd sought out something beyond what we originally discussed, which showed us that she was always seeking to make our ceremony truly personal, even in the final days.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We had friends and family weave their stories and blessings into the ceremony. Likewise, tales of Sesame Street, subway platforms, and glasses half empty and full were told, so by ceremony's end, it was very clear who we were as a couple.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Sheila made me feel included, and part of the ceremony.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Most Memorable Experience.
08/03/2009
  • Leila M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila made us both feel comfortable from the moment my husband contacted her via e-mail, to the telephone conversation we had with her, to meeting her face to face and the ceremony itself. She was kind, generous, and took the time to really get to know us, as well as letting us get to know her as well.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She made the entire ceremony personable, warm, and inviting for us as well as our very intimate group of guests.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We made it very small, intimate and non-denominational.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? It was very warm and inviting.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Simply the best
07/14/2009
  • fchang75

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? My wife and I were completely comfortable with working with Sheila. Prior to the wedding, we spent several hours over the course of three meetings planing out our service. During that time we got to know Sheila a little more and more importantly, Sheila took the time to get to know us. Which allowed her to create a very personalized service.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila has a vast knowledge of wedding ceremonies from around the world. So when we were planning our service, she would suggest using elements from different cultures and religions to create a very personalized ceremony for us. This was really great for us since we weren't looking for a straightforward traditional ceremony. Sheila really created service that was uniquely us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The most distinctive way we personalized our ceremony was by incorporating our favorite beverage (Mountain Dew) into the ceremony. It was something that Sheila suggested when she found out that our love of the soda was one of the early indicators that my wife and I were right for each other.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? We heard from more than a few guests that the ceremony was one of the most fun, most personal, most touching and classiest ceremonies they've attended.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Dewayne & Alyshia's Wedding
07/08/2009
  • MDBassPro

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? As a guest and observer of the wedding service I must say it was one of the best services I have viewed. I was so touched I will be using Rev. Dr. Gay to renew my vows.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Everything was unique and non traditional. I really enjoyed the stories, especially the one about throwing the stick.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? N/A
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The stories and how personal and intimate she made the service.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila is AMAZING!!!
06/24/2009
  • jdillon

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? My husband and I just got married this past Saturday, June 20th 2009 at the Hyatt Regency in Jersey City and I have to say, it was everything we dreamed of but more perfect!! Sheila absolutely made us feel 100% comfortable. The first time we met her at her home, we chatted with her for over an hour. During that conversation, she asked us a series of questions about us, and was so genuine with getting to know us. She took about 7 pages of notes and remembered every single bit of it the next time we saw her. AMAZING.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Everything she did at the ceremony was completely explained to us prior. She had such beautiful ideas, which included the guests, and our friends and family. She had asked me prior to the ceremony if she could open with something she had been working on(a story), a suprise. I said yes, because I trusted her so much and it turned out to be a wonderful opener.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? IN EVERY DETAIL. After the ceremony, every single guest told us that our ceremony was the best they have ever been to because it was warm, touching, funny, sweet, and included them. The vibe of the ceremony was so inviting to the other guests, they felt exactly how we felt. She definitely set the tone for the reception afterwards. Everyone was full of love, joy, and RAVING about the ceremony.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Two thumbs up!!
06/22/2009
  • owackowski

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila invited us to her home to meet us and to get to know us and our "love story". She was so friendly, and full of ideas for how to make our ceremony special. She was great at keeping in touch with us between the day we met her and our wedding day, and always made us feel like we could call her about anything.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? During the rehearsal, Sheila encouraged both of our fathers to say a few words at the ceremony which was such a beautiful and sweet surprise when it happened the next day.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? We received so many compliments about our ceremony and officiant! Our guests loved how personal it was and many told us it was the best ceremony they've ever attended!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sheila was absolutely amazing!
06/05/2009
  • cellolang

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? When we met with Dr. Gross (Sheila) to discuss our plans, it was as if we'd known each other for years. She KNEW us. She is such a warm and engaging person, and we enjoyed meeting with her so much that we didn't want to leave that day! Sheila created a ceremony that absolutely represented both of our spiritual beliefs while respecting those of our families.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Dr. Gross completely tailored the ceremony to match our personalities perfectly. She asked the right open-ended questions to get the information she needed without it seeming like the inquisition. We felt like we were talking to an old friend. (Indeed, we intend to keep in touch with Sheila!)
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? No one could believe that my sister, who helped plan the wedding, had found Sheila on the Internet! Sheila really was one of the family on our special day, giving us a beautiful wedding gift with her ceremony, which was perfect.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing and Couldn't Have Wished For More!
05/16/2009
  • medinasmall

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila has the wonderful ability to make you feel comfortable - as if you've known her forever. She is a great listner and attentive to any concerns or questions that you have. As we are a gay couple, there were reservations about finding an officient who wouldn't judge, be biased or harbor any negative feelings about gay marriage - and Sheila IMMEDIATLY removed any of those possibilities. In four words: SHE IS A BLESSING!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Her knowledge of different cultural norms and traditions is outstanding. She was able to tell "OUR" story as if she were there with us along the way. She was personable - almost like a family friend.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila incorporated every single detail that we shared with her....how we met...the moment we KNEW...how much joy we bring to one another. It was amazing to see and hear during your own ceremony-just how real and personal the ceremony was.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our family and friends have raved about the entire day - but we've heard so many people say" Your ceremony was touching!" "Your officiant was amazing!" "Her attention to detail and knowing about different customs and sayings were fantastic!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Danielle + Donald McNair
01/15/2009
  • danielle368

  • Wedding Date: 06/28/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? What DIDN'T she do! From the moment we met Sheila we knew she was the one. She was so genuine, and really took a lot of time to hear our story and wanted to feel as if she's known us forever. We had so much fun talking to hear, explaining our wants and desires, things we hoped to incorporate in the ceremony.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? The story of how we met! When we met with her we told her exactly how we met, I thought she just wanted to know to get a better sense of who we are but to our suprise she told everyone during the ceremony!! It was great, some of my husbands relatives that I didn't know so well later told me that they felt they knew me better because of the detail Sheila has in our ceremony.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? sheila incorporated my mom and my husbands father who are deceased into the cermony in such a happy way as well as our 5 nieces and nephews. Donald and I really wanted to stay true to ourselves and have the ceremony really speak to us and our relationship and with Sheila's guidance and expertise it was everything and more than i ever hoped for. And...my only wish was that we wrote our own vows and my husband initially was not too excited BUT Sheila has this way about her and she guided him to write his own vows and i have to say that I was so touched and it was one of the best parts of the ceremony. And if you know my husband you would have never in a million years thought he would agree to writing his vows. But Sheila is amazing and he wrote the most beautiful vows ever!! It was the best present.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? To this day we still receive compliments on the ceremony, how it was so personalized and interesting, not the typical boring ceremony. I can't stop raving about her, she is great person with a loving heart and if you choose to have her you will NOT be diappointed. There needs to be more Sheila's out there!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor