Officiants & Clergy in Edgewater, NJ: All Faiths Ceremonies
All Faiths Ceremonies
104 Panorama Drive
Edgewater, NJ 07020
(201) 886-3007


Edgewater Officiants & Clergy: All Faiths Ceremonies


write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 114 Reviews
Review: The perfect ceremony
10/25/2010
  • Zach E

  • Wedding Date: 10/17/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • My wife and I are not religious at all, and initially we viewed our ceremony as a necessary formality. Our intention was to just find an officiant who would perform a simple quick service with just myself, my bride and our parents. To be frank, we wanted an officiant who would say the bare minimum required by law and then send us on our way. The "wedding", as we saw it, would be the reception that followed where both of our families would join us and celebrate. After just a few minutes on the phone with Sheila, we changed our minds. Truth be told, we could have listened to Sheila speak for hours. She got to know us ahead of our union and she put together a very personal ceremony that drew in ideas from a variety of different faiths. It is difficult to describe, but Sheila's ceremony spoke directly to us. It was meaningful, beautiful and genuine... There wasn't a dry eye in the room. So, to the point, I really can't recommend Sheila strongly enough. If you want a cookie cutter ceremony, look elsewhere. If you want a truly unique ceremony that speaks to the individuals involved and is delivered from the heart, your search ends here.
  • Actually, everything was pretty much unexpected. We didn't give Sheila much guidance at all, since we didn't really know what we wanted in a ceremony. Instead, Sheila got to know us. In doing so, she was able to put together a ceremony that really spoke to us on a number of levels.
  • See above!
  • More important than any comment was our guests' favorite part, which was definitely when Sheila passed the rings around to each guest (there were only four — our parents) and had them say a little something. It gave each of our parents an opportunity to add a personal note to the ceremony, and it really made it that much more special.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Fell in Love with Rev. Sheila :)
09/16/2010
  • Rebecca M

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely. Sheila is one of the most incredible people we have even met. You can tell just by spending a few minutes with her, how sincere and caring she is. Upon our first time meeting with Sheila, we spent approx. 2 hours with her...talking, laughing, story telling. We instantly knew she was the officiant we wanted for our special day!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila was there for us whenever we needed her. She was extremely reponsive to all of my emails and phone calls. We would talk about once or twice a month. She became not only our officiant, but a friend to us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The entire ceremony was personalized and that is exactly what we wanted. We wanted to Sheila to make the entire ceremony about us, and she did just that and more. When we first met with Sheila she asked us when we both knew that we were the "one" for each other. We explained to her how my husband was in a horrible car accident a few years ago and spent almost 3 weeks in the hospital. During our ceremony she explained the story and spoke about at the moment, tradgedy turned into love and hope. The guests at our wedding were in tears!!! Happy tears, that is :)
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? We came home from our honeymoon to tons of emails from family and friends telling us how beautiful the ceremony was and how they have never been to one that meaningful and personal before. Guests were telling us how much they loved the celtic hand fasting, and the warming of the rings (each member of the bridal party held the rings and passed them to the next, sending their love into the rings).

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Going on 5 yrs in Sept.! Thanks Rev. Sheila!!
08/02/2010
  • Eva P

  • Wedding Date: 09/23/2005
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? The Rev. Sheila Gay understood our personalities and what we wanted the ceremony to say about our hopes and dreams as a married couple. We were able to incorporate our Catholic traditions but in a different way that fully portrayed who we were as two individuals that were coming together to form a union under the power of love. I remember that Rev. Sheila helped us in finding the most beautiful of passages by Kahlil Gibran and how she helped at invoking the power of our grandmothers who had long passed, but whose power and energy had never faded from our lives. I just can not say enough about how beautiful our ceremony was and how much it was truly enjoyed by our guests.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? The Rev. Sheila Gay was a forced to be reckoned with that night. There were times of natural wedding day stress and she just helped in putting all things into it's proper perspective. My mom still remembers as to how she made our wedding ceremony and reception just one of the most introspective and spiritual occasions she's ever been a part of. All I kept hearing that night and thereafter (even from the staff at the ceremony hall) was how special and moving our occasion was....and I'm not just saying that to say that! There truly was magic in the air that night and while of course, a lot of it had to do with the love my husband and I shared for one another...it also had a lot to do with how the Rev. Sheila officiated over our ceremony.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? A portion of our vows were dedicated to the power of women...starting with our love and admiration for The Blessed Mother. We brought along a little statue of The Blessed Mother and had candles settled besides her with the names of our grandmothers engraved on them. We lit the candles and offered our humblest and heartfelt thanks to the power of their integrity and force. We honored women that night as it was the women in our respective lives who taught us how to love the most powerful of spirits and the spirit that lies within us all.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? There were many, many beautiful comments that night and thereafter but one that I'll never forget was that made by our maître d’...he said..."In all my years, I've never seen something so wonderfully different and so special. It was truly a beautiful night." That comment has stayed with me ever since. I know that my experience is not privy to me. The Rev. Sheila Gay has married many, many people since our own wedding back in 2005 and from the comments and pictures I've seen; I think a lot of people have walked away from their own big day feeling the same way. I can't say enough wonderful things about The Rev. Sheila Gay!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bride
07/23/2010
  • Andrea J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My husband and I are from two different faiths and really wanted a wedding ceremony that was about us and was warm and meaningful. From the first phone conversation I had with Sheila I knew she was the officiant we wanted to use. She went above and beyond our expectations and made time during the whole wedding planning process to sit down with us and really get to know our story. We had no idea what to expect but after speaking with her and having her there every step of the way we knew that this was going to be something so unique and special. I can't begin to explain how wonderful Sheila is. All I can say is that the ceremony we had was so far from ordinary and typical. Every single one of our guests said that it was so beautiful and they have never been to a wedding ceremony where they actually listened to what was said and weren't bored (We got married on July 4th and people are still commenting). She talked about my husband and I, how we met, funny stories, love stories, about our family and had some of our friends participate in the ceremony and speak. I think her ceremonies should be a standard for every wedding! She speaks to your guests and makes them feel like a part of what is happening and really takes it to such a personal place. She is great at reading the couples she is works with and creating something that is perfect for them and fits their personalities. I HIGHLY recommend her!!!! If you can imagine the best wedding ceremony ever you still wouldn't come close to hers.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Patricia and Alessandro, married in Edgewater
06/24/2010
  • Alessandro P

  • Wedding Date: 06/12/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We felt comfortable with Sheila from the very beginning. She was very helpful and almost our wedding planner. She gave us suggestions and very good advice. She has a great personality, extrovert, fun and smart. Great lady. We wouldn't change a thing.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Nothing. Her standards agreed with ours because we expected and wanted someone, like her, that would give us a warm and caring ceremony unlike a normal Justice of the Peace.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? In our interview with Sheila she asked both of us what we like about each other and she expressed that at the ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The most of the guest admitted that she's a really cool lady... " where did you find her?" They all were pleased.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: The One Where I Rave About My Wedding
06/16/2010
  • Marisa S

  • Wedding Date: 06/05/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila invited us into her home for our first meeting. She was the first officiant we met with, so we weren't sure what to expect and we were a little nervous, but her openness and warmth made us feel right at home from the first moment. We spent close to 2 hours talking about ourselves, our relationship, our passions, and by the end she had very nearly crafted the whole ceremony. It was refreshing and wonderful to work with someone who listened to closely and understood our need for a ceremony that was not filled with meaningless ritual and truly reflected us.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? The way that she included my husband's Buddhist studies and beliefs by starting the ceremony with a koan really captured the feeling we wanted from the start. No other officiant had a reading like that ready - we would have had to find it ourselves. But when we told Sheila we had lived in Japan and he had studied Buddhism she had the perfect thing.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila told our story, included our friends and helped them to write beautiful and meaningful speeches and had all of our family and friends pronounce us husband and wife. It was so deeply touching - the whole ceremony was about us and our union, just was we wanted it.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? More than one person told me that our ceremony made them want to renew their vows, but the happy tears were by far the biggest testament to Sheila's incredible gift as an officiant. We will forever treasure the words she spoke and how she helped to bring out the best in us on this most special day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fantastic officiant!
05/13/2010
  • Jenn D

  • Wedding Date: 04/24/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila definitely made us comfortable. From the first meeting she made it clear that she was very interested in us, our story, and in putting together a ceremony that would be unique and meaningful. She had many ideas to share at all points, but made us feel that she would not force one bit of ceremonies she had done before - it was completely up to us and started with a blank slate. She is friendly and warm.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila asked all of the wedding guests to help pronounce us man and wife, and both of my parents walked me down the aisle together, which we loved. She also customized our ceremony with a special blessing (see below). I thought her delivery and presentation were excellent, and beyond what I expected from a ceremony officiant.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Sheila created a "Garden State Blessing," following our wedding's NJ theme as a very important place in our lives. Four friends spoke and presented token items symbolizing New Jersey and their wishes for us, in a way that was touching, lighthearted and very natural.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? That our wedding was fun, unique, creative, and guests really learned about us as a couple and understood how much we loved each other

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: The Most Warm, Wonderful Officiant Ever!
04/21/2010
  • Kristina D

  • Wedding Date: 03/26/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Sheila was the most amazing officiant you could ever ask for. After speaking to her on the phone for almost an hour, she welcomed my fiance (at the time) into her home to get to know us as a couple. She was extremely warm, and organized and got to know us as a couple over the two hour meeting we had. We honestly let her house feeling as though we had known Sheila forever and she was one of our closest friends. Anytime one of us had a question about the ceremony by calling or emailing, she immediately returned our call and gave a very thorough response. She had an amazing ability to make us feel like there was not anything to worry about and there wasn't. She was organized, and helped bring out our love in a way I didn't think was possible in a wedding ceremony. My husband Greg and I have been to a lot of weddings before this, and hands down, was the most personal and loving ceremony I had ever been to and am so thankful that it was for our wedding!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Sheila did so many amazing things during our ceremony. She brought in aspects of our lives...for example, we have two dogs who are like our children to us. When we were saying our vows to one another that we wrote, we bound our hands together with our dog leash to symbolize their presence since they are such a huge part of our lives. She also suggested that I honor my grandmother with a rose and give her a hug during the ceremony. My grandmother was so thankful for this. Our family and friends spoke during our wedding about us and how we met, Sheila was to thank for this. She organized all of this and the guests loved all of it. There was not one person who didn't come up to us afterwards and say hands down, it was the most personal and beautiful wedding ceremony they had ever attended. I absolutely agree and would highly recommend her to anyone who is looking for a great officiant for their upcoming wedding. We felt like we made a new friend through this whole experience.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? There were so many aspects to the wedding ceremony to list...the whole ceremony brought in aspects of our love and our life, it is difficult to choose just one. It was not a standard wedding ceremony...even friends and family who may not have known a lot about Greg and I as a couple left our wedding knowing many details about how we met, and fell in love. The guests were really incorporated into the ceremony and I know everyone was paying attention and thoroughly enjoying our ceremony. I have been to many weddings and most people don't even pay attention to the ceremony because they are very "cookie cutter" and sometimes even boring. This was absolutely not the case with ours and we have Sheila to thank for all of this.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? There were too many to say...just how evident our love was for one another and how amazing of an officiant Sheila was. She truly is a master at what she does. I swear you will not be disappointed if you select her as your officiant for your wedding. My father had to go back to Nanina's in the Park (our ceremony/reception site of our wedding) in Belleville, NJ the next day and the owner of the place actually came out to shake my dad's hand and to say that he has seen many weddings held through the years at his place and that our wedding ceremony was the best he has ever seen. That site does at least 3 weddings a week probably for the last 30 years and for the owner to say it was the best ceremony he has ever seen, that is saying something.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Our deepest thanks for an unforgettable ceremony
04/20/2010
  • Laura V

  • Wedding Date: 04/21/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Our commitment ceremony was filled with joy, love and friendship all orchestrated by our wonderful Officiant Reverend Dr. Sheila Gross. On our first meeting, Sheila was able to capture our love for each other, as well as the love we wished to share with our family and friends. She was easy to speak with and advised how we could incorporate the ones we love, who were not among the wedding party. And like most couples in love and in disagreement, Sheila was able to counsel us on how we could celebrate those who had passed. Sheila is so warm and open she moved us to tears on our very first meeting. On the day of the ceremony, with her big heart and sincere tone, Sheila was able to envelope our family and friends with her words of kindness and inspiration, words meant not only for us, but also for everyone witnessing our union. From the ring warming to the seven Blessors, she took a piece of everyone’s emotion and transposed it into the most wonderful memory. And with that, she also stole a piece of everyone’s heart. Sheila made herself available to us and to all the speakers who sought her guidance. She moved everyone so significantly that they asked where we had found her. Sheila, thank you for making our wedding unforgettable and more perfect than we could have dreamed. Yours is a gift that cannot be learned, I’m sure you leave a piece of your soul and a blessing at every wedding ceremony, and we were honored to have you at ours.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: OUR PERFECT WEDDING
04/18/2010
  • MARIELA C

  • Wedding Date: 04/01/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? It is so hard to explain how Reverend Sheila Gross made our wedding so perfect!! I was so comfortable and very very nervous as well. She is great I would recommend her to everyone!!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Reverand Sheila Gross gave us a great idea about a "Sand Ceremony" I had no idea we could so something like that. It was perfect I asked everyone their favorite color and I bought them and when it was time for the Sand Ceremony one by one went up to the table and poured their colored sand into a vase and when it was completed it looked amazing!! I would recommend this as well.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our wedding was very personal because Reverend Sheila Gross asked us about everything from the moment we met until the day we decided to marry. My husband and I told her everything and at the day of the wedding she repeated everything and it was beautiful. She made us feel so comfortable and personal because she cared about our love and what we feel for each other. And we LOVED it when she reminded us about the love that we have and share on the day of our wedding.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone was happy and they all had something beautiful to say about myself and my husband. We all had a great time and it was so personal and I loved that everyone was a part of our ceremony and made us so happy. She is AWESOME!!!! THANK YOU REVERAND FOR EVERYTHING!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor