Officiants & Clergy in Teaneck, NJ: Loving Heart Ceremonies by Risa Marlen
Loving Heart Ceremonies by Risa Marlen
Private Residence
Teaneck, NJ 07666
(201) 741-6056


Officiants & Clergy: Loving Heart Ceremonies by Risa Marlen


write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 10 Reviews
Review: Thank you Risa
02/13/2012
  • Tricia K

  • Wedding Date: 08/26/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • My husband and I couldn't have been more pleased with the wonderful service that Risa provided us with. She really took the time to tailor the ceremony to fit our personality and it made such an impact on our guests. We had numerous people come up to us during the reception and say that it was one of the most memorable ceremonies they had ever been to and that our sense of humor really came across. Risa ensured that we stayed "on track" throughout the process, sending us gentle reminders to complete our questionnaire's, so she could really get a sense of "us" and tell our love story to our guests. Even though we got married on a Friday night at the Jersey Shore and traffic can be a total nightmare, Risa ensured that she arrived with plenty of time to spare (which meant a lot to a bride who likes to be in control :-) Thank you RISA!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing love story!
12/29/2011
  • Samantha K

  • Wedding Date: 11/19/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes, very comfortable. She asked questions but wasn't pushy. She made me feel like she had everything under control and it was all about my groom and I.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She was extremely kind, friendly, organized, professional, well spoken, and understanding. All the aspects you need on your wedding day.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We looked up different ways to pay tribute to recent deaths in our families and we wanted to honor our mothers. Risa gave us lots of different options and was very open to our opinions. We also wrote our own vows.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Loving Heart Ceremonies, Risa Marlen, did a great job with our wedding. From the customized love story, and beautiful delivery the whole group felt our love. I would reccomend Risa to anyone who wants their wedding to be even more spectaular! All my guests were extremely impressed!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Risa made our ceremony perfect and unique!
12/22/2011
  • nicole b

  • Wedding Date: 09/02/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutely
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My husband gave me a rose on our first date and Risa carried the theme of Roses throughout our entire ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The following was an email my Husband wrote to Risa after our wedding: "Hi Risa, the ceremony was perfect. Everybody enjoyed it very much, you even got my father to cry. People even enjoyed our candle malfunction. (It was to windy to get our unity candle to light.) Thanks for everything, you def come highly recommended."

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Loving, Warm Heart
09/11/2011
  • Carrie K

  • Wedding Date: 09/10/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 2 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Edit Review Risa Marlen made my ceremony absolutely beautiful. She worked very diligently with us about how we wanted the ceremony to feel, what we wanted to share with our guests and how we wanted to feel afterward. She made us feel like close friends instead of just clients. She's a true professional and passionate about her job.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She offered great ideas for the flow of the ceremony, like telling our love story and a guided meditation (which really helped before saying my vows.) She was very receptive to any edits we wished to make and gave the entire printed ceremony to us in a keepsake binder.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We got to tell our story to everyone in a fun and light-hearted way. We also wrote our own vows...and very much appreciated the "cheat sheets" Risa printed for us.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? The amount of praise I have received about how personal, touching and heart-warming our event began was just overwhelming. My guests said they felt so close to us during that time and that it was just so us. It was "perfect". Literally. Someone said it was perfect.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Touching and Inspiring
09/09/2010
  • Adria H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? From our first meeting, for which she gladly met us in Manhattan although she lives in NJ, we knew that she would do a wonderful job of highlighting our special love story and crafting a ceremony that was intimate and touching for our July 2010 wedding. We were right! Risa is warm, thoughtful and willing to research any idea you have that fits into your vision of a meaningful ceremony. She worked through drafts of the ceremony with us until it was just right, celebrated our wedding with poise and warmth, handled the legal documents promptly and accurately, and gave us a keepsake copy of the ceremony to cherish on our wedding day. Risa's professionalism, prompt responses to e-mails and phone calls, and especially her joy at celebrating life's special moments make her an ideal person for brides and grooms to turn to at this potentially high stress time. She also creates and celebrates ceremonies for life's other important milestones, and my husband and I will definitely keep her in mind when babies are born!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We asked her to lead us and our guests through a guided meditation, and she had beautiful words to share that helped everyone become truly present to the role of love and commitment in their lives. She helped us create the intimate, peaceful ceremony we wanted by being open and enthusiastic about personalizing our day.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Risa told our love story in a very touching way. It was humorous, honest, and very "us." She helped us incorporate a hand-fasting ceremony as an alternative to the traditional unity candle. We loved that it felt like a representation of our special relationship.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Good friends said that seeing our wedding made them want to get married all over again. I was told by several guests that there wasn't a dry eye--everyone got misty-eyed! Others told me that they had never been to such a beautiful and touching wedding ceremony, and that it was so "us." We have Risa to thank for her writing and delivery of such a beautiful ceremony.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Thank You
05/24/2010
  • Candice S

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Risa was very professional and very understanding of the simplicity of our ceremony. She made us very comfortable to be working with her. Our ceremony was amazing and went exactly how we wanted it to go. Risa did an amazing job. Thanks!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Vow Renewal
01/19/2010
  • Anne F

  • Wedding Date: 01/09/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes -- even though she only met us a few days before, we felt like we had known her for a long time. More importantly -- it seemed like she knew us! She really got what's important in our lives, and what puts a smile on our faces.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We had not expected to do anything at all. We made a trip up to NJ to celerbate our 30th anniversary with our children. They pursuaded us to have a Vow Renewal ceremony (we actually had never heard of such a thing!) because our original wedding was so small. My daughter-in-law knew of Risa, and we hired her. We never expected that Risa would find a way to include our whole family in the ceremony -- and in such a loving, moving way.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Risa told our story through talking with us and the children. She highlighted our times of joy, our acoomplishments, and our times of trouble. This was all done with sensitivity, humor and warmth.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "I was so deeply moved. I think I want to do the same thing when we hit 30 years!" "Listening to your story really got me thinking about all that happens in the course of a marriage. May you have another wonderful 30 years together, and I hope to be there with Risa doing a Vow Renewal for your 60th anniversary!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Committment Ceremony
12/25/2009
  • Geraldine P

  • Wedding Date: 12/23/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Risa was very easy and enjoyable to work with. We wanted to have a celebration of life ceremony to celebrate our many years together. Even though we were not sure of exactly what we wanted she was able to listen to our ideas and put it all together in a very joyful way.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We were surprised at how she was able bring out the humor in some of our life experiences and engage the audience is laughing and sharing with us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She told our personal story of how we have grown as individuals and as a couple over our years together, highlighting both our fun times and our challenges.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Many of our friends asked us who she was and indicated that they too would like to have a committment ceremony or renewal of their vows to acknowledge there own relationships.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Our Wedding Ceremony
12/20/2009
  • Jessica H

  • Wedding Date: 12/20/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes, She was wonderful. She was very personable, listened to what we wanted and she was very accommodating. We did a interfaith ceremony and she was very sensitive to both of our religions and helped us integrate both traditions into our special day.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She integrated our love story into the ceremony, I felt like it was OUR ceremony rather than a cookie cutter ceremony. That was really important to us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? I am christian and my husband is jewish, we had to combine both our religions into the wedding. We got married in a vineyard so we added little touches into the ceremony and reception that were vineyard themed. It was elegant and fun.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone said it was the best wedding they had been to. :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Judy
12/16/2009
  • jsrabi@verizon.net R

  • Wedding Date: 12/16/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? From the moment Risa sat down with us to discuss our wedding plans she helped us feel comfortable. She talked to us about how we met, how we decided to marry, what we thought was special about each other. The sharing reminded us how important this occasion was to us.She also helped us focus on what and whom we wanted to include in our ceremony. She suggested rituals that we might want to include that we had not thought about and that helped make our ceremony so special.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She helped us add a candle lighting ceremony that was touching and beautiful.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We worked with Risa to prepare our own vows . For me it meant writing a poem to honor my husband, our meeting, and our life together. For my husband a vow of love and connection. There was much input from Risa about this preparation.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone thought that the ceremony was beautiful and touching. My 86 year old mother and my 25 year old daughter were included in the ceremony. This was meaningful to both of them and to us. (My husband 's parents are not alive).

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review