Officiants & Clergy in Brooklyn, NY: Celebrant Kim Kirkley
Celebrant Kim Kirkley
Brooklyn, NY 11206
(718) 753-1993

http://www.OurElegantCeremony.com



View http://www.OurElegantCeremony.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 4.9
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 7 Reviews
Review: Your wedding your way!
01/15/2014
  • Kelly R

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Absolutely! In our first meeting, we took a beautiful trip down memory lane, as we recounted how we met, and what we loved most about each other. Kim took notes and later presented us with a lovely personalized ceremony that included snippets of some of our most tender moments.
  • I had previously attended wedding ceremonies that were pretty canned and cookie cutter. Never had I attended a ceremony that really celebrated the couple and their relationship, only the commitment they were about to make. Kim was extremely focused on us and our relationship. Yes, the commitment was important, but more important was what brought us to make that commitment.
  • After meeting with Kim, the draft we received included snippets from our conversation with her. In the ceremony draft, she described how we met, some of our quirks and what drew us together, even some of the hurdles that we had to surmount. We chose our vows, and also had the option of writing our own. The ceremony was outdoors in the heat of summer, so we also had in mind a certain length, so we trimmed the initial ceremony to fit the time frame and Kim readily accepted our edits. This reiterated that it was important to us that we have the ceremony that we wanted.
  • We were told that our ceremony felt like us and that Kim's presentation of it was one of the best parts of the day!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Kim Rocks!
01/14/2014
  • scoretta

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Words cannot even begin to express how amazing Kim Kirkley is. We discovered Kim via New York Magazine early on in our planning stages. We were looking for someone who would allow us to customize a non-denominational ceremony. We also wanted someone who was personable, would get to know us as a couple, and expressed similar values and beliefs on relationships and marriage. The questions Kim asked at our initial meeting signaled that we were on the exact same page. She didn’t want to know how long we had been involved with a particular church, she wanted to know why we wanted to marry each other, what we loved about one another, and what we were hoping for in a ceremony – the important questions. Kim is calm, poised, and knowledgeable. We progressed through a series of sessions with Kim prior to our marriage. She works extensively with a book and workbook series called “Getting the Love You Want” and it’s incredible. We talked about communication, disagreements, showering one another with love and praise, and much more. Every session was interactive and we always took away something concrete that we are able to use in our relationship. Based on our discussions, Kim sent us a draft of the ceremony. We went back and forth multiple times – offering comments, additions, and changes. When we had collectively agreed on a final ceremony draft, Kim read us the ceremony over the phone so that we could offer her feedback. Honestly, we were in love with Kim’s first draft, which was awesome, so any further discussion was mainly spent tweaking, and discussing how we and she had been since our last meeting. As you can see, Kim was amazing before we even got close to the actual ceremony! Kim, along with our on-site coordinator, organized a great rehearsal and joyfully attended our rehearsal dinner. She led a phenomenal ceremony that people are still raving about. She really helped us construct a ceremony that was meaningful, unique, and Us – and we couldn’t have been happier. Kim joined us at our reception and on the dance floor and we are so incredibly grateful to have had her as a part of our special day and now as a part of our lives. Thanks, Kim!!!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We wrote our own vows, our immediate family members chose and read something meaningful to them that they wanted to pass along to us, everyone at the ceremony participated in the tasting of the elements, Kim suggested and read a poem about transition, moving, and love (we were moving cross-country) and all of our guests tossed rose petals into the water.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Colleen L
02/29/2012
  • colleen L

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I can't say enough about how much both my husband and I enjoyed working with Kim Kirkley. From our first meeting we felt extremely comfortable and connected to her and her approach. We knew almost immediately that we had found the perfect Celebrant to make our wedding day as special and as personal as we had envisioned.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? I never imagined that we would find a Celebrant who we not only trusted to perform our ceremony, and with whom we deeply respected and cared for as a person. So many of our friends and family commented that the ceremony was one of the most authentic and emotionally moving that they had attended.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Guided by Kim, we were able to create an extremely honest and personal story that reflected who we were as a couple and as individuals. This story was woven beautifully into a dialogue between ourselves and our guests that revealed not only the essence of our 'love story' but also described each of our personalities and life journey.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our favorite comment that we received from our guests was that our ceremony was one of the most authentic celebrations of love and happiness that they had the honor of witnessing.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Kim is fantastic!
01/08/2012
  • Rachel P

  • Wedding Date: 10/01/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Unforeseen circumstances led us to have to find a celebrant with 6 weeks to go before the big day and Kim absolutely came through. She bicycled over to meet us at our house, spent an hour asking us questions to get to know us better and translated that into a very loving, playful and personal service which reflected our personalities perfectly.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We had been renovating our house for several months with the wedding due to be held in the backyard and stress levels were high. She has a very calming presence which helped us to relax and focus on what was important - our love for each other.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Our wedding ceremony was very natural, joyful and humorous - lots of laughter all round - we didn't want anything heavily religious or stuffy. We wrote a poem likening tandem bicycle riding to a marriage and had one of our parents read it.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone commented on how well the ceremony was a reflection of the two of us which we couldn't have done with out Kim's guidance. She's amazing and we highly recommend her.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Officiant!
12/11/2011
  • Gee R

  • Wedding Date: 10/29/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes. Kim has a very warm and calm demeanor. She makes you feel comfortable and is a good listener. Kim wants to know a lot about you as a couple and includes personal tidbits into your ceremony to make it unique. You feel as though you've known her for much longer and that comforting relationship makes the ceremony very personal.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She really listened to us and was receptive to change and suggestions as we went through the ceremony writing process. Kim included real comments that made our ceremony personal.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We told Kim that we were not traditionalists and we both have a very sarcastic sense of humor. We wanted to have a ceremony that was playful and not too serious, but also conveyed a sense of respect and happiness for the ceremony process. We thought Kim came up with a great balance. You definitely knew much of what she said were genuine personal stories that were balanced with a respect and happiness that we have gone on this journey and are looking forward to our future. It wasn't too sappy, but it wasn't a comedy skit either. It was perfect.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Your officiant was amazing! Where did you find her? I can tell she really got to know you two as a couple. The ceremony was beautiful.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Elegant is an understatement
12/10/2011
  • Phillip Burgess and J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Kim made us comfortable from our first meeting, throughout the entire planning process, and culminating in the most beautiful, elegant ceremony one could ever hope for.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? There were no surprises which is exactly the way it should be.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We had an extensive meeting with Kim at which she got to know us and took copious notes. She came back a few days later with a ceremony script the sounded like she had known us for years and needed only a couple of very minor edits. As we're we're two men getting married, Kim worked in how wonderful it was that we could finally get married now that marriage equality is the law in New York State. Those comments were met with applause from our guests. The ceremony itself set the stage for a magical evening where love permeated the room.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "I said I wasn't going to cry, but I did." "What a beautiful ceremony. How did you find her?" "She sounded like she's known you for years."

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Kim Helped Make Our Wedding Day Perfect
09/28/2008
  • carhop

  • Wedding Date: 06/14/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Kim was very gracious and easy to talk to. Our pre-wedding interview felt like a counseling session, which gave us greater insight into each other's feelings about the wedding, our relationship, and our love for each other.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Her energy and projection in front of our family and friends was great.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Kim asked us a series of insightful questions to get a sense of our personalities and relationship style.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? They should she had a lovely presence and is a beautiful woman inside and out.

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 4.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review