Officiants & Clergy in Cincinnati, OH: A Cincinnati Wedding.com
A Cincinnati Wedding.com
7804 Ayerdayl Lane
Cincinnati, OH 45255
(513) 884-2618

Rev. Judy R. Mathis Burroughs



View Rev. Judy R. Mathis Burroughs in a new window.

write a review
  • Personable : 4.9
  • Customized Ceremony : 4.8
  • Reliable : 4.8
  • Presence : 4.8
  • 4.8

  • 18 Reviews
Review: Rev. Judy did not show up for the meeting!
09/10/2014
  • DNies71

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Rev. Judy seemed personable when my husband originally hired her but she did not make us comfortable to use her services when she did not show up for the August 19th meeting that she set up. She did not call, text or anything. She simply didn't show up.
  • She did not show up to the meeting. We didn't expect her to not be at the meeting location.
  • N/A..see comments above. We were married in Tahoe but hired her to do a second ceremony for family which did not happen because Judy did not show up for the meeting and there was not time to find someone else. The meeting date was Aug. 19th and the date of our second ceremony was to be 9/6
  • We ended up not having the vowe renewal ceremony that we had planned because two weeks prior to the date Judy did not show up for the one and only meeting we were supposed to have prior to the date.

Overall Rating: 1.8 / 5.0

  • Personable : 4.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 1.0
  • Reliable : 1.0
  • Presence : 1.0

write a review
Review: Look No Further
05/04/2014
  • Karino

  • Wedding Date: 04/14/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I was comfortable with Rev. Judy from our first phone conversation. It was then that I knew I need look no further. From that initial phone call to our first meeting and beyond, I always felt Judy truly cared about making our day a special one. She was so attentive, warm, personal and professional. She never made us feel rushed. In fact, it was just the opposite...she spent time getting to know us as if she were a friend.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? As we had only 2 weeks to plan our wedding, my expectations were small. So everything Rev.Judy provided was unexpected. She turned what I thought was going to be just slightly above a Justice of the Peace ceremony at the courthouse into such a romantic and enchanting event that anyone would have thought had been planned for months. To name just a few additions that happened because of Rev. Judy... 1. She suggested the venue that was absolutely perfect as it incorporated remembrances of our first date. 2. She helped us personalize our vows and the entire ceremony. 3. She provided the most beautiful photos capturing the joy we felt on that day. 4. She LISTENED to us and made sure that the day was all about us and what we wanted and what reflected our personalities. 5. Her fees are much lower than the services she provides. Rev. Judy is worth her weight in gold!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Thanks to Rev. Judy, we incorporated the wine box ceremony, personalized vows, a poem written by my son, and a beautiful reading from a last minute guest.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? This is the most beautiful wedding I've ever seen! (Without Rev. Judy's input and guidance, this comment and many others would not have been possible.)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: More than an officiant
01/27/2013
  • Erica H

  • Wedding Date: 07/06/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? She was so calming and reassuring. She was organized. Plus she was open minded to all the crazy ideas I threw at her!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She didn't freak out when I said I don't want a traditional ceremony. I wanted personalized vows to be later followed by Dr Seuss vows. Including my ring vows! She played the part perfectly. She came prepared to do whatever was needed, including bridesmaids and flower girls hair when a stylist didn't show.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? The whole ceremony was written just for us. She even found time for all the readings everyone wanted to do, even when my mother in law literally picked a book. She helped us think of some things outside the box to really personalize our ceremony. We did a wine box ceremony and I can't wait til our first year is up and I get to open it and share my letter with my husband.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: The Perfect Wedding
01/25/2013
  • Kathy B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? She was very personable, funny and had many great ideas for us based on the information we gave her.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Our 2 dogs accidentally got out of the house and were very excited to quickly become part of the ceremony (we got married in our back yard). They were a little too excited and let's just say, putting on quite a show. Rev. Judy just rolled with it and incorporated them right into our ceremony. Everyone was laughing and she made it appear as though the whole thing was planned that way.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? My husband and I ended up writing our own vows because no vows that we tried to find could put into words how we feel about each other. We both felt that the vows were the most important part of our wedding.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone liked that our wedding was so personalized and unique to us. It was held in our back yard under our gazebo. We served wine and beer to the guests as they arrived so they could be comfortable during the ceremony. This was a BIG hit. Also, everyone commented on how personable Rev. Judy was. She fit right in like she was part of the family.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Blessing!
01/25/2013
  • Amanda R

  • Wedding Date: 07/14/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes. I am a little apprehensive when it comes to standing in front of a group of people, even my closest friends and family and getting married is emotional to begin with, without all the eyes! Rev. Judy created a ceremony that was "us" and kept me at ease. She is approachable and friendly, but professional!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She had a table for our sand ceremony! We were completely without a table and as soon as she arrived, she simply said "I have the solution for that". She carries a beautiful little table around in her trunk for just such emergencies!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We incorporated a lasso ceremony, a tradition of Latin America (my husband's heritage). It was Rev. Judy's idea, and it was a fantastic one!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? My uncle, an army reservist whom I've never seen show a sign of emotion, teared up a bit at the beauty of our ceremony.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Loved her!
10/25/2012
  • Aimee T

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes, very comfortable, everything was organized and she suggested things when we weren't sure.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? I loved the unique ideas she had, for example we did a wine blending, which I had never seen before. I love being different and not do the same things everyone else does.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? As I said above the wine blending and also our unique vows.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? I had macho men tell me they were tearing up!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: The perfect choice...
10/06/2012
  • Piper R

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? I knew uopn meeting Rev. Judy that she was the perfect choice of officiant for our ceremony.  We wanted a ceremony that reflected US...and Rev. Judy was thrilled to hold our hand thru all the planning...we ran the gamut of crazy to sincere with our ideas with no worries ...knowing that Rev. Judy would guide our ideas...she listened to our thoughts and helped create a ceremony that was so special and heartfelt that there was not a dry eye to be found. Her soft guildence thur the planning process was fantastic...combine that with her determination to help us have a beautifully successful day and you have the perfect officient.  Thank you Rev. Judy!  You are AWESOME!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Rev. Judy brings so much talent to the table beyond that of being an incredible Officient...she is very well versed in poetry and readings that would add beautifully to the sentiment of a ceremony...she has a wonderful flair for the unusual...so don't be afraid to express your ideas...it may just be the right thing to add that special element to your special day...Rev. Judy has that wonderful ability and gift that inspires you and with that you will have a day so very specially tailored to you...
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We added many special moments to our ceremony...personal vows, readings that reflected our personal love for each other, the pinning of the tartan was was a beautiful addition that was full of meaning...Rev.. Judy made sure we captured all the elements that were important and special to us as a couple...and made us the focus of the day. Thank you Rev. Judy!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Wow..That was the most heartfelt ceremony I have ever attended...

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Special Person for your special day!
09/24/2012
  • Beth G

  • Wedding Date: 01/11/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? What can I say about Rev. Judy? On a cold January Sunday, she gave my husband and I the most amazing personalized ceremony. We worked with her in a short time frame, she made a special trip to our hotel to review our ceremony, and wrote the most beautiful ceremony ever. We were not your typical bride and groom, and we wanted only a small part of the traditional ceremony. Rev Judy incorporated our wishes and helped us create a love-filled ceremony. When we renew our vows in 36 years, we truly hope she'll be around to do it all over again! Positive, caring and goes way above and beyond the call of duty.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She greeted every single one of our guests, made our families feel comfortable and joined right in with our celebration!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Short, simple, sweet...
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone complimented her on the most amazing attire she wore! Fit in perfectly with our Scottish/Irish themed wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Simply the best!
06/18/2012
  • Amanda S

  • Wedding Date: 06/09/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Rev. Judy put us at ease from day 1. She made sure to get to know us and not make us just another wedding.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? The ceremony was totally personalized.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We wrote our own vows and asked Rev. Judy to modify some other things that we found.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Rev. Judy captured "us" in the ceremony.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Officiant Ever!!
12/11/2011
  • Rachel K

  • Wedding Date: 11/11/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Rev. Judy was better than my husband and I could have ever asked. Not only did she make our ceremony comfortable, she made it unique to what we wanted. She came with ideas that I had never seen before (chocolate and wine ceremony) and we received SO many compiments on how perfect our ceremony was. Judy guided us through the entire process, making sure our ceremony was designed just for us. I could not be happier with our selection for an officiant.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? The whole planning process was unexpected. Her duty to make sure our day was exactly what we wanted went far and above anything I imagined an officiant would do.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We added so many personal touches--a Ketubah, wrote our own vows, added a wine and chocolate ceremony--all without making the ceremony drag on and on. It was PERFECT.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? More than one guest came up to say just how beautiful our vows were and how original the wine and chocolate ceremonies were (both Judy's ideas). Perfectly fantastic.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor