Officiants & Clergy in Portland, OR: Rev Cathy Hume
Rev Cathy Hume
Portland, OR 97203
(503) 957-9942


Portland Officiants & Clergy: Rev Cathy Hume


write a review
  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 8 Reviews
Review: Amazing Ceremony
10/31/2010
  • Kristina T

  • Wedding Date: 08/21/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Yes definitely! Cathy is so easy to talk to and work with. Out of all the people we had to work with in preparing for the wedding Cathy was the our favorite because she was so understanding and wonderful.
  • I wouldn't say there was anything unexpected, but I was amazed at how calm and organized Cathy was at the rehearsal and the day of the wedding. I found out pretty quickly in the planning stages of the wedding that not everyone you hire always lives up to your expectations. Cathy went above and beyond my expectations. The rehearsal was quick and orderly, but we all still had a good time and everyone knew what they were supposed to do and when once we left.
  • Cathy did an amazing job of adding in how my husband and I met and some of the life experiences we've had so far into the overall ceremony. There ceremony was really one of kind specific to him and myself.
  • I can't remember a favorite comment, but there were several guests that remarked at how much they enjoyed the ceremony itself and how great it was that it was unique to my husband and I.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding Ceremony
09/27/2010
  • Megan G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Yes, She was very willing and excited to work with our unique ceremony involving both Jewish and Christian elements. She was a calming presence in the midst of the chaos and nerves during the rehearsal.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? She made us a written booklet of our ceremony including our vows.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We had Hebrew prayers, a veiling ceremony, breaking of the glass, and a christian saying surrounded by a generally based spiritual ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? "not bored at all", "Hebrew was beautiful", "one of the best weddings I have ever done"-DJ, "unique"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Pleasure working with Cathy, she's great!
09/24/2010
  • Anita C

  • Wedding Date: 09/12/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? We were very comfortable with Cathy. She was very professional, always on time and very friendly. She helped organize everything at rehearsal and was very calming on the wedding day. She was very kind and courteous and didn't mind that the ceremony started a lot later than expected. She worked well with the other vendors as needed. Cathy was also quick on her feet and went to obtain a better lighter when the one that was provided was not functioning properly.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Cathy put together a very nice wedding package for us. We had written our own vows and Cathy did us a nice favor by printing them out on cards, so we could have them during the ceremony and not have to worry about it. She also put together a very nice package for us, this included the ceremony typed up in a neat booklet. She also created a very nice card for us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Aside from writing our own vows, Cathy met with us and we kept in contact via email. She let us pick, edit and add whatever we wanted to the ceremony and made sure that it was to our liking. We were also in a time crunch with planning, but she was able to get everything worked out with us. She was never pushy or impatient.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Overall everyone thought the wedding was splendid and one of our guests even asked for her contact information and referral. If I had to choose over again, I'd still choose Cathy!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Love You Cathy!
09/27/2009
  • Mary Beth B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Cathy set a comfortable tone right from the get go. We felt connected to her from the initial meeting to post wedding. She sat down with us and got to know a bit of our story and then provided all sorts of options of where to go from there. Being as I had never done this before, I was a little nervous on how the ceremony planning would work but we were definitely set as ease right away. It was a very personable experience for us and we feel very fortunate to have found Cathy.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? From first meeting to the ceremony, Cathy kept us close in mind. If she came across a poem or a reading that reminded her of us, she would email it right over with a blessing and ask if we had any questions or if she could help with anything. The day of the wedding we received a very sweet email reminding us how much we were loved and supported by the universe and to BREATHE :).
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Cathy encouraged us in developing a ceremony that came from our hearts and represented who we are. She suggested a personal grounding ceremony that was held prior to the wedding ceremony. It was just between Jon and I focused on grounding ourselves, letting go of all other distractions and connecting to each other before we were about to become husband and wife. It was so great to have this as a part of our day. It was much needed and we are so thankful we had that to start us off. We also had a ring ceremony prior to the ceremony where Cathy had the guests bless our rings as they were passed on from person to person. People thought that was wonderful and we were happy to have their energy with us through our rings.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Family was telling us how beautiful and personal the ceremony was. We are so happy the way that it turned out! Couldn't have found a more fitting, warm and caring person to officiate our wedding. It was just wonderful :).

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: Red Lion Wedding - a dream come true
09/18/2009
  • Michelle M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Reverend Cathy was extremely easy to get along with - she made me comfortable from the very beginning. In our first email, she was so open, warm and was ready to work with our wedding needs. There is no doubt that we worked with the perfect person to make our ceremony everything we hoped for. Upon arriving in to town, Reverend Cathy met with us to go over our ceremony in person and again, we fell instantly at peace with her - like we had been good friends for a lifetime! Our daughter - 2 years old - insisted on sitting next to Reverend Cathy during lunch. Reverend Cathy is nothing short of amazing!
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? What difference did she make - EVERY DIFFERENCE. She was incredibly accomodating with every step of the way. I had to change our wedding date due to work issues and she had no problem changing our date without any request for add'l deposits. She made our flowers for us after taking a floral class - which were GORGEOUS, fresh, smelled wonderful and were from a local grower... For our ceremony, we asked for a few changes which she readily did without even blinking an eye. The day of our wedding she came early to drop the flowers and noticed I was nearly at a point of panic. She did a calming prayer with me and just reminded me of the importance of every moment, helping me to calm down immediately - she made such a difference in that moment that I know had she not come in at that point - my nerves would have been shot. During our ceremony - because of our constant conversations - she was part of OUR community... She sounded absolutely wonderful the entire time, which is not a small factor in a ceremony... At the end - my daughter took pictures because they had become fast friends ... After signing our papers, hugging Reverend Cathy made it even clearer that she had made EVERY difference possible. We will go back to Portland to visit and we will stop to visit Reverend Cathy without a doubt ... she was not only a phenomenal officiant but in that span of time - she has, again, become part of OUR community of friends.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? We changed a few sentences and a bit of the wording; however, Reverend Cathy's ceremony was so well written we literally only made a few minor changes; which we took from another sample of Reverend Cathy's ceremony. Yes, it was THAT good and I'm exceptionally picky!
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? From Carl - who was my attendant, when the panic hit he had been helping me with the veil - at that same time, Reverend Cathy came to the hotel room door -- he had personally been a witness to the panic coming - He left the room with my daughter to give Reverend Cathy and I a few minutes alone to have our calming prayer and when he came back in the room his first comment was "WOW - now THAT's impressive... she calmed you RIGHT down - like you're a different person." In that short span of time I had gone from the beginning stages of tears to BEAMING. Later on, he commented again - how impressive Reverend Cathy was with her work and her calling because I was a totally calmed and different person when I was done ... and again, he said WOW! ... Everything about Reverend Cathy is a WOW statement!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: We were so pleased!
05/02/2009
  • Melissa & Josh

  • Wedding Date: 08/23/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Absolutly, and then some. You will not find a more accomodating Reverend than Cathy. We loved her, and everything that she was able to do for us. She is non-judgemental, and was like the part of our family.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Tears :) She cried when my husband made vows to my daughter (from a previous relationship) to be her dad and always love her and do his best to be a good parent. It was beautiful!
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Reverend Cathy allowed us to choose from different ceremonies, and then combine many elements to create one that was just right for us. We had a portion of our ceremony in which my husband made vows to my daughter, and then Cathy said a blessing over my husband, daughter, and myself as a newly formed family as we presented her with a locket to symbolize my husband not only taking me as his wife but my daughter as his own child. I still tear up when I talk about it.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our parents both commented on how wonderful she was to talk to and to be around. My husband's 80 year old Aunt spoke of how the ceremony was more intimate and moving than any she had been to. We are still so grateful.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Lovely Ceremony
10/13/2008
  • sstage

  • Wedding Date: 09/27/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Rev. Hume was very accommodating in allowing us to customize our ceremony.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? Even though we did not want a traditional ceremony, she made some suggestions that were a nod toward tradition that turned out to be fabulous.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? Rev. Hume provided quite a few sample ceremonies. We were allowed to use them as inspiration to create our own ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Everyone thought it was lovely.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review
Review: LINDE
10/09/2008
  • linde

  • Wedding Date: 09/06/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not? Cathy was very knowledgeable, she gave us alot of info in our meeting the month before our wedding that we would of never of thought of.
  • What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected? We had a very casual stand up ceremony in a park, she directed family and friends on moving closer. She basically took charge for us.
  • How did you personalize your wedding ceremony? She provided personalized poems to add to the ceremony.
  • Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests? Our ceremony was very casual. Family thought she was very personable, kind of seemed like she was just part of the family. She was a great find, one of the nicest people I have ever met.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Personable : 5.0
  • Customized Ceremony : 5.0
  • Reliable : 5.0
  • Presence : 5.0

write a review