Photographers in Newport Beach, CA: Scott A. Nelson Wed-Photojournalist
Scott A. Nelson Wed-Photojournalist
2901 W. Coast Hwy.
Newport Beach, CA 92663
(949) 258-4365


Photographers: Scott A. Nelson Wed-Photojournalist


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 7 Reviews
Review: One of a kind!
11/24/2008
  • JimVic

  • Wedding Date: 04/05/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • I couln't choose a particular picture as a favorite because each and every picture was able to capture what we were feeling at the moment. Our friends and families, especially those who were not able to come have told us that they can feel our emotions by just looking at the pictures.
  • Scott and his associate were very professional. It was as if they were not there at all, not a bit intrusive or distracting. He is really good at giving instructions with our posed photos as well that we had fun during the engagement and wedding sessions.
  • After several calls and emails, Scott offered packages that complements our ideas and budget. We ended getting a package that includes the engagements pictures, proofs and coffee table book. What I like best about Scott is he will listen to your ideas, will call or email you as soon as he can, and will make you feel important through the whole process.
  • Our families and the rest of the entourage felt at home with Scott and his associate. They made everyone feel very comfortable because they are very nice when giving instructions.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Understated and wonderful!
11/14/2008
  • lilychow04

  • Wedding Date: 11/14/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The bridal party was getting ready in the church when the groom arrived. There was a frosted window in the room that was translucent. Scott took photos of us on either side of the glass and they came out beautifully. He is very artistic with a great eye for detail.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Scott was such a calming influence on our wedding day and we will always remember that. He was relaxed and nonobtrusive and just seemed to be in the right place at the right time. He and his team were very professional and kind. The pictures told our story. The posed shots were excellent but the candid ones were our favorites.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We met Scott after we had gotten our engagement photos done. We ordered a very contemporary beautiful album and also 2 mini parent albums that were identical. They came out beautifully and Scott worked very hard with attention to detail to make sure we were happy. He offered a variety of packages.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Scott just set a very relaxed and fun mood and everyone went with it. Even the 'posed' group shots were animated and lively. We had such a hard time narrowing down our proofs and we look at our photos all the time.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Creative Photographer
11/09/2008
  • muril102

  • Wedding Date: 11/09/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There wasn't just one favorite there were many. One of them is in his personal website. We loved the beach pictures that we took running throught the sand with our bare feet. Ever since I was little, I dreamed of having wedding pictures on the beach. Scott made this come true. I also loved the pictures that he took in the hotel room before the wedding. He took some great pictures of me in my dress with the curtain as the background with the daylight shining through. The black and white x-ray vision effect phtos were also my favorite. I also loved my bridesmaid pictures. He just knew exactly what would look best and unique. It's nothing like what I have seen before and they are just stunning.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? It was as if he wasn't there. He was very creative in both action and posed shots. We had alot of fun taking the pictures and lots of good memories.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We wanted it all because pictures for our wedding were the most important to us so we could treasure them for life. He offered and went through all the packeages and we chose the one with everything which included the engagement pictures, albums for both our moms, proofs and more. We haven't received our album yet because I took forever editing it. But he was extremely patient through the whole process and took every idea into consideration until I was content. The album is on it's way and I am so excited to see it because I know it will be beautiful.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The pictures with my family were very natural. There was no pressure to act or pose in any way. His sillyness seemed to make everyone comfortable. He took some great angles and everyone looked great.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Incredible Photographer!
11/05/2008
  • Judy

  • Wedding Date: 11/05/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are so many, I can't just pick one. We turned a classic portrait of us leaning on a cocktail table into our thank you card, and I ordered a large black-and-white portrait of us kissing to display on our piano at home. Scott knew all the best backdrops of our venue to take pictures in front of. He's a real pro. When I sent out my pictures to my friends and family, the ones who weren't at the wedding said the colors were so vibrant and the photos were so intimate that it felt like they were actually there. Also, so many of my guests said the photo montage that Scott put together made them cry.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? My guests commented they didn't even notice Scott was taking the pictures that they ended up being in. I don't know how he did it! Scott was terrific at instructing us with the posed photos. Neither my husband nor I are very comfortable in front of the camera and we both consider ourselves to be pretty non-photogenic! So we didn't know how to pose. Scott and his assistant always gave great instructions like, 'look this way, pop your hip out that way, tilt your chin down, hold your flowers at this height' etc. He made us feel very comfortable and the pictures turned out incredible.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I am still working on ordering my prints. There are so many. My mom calls me every day to say she can't just choose 50. I will eventually get a leather album. We did not have an engagement session because we live in NY and did not fly to CA on a separate occasion before the wedding. I made all the arrangements with Scott via phone and email, and met him for the first time at my wedding. He was the best vendor I've worked with.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Scott knew to give very specific instructions so people could easily follow what he wanted us to do. That was important, because, before the ceremony began, everyone was running around with excitement and talking all at once. I admired the way Scott was able to herd everyone together for the time necessary to take the family portraits. I remember my mom needed to open some boxes before the ceremony, and she began to do it, and Scott immediately instructed her not to for fear of breaking her nails and called over one of the male guests to open them instead. Scott was really in tune with all the details and kept everyone cool in the midst of all the excitement.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Scott Nelson review
11/05/2008
  • sgoorey

  • Wedding Date: 05/19/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? While all the pictures were beautiful, there were two that stood out. The first was a beautiful black and white shot of the two of us which I ended up purchasing as a large canvas. The second (my husband's favorite) was an evening shot of the two of us in front of a large lighted fountain. This picture was captured during a quiet moment away from the party, and really highlights the emotions of the day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I honestly don't remember seeing Scott or his assistant at any point during the wedding ceremony. I remember wondering later, after seeing the shots, how they were able to capture so many without being in the middle of the action. My main focus for pictures were the candid shots, which is why I chose Scott, but the posed family pictures were equally beautiful.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? There were several packages available, and we ended up choosing one with prints for ourselves and parents, as well as an album. Scott did work with us to include a guest book with our engagement photos as well. Our engagement session was included in the package, and helped us get to know Scott's style and personality better.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My mother never takes a picture she actually likes, and Scott was able to catch her off guard and get some great pictures in the process. It's tough to deal with so many different personalities and emotions on the day of the wedding, but Scott did a wonderful job accomodating everyone!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: GREAT!!!
11/04/2008
  • hoffmann

  • Wedding Date: 06/20/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Some of our favorite pictures were done with Scott's infrared camera! Really cool!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Scott worked really hard on his own. He was ALWAYS working whenever we looked for him. He used so many different lenses for the getting ready pictures and the portrait time was quick, easy and painless.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The package included a set of prints. We still haven't finished our album. We got busy ;-).
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? During the photo time it was clear that Scott's experience made everything better. The photo time was smooth, he was never obtrusive and the pictures came out amazing.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: A perfect photograher for a perfect occasion!!
11/04/2008
  • benjitieu

  • Wedding Date: 07/27/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Honestly there isnt a picture of us that we dont like. He is extremely creative and made us feel very comfortable with his presence
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We were so comfortable with his presence that we often times we didnt even realise he was there. Scott was never up all over us for photos. He worked his way around us and all his shots were with various distance and angles. It is extremely tough to decide which photo to pick for our album.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Goodness, we started with one portrait but later found out that the pictures were so beautiful that we ended up order 2 large portraits and one leather-bound album.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Word of mouth is the strongest advertisement that any business can ask for. Scott was recommended to us by a friend and now we'd like to share our wonderful and pleasant experience with everyone. Scott made our engagement event seem so stress-free and fun. Very understanding and has great knowledge about scenes. Scott gets my our highest recommendation for his great work, friendliness and professionalism.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor