Alvarado Photography
Honlulu, HI 96801
(808) 780-8911

Alvarado Photography



View Alvarado Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 16 Reviews
Review: Beyond Expectations
07/02/2013
  • Amanda M

  • Wedding Date: 05/17/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There were so many pictures that we loved but the ones I favor are where my husband is picking me up and the waves are crashing behind us or when we both have our hands on our hips looking back at each other.
  • The photographer showed up to the beach before our ceremony was finished and started taking photos right away with out any of us realizing she was there which was awesome. She had awesome ideas for poses and was very confident in directing us and our family
  • Our wedding package included 1 hour session with 75 photos of our choice on a personalized cd with over 200 pictures for us to choose from.
  • I can not be more pleased with our decision to go with Alvarado photography for our beach wedding in May 2013. After much research to find a good quality photographer who was reasonably priced it almost seem like a no brainer to go with them. Jess was always in close contact every time I had a question and her quick email responses impressed me from the start. When we arrived in hawaii she called me the day before our wedding to confirm everything and I remember her giving me words of encouragement to just relax and get plenty of rest. Her words came with compassion and made me realize she cares for her customers as individuals. When the Big day came she was prompt on her arrival to the beach I think she might have even been early and made the flow from the ceremony to the photo session seamless. She had such a light and comforting personality and any picture that we had suggested we wanted she made sure she took for us. I have to say I was a little worried how the pictures would turn out only because it was really hot in my wedding gown and I felt as if that might have ruined the shots but not a chance with her expertise! Every single picture turned out perfect and I was completely taken back by the way she was able to capture the moment and how perfect every single picture turned out. I would most definantly recommend Alvarado photography to anyone who is looking for a photographer in hawaii and I am completly satisfied with the professionalism and quality they have put into our wedding pictures.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: WE LOVE ALVARADO PHOTOGRAPHY
02/03/2013
  • DEBBI O

  • Wedding Date: 12/22/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Lying on the sand in the beach and in the water.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were so stealth. We didn't even know they took certain photos until we reviewed the photos. They were great with beach shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? 125 Photos, CD, two photographers, photo release
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? WE LOVE ALVARADO PHOTOGRAPHY! They made us feel so comfortable. They felt like they were part of our family. They knew the exact poses to place us in that would result in the perfect photos. I will admit, I found them on the internet and at first I was a little worried because I only contacted them by e-mail and sent them a deposit. Through the process I found them to have the highest integrity and attention to the details that made me confident that I made the correct decision. They are thorough communicators and I knew they would be there on my wedding day. The end result is that they were very punctual, professional, caring, organized and artistic. I refer all my friends and family to them and I have no reservations in recommending Alvarado Photography for professional photographs. We plan to use them for family photos and anniversary photos in the future. Thanks John and Jess! You are the best!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: The Perfect Mix
02/03/2013
  • Samantha S

  • Wedding Date: 11/17/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are way too many that I LOVE, to just pick one. John and Jess took more than 900 photos of our wedding and of those 900+ select pictures were sent to us as originals and in black and white. Somehow they had the intuition to know that those were the photos we would love most, in both color and with special effect.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? John and Jess did the opposite of disruption; they made sure that they knew what I wanted prior to the day of. They were organized so well that it kept me organized, and I didn't have to worry about a thing with them. Because of that, everything on our wedding day went according to plan and the pictures came out great! They are great with candids and action shots (especially with our energetic groomsmen), but portraits were the best. My husband and I are not especially comfortable being the center of attention or having our own photo shoot, so John and Jess's direction made us look and feel natural instead of uncomfortable.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Alvarado photography offers a range of packages. I chose one that comes with the services of two photographers for x amount of hours, $175 in print credit (because we did not have an engagement session), and 325 pictures of my choice on a CD for me to print as I please.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? John and Jess clearly knew what they were doing. They gave specific direction for posing, made sure that they had a list of my needs, and executed with grace. I wasn't living in Hawai'i while planning my wedding, but my mother and I visited to meet with several vendors and view the venue. I let Jess know of our intent, and promptly (as always) I got an email reply asking where and when I wanted to meet. She was the first person we met with and my mother and I were blown away by her friendliness, professionalism, and, above all, her hospitality. We met John, her husband, on the day of the wedding and, to no surprise, he is her equal.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Service and Quality Delivered Beyond Expectations
01/16/2013
  • Kim A

  • Wedding Date: 10/07/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? A picture in the ceremony. The background are the choir members, centerpoint was us and the minister, background is our guests. It captures the solemnity, happiness and holiness of the occassion.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We hardly noticed they were there!!! I'm grateful to them because they worked harder to get shots because of our request not to go specific areas of the chapel. Not one request was missed..
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We used the 8 hour package with 2 photographers. We were fortunate because they really honor their commitment to us even when we switched from the 6 hour package to the 8 hour package.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They had a relaxed style of talking. They were never bossy when speaking to our family and guests, yet they were stern (albeit gentle) when needed. Jess' organization skills also helped especially when taking pictures after the ceremony. We had such a long list of pictures to take in a short amount of time, but Jess and John accomplished it! We are truly grateful to them for trying to capture every little detail of our special day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Stunning photos!
11/22/2012
  • Jo T

  • Wedding Date: 07/28/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We loved all of our trash the dress pictures!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They didn't do our wedding photos since we were married in Florida, but they did do our engagement pictures and our trash the dress ones as well. We loved them. They got some awesome action pictures of us standing in the water laughing with all the crazy waves in the ocean. It was a blast! So much fun!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had the couples package which included a disc of 40 photos
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My husband HATES being in front of the camera. I had to beg him to do trash the dress pictures with me. After the photo shoot, when we were leaving, he told me that he had a lot of fun. I was so surprised! Alvarado Photography are so easy to work with. They are fun and make you feel comfortable in front of the camera.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: A wedding we will remember by its photos!!!
10/21/2012
  • Betsy J

  • Wedding Date: 08/25/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Picking one is HARD!!! I think the one with us as a couple out on the rock in the water with our reflections in the water. It is so pretty. You can tell that we are in Hawaii... and that is what we wanted!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I think that is why I loved working with Jess and John. We were on such a high from just saying our I Dos and they did not take us away from our wonderful love high we were on. We are a blended family and they did such a wonderful job making my kid feel like he was part of the big day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had a very small wedding with just our moms, dads and sibling. The three hour package was perfect. We got to view our photos online and then have them put on a CD. It did come with engagement pictures but because we weren't there before the wedding they had a different option for print credit. It worked out great. There were two photographers, Jess and John. A married couple that could communicate with each other with out speaking to each other. It was fun to work with them.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? WONDERFUL! They had such great ideas for our photos and they allowed to have input in the types of photos. I thought it was going to be hard because we didn't get to meet before the wedding but they got the feel of the wedding and of us. They really understood what we wanted.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Genuine Husband and Wife Team!
09/03/2012
  • Juliet A

  • Wedding Date: 08/22/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The detail shots at our ceremony and the candid shots of my husband and I.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? John and Jess have professional and fun, easy going personalities which helped with setting up shots with ourselves and our families. They entertained our little niece so that she would smile for the photos, and she finally did!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Fortunately we had both John and Jess as our only two photographers. You can tell that they worked so well together, knowing one another's next movement... etc. We booked for a two hour photo session, which included 125 photos on a CD. It sure didn't seem like it was 2 hours, it felt longer in the sense that they both took their time and had tremendous patience with us all!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? John and Jess are a truly warm, friendly and easy going couple. And with their easy going attitudes, they made all of us feel so very comfortable. Both my husband and I are NOT comfortable in front of the camera, but John and Jess put us both at ease so much, that before we knew it, the photo session was over. Truly a pleasure to work with!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Alvarado Photography, truly professionals
09/01/2012
  • isabelle m

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Impossible to pick one,we loved them all!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jess truly has an eye for detail! Even though it was just the two of us, she made us feel so comfortable! Gently coaxed and coached us to get the best shots...kept us on track with our schedule so we were on time.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had our photos in a cd, just the one photographer since it was a small ceremony, just the two of us
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jess makes you feel like you've known her forever! We truly were quite comfortable with her. You can tell she loves her job and takes the time to get the perfect picture!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Wedding Photographers
07/18/2012
  • Derek T

  • Wedding Date: 05/21/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? A photo of our first dance with our initials projected onto the wall behind us.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were every where, yet, never got in the way. We hardly noticed they were there.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received 350 photos, digitally remastered.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were very nice and fit in well.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing photographers and beautiful pictures!
07/18/2012
  • Tracy S

  • Wedding Date: 05/12/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Loved their candid photos. We were amazed at the moments they caught on camera. They blended in with our guests so well.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were both early on the day of our wedding and did such a wonderful job keeping everything on time. We did not feel rushed at any point. We have so many beautiful pictures to choose from!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? As a team they were both there on the day of our wedding. Our package included a DVD, engagement session, credit for pictures, online proofing with availability to our friends and family.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Absolutely loved John and Jess! They were so professional and ALL of the pictures they took on the day of our wedding came out beautiful. Communication was smooth and effortless. We did not have to worry about one thing with the two of them. They did a wonderful job picking the perfect places and poses for all of our pictures. Their prices were very reasonable when compared to photographers on island. I have already had friends interested in their services. We would recommend them to anyone who asked. OUr family and friends just loved them! They got pictures of everyone at the wedding!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor