Photographers in Chicago, IL: Matthew Kuehl Photography
Matthew Kuehl Photography
Chicago, IL 60640
(847) 975-2411

Matthew Kuehl Photography - Chicago



View Matthew Kuehl Photography - Chicago in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.8
  • Creativity : 4.8
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 4.9

  • 6 Reviews
Review: RSK
03/15/2011
  • Rachel W

  • Wedding Date: 02/12/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • We had a beautiful picture of us on a staircase looking up. I love it! It looks so professional and fun at the same time.
  • I did not even realize when Matt was taking pictures. After looking at the album, it seemed he slipped in and out of places with perfect timing. We have all of the action shots that we desired.
  • We got the rights to our CD in our wedding package which is exactly what we wanted! Also, we were able to have two photographers, whereas with other studios we never would have been able to afford such a package.
  • He was very easy to communicate with and prompt in all requests.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: My wife was crying....in a good way.
08/24/2009
  • John S

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I love this one of my looking adoringly at my new wife at the end of the ceremony. She loves one of us at our first dance where he used this soft backlight to make halo effect. To clarify the title above, when we first went through the gallery (from our hotel in Costa Rica on the honeymoon, 4 days after the wedding!) she was so happy with the way he caught all her natural little expressions. She is very timid and shy of the camera and doesn't like to pose, but Matt was so good at capturing her and making her look good without saying a word. You see so much of the kind of chemistry between us that just can't be forced.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Matt works very quietly and tries not to disrupt us. He's sort of like a photojournalist. We did spend about a half hour after the ceremony going through all the pictures of us with aunt Sue and cousin Bobby, but for the rest of the day he was just shooting freely.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got the package with the second photographer, all day service and the deluxe album which we are still putting together. The second shooter spent the morning with me while Matt was with the girls, and then spent a lot of time with guests while Matt was with us at the reception.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He's got a pleasant personality and occasionally makes a funny joke, but for the most part just steps back and does his work diligently without intruding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Outstanding
08/22/2009
  • 1250998519

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is really hard to pick a favorite from all of the wonderful pictures. Matthew really captured the day in stunning images. I'm addicted to looking through my CD! I do have a *few* favorites... There are several where he caught my husband and I *just* about to kiss; our lips only millimeters away from each other. These are just breath-taking. My husband loves a portrait Matthew took of me getting ready that has a very 40's movie-star look to it. And there's a great candid shot of me singing with some friends that looks like it belongs in a magazine. Everyone looking through these pictures keeps uttering the same phrase over and over: "You have to frame this one. And this one. And this one..."
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? While taking the candid shots, Matthew and his student were not even noticed. I practically forgot they were there! He was great with portraits. The only drawback I could say, which doesn't even rate a drop in "star" rating (the ratings don't allow for a 1/2 star increment), is that he missed getting candids of one guest couple at my small wedding, and I would have liked a better shot of my brother's toast, but since I didn't even know my brother was going to *do* a toast, I'm not going to blame Matthew. This was a very offbeat wedding to begin with. Tough to know what to expect.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We LOVE that we got the CD with the RIGHTS TO OUR OWN IMAGES!!! That was the deal-maker right there. Many photographers make you pay for this, which we think is outrageous. We weren't going to get an album, but plan to do so now with some of the gift money we got. Also, Matthew brought along a student, so there was a 2nd photographer, which was great!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Matthew and his student were cordial and helpful when providing suggestions for poses or positions in which to stand. They were also game for our ideas when we had them and did not act like we were a pain in the butt or high maintenance, which, admittedly, we can sometimes be! They were very collaborative.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bensenville, IL Wedding
08/13/2009
  • Olga V

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is so hard to choose a favorite! I think if I had to, though - it would be one of my husband and I outside and Matt captured the sun coming in through the trees in a lens flare and it made everything look so magical and beautiful. Another of my favorites is with me sitting near a waterfall with the shot from above - very soft and relaxed.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was very unobtrusive for candid shots. I usually did not even notice that he was taking pictures. During formals he got really good poses, but even between 'formal' shots he'd still take pictures and get great relaxed moments.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose to have the full ceremony and reception covered - so 8 hours. But we did not want a photo book or anything - just the CD of pictures. Matt customized it to exactly what we wanted. We got the CD incredibly fast, too! I think it arrived a week after the wedding. Everything else was available, but we were not forced to get any more than what we wanted. Also the number of shots was amazing! I think we had about 655 photos of the event and they were all fantastic!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was very accommodating and made everyone feel relaxed. For the formals he gave good direction, but also let me decide some shots that I wanted. During the candid shots he was always around to get the shot, but never in the way. Honestly after the formals I don't remember an instance standing out of when I noticed him around - but he got the shots of everything that happened so well!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Stephanie and Erik Gutierrez Wedding
07/02/2009
  • Stephanie Herrera

  • Wedding Date: 06/12/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There was a picture of me wearing these big aviator glasses and a reflection of my husband in the glasses. It was so creative and spontaneous.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? It was a very casual day and even so, he fit well with the surroundings. There were so many shots that I didn't even know he took and I was in the photo. He had such a creative eye with the posed shots of my husband and I.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We were able to customize the packages he offered. We wanted 8 hours, but we didn't want all the other stuff that was included in the package. He was very reasonable with everything and we received our CD with all of the photos before we even got back on our honeymoon.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He is very laid back and casual. It was not awkward or anything when he was there taking pictures of us getting ready. He told us how to pose and where to put our hands and stuff. He was very professional and experienced.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding, Oak Park
07/01/2009
  • texasbiba

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The ones we did outdoors with just the two of us. Our wedding was indoors so it was nice to have some outdoor pictures to add some variety
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He did a great job with candids and would let us know if there was a bad shot so he could re do it. We barely noticed he was there
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got the CD's of the day, we did not want an albumn or engagement pictures but they were offered. We also had 3 photographers total because Matt brought two students and it worked out great
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He made us feel comfortable by not telling us to pose a certain way except for the formals. The only thing we wish was that he was a little more directive or assertive with the formal pictures, telling us who he needed next as far as family and wedding party

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 4.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review