Photographers in Chicago, IL: Steve Matteo Photography
Steve Matteo Photography
Chicago, IL 60607
(312) 719-3939


Chicago Photographers: Steve Matteo Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 13 Reviews
Review: Steve matteo Photography
06/22/2010
  • Kimberly H

  • Wedding Date: 09/13/2005
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Various shots from the reception - Steve captured mirrored images and cool light effects. Each picture is so unique!
  • TONS of action shots. I really really did not want any posed pictures. I wanted photos to be taken while things were going on. Steve was more than accomodating to take any picture at request as well, but I hardly knew he was there!
  • A printed album along with a disc of my pictures. I thought it was a great value.
  • Steve is a very likeable guy and took every picture that was asked of him. I heard about him from a co-worker who had Steve take pictures at their wedding so I got to hear about him and get familiar with his work. I was really impressed with his resume and photojournalism that I didn't even seek out other photographers.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Photographs!
12/20/2009
  • Colleen D

  • Wedding Date: 12/20/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The one photo we love the most, although they are all really good, is the two of us kissing on a staircase in the reception hall.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Most of the time, we didn't even know he was there. He took pictures from the back and balcony. His flash wasn't going off every two seconds either and the photos look natural. Our portraits were fun, and it showed.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had just a basic package, no albums.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Steve is very professional as well as creative and blended right in with our family and friends. Everyone felt relaxed in front of his camera.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Five stars
11/17/2009
  • Man Yee L

  • Wedding Date: 11/17/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were simply too many favorites. But I guess the one that stands out the most is the evening photo of us standing on the bridge at Randolph and Halsted overlooking I90/94. It seems as though the Chicago Tribune thought it was a cool pic too because two years later they called for our permission to print it in the newspaper to accompany a story on "Unique Chicago Locations for Wedding Photos". Wish I could've taken credit for the idea but it was ALL Steve! He had many other great ideas too.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Hardly knew he was there, which is handy when you have a very shy bridal party who all shy away from the camera. Steve caught some AMAZING moments, including one of my father and I "sharing a moment" (and we are definitely NOT the type to share emotions with each other), and one of my Mum and Dad dancing, and one of me and my two sisters sharing a HUGE laugh! Didn't even know he was clicking away!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Steve was very open to listening to what we wanted. I wanted to do my own wedding album so he took that out and threw in prints (I forget how many. Sorry, it's been a few years). It's great to have the CDs because you can see all the shots taken, including the ones that may have a personal meaning to you but may not necessarily be deemed a great pic to others.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? As I mentioned already, didn't even know he was there! I also just want to add that if you're looking for a professional, courteous, crazy talented and creative photographer, all at a reasonable price, Steve's your guy. I liked his work so much, I hired him to photograph my boss for her portfolio too recently. Oh, and he's also a really nice guy!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Job
11/15/2009
  • niall l

  • Wedding Date: 11/15/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? On Montrose habour with the city and lake front in the back ground..... steve made them in B & W and came out fantastic
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Just seemed to get the right photo when no one knew it....... we still laugh, not one of those guys whom is running around buggying everyone. Very suttle
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVD, 300 pictures including B & W...... he offered more but this is all we requested.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We met before hand and he wxplained what he was going to do, he met everyone that was involved in the day and made it very easy...... really nice guy whom is soft spoken and dressed and presented himself great. We plan on using him again for family pictures etc............... If your on the fence about the right guy, dont worry as this guy will make your day

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Talented and Artistic Photographer
11/13/2009
  • rubie f

  • Wedding Date: 11/13/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It's so hard to choose from so many incredible photos Steve had taken but if I had to select just one, I'd have to say it would be the one with my new family of 35 people. My husband comes from a large family (6 brothers and sisters + their spouses and kids). The fact that Steve could get our rowdy bunch together without too much of an intrusion or commotion and get everyone to focus and get a few good shots says alot about the type of photographer Steve is.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Steve and his assistant were very quiet and unobtrusive. You barely even knew that photos were being taken especially during the ceremony but he turned out to get some fantastic candids and action shots of not only my husband and myself but also of the bridal party and our guests. Steve has a great eye, is incredibly creative and he went out of his way to find unusual settings that made our wedding photos unique and different from the standard posed wedding shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Steve was very flexible with our package. We were shown a number of different options as far as the types of albums that he had available and we were able to select the one that we wanted/were able to afford. Since Steve provided us with a DVD of all the photos that he and the 2nd photographer took on our wedding day, we didn't have any issues about "proof" printed photos.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Steve is a very easy going person and has a great way with people. He goes out of his way to make everyone feel relaxed...even the grandparents and children had a good time having their photos taken.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: November Wedding
11/13/2009
  • Andrew T

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Steve took a candid shot of us just as we walked out of the church to greet our family and friends. I think he really captured our happiness in that photo...
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Steve sold us on his passion of photo journalism - his ability to tell a story through photos. Rather than take just your "standard" wedding shots, Steve and his assistant did a great job capturing candid moments throughout the day and those are some of our favorite photos.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVD of photo highlights, 2 photogs, original photos and enhanced photos.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Great sense of humor!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Steve Matteo: Four Thumbs up!
11/12/2009
  • Nanz L

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite is one in the middle of the road way in the forest preserve “Crooked Woods."
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I was absolutely impressed with the lovely candid shoots. Each one of the action shots taken I had no idea Steve was even around to take them. That's how great he is at capturing your special day every step of the way! Love his photojournalist approach.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? One photographer (Steve Matteo), DVDs in color and black & white.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My wedding guest and family were all very delighted with his friendliness and professionalism. He felt like one of our guests; that's how comfortable we felt around him.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Photojournalism at its best.
11/11/2009
  • Brian M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were many. I think my favorite photo was the one of the wedding party Steve arranged at Union Station. It was very unique and the whole wedding party loved it.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Steve scouted out our proposed photo locations the day before! We ran into him the night of the rehearsal checking out the church. He came with a plan and was able to take some really wonderful pictures because of it.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We signed up for engagement pics and the whole wedding package with album.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He just fit right in and we still keep in touch today! Not only was he our photographer but he's become our friend.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Awesome Work! Great Personality!
11/10/2009
  • J. B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many too choose from, its had to have just one. I think I would have to pick a photo of us walking down a long path, its just a terrific shot and we both love it.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Steve has a great sense of humor and got a long with everyone. He didn't have to direct us and kept a low profile. Most of the time, you wouldn't even know he was there. We were impressed with his news background when we hired him and his skills as a photojournalist really made the photos great.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Steve was the only photographer and we received a photo book plus cd with all the pictures. There were many great photos on the cds in both color and b/w.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was great and we felt very relaxed. He took command of our family photos and handled everyone without being too aggressive. He did an awesome job!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: LOVED our winter wedding pictures!!!!!
11/06/2009
  • Marisa O

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite wedding photo was one of my husband and I looking at each other and smiling , likely during one of the speeches. It was definitely a candid photo, and Steve captured it at JUST the right moment. I didn't even realize he was taking photos of us then!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Steve helped move the day along really well! Some family members were being difficult about wanting to get a million different portraits in the church, and he gently had them leave so that we could take photos of the wedding party, etc. He was also great with candid , action shots, and portraits. He worked well with the surroundings we put him in, had creative ideas for pictures, and also suggested a few excellent spots downtown that took awesome pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Included in my wedding photo package were two DVDs - one in color and one in black and white of all the wedding portraits he took. It was great to be able to have all the photos to share with/order whatever we wanted. Steve also brought another photographer along.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We really liked Steve! We hired him because several years earlier a friend used him and we were very impressed with her pictures. On the wedding day, we were on a strict time table, and he kept us to it really well - so that we wouldn't get overcharged for the limo, etc. He also kept checking with my husband and I to see what we wanted done, and helped "get rid of" some family members that seemed to think their portrait ideas should take priority . He also had plenty of picture ideas so that we did not have to think much about what to do.where to go for pictures.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor