Photographers in Chicago, IL: Timothy Whaley Photographic Artists
Timothy Whaley Photographic Artists
801 S. Wells
Chicago, IL 60607
(888) 207-4686

Website



View Website in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 27 Reviews
Review: 5 Stars!!
08/08/2013
  • mbubenyak

  • Wedding Date: 06/21/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • ALL of the photos were SO good!!! Our photographer, Gokhan, is an amazing artist and has a great eye for creating breath-taking shots! My aboslute favorite shot was of the first look. My husband and I picked out a secret spot at the Morton Arboretum and Gokhan made the shot as beautiful as the emotions were at that moment.
  • Gokhan captured great candid shots all day long! That is exactly what we asked for and he delivered perfection! Our candids were my favorite... they ranged from my Dad's tears when he first saw me to my Grandmother dancing on the dance floor. Our portraits were very well done too!
  • With our wedding photo package we received a promotion that included a complimentary Engagement Photo Shoot as well as free Save-the-Dates. We chose 1 photographer (Gokhan) and committed to purchasing a wedding album. We are able to keep all of our proofs in digital format and have rights to them as well. We also purchased a photo booth package with TWA! I highly recommend the photo booth! Our friend and family are still raving out it!
  • Gokhan was incredibly friendly and personable! He met all of the girls at the Salon as we were getting our hair and make-up done. It started to rain as we left and Gokhan went to his car and gave us his personal umbrella to use! One detail that I found incredibly thoughtful was during the reception. It was towards the end of the night and Gokhan approached my husband and I. He said, "I have an amazing shot that I want to try with you guys!" He took us outside and created a shot by the light of a lampost-- it was so romantic and sultry. I absolutely LOVED it! Gokhan went above and beyond what I had expected our photographer to do. He was nice, friendly, enthusiastic and passionate about his work and geniunely wanted to make our day the best day possible.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great photos and Awesome photographer
11/15/2010
  • Therese M

  • Wedding Date: 09/17/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Lots to choose from.....probably one with my husband and I with our entire wedding party on a bridge where we got married.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our photographer was always right there to catch every shot, but yet you never noticed him unless you were looking for him- I have no idea how he did it. All of our shots turned out great, and we arent very photogenic people! Portraits were well positioned, we had great guidance, and looked relaxed. Candid shots were perfect- so many memories my husband and I missed while busy with other guests.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Original package was just the photographer and engagement photos. We also did sign up during some promotions, so we were able to get some extra "freebies" which are not always included. We were able to add our album to lock in rates on a promotion a little after we signed up.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The photographer dressed professionally, and had a warm, caring and laid back personality. He kept me calm even when we were running late into dinner. He gave gentle guidance that was always upbeat and never pushy or hurried. We always felt like we had plenty of time (even with a very short period for photos) and always comfotable.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sarah and Joe 6/5/10 <3
10/19/2010
  • Sarah C

  • Wedding Date: 06/05/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I loved them all! We did take pictures at the Morton Arboretum and the pictures there were among my absolute favorites. The pictures of my husband and I really captured our love for each other and the group shots captured how much fun everyone was having.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We met with Gokhan a few weeks before the wedding and went the time line of the day . He showed up early the day of the wedding and went about taking all of the getting ready pictures without even noticing that he was there. He was such a nice, fun guy that it made everyone feel comfortable and act naturally in front of him. He took great candids that captured the emotion and fun of our special day as well as told us how to stand to take great portraits.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included 10 hours with one photographer at multiple locations as well as a 30 min engagement session. We upgraded the engagement session to an hour long session in downtown Chicago at the museum campus.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Gokhan had such a happy and outgoing personality. You could really tell he loved taking pictures. He was very patient and open to things that we wanted to do and had enough experience to take pictures we would never have thought of. I would highly recommend Gokhan to anyone looking for a photographer.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Photographer Review
10/04/2010
  • Lauren S

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The candid shots we took downtown.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our photographer and photo-video journalists were very detail oriented but relaxed. Great with both candids and portraits.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? One photographer and one photo-video journalist. Engagement pics and save-the-dates were included. Many opportunities for 'free gifts' depending on $$ amount spent.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We met before the wedding to discuss what we envisioned for our day. This was helpful so that we were on the same page.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Extremely Satisfied Mr. & Mrs. Wynn
08/16/2010
  • Benita W

  • Wedding Date: 06/19/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Too many favorite photos to choose from!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We let Wally do what he does best since he is the professional photographer and he was great!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Free engagement photo session, Engagemnet Photos, 2 Parent albums, Euro Album with 32 sides, 170 photo reception cards, free 16x20 photo
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? From my 1st appointment with TWA I knew that they were the one! I had went on 3 appointments with other vendors and none of them stood a chance. I felt so welcomed with the personalized greetings on my papers with TWA services. TWA was not pushy and gave me time to make my decision. Courtney helped me the entire way! She was so professional and always stayed in touch and responded back to my MANY emails. I booked TWA a little over a year in advance and I received an email almost every other month from TWA with updates. Our photographer was Wally and we met him months in advance. TWA did an awesome job in matching our personalities with our photographer. Wally kept the entire wedding party laughing the whole night. The next day I recieved so many compliments about our photographer. He was absolutely THE BEST! We loved Wally and once we finally saw our pictures we were overwhelmed with excitement because Wally captured everything we asked for and more! Our money was well spent, TWA catered to our budget and we don't regret 1 cent! We are even more excited to see our final album after we sort through close to 1000 pictures!!! We will continue to use their services for other occasions and would highly recommend TWA. If you want an honest company that delivers above and beyond what they promise, a company that puts the customer 1st and make you feel special, a company full of friendly, energetic professionals who will deliver the most amazing pictures you have ever seen then TWA is the company for you!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Timothy Whaley Photography is Highly Recommended!
04/05/2010
  • sabrina c

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite photograph was taken by the photojournalist. It's of of walking near a tree, hand in hand, and it's on an angle.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? On our wedding day, the attentive videographer often checked on me to see how I was doing; the photographer was fun and patient with our large wedding party; the photojournalist took many of our favorite shots so discreetly that I never even noticed him except for when I met him at the start.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We ordered a video and album and receive an engagement picture and a few extra prints after we placed our order.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The photographers were amazing. The main photographer was fun and patient with our large group. He was talkative and respectful of everyone.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: The perfect beginning to our family heirloom
01/05/2010
  • Cathy R

  • Wedding Date: 07/11/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I would have to say that it is hard to choose a favorite photo, I loved them all! But, I love the photo from the end of our night when we waived goodbye to our guests. It's a great pose chosen by our photographer.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our photographer was terrific, he showed up exactly when he said he would. Prior to the day, we met to go over the details of the day. I am very pleased with our photographs, it made it so hard to choose which ones to put in the album. There was not one person that disliked the photographs, they all agreed that each one was fantastic. Both photographers were phenomenal!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Included in our package was our engagement photo, save-the-dates, DVD, photographer, and 10 hours of a photojournalist.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was great in directing us how to pose, and he made everyone feel very comfortable. Also, my family was so frazzled when it came time to photograph at the altar. But, he was so patient and made light of the situation.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: A favorite vendor
01/05/2010
  • Kathy W

  • Wedding Date: 04/17/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? This is a tough one. I would have to say my favorite wedding photo is a black and white photo that we had no idea our photographer was taking, Its silhouette's of me and my husband just looking at each other. Simply Beautiful, and a wonderful surprise.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our photographer was a pro at staying out of the way. Even when our families were rushing up to us to take pictures and got in the photographers way, he still caught the best shot and didn't complain. We asked for a mix of candids and photo journalism and there was a great balance of both. Our portraits were hard to choose from cause we liked them all. Our photographer did an excellent job and capturing the emotion in every shot, and when we did our album it was fun to put the story together.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We went with the middle grade package where we got one photographer and one videographer. We were guaranteed our photographer for the day meaning he didn't have another wedding to go to right after our ceremony. We received a free 30min engagement session and a complimentary 8x10 photo of our choice. Our package also included a photo montage. As far as the album, if you sold enough you got to keep your proof book which we were able to. They had alot of options as far as choosing albums. One plus of the albums is if you sold enough you got your negatives for free. If you didn't sell enough then you can pay 100 dollars to them, or you can wait a year and get them for free. Along with our Wedding DVD we received 2 more DVD's to give to family. Bottom line, we got a lot for the money we spent.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Our photographer made me feel comfortable when I started complaining that my head piece was not centered and the hair dresser said it looked fine along with my bridesmaids. As soon as our photographer arrived he noticed it was not centered and made the hair dresser fix it. I knew right then and there he was going to take great pictures. The biggest way he made me and my family feel comfortable was with alot of comic relief. He was cracking jokes to make sure everyone was smiling. My friends are still talking about how funny and wacky our photographer was. Also, our photographer knew when it was ok to crack jokes and when to be serious which made me very comfortable. And he wasn't at all pushy or trying to rush us. Actually, our photographer told us that it was our day and we should enjoy each other on our special day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best photographers
12/30/2009
  • Shana E

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our photographer was Heidi and she had us come outside at night by some lit trees and my husband twirled me as she took pictures. It was so quick and we didn't miss anything at our reception, and now we have some of the most creative night photos! We love them
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Heidi did a great job of getting all of the shots that we had requested and them some without being in everyones faces. There was one when we were eating dinner and my sisters and I were singing along to a song and she was able to get the shot without anyone even knowing. One of the best qualities of Timothy Whaley and associates photographers is their ability to get great candid shots. They have that creative eye for the spontaneous. and as with any great photographer they have the ability for great portraits and posed pictures as well. We have some great posed pictures of our whole group without the pictures looking cheesy. they are amazing!!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got a great deal for our package. Some other photography companies will only give you so many hours of photos or just a number of photos, but Timothy Whaley gave us an entire day. I think Heid was their for over 12 hours. She was great. We also received some promotional things such as a DVD of our album, 2 free pages (4 sides) and additional upgrades, beyond what was already allowed. We were really able to create the perfect wedding album with their designers.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She just meshed really well with Jeremy and I and was comfortable with our ideas and attitudes. She came in an introduced herself and went right to work but never made us feel like we were work. She fit in as a part of the wedding guests. We had a great time with her there, we just hope she had as much fun.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great pictures
12/29/2009
  • Megan C

  • Wedding Date: 09/19/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One of my favorites is a full-length picture of my husband and I at Lake Katherine's underneath an arch covered with ivy. With the lighting and the greenery, it looks great.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The photographer was very professional. She made sure that she got all of the shots that we requested along with a lot of candid pictures that really captured the day for us.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had one photographer, but we requested that they be more photojournalistic since we wanted the candid shots. They included a free engagement sitting fee along with 2 parent albums. The pictures were available on-line, but we also got proof books, which made it a lot easier to compare specific shots.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My whole family commented on how nice the photographer was and how accommodating she was to people who requested specific photos.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor
Promotions
discount

Receive up to $400.00 off our photography services!

Receive up to $400.00 off our photography services! Use promo code ONWE10

Expires 12/31/2010
Promotion has expired