Photographers in Geneva, IL: Tom Nicol Photography
Tom Nicol Photography
330 Olson Court
Geneva, IL 60134
(708) 288-3053


Geneva Photographers: Tom Nicol Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 34 Reviews
Review: Wonderful!
04/18/2013
  • Kellihodina

  • Wedding Date: 01/12/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There are wayyy to many great pictures to chose from! One of my favorites was when he got a picture of my husband and I kissing at our head table with the wedding party in the back. Very nice.
  • Disrupting? Tom took over our day (in the best way possible). I was stressed and all over the place but when Tom arrive, early I might add, I showed him the dress and bouquets and he went to town. He took all the pictures of the girls getting ready then he move to the guys. He had a lot of great ideas for pictures including pictures of me sitting in front of a piano with each bridesmaid. I love those pictures!! I really appreciated that. He knows what he is doing.
  • He was extremely flexible on how many hours we wanted. I believe I emailed him a few days before the wedding asking him for a few more and his response was I could add time on whenever I wanted including the day of the wedding. It was wonderful. Then he gave us the rights to all the photos along with a CD with them all on it. He also made us a wedding picture book with 100 pictures that we chose. It's a really sweet and cute touch and decoration. I love it.
  • My family and I really enjoyed Tom. He was profession, friendly, and nice. I love all that he did.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Photos
01/09/2013
  • Beth H

  • Wedding Date: 12/12/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It would be impossible to choose only one photo as my favorite! As the mother of the bride, I am so happy Tom was able to capture the emotions of the day from joy of the reveal, the pride of her father as they walked down the aisle, the tenderness of a first kiss and the celebration as two lives were joined.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tom was in "stealth mode" most of the day....he was able to capture photos at beautiful angles and we were unaware he was there. He was respectful and courteous to everyone. I love the way he can see s shot and frame it so beautifully.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Tom is a very talented photographer and a great person. From the beautiful engagement photos to capturing the details of the wedding day, he exceeded my expectations.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Could't be Happier!!!
12/27/2012
  • Sarah H

  • Wedding Date: 12/12/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I'm not sure it is possible to pick just one photo that Tom took throughout the day. They were all fantastic!! I am having a difficult time trying to figure out which ones to hang throughout my house.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tom blended into the background the day of our wedding and got some amazing shots that I didnt even know he took. I like the wide variety of pictures that he took, from action shots to portraits, they were all beautiful. I feel extremely lucky to have had such a wonderful photographer for our wedding day!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Tom made us feel extremely comfortable and was even able to get great photos of my husband smiling with teeth, which he never does!! Tom was so accommodating and made sure that everyone was visible in all of our group photos- even the large family ones! I couldnt be happier with all of our photos and would recommend Tom to anyone looking for a fantastic photographer.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Awesome!
11/21/2011
  • Jessica L

  • Wedding Date: 09/30/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? So hard to choose! Tom took so many amazing shots. There was a beautiful one of me behind our church by this tree. It looked like something out of a magazine!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I have had people comment while looking at my pictures "wow! where was he when he took these! didnt even know he was there!"
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Included was an engagement session, a custom made album, he wwent wherever we wanted him the whole day, and we got the rights to all engagement and wedding photos on a CD.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Tom was awesome. It was such a pleasure doing business with him and I would suggest him to anyone. Couldnt have been nicer!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful!
11/16/2011
  • Lindsey K

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? All of them! I can't choose just one! They were absolutely amazing!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I barely noticed that pictures were even being taken of us. Tom captured all the shots and more that I could imagine without us even noticing. He captured wonderful pictures of our ceremony and reception. Lots of family pictures too which I loved because it's so hard to enjoy your special day with everyone, but seeing the pictures made me realize how much fun everyone had!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? In our wedding package we had an engagement photo session in the location of our choice, a disc with all the images, a memory book and Tom also included a little montage of the pictures with a beatiful song! We chose not to have our wedding videotaped and Im so happy we chose that because the photographs themselves tell the story of our special day!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Extemely comfortable!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best. Photographer. EVER.
10/18/2011
  • Valerie S

  • Wedding Date: 10/08/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? a GORGEOUS black and white of our faces at our first dance... twinkly lights and HUGE smiles. it captured the ENTIRE feel of the evening!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tom was such an absolute joy to work with... in reviewing our wedding photos I realized there were shots from when I didn't even think he was in the room! He was SO NON INTRUSIVE! This was a huge concern of mine, I didn't want someone bowling people over, or getting in my guest's views either... he did the best job of getting multiple angles, multiple options... and literally breath-taking shots. there were so many good ones, I wouldn't be able to choose... he was so polite and professional and very flexible. He understands how stressful a wedding can get and is so willing to work with any situation. We had planned on taking a few more pictures of just the two of us after the wedding but we took so many family pictures that we sort of ran out of time... and he was able to make time for one more hour for just my husband and I in the following weeks... SO sweet. I would recommend him to anyone!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? the prices were phenominal compared to other vendors... we paid 1450 for an engagement session, unlimited photos the day of the wedding at two locations... our own site to go and order pictures from, and a memory book (album) of pictures of our choosing... this is pennies compared to the 5000 and 3000 my friends have paid for the same quality pictures!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? he was VERY polite, and VERY professional, dressed nicely... and basically just blended in! he was able to make conversation so easily and got along with everyone.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Couldn't have asked for a better photogrpaher!
10/13/2011
  • Kristin S

  • Wedding Date: 09/09/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? How could I possibly choose?! There was actually one picture that I look at and laugh about often...During our reception a couple of my friends noticed that one of the banquet servers looked a lot like Pauly D from the infamous Jersey Shore. As the night wore on they actually convinced him to pose with them....and the picture is EPIC! The guy seriously looked like Pauly D...and we get lots of comments about it now! (Thanks for being patient with all our obnoxious wedding guests, Tom!)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I was actually very excited to see Tom as soon as he showed up. I knew from then on everything would run super smoothly. My husband and I did all of our "posed" pictures before the actual ceremony...including family and bridal party shots. Even during our posed pictures I felt like we were given a lot of freedom to do certain poses. And honestly, during the ceremony and reception I don't remember seeing Tom all that much....but he was right there to capture every moment!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received a copy of all our pictures as well as the rights to them. We also received a complmentary engagement shoot (so much fun) and unlimited amount of time with him at the wedding. Also included is a "proof book" with our 100 favorite pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? From the moment I met Tom at a bridal show I knew I wanted to use him as our photographer. He's very laid back and is calm about everything. During the planning process he was very organized and checked in frequently. Leading up to the wedding he only checked in when needed which helped me stay on track with everything else. Tom made it very fun taking all the posed shots of the wedding party and families and I really felt like to he listened to us and gave us exactly what we wanted. I would ABSOLUTELY refer him to anyone to capture moments of their big day! :-)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing!
09/05/2011
  • Lindsey L

  • Wedding Date: 07/30/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Tom took so many fabulous photos! He did such a great job at directing us to get a great shot. I love the candids he took, especially the ones of our first dance.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tom just sort of blended into the background. You didn't even know he was there. However, he was great at giving us directions and guiding us to a perfect shot. I love the candids that he took of the day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included 4 hours, a 100 photo album, a CD of the proofs with rights, and engagement pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? All members of my family just raved about Tom. They said that he was quiet, but he gave good instructions to pose us for our family shots.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: ABSOLUTELY THE BEST PHOTOGRAPHER EVER"!! THANKS T
04/27/2011
  • debbie k

  • Wedding Date: 04/09/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is hard to pick a favorite wedding photo. They are ALL ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. I LOVE them ALL. Tom captured so many beautiful moments in a picture. I love the ones when we are walking outside just being ourselves, the ones taken of us dancing, then there are the ones of me and my maid of honor walking into the church. You see what I mean, it’s impossible to pick a favorite. I just don’t know how Tom does what he does, but his pictures are breathtaking, magical and priceless.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tom did not disrupt anything. He was very patient and was able to work around all the guests taking pictures. He captured so many wonderful pictures, from candids, action, portraits and so much more. There are moments he caught that I don’t remember and there are others that brought joyful tears to my eyes. I really don’t know how he managed to get all those great pictures. I think he has super powers. I am so grateful for Tom’s skill and gift at capturing my Fairy Tale Wedding day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Tom has different packages to help get you started. The packages are very straight forward, easy to understand and his prices are very reasonable. He is very flexible to add to the package and will to help you along the way to customize what you want. He also does this picture video, set to music that captures the day. We did the smaller package of 4 hours, with the photo book, and DVD.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? From the very first time I saw his pictures and then after meeting Tom, I knew I found the photographer that I would entrust to capture our Fairy Tale Wedding Day. Tom has a great personality, is compassionate, and was fun to work with. He made us and all of our guests feel very comfortable. Tom truly has a gift for capturing moments in a photo that tell a story.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Couldn't be more pleased!
04/27/2011
  • Anna S

  • Wedding Date: 03/19/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It's hard to pick what my favorite wedding photo would be since I felt they were all so beautiful and really captured the feel of the day. However, one of my favorites was actually taken as my new husband and I were getting ready to head over to the reception, my husband took off his jacket and put it around me because it was getting a little chilly. Tom ran up and captured that sweet moment.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tom was never, never in the way. When I saw the pictures afterwards, I was amazed at the pictures he captured because I never really heard him or saw him running around. His candids are great!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My wedding photo package included an engagement session (that we unfortunately didn't take advantage of because our engagement was a few short months), and a photo book with 100 of our favorite pictures from the ceremony.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Tom made us all comfortable by allowing us to kind of get the pictures we wanted. He wasn't forceful and was very patient with us as we got lined up for pictures. Overall, out of all the vendors I worked with--Tom was by far the best pick for the wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor