Photographers in Chesterton, IN: Margo Machnik Photography
Margo Machnik Photography
104 N. Calumet
Chesterton, IN 46304
(219) 617-9050


Chesterton Photographers: Margo Machnik Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.3
  • Creativity : 4.3
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.3
  • 4.5

  • 6 Reviews
Review: Tickled Pink with Pleasure!!!
12/13/2013
  • ktkinz

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • It is really hard to narrow down just one favorite photo...Margo took so many amazing shots for me to choose from...One that really sticks out though is when my husband and I were at the altar and she got us hysterically laughing...She really captured the spirit and emotion of the day...Whoo hoo!!!
  • She was so pleasant to work with and was never a disruption. She captured every shot imaginable and was never in the way....I almost forgot she was there but her constant giggle and bubbly personality was I pleasant reminder of how happy I was that she was there. She got soooooo many candid and action shots....she captured moments that I forgot took place until I first viewed the pictures....priceless She did include a portrait in her package deal... It is on my mantle:)
  • Since Margo was flying into town to do my backyard wedding in Los Angeles we had discussed some different package arrangements...She agreed to fly at her own expense in lieu of an album and engagement pictures....she did include several copies of DVD's for me ,a 16 x 20 photo and thank you card inserts...What a deal!
  • I can't even begin to tell you how amazing my experience with Margo was. She was such a joy to work with. She was so much fun and even jumped into the pool to get a shot....talk about fun....she was a hit at our wedding...I felt like she was family from the get go....I have since recommended her to friends as well because I was so impressed with her and her work!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Very Dissapointed
11/20/2013
  • RScarbrough

  • Wedding Date: 10/06/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We were looking at each other under my veil
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They did not disrupt our day, some good photos, not many action shots and a lot of the action shots they did get were blurry, portraits were ok
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? 2 photographer's, guest sign in book of engagement photos, dvds with full copyrights and a 16 x 20 and thank you card prints
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I expressed to Margo that I was upset with the outcome of our photos because so much was missing. I didn't get any of the reception area before guests went in, no pics of the guests at the tables, The best man and Grooms father getting their boutonni√®res put on, us giving my mother her flower during ceremony, ring bearer giving rings to best man, best man and maid of honor walking down isle and a few of the ceremony pics cut out one of my brides maids, I don't even have a picture of the bridesmaid that caught the bouquet toss. My shoes were put on a counter at the beauty salon that had a happy Halloween sign and whatever vase they had on the counter behind it. I can go on and on. I didn't feel that I got the best they can do I got good enough! Its a shame because the on line photos she post look so good so it further pisses me off because I know it could have been better. I feel like I was lied too and robbed. I asked that she give me a little discount and keep the prints that I was owed and all I got was a long email defending the beautiful job she believed she did and then she threatened me with the copyrights to our photos that I already paid for and received. I'm very upset and sad that our pictures didn't tell our story and I got nothing but excuses.

Overall Rating: 2.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 1.0
  • Creativity : 1.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 1.0

Vendor Comment:

Dan and I thoroughly enjoyed photographing Rosanna and Jason's wedding. We did a top notch professional job under stressful circumstances. The ceremony started late and the bride and groom allotted less than 50 minutes for us to travel to a location and take group photos. So this already put us at a disadvantage but we remained calm. Civil ceremonies are very quick and sometimes someone can jump in front of a shot at a moment's notice and prevent us from taking said shot. That is what happened with the bride giving her mother a flower. We missed the shot and it was not our fault. We took many shots of the ring bearer walking with the rings however, when he actually reached the best man we were focused on the flower girl and the bride and did miss that shot. I will admit to that, but we had to make an instant decision. I stand by that decision because the little girl lasted about 10 seconds and then her Mom had to carry her. If we would have gotten the hand off we would have missed the little girl. We have fabulous photographs of the groomsmen and Father of the bride getting their bouttonieres on and I have no idea why she lied in her review and said we did not. The bride was given over 1100 photos and per her own admission was a bit overwhelmed with the volume of photos. We use a lot of selective focus as our style where one bridesmaid will be in focus and the others are not. That is our artistic style and cannot be considered blurry pictures as claimed by the bride. I am shocked by this review and any client of mine that wants to view all of Rosanna and Jason's photos can set up an appointment as see for themselves that this review was inaccurate. I believe that the bride had a different vision in her head on what her wedding photos should look like but we did the same professional, artistic photography here that we do at every wedding. She never gave us a shot list and we never take table shots unless specifically asked because guests don't like to be bothered when they are eating. We prefer to get posed photos of the guests with the bride and groom at a nice location at the reception which is what we did. We rounded up their family and friends and took many, many photos in front of a beautiful fireplace. What is most disturbing to me is that Rosanna had a friend call us and tell us that if I refunded her part of her money she would write me a good review and if I did not she would write me a bad review. My husband told said friend of the bride that agreeing to that deal is kind of like extortion. So at that time I did not refund her any money as we worked very hard and gave her beautiful, detailed photographs that truly captured her day. As I said, any future clients that doubt my response can come and look at all of Rosanna's beautiful photos. I have nothing to hide. Anyone with any questions please email me at margo@margomachnik.com.
write a review
Review: Fantastic Photography!
08/08/2013
  • Rachelgonzo311

  • Wedding Date: 06/15/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many favorite shots from our wedding. While going through the many photos that were taken, it was very difficult to decide which ones to frame and hang up in our home. A picture that stands out was when my husband and I were kneeling down on the beach and there was a heart drawn in the sand with the date written in the sand. My husband acted as if he was drawing the heart. The lighting and the position of us in the picture was perfect.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The photographers did a wonderful job with not disrupting our day. They are very professional and experienced. We discussed with them ahead of time what pictures we really wanted and when we wanted them to take place; such as group family pictures and portraits. They surprised us with a few sunset pictures that they said would look amazing. Sure enough, the pictures were beautiful! There are also many pictures while guests were dancing, talking, and having fun that were taken unannounced.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We decided to get the package with DVDs and 2 photographers. Unfortunately, we live in a different state from where we got married and was unable to get engagement pictures taken, but I would highly recommend engagement pictures by them as well.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My family and I were extremely comfortable with our photographers all day! My husband and I were so relaxed and they were very easy to talk to about the photos that were being taken.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Leah
11/17/2011
  • Leah K

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many good shots to choose from that it is hard to pick one. However, I love all of our first sight photos!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They did not disrupt the day at all...in fact, they were one of my favorite parts of the day. We had a blast taking our bridal party shots! I didn't even notice they were there during the ceremony and the toasts. There were a lot of candid shots that I didn't even know they took until we received the proofs.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had the four hour package that included: two photographers, the rights to the pictures, cd's in color and black and white.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were quick to respond to us prior to the wedding, they were on time, they were professional, and super fun!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Photos!
11/16/2011
  • Deb N

  • Wedding Date: 10/07/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Sitting and hugging!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I hardly knew they were there. They weren't "in your face" photographers. They shot their photos at a distance and all the photos came back beautifully.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Two photographers and about 500 photos to choose from. Large and small, black and white, color. I bought the 4 hour package. I had them take photos of the wedding ceremony and the reception afterwards.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I planned my wedding remotely. I live in Texas and my wedding was near my hometown of Chesterton Indiana. After viewing Margo's web site, I really loved her photography and decided to give her and her husband the opportunity to photograph my special day. Margo and her husband were wonderful. They were there on time, friendly towards the guests and the best part...they took AWESOME photos. I absolutely loved my photos and now Margo is working on telling our wedding story through a wedding album. Margo was so easy to work with remotely and addressed all my concerns in a timely manner. She was great with my families "sticky" situations (Divorced parents, etc...). I would highly recommend Margo and her husband for your wedding photos!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Book this photography team! They are amazing!
03/04/2009
  • Stewart

  • Wedding Date: 11/08/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is so difficult to choose. There are some that absolutely look like magazine photos, and others where we didn't even know until we got the proofs that they had captured some fantastic once in a lifetime candid moments. Usually with photos like these, you try to find the few good ones. All of them are so great, we can't find any that we don't want!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Except for the beautiful portrait shots, we never really realized where they were during the wedding and reception. I know they were around, as there are candids to prove it - but at the time they were so unobtrusive, I think they just blended into the events seamlessly. And we had them for the entire day!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? First of all, they handled our engagement photos. And even helped me make it a surprise engagement for my wife in the middle of the session! The proofs are great and easy to look at on DVD, we can't wait for our album design.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? From the beginning of the discussions and planning, it was just easy and comfortable. Our entire family is thrilled with the results. The artistic beauty and originality of the portraits, and the fun and personality of the candids are all big hits. My bride and I are still hysterically laughing (in the best way), because my mother-in-law was so comfortable with them - she ended up with quite a few really nice portraits of herself from the day. And she never lets people take pictures of her! How did Margo manage to accomplish this throughout the day in the middle of everything else? We are still astounded with the entire process and the results that look like a fun, fantastic, Fairy Tale!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review