Photographers in Michigan City, IN: Monica Z Photography
Monica Z Photography
Michigan City, IN 46360
(219) 229-0796

Monica Z Photography



View Monica Z Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 10 Reviews
Review: AMAZING IN NY!
03/15/2010
  • Christina H

  • Wedding Date: 02/27/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • It had snowed like crazy the days leading up to the wedding. We lucked out and all was calm the day of. Chris, Monica's husband and partner, is never one to waste an amazing backdrop and placed us beneath these amazing trees. It was cold, and my sister in law refused to let my train drop (so therefore she stood pretty much underneath it to be out of sight) but I knew it'd be the best shot of the day. Sure enough, it was.
  • Well, basically I obviously wanted a handful of the group formals for the VIPs, but I also told Monica that I was more concerned about remembering moments, and therefore was more interested in getting candids. But, they also had the brilliant idea of setting up a "photo booth" which in this case was just them stationed in a specific spot. With this, the candids and the group formals (whcih were all done before we got to the reception) they managed to get pretty much EVERY person at the wedding.
  • We had 2 fabulous photographers, engagement pics that became our guest book, an album for us, an album for each parent (both our parents are divorced so four books, one for eahc household) a DVD of the images, a canvas print, thank you cards. I feel like I'm missing something! We got tons!
  • Monica came to my house way early, and spent some time surveying the scene which allowed her to familiarize herself with what was going on and also was able to be on our schedule, therefore her shooting was just a natural part of what was going on, not any sort of interruption and no one felt rushed. Chris met up with the guys and they got to take whatever shots they wanted, this put everyone on the same page when it was time to get serious.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Like friends taking amazing photos
02/15/2010
  • Emily B

  • Wedding Date: 09/12/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Myself (bride) and my new husband sitting behind the desk at the Boston Public Library (where we had our reception)... me looking through the Rolodex and him on the phone. We look like we're in a magazine. But honestly, there are SO many amazing ones my favorite changes with the day. One of the day after shots (me in my dress, groom in jeans and a white shirt) is in the hotel lobby. Its taken slightly at an angle, with me snuggled up against him and the colors are so great and the lines on the couch just look so planned and again, like a magazine!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We chose Monica and Chris because they were so fun in our interview, we thought they could be friends. They were both always there, but smiling and friendly but not overwhelming. They were fun to have around in the getting ready stages and really just felt like a friend hanging out taking pictures. I didn't think there were any portraits throughout the day, but somehow looking back at my 4000 pictures (!), there are shots of everyone and of me with everyone. It was so natural I don't even remember her setting us up. I unwisely didn't plan enough time for the big group photos (everyone told me too late to save an hour!) But Monica and Chris were efficient and moved the whole process right along so we fit everything in.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got engagement pictures (SO MUCH FUN!), had the day of and a day after shoot (chosen instead of a one year). I highly recommend the day after shoot. We also have a big album, with three parents albums (the normal package comes with two but my parents are divorced so they were great adjusting their normal package so both my mom and dad could have a parents album). We got digital copies of all the pictures - Monica made a special trip into the city a few days after we got back from our honeymoon because she wanted me to get them right away. But the most amazing thing was that they posted pictures THE NIGHT OF THE WEDDING on facebook and their blog. I copied them down to my phone and we had pictures to show off to the new friends we met on our honeymoon.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We were so completely lucky to have Monica and Chris. I highly recommend them and just hope you're lucky enough to have someone as great as them for your wedding. I have no idea what they did to make us all feel so comfortable, but even those in my family who are usually grouchy and can't be satisfied absolutely loved them.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: I cannot say enough good things about Monica Z!
09/18/2009
  • Emily V

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Hard to name just one - there is one from the ceremony where all the bridesmaids bouquets happened to be lined up perfectly on the pew and another of our rings sitting in my bouquet of flowers that is absolutely beautiful. But I could go on and on! She is fantastic at capturing the special details.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Monica kept me at ease the entire day and managed to get amazing candid shots. I never felt like she or her assistant were in the way. We had a limited amount of time to do portraits in the church and she got all the pictures we asked for in a very short amount of time.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? One Album, a DVD of all the photos, a 8x10 enlargement, 2 photographers, and an engagement session.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Monica is an absolute joy to work with - she is always smiling, making jokes, and you can tell that she loves her job - you can't help but be comfortable around her!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best decision we made in planning our wedding!!
09/11/2009
  • Ashley C

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 3 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our first kiss, we had an outdoor wedding and a bee had flown in between us right before our kiss, Monica and Chris captured it all on film and the photos are amazing!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? GREAT with candids, action shots, portraits... all around they met every need we had. Our family commented on how they never even realized Monica and Chris were taking photos, they do not disrupt any part of your day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We made our own package, but in every package they always include 2 photographers & an engagement session. We added a DVD with all of the photos and they designed a guest book for us (which was a hit!).
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Monica and Chris were amazing in getting everyone together for the family photos, straight and to the point. But almost all of our other photos were not posed so they were just in the background and were never in anyones way or view. They are so great!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: AMAZING
08/31/2009
  • Libbi J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many! Probably the one on the altar facing out, with my husband and I kiss with the light coming in through the windows.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? She was fabulous! Respected the space, got great photos and everyone loved her! She also gave great direction during family shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got it a la carte with all day shooting and the print permission cd with images. Now she and her husband are always together shooting as a team and their images just get better every time.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We did an engagement session with her earlier. And then when the wedding came around she was just awesome. She set up the slideshow at the reception for no extra cost and all the pictures were just awesome. I loved her immensely and we've never seen a better photographer after all the weddings we've gone to since we got married. And that's been at least 5 or so!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Monica Z Rocks!
08/29/2009
  • Stephanie V

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Monica is so great at capturing a variety of different photos. My husband and I had the pleasure of choosing Monica after she shot a friend's wedding. After seeing her vision with our engagement pictures, we were game for anything at our wedding. I would have to say the wedding photo that we receive the most compliments on is one of my favorites also. I climbed a tree in my wedding dress! Monica captured an amazing photo of my husband and I kissing in the tree! It is SPECTACULAR!!!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Monica feeds off of the couple she is shooting. My husband and I love to have fun and were willing to try so many different types of pictures. While I was getting ready, Monica was there the entire time. I felt like she was "one of the girls" and I honestly didn't know she was taking some of the pictures she snapped. It wasn't until later that I looked and said, "I didn't know you took that picture." Every photograph tells our wedding day story. Her candids were truly candid and her action shots showed our true emotions!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Monica includes a variety of options for her wdding packages. Mine included engagement pictures, full-day wedding coverage with two photographers, a day-after session, dvd with high resolution of ALL photos with print permission, an absolutely amazing photo album, parent album, print credit, and wonderful company to be around!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Monica has the most amazing personality! She gets along with anyone and feels like part of the family. She has an amazing knack for blending in and capturing EVERYTHING you could ever want for your wedding day memories.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Unparalleled Artistry & Quality...Book Them TODAY.
08/28/2009
  • Danielle A

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Difficult question. Monica gets creative with her shots so we have a wide variety of captured moments. If you are looking for a photographer that is also an artist, Monica is the right choice. She puts her artistic ability to work in every shot and seems to be constantly searching for that next perfect picture.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Monica and her husband Chris seemed to blend in with the entire wedding party and got along well with everyone. Even though they were in the background, it seemed they were right there to capture everything. From candids to action shots and portraits we could not be happier with the variety of pictures we received.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I believe we selected the 'a la carte' package with Monica in which we chose the following: Engagement session (over 300 pictures taken) All-day wedding coverage with two photographers - No time or exposure limit. (1400 pics) One wedding album Three parent albums DVD with all images & unlimited print permission rights Online ordering for all guests - FAST turnaround time......I believe it was 2 days....3 max.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? It is clear Monica and Chris have worked with many different personalities over the years. From that unruly best man to more laid back and reserved parents and guests they were able to accommodate everyone in their own way. I always said that the photographer would be the most important part of the wedding day and I'm so glad we chose Monica. We've had numerous friends and relatives comment on the photos and a few friends that married only a few months before us who used other photographers are jealous of our pictures! I think that's one of the best compliments you can get! Thanks Monica & Chris. :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Jamaica 2009 Destination Wedding
08/27/2009
  • Linda D

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? They were all so beautiful it is so had to choose.....I mostly love the ones on the beach, Monica and Chris captured the most amazing sky!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Monica and Chris are the nicest and most amazing people!!! They really saved our wedding day!!! The resort we had our destination wedding at was a disaster and Monica and Chris helped us through it all keeping us laughing. We are so thankful for them!! The day after Trash the Dress session was so much fun!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? we did the a la cart services
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Monica and Chris are both so good at making you feel so comfortable. They will do anything to get a great shot! We had many delays on our wedding day (because of the resort) and they were very flexible with their time and went above and beyond to help us every step of the way. Monica and Chris are more than just excellent photographers they are wedding experts!! They are very professional and also a lot of fun, by the end of the day you feel like you have 2 new friends. I highly recommend them!! :-)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Review
08/27/2009
  • Eliza M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We took a photo in front of a big red barn that was next to the church. The bright red contrasting with my cream dress was amazing. We have a large print of this one over our console table.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Monica and Chris were great throughout the day. Never felt intrusive. Great candids and action shots. Those are some of our favorites.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Engagement pics, 2 photographers, print credit, album.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Monica and Chris were fantastic. We still follow their photography on their blog, facebook, etc., and recommend them to all our friends.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Professional, Fun and Beautiful Pictures
08/27/2009
  • Hope A

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? So many wonderful ones to choose from, but one favorite is a full length shot of the groom and I in the glass filled atrium of the hotel, which is a great shot of my dress. Another would be us kissing behind our cake.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Moinca and Chris are actually great with candids, action shots and portraits. They were wonderful, no disruption at all.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My package included an engagement session with Monica, two photographers on the wedding day(I ended up with a third by chance), an album, a sizable print credit, an album, a framed picture and a DVD of all pictures with print permission.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They are very professional and fun at the same time. The engagement session was a great way to get to know Monica and we got some great pictures. Most photographers take lots of pictures, but they bring more. Monica and Chris will climb a tree, lay on the floor or even in a bush to get a beautiful shot. They give wonderful direction and have amazing patience (collecting numerous family members for pictures was not as easy as I thought). If you look through her online albums and blogs you will see she makes every bride look beautiful! On your wedding day, you will know the photographer you will get and will know you will get what you pay for and more!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor