Photographers in Des Moines, IA: Lucky Soda Photography
Lucky Soda Photography
Des Moines, IA 50311
(515) 313-7942


Des Moines Photographers: Lucky Soda Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 9 Reviews
Review: Awesome!
08/11/2010
  • March H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • My favorite wedding shot was taken next to the jewelry shop where I bought my wife's engagement and wedding ring. They placed the groomsmen on the second floor, the bridesmaids on the first floor and us looking at each other on a bench to the left. The spacing and composition were brilliant while not feeling posed whatsoever and really capturing the moment. The lighting, focus and colors are superb in all of their pictures.
  • Chris and Sarah didn't disrupt our day at all. In fact, I couldn't imagine it going as well without them. They were able to quickly organize group portraits despite our large families and humid weather. The candid shots are where they really shine. Each photograph tells a story. I had no idea photographs could be that great.
  • We chose their top-of-the-line package and we were completely blown away. Our pictures came in an awesome keep-sake box. Our DVD was stored in a magnetized case complete with a picture of us on the cover and disc label. We still need to choose the pictures for the album, but seeing previews of other couples' albums amazed us too. Their delivered goods and products match the detail and quality of their photographs.
  • Chris and Sarah are extremely friendly and have a wonderful sense of humor. We felt completely comfortable with them and our family did too. We really enjoyed our time with them. Talking with them, you really get a sense they love photography and what they do as artists. We couldn't have been happier.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best photographer ever!
08/09/2010
  • Nathan S

  • Wedding Date: 08/07/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? What an awesome experiance it was to work with Lucky-Soda! It was like they knew us for our entire lives! They were extremely flexable and passionate about creative photos. Sarah and Chris were a huge part of our day and we are very excited about the entire experiance with them!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Beautiful photography by beautful people.
08/09/2010
  • Amy D

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Oooh- there are too many to pick just one. But one of my favorites is a very tight shot of my husband and I facing each other but from neck to waist only. It sounds a little weird but you can see so much detail in my dress and my husband's boutonniere that everything besides us falls away. It captured something I thought you could only get in person.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? It was impossible for them to disrupt our day. As our friends and wedding guests (as well as photographrs) they were a part of it in every way. They were especially patient in allowing another photographer and the MOB/MOG to take as many photos as they wanted in between shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included two photographers, before/during/after shots, beautiful editing, a disk of images, a large photo album and a flight to St. Thomas. We had a destination wedding so Chris and Sarah made arrangements to join us and 30 other friends/fam for a cruise and wedding. Now that's accommodating!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? As a husband and wife team, Chris and Sarah are a perfect balance of professionalism and genuine care for their clients.They were our friends before they were our photographers but I think we would have become friends throughout the process anyway. They love what they do and it shows.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best choice I ever made!
07/28/2010
  • Kathleen B

  • Wedding Date: 08/08/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have so many favorites. Sarah & Chris have taken photos of our engagement and wedding and we have since had them take pictures for our pregnancy, family, and baby. I am always very happy with how they turn out. Sarah has such a great eye for creativity and takes amazing photos. I love looking at the photos they have taken for us. I also love browsing the photos that they have taken of other people on their website, even though I do no know the other couples, I love looking at their photos because Sarah & Chris do such an amazing job.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Working with Sarah & Chris for our wedding was wonderful. They were both at ease, which made us and our wedding party have a great time as well. They are very funny and I never felt awkward around them at all. Having our photos taken was so much fun, one of my best memories from the day! Both the formal shots and the candid shots were amazing and flattering. During the ceremony, they were very respectful and practically invisible. They got wonderful shots without disrupting any special moments.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose to buy the CDs of both our wedding and engagement pictures because we could not decide which shots we liked the best. It was a great deal for those as well as for their sitting fee for the wedding and engagement session. Sarah & Chris were there for both occasions, which made for a lot of nice candid shots when the formal ones were being taken as well as pictures from several different views during the ceremony.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Sarah & Chris made everyone feel at ease as they were being photographed. I have had other photographers make me feel awkward while being photographed, but Sarah & Chris made me feel totally at ease. Everyone really enjoyed themselves. They have very good taste for the environments they chose for the photographs, so when people weren't being photographed, they had a beautiful place to admire. They are both very friendly, funny, courteous, and witty. They made our special events even more special and we have wonderful memories of working with them.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We LOVED everything!
07/24/2010
  • Jessica C

  • Wedding Date: 07/10/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I don't know if I can only choose ONE photo for my favorite! My husband and I just got married last week so we haven't had the chance to view all of the shots Sarah & Chris took. A few days after the wedding, they had posting a sampling of photos on their website so we were able to get a taste of what is still to come! We LOVED all of them! I have a little bit of an arty background so I am prone to like the more unique shots - and Sarah was able to deliver not only in our wedding photos but also in our engagement shots too! I would have to say my favorite shot would be one she took at a covered bridge in a park by our church - it's black & white and back lit so all yo see is a sillouette of me and my husband kissing. I think it is absolutely stunning. But they also took a ton of beautiful traditional shots that we, our parents and family are crazy about too!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Sarah and Chris are sooo much fun to work with! They are very laid back and have a 'go with the flow' attitude. So, on the wedding day, if something didn't go as planned, or if I pointed out a location or type of photo I wanted, they were more than willing to jump in and start shooting! They took some fantastic candids and action shots to complement the portrat pics. Chris shot some awesome film shots too! But my husband and I knew before we worked with Sarah & Chris that they were going to be super easy going: we had already seen Sarah and Chris in action at my cousins wedding one year before ours. Pat insisted we book them immediately after attending my cousins wedding because they were so nice and easy going - even during the stressful family shots! My fiance and I have had our share of weddings where the photographer is super demanding/snapping their fingers to get your attention/ telling you to stop drinking champagne and smile for the photo - Sarah and Chris are the complete opposite! I can't stress it enough - we LOVED working with them. And believe it or not, my fiance actually told me he had FUN taking the photos - I don't think that would ever happen!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Photography was one of the most important things I had on our list for our wedding day. Mostly because it is one of the only ways the entire day is documented and kept for you to look at/remember later. It's crazy how quickly the day flies by and how nice it is now to have all of the 'little moments' captured, otherwise I might have forgotten them. Because it was so important to me, we decided to purchase their largest package. They did an engagement session, 6-hour weddding day, photo albums, and copyright to all proofs. It was well worth it! Sarah and Chris took so many beautiful photos and I am so happy I get to keep them all!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Sarah and Chris are so nice, fun and easy going that I think their calmness on my wedding day kept me, my fiance and my family calm and smiling during all the photos. Here's a small example: one of my 7-year old cousins decided to throw a mini-tantrum during the family photo session at the church before the wedding. Sarah assured me to not worry or try to force my cousin to calm down and smile for the camera (I could tell my aunt was starting to stress out). We just waited to do our family photo until the reception - and it turned out great!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: AUtumn & Mark married
07/23/2010
  • Autumn E

  • Wedding Date: 07/02/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? ...very hard decision. My husband's favorite was us in a field with a sun burst in the middle... I like so many, it's a hard decision. I like the candids...and the one of him carrying me away into the sunset. There's so many good ones!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They just went with the flow & were in the background getting photos of the day. Yes, great with candids. Yes, great with action shots. Yes, great with portraits!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We went a piece-by-piece route...adding stuff as we liked. We had 2 photographers, there for a long time for what we paid & lots of photos taken. We haven't decided on what we purchase photo-wise.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? By just being them, letting us be us, and just capturing us being ourselves. Posing us in natural positions & asking us if we were comfortable taking the photos they were thinking would look cool.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: they made our 4th of july wedding memorable
07/22/2010
  • Christina W

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? there is way to many....but all the ones out side i love!!!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Their an awesome team....one was doing the candid shots and the other action....it was like they could read each others minds (so cute) very professional!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? we did the largest package plus we payed to have added extra time.....Sarah came to the salon when we were getting ready and all the way to the end for fire works:) that is dedication!!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? they fit right in with our family and friends :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: These people seriously know what they're doing.
07/19/2010
  • laura w

  • Wedding Date: 07/31/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? ok ok - so we havent had our wedding yet - its in 2 weeks, but we did a late engagement session and it went SO wonderfully awesome. i have a favorite one with the sunset in the background which created this beautiful glowing light. its gorgeous!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? ive seen these guys shoot other weddings before and they are fantastic and being unobtrusive - weve had conversations about how that is absolutely necessary for wedding photographers. they are very good at staying out of the way, never drawing attention to themselves but always manage to get fantastic shots you dont even know theyre taking!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? were going to receive a dvd of our photos (which you have to purchase separately, but so worth it to have digital copies of all of your images), we got an engagement session and both that session and the wedding we will have 2 photographers - which is fantastic! they work so well together...they have to. theyre married :) they sort of like each other and are so easy to work with!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? they're super patient (great for big groups!!) and know how to direct the group. they are always very polite and aware of whats going on. they are super easy to work with!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Lucky Soda = Amazing talent and personality!
07/19/2010
  • Katie H

  • Wedding Date: 06/26/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have so many favorite photos from the day - from my first moments with March to the picture of our shadows on the ground. Sarah and Chris are a great team and are able to not only capture moments but they capture memories. I see how happy I am in each photo and none of it was contrived, it was pure, raw emotion.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Sarah and Chris had a time when they wanted the family there and then it worked so smoothly to get photos with the different families and groups. It feels like that part of the day took about 10 minutes - and it was 94 degrees, so they were great about getting it all done quickly. My mom also comes from a large family, and Sarah was able to easily direct over 60 people for one photograph! They are both so intuitive and catch the moments that you hoped they would - the ones you really want to remember.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We selected the highest tiered package which included both Sarah and her husband Chris (although I think they work together at almost all of the weddings), a gorgeous coffee table book, an engagement session, a generous print credit and we also have the digital rights to our images and will have a DVD of all of them.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They are down-to-earth, funny, oozing with kindness and great personalities, and they are there to have a good time and to help make the day memorable. My family loved that at the reception, they had a laptop up with photos playing that they had already captured throughout the day. The biggest thing about Lucky Soda Photography is that I knew that I could TRUST them. It is huge to have photographers that you trust to not only do a good job but to carry your lipstick and take photographs of memories that will last forever. We found friendship in Chris and Sarah and couldn't have asked for more! Lucky Soda Photography - we got lucky!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor