Photographers in Gaithersburg, MD: Andrew Morrell Photography
Andrew Morrell Photography
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
(301) 529-3410


Gaithersburg Photographers: Andrew Morrell Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 10 Reviews
Review: Maine wedding
02/12/2012
  • Shirley H

  • Wedding Date: 08/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • There are so many, truthfully. There are some wonderful candid shots of the children at the wedding, running and twirling about on the field. Of course, precious shots of our dog, Toby: Toby watching the ceremony, Toby watching the water, Toby rolling on the grass, Toby on the dance floor-haha! The dessert table looked gorgeous in Andrew's photos. Great night-time photos of our friends and us dancing our hearts out at the end of the night. In our portrait session we really liked all the photos, my personal favorite is of us on a wooden bench, sitting apart, totally at ease, it was a quiet and still moment.
  • How did Andrew do it? Who knows! Andrew seemed to enjoying himself as he navigated around with the guests with ease, capturing wonderful, raw moments. The candid and action shots were amazing, and so special. Moments everyone noticed, but the best were the moments that nobody noticed, that he was able to photograph. Portraits...make me cringe. What is out there on other photography websites scared me to death. But he was so soothing. Andrew scoped out the location we chose ahead of time and was prepared with ideas and spots. He said all the right things to help coax us and be ourselves. That couldn't have been easy. I began to rely on my fake smile, and he was onto me and got me to genuinely laugh and warm up again. What talent!
  • We received access to his favorite shots collected in an album on his website. We received a flash with all of the photos after that.
  • Everybody says they're not vain, and they don't like photos of themselves. It's really absolutely true in our case. Other wedding photographers' websites...made me want to puke. Sorry, but it's the truth. As much as most women want to be a bride to some degree....I wanted to be the anti-bride at the boiling point. But one browse through Andrew's photos took my breath away. He can capture those moments that go away at the blink of an eye. The photos weren't typical, they weren't vain. I loved how you could look through a series of wedding photos and feel like you got to know what it was like there. At our wedding, he completely assessed and got our vibe right away. Maybe it was a good fit, but he weaved in and out of meeting our family and friends so easily. Why would anyone mention that they met your photographer? Because he is a pretty cool cat, that's why. SO many of our guests mentioned that they met Andrew and that he was a really nice guy. I would think, "Did you also happen to notice my handmade programs or decoupage signs?". Nope, just Andrew! Andrew is a natural at understanding that no matter what, that day is tremendously significant and he wants the best for you and everyone there. He was like part of our family.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Consider No One Else!
02/27/2011
  • Annie M

  • Wedding Date: 06/26/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We have so many great ones that it's extremely difficult (if not impossible) to choose just one! I love the ones of us in the garden setting when my husband is placing a flower in my hair. It's so elegant and unassuming. Hmmm...I just asked my husband and he likes the shot of the cake topper. Andrew has an eye for the shots that are not obvious, and once you see the photographs his vision is extraordinary!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? You hardly knew Andrew was there. His personality puts a jittery bride and groom at ease and you feel that everything is taken care of. Andrew has an amazing talent for candid shots and that's what we were looking for in a photographer...one that encompassed a photojournalist side that would tell our wedding day story through pictures. Action shots were great as were the portraits. He's able to capture the moment in a way that many photographers don't - his talent goes beyond photography...he's an artist first, photographer second. And the two together go well beyond your expectation.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVDs, engagement photos and album is included. Though we haven't even had time to choose the photos for our album yet; yikes.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Andrew has an easy going and warm personality. When we met him the first time to discuss what we were looking for in a wedding photographer, we had an instant connection and talked at length about anything and everything. Everyone in our wedding party enjoyed his company and felt at ease with him taking photographs during the rehearsal dinner and wedding. In fact, we were just looking at a few photos I found during our recent move and my mom noted how nicely he captured our day. Me and my family would all recommend him any day if you're looking for a creative photographer, good listener, and funny guy to work with on your big day -- you will certainly be in good hands!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Photographer!!
02/02/2011
  • Chelsea K

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? A candid shot of my husband and I standing up on a hill
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Andrew was great. I hardly even noticed that he was there. We were amazed at the pictures he captured when we didn't even know he was there. Most of his pictures were action shots, although we have some great semi posed shots that are very editorial.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Andrew was very laid back and easy to talk to and get along with. I feel like he would have done anything we wanted as far as the pictures go. We could not have been happier!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Capturing our day
01/27/2011
  • Devon R

  • Wedding Date: 04/25/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My husband giving me a kiss on the cheek
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Andrew captured the magic of the day by taking the most amazing candid shots. It makes me smile to look at them and the pictures were a perfect representation of how we were feeling inside!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He meshed right in with the family and understood who and what was important to us. The family was so comfortable that we invited him back to do two sets of annual family photos! We are so sad that he is not in Cleveland anymore! We hope he comes back for our first baby pictures!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Too beautiful to choose one favorite
01/26/2011
  • facebook_1372628577

  • Reviews Posted: 1

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We Miss Andrew's Work in Cleveland
01/25/2011
  • John H

  • Wedding Date: 01/25/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I run a high profile mobile DJ service in Cleveland Ohio, a town Andrew lived in until last year. He only called Cleveland home for a short time so I had the chance to work with him but at two wedding receptions. He is all the things a wedding photographer should be. He captures the moments as they unfold without trying to stage or take away from the spontaneity of the day. What's really so special about Andrew is his eye for the uncommon. He can be seen taking shots from angles not typically thought of. He looks for natural effects that might create an interesting composition to the photo. My praise of him and his work is one thing but all you need do is look at his work. It is stunningly beautiful and so set apart from the typical photographer.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: La Boda Americana
01/24/2011
  • Nicola M

  • Wedding Date: 05/29/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One of the loveliest photos is that of the bride and groom sat side by side in 15th century chairs in the Eagle Ballroom of the Borgia Palace. Relaxed and very happy!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I had the opportunity of working with Andrew on this very special wedding which was held near the town of Gandia, Valencia, Spain. The wedding was an Anglo-American affair and from the minute Andrew arrived he was professional, courteous but most importantly imaginative. He used every environment of his Spanish canvas and unobtrusively captured the emotion and humor of the day. He used the palace backdrop for group shots and portraits of the B&G but the majority of the photos were captured throughout the day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? As the wedding planner, I believe Andrew provided albums, dvd's, no engagement pics and himself as sole photographer...
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The bride and groom thoroughly enjoyed their special day and Andrew contributed immensely to a relaxed atmosphere. They were delighted with the end result with some wonderful photgraphic memories. If you are wanting a photographer with great creativity then Andrew is your guy!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Andrew!
01/23/2011
  • Jennifer M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Not sure I could pick! Andrew is a truly gifted photographer and we loved all the photos he took. I have so many of them in our home, and he truly was able to capture memories, not just smiles.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Andrew was fun and funny. We had a very different format for wedding and reception and he really worked with us. I hate getting my picture taken, and still had fun with him! He was great with candid shots and action shots which was what we wanted, but our portraits were beautiful also.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We only had one photographer, Andrew, and didn't choose to have an engagement picture done. We did get an album and a CD of all the pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Andrew helped us to act like ourselves. We were silly and had fun, and he made us smile and laugh. He let us know that he was there to capture US, and not to force photos. Again, he was simply fun, creative, energetic, stylish, and wonderful. We loved him, and everyone in our family commented on how much they enjoyed him as well.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfect Wedding Memories
01/23/2011
  • Amanda B

  • Wedding Date: 09/12/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is so hard to choose just one! If I am forced to choose, I would say that my favorite is a photo of my husband and I face-to-face, hand in hand, in the covered bridge. Andrew was able to capture this perfect, natural moment where we looked so happily in love and focused on one another.. Looking back, I hardly remember Andrew even being there when the photo was taken, rather, I was focued on enjoying the moment.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? As I said above, when I think back about the day, there are times where I do not even remember seeing Andrew, and yet I have photos that document each and every moment. Andrew never stopped us and asked us to pose or re-create a moment, rather he expertly positioned himself to capture memories as they happened. Looking through the photos, the images tell a story without words.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received DVD's with all of the images from the day.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Andrew made everyone - family, our bridal party, friends, and guests - feel comfortable. He helped us all stay relaxed and focused on the purpose of the day, and it is reflected in our images how much we enjoyed ourselves. I could not be happier with our wedding photos and will forever be grateful that Andrew was there to capture the memories.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful Photographer
01/23/2011
  • Stephanie M

  • Wedding Date: 03/29/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? the one of the back of my dress with the volcano in the background.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He is a journalistic photographer. He finds the greatest angles based on what you are already doing. He's laid back and extremely creative.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I received an album and the images on DVD.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He makes everyone feel comfortable. You will all be his best friend by the end of the day :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor