Photographers in Somerville, MA: Decisive Moment Photojournalists by Glen Cooper
Decisive Moment Photojournalists by Glen Cooper
18 Laurel Terrace
Somerville, MA 02143
(617) 869-5000

www.dmpj.com



View www.dmpj.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 6 Reviews
Review: Capturing our dreams
10/30/2009
  • Sarah C

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • A classic Boston skyline at night, with us (full profile) kissing under a street light. Breath-taking!
  • The photographers had met with us ahead of time and discussed important portaits for the day. We set aside time for those and the rest of the day and night was full of candids and actions. It was AMAZING to feel the emotions come out of all three types of photos!
  • • All travel expenses within New England (negotiable beyond) • Two photographers for 8 hours of documentary coverage on your wedding day (although I think they stayed until the partying was over!) • Online proofing gallery of all your final edited images (approx. 1300) approximately one month after wedding • Digital Negatives from final unmarked edit for personal use only will be available at one year anniversary date, upon request • 120 Thank-you cards • One 20-page proof album
  • With a wedding day being as crazy busy and quick as it is, DMPJ did an amazing job at getting the desired photos taken quickly. As a bride and groom, you don't think about it until your experiencing it on you day. You have all these ideas of what pictures and moments you want captured, but on when you are in the moment, you don't want to take a ton of time for pictures because you can feel the day slipping away so quickly and you want to keep participating in the fun. DMPJ is VERY aware of that and they also are VERY aware of making sure your pictures are all beautifully taken with excellent detail!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Big Apple Wedding- New York
12/17/2008
  • Sharon

  • Wedding Date: 10/13/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is so hard to pick one favorite picture since all of the pictures are fantastic. But if I had to pick one that stands out I would say it was the one where my husband and I are standing on the grand staircase at the reception hall looking into each others eyes. It is a full length shot and it is dynamic. It looks like a picture in a magazine. Glen truly captured the moment. Everyone who sees that picture remarks how incredible it looks! I think I should send it to Martha Stewart for her Martha Stewart Weddings magazine!The full length shot really displays the details of my dress and my husbands tuxedo and encaptures the elegance and beauty of the reception hall. Another favorite (I could not resist) was a picture of my nephew (the ring bearer) at the church. He is lined up with the groomsmen in the front of the church. They are all looking forward towards the altar. My nephew turns his head and upper body slightly looking toward the side while the others are looking straight ahead. It is a breathtaking picture. The photographers were really on point! It is an amazing candid picture.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The photographers were almost invisible.However, they were everywhere capturing every moment of my day. They made sure that they did not obstruct the view from my guests, nor did they use obtrusive flash photography at the church or the reception hall. They worked well with the other venders especially the videographer. The photographers were great with posed shots as well as candid shots. We spoke before hand on what posed shots we wanted and where we wanted to take them. Our posed shots look natural just like our candid shots. At one point during the reception when my father was making the welcoming toast, I looked up and saw one of the photographers on the balcony taking pictures and capturing the moment from a different angle.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DMPJ operates a full service business. After meeting with Glen and looking at his work, we were confident that our pictures would be great. Glen made the entire process so easy. We viewed all of our pictures on line. We ordered pictures to send out with our thank you cards. The thank you card picture was 4x6. We wanted a picture that was full length as opposed to just a head shot of the bride and groom. We had several pictures to pick from. We ordered 1 B&G album, 2 parent albums, 4 mini albums, 4 – 8x10 prints, 100 – 4x6 prints, 2 - 11x14 prints framed 16x20 and a disk with all the prints. The pictures are amazing! The photographers took close to 800 pictures. The engagement session was included in the price. Glen was very flexible. When we decided not to do an engagement shot (due to my hectic travel schedule) the photographers attended our rehearsal and rehearsal dinner the night before the wedding and took some great candid shots of our family and friends.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? When I started my hunt for the right photographer I knew I wanted a photojournalistic style for my wedding album (with a few posed shots). I remember Glen saying that he was not a wedding photographer but that he took pictures of weddings. That statement to me was profound. From our pictures you can definitely see our unique and fabulous wedding day story. From the first time I met Glen, I knew we could work together. Glen has a great personality. Glen and Nathan were very relaxed and very professional. They spent a considerable amount of time with us the night before the wedding so on the wedding day we were old friends. That level of comfort made posing for pictures easy.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Goodman wedding 6/24/07
12/11/2008
  • sgoodman

  • Wedding Date: 06/24/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 2 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? This is not an easy pick. Glen did a wonderful job of capturing all of the spntonious moments that fill peoples memories. The pictures of the flower girls and those of our families all together stand out.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I have no idea how Glen got some of these shots. My wife and I can very clearly remember the moments but cannot remember seeing the photographer or the cameras or flashes. Quite honestly it was as if they were not there. The quality of photos was eqaul through out, very consistent and very high quality. I have been to or been in many wedding and would recomend DMPJ to everyone.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My wife and I chose to order a large tabletop style album for ourselves and two parent albums. Included was an engagement shoot at a time and site of our choosing and a large print framed for signing from that shoot.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I think Glens professionalism, flexibility and natural personality helped to make everyone comfortable. I found him to be genuine in his interaction with my family and nothing seemed forced or uncomfortable. Our family is large and very diverse however this presented no problems at all for the DMPJ staff. I cannot say enough about Glen's flexibility and customer service before during and since the wedding day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Goodman wedding 6/24/07
12/11/2008
  • sgoodman

  • Wedding Date: 06/24/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 2 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? This is not an easy pick. Glen did a wonderful job of capturing all of the spntonious moments that fill peoples memories. The pictures of the flower girls and those of our families all together stand out.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I have no idea how Glen got some of these shots. My wife and I can very clearly remember the moments but cannot remember seeing the photographer or the cameras or flashes. Quite honestly it was as if they were not there. The quality of photos was eqaul through out, very consistent and very high quality. I have been to or been in many wedding and would recomend DMPJ to everyone.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My wife and I chose to order a large tabletop style album for ourselves and two parent albums. Included was an engagement shoot at a time and site of our choosing and a large print framed for signing from that shoot.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I think Glens professionalism, flexibility and natural personality helped to make everyone comfortable. I found him to be genuine in his interaction with my family and nothing seemed forced or uncomfortable. Our family is large and very diverse however this presented no problems at all for the DMPJ staff. I cannot say enough about Glen's flexibility and customer service before during and since the wedding day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Unique style, stunning results
11/24/2008
  • webnick

  • Wedding Date: 08/30/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? That's a problem. There were some amazing shots of the bride and I, and of the wedding party, of course, but there were also amazing shots of the church, the crowd at the reception, and so on. Glen (and his crew) have an amazing eye for photography.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Once you meet Glen, I think you can tell right away his style is not to be aggressive, demanding, or obtrusive. Instead he seems to let the moment develop on its own. I can't argue with the results! The posed and action shots both came out excellent.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? As a young couple just getting out of grad school, we couldn't afford a mega-package. DMPJ worked with us to get prints in a package we could afford.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I haven't met many friendlier or kinder people than Glen, his wife, and crew. Everyone was comfortable and at ease from the get-go.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: WEDDING AT THE CRANWELL IN LENOX, MASSACHUSETTS
11/24/2008
  • michelled

  • Wedding Date: 11/24/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite picture is where my husband and I are walking towards the mansion on the Cranwell property. The photographers truly captured the moment of love and walking towards our life together.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The photographers understood that I did not want the pictures to take away from the feeling at the ceremony or at the reception. They made sure that they did not obstruct the view from my guests, nor did they use obtrusive flash photography at the reception. I promise that it was like they just popped up everywhere to take the best shots. I even turned around and they were standing on the top of balconies to capture the moments.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? They offer everything from your pictures on a website to parent albums to DVD's of your pictures. We loved how they handed out personalized cards with our photograph from the very night to our guests so they can check out the wedding pictures. At first we only ordered an album, however after seeing the amazing work they did we ordered parent albums as well.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were amazing!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor