Photographers in Kalamazoo, MI: Allen's Photography
Allen's Photography
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 491-0068

http://www.allensphotography.net



View http://www.allensphotography.net in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 13 Reviews
Review: Our wedding on August 20, 2011
12/27/2011
  • Katie M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • My favorite wedding photo was one of the photos that we took during the reception. Our reception was in downtown Kalamazoo, so we left our reception for a little bit to take more pictures. This photo is of my husband holding me while we kiss. The angle that it is taken adds more creativity to the photo.
  • Allen was great! He was open to doing anything that we suggested, but also had many, many great ideas himself. He was very energetic and in good spirits the entire time. He was able to get great photos at of ceremony at the church without being noticed. He came early to the church to see how he could do so and plan. We also spoke before the wedding day so he could ask any questions about the day to start planning. He also got amazing pictures at our reception, but I hardly even noticed where he was! He had so many creative ideas for photos and we have gotten a ton of compliments!!
  • We got our engagement pictures done with Allen as well. For both our engagement pictures and wedding pictures we chose the DVD's.
  • Allen made our us and our families feel comfortable by being very friendly and accomodating. He was willing to spend as much time with us taking the pictures that we wanted as we needed to. His energy and good mood helped keep everyone less stressed when it came time to take the pictures. He has a good sense of humor as well which helped throughout the day!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: An Amazing Experience
10/13/2011
  • Krista J

  • Wedding Date: 08/06/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The photos taken at the train station are among some of our favorites...
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Allen and Kat were absolutely amazing and we couldn't have asked for a better team. From maintaining a complete calm throughout the wedding day, to arranging an unforgettable first meeting (Bride and Groom portraits), to capturing the day in fresh, unique portraits--both candid and posed--all the time only enhancing the day with their presence. I don't know how they captured the majority of the pictures during the wedding--we never saw them during the ceremony--but the pictures are absolutely incredible!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose a package that included a DVD and two photographers. Allen was ever professional: returning correspondences quickly, and helping us to develop a package that fit our budget and style.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We all ADORE Allen and Kat. Kat was game for anything--running and holding my train as we jogged through downtown Kalamazoo to avoid the pending rain, and helping us when I forgot the instructions on how to cut the cake (oops!); Allen was forever calm and directive and entertaining--climbing on railings to get the perfect shot, laughing with us, and even acting as our chauffeur when it started to rain. He captured moments that will forever remind me of the most charming, hilarious, and sweetest parts of our wedding. What an amazing gift we received in our photographers.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We LOVED our photos taken by Allen!
10/05/2010
  • Amy H

  • Wedding Date: 08/20/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It's hard to choose just one! My favorite would have to be all of the ones I didn't know he was taking, or the ones of all of the kids! We had 8 kids in our wedding and he did a great job with all of them!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? You didn't even know he was around or that he was taking pictures. Some of the pictures we got back, I still don't know how he got because I never saw him. My family really liked him as well because he was very professional and wasn't in the way at all!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I got an album and it looks AMAZING! He also had 2 photographers, which was nice when my husband and I both were getting ready.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was easygoing and professional all at the same time. He wasn't pushy or demanding. He left everything up to me (the bride :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Location, Great Photos
08/14/2010
  • Brian W

  • Wedding Date: 05/15/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We had a few favorite photos. One was of us on the beach walking away from Allen with the Grand Haven Lighthouse in the distance. It is a great photo. Our other favorite was totally candid and we didn't even realized Allen was taking pictures. It was taken as we were climbing over some large rocks to get to the Pier and I lifted my wife off the rocks and he captured the moment. It really is a cool photo.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Allen was not disruptive at all, He always had a plan and a back up plan. He actually seemed to help keep us on schedule and on track with things as the day went on. See the above comment about our favorite photo, one was a candid.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose a simple package. Allen's package structure is very nice, it allows for almost a la cart choices. We chose to have a second photographer which turned out to be a great decision and we also go a DVD with all of our photos included.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Al and his assistant were both very personable. Allen always stays calm and has a sense of humor. Which turned out to be a blessing as we always had genuine smiles because we were really laughing. Allen is a great photographer with a great eye for capturing memories and moments.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Meg and Nate's wedding
12/26/2009
  • Meghan D

  • Wedding Date: 12/05/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Allen had us stand in front of this old building with this blue/green door, the color behind us with my white dress was so pretty. And one of our wedding party pictures was great, he had the guys and girls stand with who they walked down with and then they were scattered around the alter, some were sitting some were standing and then we were standing in the middle. I loved it because it wasn't your usual group photo with everyone just standing around the bride and groom.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Allen was great at keeping everything going. Things moved right along but he still got all the great shots you would want. So many were done throughout the ceremony and then all the group shots went great.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included an engagement session, Allen and an assistant were there beyond what they were suppose to be making sure they got all the important shots at the reception witch was awsome of them, and then we had all the rights to the photos after. He gave us a photo cd with tons and tons of pictures and everything was uploaded to a photo website for our family and friends to order from, taking the pressure off me to put in an order to the photographer for pictures they wanted.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Allen and his assistant were great they made our family and friends comfortable by keeping everything moving so the grandparents and parents could go and get to the reception, no one was rushed. They didn't make anyone do any crazy shots because our group were pretty simple people so they kept everything simple but fun. Thank you Allen for making our day go so perfect.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Downtown Kzoo Wedding
09/24/2009
  • Katie W

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The action photos of us walking across the street (Abby Road)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He got candid shots of us that turned out so great. It was like we were posing for them. Also, Alan was so wonderful to be around. I thought we would be wanting to get the pictures over with after the wedding so that we could get to the reception but Alan was very pleasant and interesting to talk to. We really enjoyed that time with him.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had two photographers. One took pics in the church in the rafters. They were awesome. We got an album with 200 pics and a DVD that we can print pics from.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was a normal guy. Nothing strange or off-putting about him. We would refer him to ANYBODY!!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Alley/Warner Wedding
09/20/2009
  • Connie A

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many wonderful ones to choose from. I think the photo of the bride and groom at the Kalamazoo train station was lovely.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The photographer, Allen, made traditional staged shots and artistic candid shots throughout the day a breeze. Everything went smoothly and was well planned.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received a DVD which included all the photos taken during the day, as well as an album of 200 selected photos. Allen had an assistant with him to be sure there were different angles of the ceremony.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Allen and his assistant were friendly, open to all suggestions, and very inventive with his format.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Allen's Photography ~ Kristy & Chad
12/08/2008
  • Kristy22832

  • Wedding Date: 09/06/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? That's a hard one, there were so many good pictures that I have several favorites. Which is unheard of because my husband hates to smile for pictures, Allen for sure got him to smile with no problem!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I really don't recall ever realizing that he was there except for the posed pictures. I was so happy to see the posed pictures were absolutely perfect, and was shocked to see how awesome all the action shots were and that he really captured our personalities. We have some truely priceless pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We an engagement session that he came out to our farm to take pictures (nearly an hour from his studio). Those too were so hard to choose from. We changed clothes a few times and tracked all over the farm from the barn to the fields to get some very creative shots. My clients and everyone who see our engagement pictures always ask where we had them done, I tell them at home on the farm with our awesome photographer! Allen was with us for a good portion of our wedding day from before the ceremony through most of the reception. And was able to capture so many fabulous moments! I kept saying while looking at the proofs, "oh cool, he got a picture of that!" We were very pleased and I let everyone know who my photographer is and that we will for sure be using him in the very near future as our family grows!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Allen is very easy going and doesn't act pressed for time even when that's the case. He's good at making everyone at ease and making them laugh! Like I said my husband does not smile for pictures and Allen got him to smile for all the posed ones and got him smiling for many more action shots. I was highly impressed with that alone.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Photographer!
12/04/2008
  • Tracie

  • Wedding Date: 04/14/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? How can I pick just one? We really liked the outdoor shots of just the two of us. We were so excited to see the black and white photos that were included in our album.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Allen was great at blending into what was happening during the ceremony and reception. He has a great eye for candid shots. For the posed photos Allen made us feel comfortable and he had creative ideas to get some nontraditional photos that were all about having fun.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Several packages were available and each one included all the photos on a DVD. That was one feature that was important to us. We wanted the ability to get prints made where and when we wanted. It was perfect. Our package also included a photo album and we were so happy with the shots that Allen chose to include. Allen did take our engagement pictures. I believe all of the packages include an engagement session.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Allen is very down to earth. He spent time talking with us and the wedding party and our families. He had a great rapport with everyone and treated us like friends. We never felt rushed, and before we knew it the posed photos were done.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Jennifer Ross
12/03/2008
  • Jenniross052408

  • Wedding Date: 05/24/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite picture?!?!? Where do I start?! We got married in Holland Michigan and the tulips were still out, so we went to a local park and had our pictures taken there. I think my favorite is one that Alan got of me getting out of the car and the other was of me sitting on my husbands knee in a park bench...sounds so simple, but the way he captured it was why I love it!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Alan just has a way about him...Its almost like your friend is taking your pictures. I actually caught him climbing and wedging himself between a table and a bar at our reception to catch a moment and had I not turned around I would have never noticed he was there. He didn't disrupt us at all....
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I ordered the biggest package...Alan was actually a blessing to me. My parents had met my then boyfriend, and we knew we wanted to get married but my dad didn't want to start putting deposits on anything until I got my ring and my mom thought I was crazy for starting to book venues and stuff a year ahead of time. I found Alan on the internet, had never met him before. I e-mailed him, explained that I lived in Florida and my situation. I told him the day that we would like to get married. He held that day for us for a couple of months, just so we could use him as a photographer. Alan was beyond accomodating. But ta answer the question, we received an engagement session, I think it was either 6 or 8 hours with him, a digital CD with all of our pictures on it, a release for the pictures, an album with about 170 pictures in it, 20 8x10's and I feel like I'm missing something. We paid $2000 and it was worth every cent. I look at my wedding pictures almost every day.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Like I said earlier, having pictures taken w/ Alan is like having your good friend take the pictures. He's very personable, but very professional. He likes to joke around and have fun but when comes down to business he's professional. I really enjoyed having Alan take our pictures. He did both my engagement pictures and wedding pictures, and if I can find something else to have him take pictures for, he will be the first person I call!!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor