Photographers in Kalamazoo, MI: Matt Thomas Photography
Matt Thomas Photography
1803 Brentwood
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 290-3930


Kalamazoo Photographers: Matt Thomas Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 4.7
  • Unobtrusive : 4.9
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 17 Reviews
Review: We Loved Working with Matt!!
01/16/2011
  • Marisa T

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • One of my favorite shots is a moment between my husband and I that I didn't even know he was taking, it was a great representation of our personalities in one picture and I LOVE it!
  • Matt was never a disruption. He was always available if we needed him, but at times it was like he was not even there, as he took action shots. Matt was up for ANYTHING! We were even able to sneak out for a bit during the reception to take some off-site pictures. He did a great job of giving us a mix of traditional and modern or photo-journalistic styles.
  • I wish we would have had Matt take engagement pictures, however, we were both living out of state and the timing did not work for us. We ended up going with a simple package and just got a DVD of all our pictures. It came in a very timely manner, and we are able to print our pictures as we need them.
  • I never felt uncomfortable around Matt. He was very easy going, but also made sure we got all the photos and styles of photos we asked for. I really wanted to get large group family shots and he was able to do it quick and efficient in an organized manner.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Photographer!
11/24/2010
  • Melissa V

  • Wedding Date: 10/16/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have a few!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He did a great job with portraits and the special outside ones we wanted.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVD, Photographer and assistant, Album, 7 hours of service
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He didn't have to try I don't think, he just did. Everybody loved him

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Danielle Behr and Derek Adams Wedding Reception
11/05/2010
  • Nancy B

  • Wedding Date: 07/24/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The newlyweds with their pug on the back porch of our home. The pictures of the two out in the gardens were also beautiful. We actually loved all of the family photos that were taken out in the gardens. I should also say we loved the dancing photos of the family.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He showed up early to our home to take pictures and those pictures turned out beautifully. He was also very patient as the bride and groom were late. Once at the reception site, he did a great job taking candid pictures without being disruptive. He seemed to focus on getting shots of all our guests and every area of the reception. He also made sure to get enough family and couple portraits but didn't hold the family outside longer than necessary.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I believe we just had the basic package for the reception.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He spoke with us far before the event and made sure to continue checking in with us during the event. He was very polite and willing to adapt to our requests. He also made us feel comfortable with the way he was working. We knew that we would have plenty of great shots since he was working so hard and did a great job capturing all of the important and fun parts of the evening.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We love Matt's photography!!
10/20/2010
  • Vaneet S

  • Wedding Date: 06/20/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are many pictures of the two of us and some with our families that we absolutely loved. The ones I love best are immediately following the wedding where both of us are turned to look at each other done in vintage effect, and the ones with us at the lake around sunset time..
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We had an Indian traditional wedding ceremony. He did a great job not disrupting us at all while still taking beautiful shots at the right moments though it was his first time capturing a hindu ceremony. He was great with candids and action shots!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVD, two photographers, album, and a copyright release..apart from a lot of sincerity and good work.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The photographer agreed to meet me couple times to go over the Hindu rituals and discuss exactly what I wanted. He did a great job putting in effects like I asked him, to make some of the duller pictures better, and to enhance some of the other traditions in the pictures. He was very good with customer service, communication, and with his schedule flexibility. The photographer and his wife were nice and very sincere..He was warm to my other family members. I would highly recommend Matt for wedding photo coverage.

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Very Happy!
10/17/2010
  • Kelli W

  • Wedding Date: 09/25/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Loved all of them, hard to chose one favorite.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Matt was great to have around very personable and fun. The candids were perfect he captured moments that we were not even aware of!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVD, photo album and release.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He just did.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Pentwater Beach Wedding
10/12/2010
  • Melissa W

  • Wedding Date: 08/07/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Way too many favorites to pick just one. Matt did a great job! My wedding album turned out exactly the way that I wanted it!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Everything was amazing!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Album, a disk of all of the pictures taken.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Matt was great, very easy going and easy to get along with.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Kalamazoo Wedding
09/10/2009
  • Jessica W

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our wedding party jumping shot... and the garter toss where my uncle is running away from the garter
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Matt got some great candid shots. during the actual ceremony he got some awesome pictures from the baloney and downstairs. He must have been running up and down those stairs and i didn't know he was ever upstairs. They look awesome
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had the wedding photo package, a wedding album and a dvd of all our photos.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was able to organize mine and my husbands families and get great pictures through all the chaos. He also got a great picture of my husband and our groomsmen where my brother doesn't look 2 feet taller than the rest of the guys (and he is THAT much taller).

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great pictures with out breaking the bank!!!!
08/21/2009
  • 1250879629

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I had a few of them but the one that satand out was one on my husband and I smooching in our limo.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? How... I have no idea?? When I recieved the pictures back I was amazed because I didn't remember having them snapped at all. All of our pictures were great!! The onlt thing I wish I had more of were creative shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had all of the above. Engagment pictures, DVD's of all pictures with copy release, a beautiful album and Matts wife was there for helping out.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He and his wife were great!!! I would recommend Matt any time!!!

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Very accommodating!
08/21/2009
  • 1250870744

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite wedding photo was the candid he shot of my now in-laws both smiling and looking at us during the ceremony. It just about brought me to tears. You could feel the love in their eyes.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Great with candids! He stayed out of the way and captured all of the shots (and more) from the list I made him. He has some creative ideas about posed shots, and works with the surroundings.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My wedding/reception was short and sweet and in the middle of winter. I got him shooting the whole thing, and the photos with rights to print them on a disk. Great value!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Yes! As a matter of fact, my brother is using him for his senior portraits! My whole family was very pleased.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: June 13 Wedding Review
08/14/2009
  • kindsey f

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I love the picture where my bouquet is zoomed in on the ground and we are in the backround by a a beautiful old tree. we love nature so its perfect for us.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He really captured every moment. Our videographer did not show to our wedding, but the pictures our photographer Matt took during the ceremony made up for everything. Looking back at them reminded me of every great moment and really took us thru the ceremony. I love that he captured my husband's face when he saw me for the first time. i get to relive that moment thru our pictures!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? enagagement pictures, photos online, CD, photo album
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was very sweet and laid back and if we wanted a certain picture taken he would definitley take it. You could tell he enjoys what he does. Beautiful pictures!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor