Photographers in Kalamazoo, MI: Matt Thomas Photography
Matt Thomas Photography
1803 Brentwood
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 290-3930


Kalamazoo Photographers: Matt Thomas Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 4.7
  • Unobtrusive : 4.9
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 17 Reviews
Review: Troman/Egmer Wedding
01/25/2009
  • cegmer98

  • Wedding Date: 09/13/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • My personal favorite is one in which he placed us on a bridge and it looks as if we were just cropped into the nature background.
  • Matt did a wonderful job especially under the circumstances...we had an outdoor wedding the weekend in which we had all that rain...the grounds were very wet but from our pictures you would never know it had rained.
  • We ordered the package which included the wedding album and cd. Matt did an amazing job on our album and we received compliments from everyone who has viewed it.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Super!
10/13/2008
  • ksalmond

  • Wedding Date: 09/20/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Lots to choose from!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I frankly don't know how Matt got the pictures without being disruptive. Half the time, I didn't realize he was taking shots! Matt took excellent posed and action shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Matt offers several types of packages. I chose one that included an album, website access, and a dvd. I did not opt for an engagement session.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Matt made all of us feel completely comfortable. His relaxed demeanor and friendly attitude were really welcoming.

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Very Pleased!!
10/06/2008
  • Julie J

  • Wedding Date: 05/10/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? So many great pictures that it is hard to pick a favorite! We love the candids the most but the formals were perfect.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Barely knew Matt was there until the formals and then we were glad to have him! Very good at keeping schedule even with our crazy family and bridal party.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Matt offered pretty much anything that would be needed. We purchased a package that included a engagement session and a beautiful wedding album with prints.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Matt fit in as if part of the family. Very considerate made us all laugh without being to overbearing. We are very happy to have had Matt Thomas photograph our wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Betsy and Brandon Black
10/05/2008
  • betsy

  • Wedding Date: 08/31/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite picture is one of us kissing. It's in black and white with that pond and fountain behind us, I swear everyone in our family has it framed somewhere in their house.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I didn't even know he was their, besides the formal shots he was like a mouse!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The packages offered were great! Fair prices and a ton of options. We didn't need engagement pictures so he was happy to adjust the package we picked to suit our needs.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He made us laugh during most of the shots. He kept things organized and didn't make the pictures seem unbearable. He took many fun and candid shots. Overall he did a great job of capturing all of the special and unique moments of our day.

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 4.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great pictures for a great price!
10/04/2008
  • adricita

  • Wedding Date: 07/07/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I LOVED my flowers! So my favorite picture is a black and white shot of my husband and me kissing with our wedding party in the background (guys on one side, girls on the other). I'm holding my flowers in the center, and THEY are in full color. We have it framed in the living room, and have gotten tons of compliments from visitors!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Matt was very unobtrusive, but we still wound up with great shots! I'm not sure what his secret was (I had a few other things on my mind during the actual wedding & reception), but I can say he blended in very well and did not block anyone's view of the ceremony. At the reception, he had a knack of blending into the background, and showing up just at the right moment to get a great candid.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We were on a budget, so we wound up getting all of our pictures on a CD along with the rights to print them as desired, and then we and other family members have printed the ones we wanted when we wanted them. It has been very convenient, and not a lot of photographers would sell the rights to print the pictures yourself for such a reasonable price!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Matt was great! He joked around and made people feel comfortable, but without being cheesy or annoying.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: July 28, 2007
10/02/2008
  • habatrick

  • Wedding Date: 07/28/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorites are always candids which only happen when the photographer is unobtrusive. Matt caught my new husband and I looking at each other in a way you can't usually see for yourself. I truly treasure that one.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I don't know if it was that I was naturally focused elsewhere but I literally had no idea he (Matt) was even there. Again, I always love candid shots better as I hate having my picture taken. However, Matt was quick with the posed pics which I absolutely loved.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I simply ordered the photos, not in any album or book as I wanted to put them together myself. They came on two CDs in a leather case with our new name on it. I thought that was a nice touch. Honestly, I don't remember if he offered an engagement session as I was not interested in one.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I just loved that he did it quickly. He didn't make us stand there forever taking picture after picture.

Overall Rating: 4.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 4.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 4.0
  • Value : 4.0

write a review
Review: Fantastic, professional and personal
10/02/2008
  • kmabellw

  • Wedding Date: 06/21/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? "The Kiss" - this one is one of my favorites because I didn't even know he was there taking the picture! It captured the most important moment in my life without taking away the sanctity/privacy of the moment.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Wow - I couldn't be happier with Matt's work! He was kind, helpful, creative and very unobtrusive. In fact, many of us were surprised at the shots he was able to obtain because we didn't realize he was in position to get such great photos. The results were exactly what we wanted - a good mix of creative and traditional.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Matt did offer an engagement session which we had to decline as I lived states away, but he compensated by offering some alternative package options. We definitely got value for our money! I haven't ordered prints yet, but Matt sent an album of 4x6 prints which turned out beautifully.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Matt stuck to a list of shots we requested for the traditional shots which we appreciated and was able to round up my scattered family/friends easily for the pictures - it was wonderful!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor