Photographers in Grand Marais, MN: Stephan Hoglund Photography Boreal Light Imagery
Stephan Hoglund Photography Boreal Light Imagery
box 850 107 west wisconsin
Grand Marais, MN 55604
(218) 387-1752

Stephan Hoglund Photography



View Stephan Hoglund Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 9 Reviews
Review: Stephan Hoglund Photography
05/28/2014
  • kellid

  • Wedding Date: 10/25/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There are many fantastic photos! It's hard to pick just one! There is a photo of us on the bench swing holding a sign that is one of my favorites.
  • We hardly knew Stephan was there. He captured beautiful posed and candid shots that we will cherish. Action shots were great too.
  • Stephan traveled from Grand Marias to Cottage Grove to shoot our wedding and reception. We have not chosen our package yet.
  • He made us feel very comfortable and he was professional, and fun to work with! Very creative eye!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Unforgettable in So Many Ways
01/22/2013
  • Meg C

  • Wedding Date: 10/27/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I would be remiss in choosing a single favorite photo. Stephan captured the most beautiful rays of light shining down upon us as we looked out on Lake Superior from the rocks of Artists' Point and then as we traipsed through the woods back to our guests at the reception.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our ceremony was short and informal, so most of our wedding shots were "candids." Our focus was never broken from the heartfelt joy of the occasion. After the vows, my husband and I got to spend a joy-filled hour climbing around on the rocks of Artists' Point while Stephan clicked away. It was just plain fun.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Stephan made us a phenomenal deal by giving us one price for many hours of photography, hosting our reception at his gallery and amazing courtyard, four nights' lodging in the Artists' Loft, AND two hearty entrees for out 70+ guests. In retrospect, I cannot believe we got so much for our money. AND he was a total gem to work with.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Was it just luck that our photographer dressed as Steve Zissou from our favorite director Wes Anderson's "Life Aquatic"? It helped that our wedding was on the evening of the Grand Marais Halloween party, but I couldn't have imagined a more fun companion for our photo session than a Bill Murray look-alike. Stephan is Mr. Casual. This may not translate well via e-mail communications with him, but do not fear; when it comes to delivering on his promises he is the utmost professional. I cannot recommend strongly enough. We not only love our photos, we gained a friend.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: I <3 our photos!!
06/30/2011
  • Christina F

  • Wedding Date: 06/25/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Sooo hard to pick a favorite - I think the ones where we are in the grass smooching after the wedding if I had to pick just one (or two). The lighting on the grass is a beautiful backdrop & our photographer, Stephan, pointed us directly to it - they are georgeous! Also he has one of me in my dress at the Moguls Tap Room when our wedding party went for a quick one before the gondola ride up to the Summit Chalet - I look so much prettier than I though I could! Plus, it is a natural setting & a beautiful job displaying the dress in the photos. Please check out my gallery on his site if you don't believe me it's the - TJ & Christina at Lutsen Mountain Chalet - gallery at stephanhoglundphotography.com there's also some on his facebook site to check out - We never looked so fancy! :)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was so hardworking, but so quiet and out of the way that you didn't even notice - our family & friends said he did a good job staying out of the view during the ceremony. Our posed shots were great, we look very natural and in love, the feeling you get from the shots is just how I imagine my relationship to be...sappy but true! It's not the same old point and smile idea, my husband and I just talked and looked at each other for a bit in different spots - an intimate way to spend the day and made for great pictures. A bunch of the candids look wonderful catching us when we thought we were just goofing off with the rest of the wedding party - the personality of us shines through!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Not sure of the details of the package without looking, but I remember having 8 hours because we really wanted him to capture a lot of different scenery/backgrounds along the North Shore (MN, Lake Superior) & Stephan did just that. He really knew the Minnesota North Shore area well, a great reason to hire someone like him who will check out the area for you before your day to find the best backgrounds! We have a waterfall background from Cascade State Park, Lake Superior, and beautiful Mountain Views from the Summit Chalet in Lutsen and a bunch more...he was wonderful to hang out with all day - not minding to spend some downtime snapping shots of our wedding party having a drink at the local bar beforehand, which helped me relax (ha ha, c'mon, I only had ONE!) and it helped me realize that this was just the beginning of good times for a lifetime to come. Stephan has an easy personality so we could be ourselves around him, it was a great experience! There are a lot of different packages available on his website & I can't imagine he wouldn't work with you to create exactly what you might desire. I found his prices comparative to other equally reputable photographers. His prints are very very nice compared to anything you would have done yourself/done at kinkos type facilities and I feel like it is worth it, completely worth it. You're only getting married once - hopefully, right ;), I said I would skip the fancy flower centerpieces & put that budget toward irreplaceable memories - I am so glad we did, and my non-flower centerpieces also looked beautiful, the best of both worlds.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? What a great personaity Stephan has - very easy going and adaptable to random suggestions we might make. Wherever we went he found an opportunity to take some beautiful images, like when we went to our best man's hotel room to use the bathroom & grab the microphone he had me and my best lady out on the balcony posing for shots & then caught us goofing off as we were waiting around. Whatever we told him was important to us to capture he did so without reminding, and he was really easy to pose our family with for portraits - letting us pick who posed with who rather than just directing us into "the norm" family shots. I haven't heard one thing even romotely negative about our photographer & have only heard, "WOW" and "Beautiful!", etc. from anyone I shared the gallery link to - which he had up for us within a couple days of the wedding - awesome to be able to share with co-workers and friends who couldn't make the 4 hour drive to see it in person! Just an all around caring nice guy.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Chuck & Jena Forsberg Wedding
04/02/2010
  • Chuck F

  • Wedding Date: 09/12/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? All of them...way too many to choose from!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Stephan just let us do. We did...and he captured the moment. He is an Artist that is just able to find the light and make you look like a million bucks.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? A hard drive full of photos...Two full days of shooting!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He made us comfortable by being professional and taking pictures like a pro. You feel completely comfortable when you have the "Babe Ruth" of photographers at the plate batting for you, and you're not surprised when he hits one out of the park for you.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amy and Dave's Sled Dog Wedding
03/27/2010
  • Amy F

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are a few . . . the kiss at the ceremony-- but you can't see anyone else--just dogsleds in the background, posing with the birch posts on the ice, climbing the hill. We had an outdoor wedding and I feel like Stephan thrived at capturing the atmosphere-- the woods, the sled dogs, us.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He chatted with us ahead of time, reassured us that it was our day. He said that he would have suggestions, but if we weren't into any of them, we certainly wouldn't have to do them. I also liked that we didn't do a ton of posed shots. He was amazing at capturing the moment, great candids, action shots, and amazing portraits!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We talked about it and decided to just get the digital images. We do plan to order a few prints later. That is super handy for our lifestyle. He did bring a second photographer, who got some great shots too.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was very easygoing and unobtrusive. He was good at picking times to pull us away for a few posed shots-- same with the posed family shots.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fall Wedding along North Shores
11/29/2009
  • christina s

  • Wedding Date: 11/29/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite wedding picture was all of them but if I had to choose one I would pick holding the umbrella's. My husband thinks the best pictures are of us kissing.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He didn't disrupt anything, he was very respectful even if some of my relatives who were kinda rude (and drunk at noon). He kept his composure very well.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I choose not to do pictures through the photography because I couldn't afford to the prices were a bit too much for us. We downloaded our pictures and made our own c.d. and printed off our photos at Proex in minneapolis, MN
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He made it very quick to do family photo's esp. because it was raining outside and our grand parents were freezing. I really enjoyed the quick family pictures.

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 4.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.0

write a review
Review: Creative and knowledgable
11/26/2009
  • Beth F

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are many! Of the two of us with the Hjordis in the background. Arial with my bridesmades...
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Even though he got right in there to get awesome shots we didn't even know he was there...it was amazing. We've got some awesome candid shots of ourselves and our guests. He really brought in the "feel" of the day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? He put together a DVD with original shots and "tweaked" shots as well. Very nice!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We were totally at ease with Stephan. He went beyond the call of duty and that was great. The experience was just what we expected. Thank you Stephan!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Stephan Hoglund Photography
11/22/2009
  • Barbara Jean J

  • Wedding Date: 11/22/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? A picture of us leaving the ceremony in a big green truck
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He's good with people and not afraid to take photos. That combo helps him get great shots without making anyone uncomfortable.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? He was willing to do whatever we asked.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was very friendly and considerate.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: He was FANTASTIC!
11/17/2009
  • Dawn D

  • Wedding Date: 11/17/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? All the ones of me and my Groom together. Also great candids!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He melted right in with the guests. We didn't even know that he was there!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We felt like he was a part of the family.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review