Photographers in Maplewood, MN: John Sharpe Photography
John Sharpe Photography
1860 MCMENEMY ST - #J
Maplewood, MN 55117
(612) 432-6473

John Sharpe Photography



View John Sharpe Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 17 Reviews
Review: We loved John Sharpe Photography!
07/16/2014
  • kbauck

  • Wedding Date: 12/14/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How do we choose? We loved our first look pictures - John was able to capture the tenderness of the moment, and I honestly didn't even know he was there.
  • John is very well organized and spent time creating and going over a schedule with us well before the wedding. He was wonderful at keeping everything on time, or adjusting if things went a little long or finished early.
  • John's photography package is a la carte - we were able to start with a certain amount of hours for the day of and then add from there. I believe a CD and ownership rights of the pictures is always included - we chose to add an engagement session and a beautiful album.
  • John is great at putting people at ease. I'm very glad we did engagement pictures as it gave me a preview of what the wedding day would feel like and made me more comfortable in front of the camera. John is warm and funny and gets along with everyone!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Mr & Mrs Aitkin
07/16/2013
  • AshleyHDesigns

  • Wedding Date: 06/01/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our first look photo's were my favorite! He did a great job focusing on those and made sure it capture it just right!! :)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was great with everything! He got everyone's attention when needed but for the candid's and during the ceremony I hardly even know he was there!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had John & his assistant for 9 hours the day of. We had an initial meeting, and 2 planning phone sessions. He was very organized. Received multiple e-mails with great information's keeping me up to date on how the process on his end was going. We received a surprise gift from John when we got back from our Honeymoon and a disk with all of the proofs. Loved all the little touches he had along the way as well!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? John Sharpe is an amazing photographer! He absolutely made my wedding day come to life in the pictures! We had such a great time with him and I didn’t have to worry about a thing. I was confident he would capture the day and he definitely delivered. I would highly recommend him to capture your wedding memories!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Unique and Astonishing Photos by John Sharpe
02/09/2013
  • Elizabeth E

  • Wedding Date: 08/26/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are too many to choose from! Probably the one where we are laughing at each other during our first dance.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? John was incredibly friendly, professional, and calm, even when things were running behind on our pre-made schedule. John was able to capture the most grandiose moments of our wedding, but more impressively, he was able to capture those subtle and fleeting details that you end up missing or forgetting about because the day goes by so fast.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We purchased the package that had 6 hours of photography. A few weeks after the wedding, we were sent a CD with hundreds of photos, a link to his blog which posted some of the best from the wedding, and a link to purchase photos from an online gallery.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? John is very friendly and easygoing. He knows how to get groups of people together when time is pressing, and he never looses his cool! My grandfather kept getting in the way of John because he wanted to take pictures with his own camera, and John was so patient with him - he joked around with him and included him in some unique shots with me. My grandpa loves those photos he took of the two of us.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Absolutely STUNNING photos!!
02/01/2013
  • Chris S

  • Wedding Date: 11/01/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One of our favourites was a candid which John took of some of the kids around the ceremony.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? John was great, just took lots of photos, some posed others normal action shot. If a picture was not what he was looking for he would take it again and not be afraid to admit it. It was fantastic
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got a beautiful wrapped box which included a nice keepsake tin with our dvd with all the pictures and information on it. Loved it!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Everyone loved him. He was pleasant, funny and conducted himself professionally at all times. I would hire him again in an instant.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: AMAZING PHOTOS!
01/24/2013
  • Kaitlin O

  • Wedding Date: 12/31/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? My husband and I LOVE our wedding pictures by John Sharpe. We got married in December, so I was a little bit worried about the lighting, since the sun would set by 4:30 p.m. However, all my fears vanished when we selected John as our photographer. He is an EXPERT in lighting. Even thought it was freezing outside, John was brave enough to venture outside with us to snap some pictures. Our church photos are absolutely gorgeous as well. Despite the lack of natural light in the church, John was able to create soft, beautiful light for our pictures. We will cherish them forever! Additionally, he was so easy to work with. My husband and I appreciated that he provided us with some guidance on how to pose in the pictures. For example, he would gently direct us to put our hand on our hip, move forward, etc. These suggestions were so helpful, because our pictures look beautiful and so natural! We are so impressed with his services and would HIGHLY recommend him to our friends, family and any bride getting married!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing photographer!
11/02/2012
  • Meghan D

  • Wedding Date: 08/25/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? So many to choose from... I think all the photos John took on the driveway leading up to our venue. We have beautiful shots of the whole wedding party and just my husband and me.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? John was incredibly flexible when some rain forced us to reshuffle our family portrait schedule. We have so many photos from our ceremony and reception that seem like he must have been close to us when he took them, but we honestly don't remember him being there! He was able to capture so much without being "in the way" at all.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We have digital files of all our photos (engagement and wedding) on a DVD. John brought an assistant with him on our wedding day.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? John is easygoing and fun to work with. He showed us a few photos on his camera throughout the day to help us get a feel for what he was capturing, which helped us be confident that he was getting great pictures!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best photos ever!
07/27/2012
  • Kiley K

  • Wedding Date: 03/17/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The veil ones :)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? John is so fun, you want him with you one your big day! He is the master of Candids, and capturing love from all the guests, family and especially the B&G
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Engagement session, guest book, 3 high quality leather albums for us and both sets of parents, and a CD of all our shots.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Can't really say, John is just good at that! John Sharpe Photography is one of the most artistic and amazing talents I have seen in awhile. Not only did my husband and I get to spend our wedding day with him, we have AMAZING photos and an album that would make anyone drool! John is classy, refined and fun all rolled into one. I plan on using him for all my future photo plans. Not only do I look at our wedding photos daily I utterly stalk his blog daily to see his talent develop. You will not be disappointed. All our love John!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: The Best Photographer to Use
05/18/2012
  • Dara W

  • Wedding Date: 10/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I cannot choose a favorite! They were all amazing.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? John Sharpe was extremely friendly and knew how to organize large groups of people without appearing bossy or domineering.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My wedding package included a very beautiful album made of leather (although he offered me many different options from which to choose) with thick, good-quality pages with the perfect amount of pictures on each page.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We are thrilled with our photographs from our wedding, thanks in full to John Sharpe Photography. He was extremely professional and showed nothing but respect to us and our guests. He arrived early, worked nonstop throughout the day, and left after we left. His pictures are perfect; the extreme attention to detail and his amazing ability to translate his ideas into photographs made my day perfect. The wedding album he created for us is gorgeous. We LOVE John Sharpe Photography and would recommend him to anyone and everyone who needs a talented, professional, and artistic photographer for any event!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great experience
02/24/2012
  • Dana S

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? At the very end, we took a few pictures on a grassy mall just as the sun was starting to go down. The setting is beautiful, the light is beautiful, and our expressions show just how happy we were. It really captured the feeling of the day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our ceremony was in a tiny chapel, so I was surprised just how much I DIDN'T notice John getting all of the great shots he did. I love the candid moments he caught between family members, and the portraits look very natural but show us at our best.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was very patient and respectful with our family members, which we appreciated a lot. He learned their names and gave us guidance but was never demanding or bossy, and even got some laughs out of everyone. Very easy to work with!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: An Amazing Photographer
11/09/2011
  • Renee R

  • Wedding Date: 06/24/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite photo was when John decided that we should get some sunset photos. With my husband behind me and the sun behind us, all the photos are breathtaking!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He does a fantastic job of finding situations and poses that not only look natural, and bring out the best in the couple, but are also unique and fun. He is so easy to work with and can make any couple feel comfortable during their session.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? John is an absolutely amazing photographer! He did our engagement photos and wedding photos and we were so pleased with them! We also got a cd with all our photos and we ordered a guest book and wedding album as well. He usually brings an assistant with him, but with or without help, everything John does, he does to 110%! We never cease to get comment after comment on all the pictures that John has done for us. Not only that, but John is continually improving his work and adding new and exciting things to his photography packages so every customer gets more for their money than they would ever imagine.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Everyone we talk to wants to know “Who is your photographer?!” I recommend John to anyone and everyone that needs an amazing photographer, breathtaking photos, and artistic, professional results. We loved everything John did for us and I can’t wait to find a reason to book him again!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review