Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography
Minneapolis, MN 55404
(612) 791-9986

Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography



View Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 20 Reviews
Review: Thanks Jen!
04/19/2011
  • Alison n

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • It's impossible to pick just one. There were so many great ones!
  • Jennifer fit right into our wedding day. She was helpful and fun to have around. We got plenty of candids and action shots, but were also able to get in all the portraits we needed. She gave us just the right mix of traditional and artistic.
  • The thing that really sold us was the album; it is top quality and well worth her reasonable prices. We got a DVD with all the pictures which is really helpful. She also did a beautiful engagement session with us and we ordered a book to use for guests sign-in. It is perfect. Jennifer had an assistant with her at the wedding.
  • Jennifer was very easy to work with. My friends and family loved her as well!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Artistic, Modern, and Friendly
02/20/2011
  • Betsy P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One of my favorites was when we slipped out of the reception for a quick 15 minute photo opt while the sun was setting outside. This was Jennifer's idea and we are so happy for the beautiful photos that came from it. The sunset was a beautiful red color and looked great behind the bare branches in our November wedding.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jennifer did a great job with candid shots. She was good at balancing when to get people in order for photos to work out and when to let the day just flow naturally.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had a great package that fit our needs. We had 2 photographers for 8 hours. We ended up adding an extra half hour at the end of the night just to get a few more pictures from the evening. The package came with all of our rights to the photos and more.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jennifer is a friendly and easy-going person. It would be hard not to be comfortable around her.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Very professional, very talented, and just FUN!
01/19/2011
  • Sara N

  • Wedding Date: 10/30/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Jennifer caught us as the sun was setting in the background and we love it. It was the photograph we decided to use for our first Christmas card!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We love all the photos taken by Jennifer. She took great portraits and action shots. Our favorite by far however are the candids she took. Jennifer just seemed to have a way with blending into the background and getting the candid shots that will help us remember our wedding for the rest of our life.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? All of the above. We ended up getting an album, dvd, engagement photos, and had two photographers. Also, Jennifer has been great with getting us anything we ask her for very promptly. All things considered, I feel we got way more than what we paid for by using Jennifer!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jennifer was very professional, very talented, and just FUN! It is extremely obvious she loves what she does making her strive to do her best and that helps other people feel comfortable around her.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Jennifer creatively captures emotion
12/16/2010
  • Jen D

  • Wedding Date: 09/26/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many great ones, but my favorite was a quiet moment after the wedding, my hubby and I sitting on a park bench with me resting on his shoulder. She captured the contented feeling we both shared after our wedding went so smoothly. She also got all the little details in the shot, like our wedding rings, my special Looney Tunes pin from our engagement, and the top of my custom-made veil with our initials on it.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jennifer and her assistant, Carrie, seamlessly blended in and never got in the way. Their candids were wonderful, especially of my mom. She was totally game for our silly ideas, like the wedding party embarking on a paddle boat adventure. And she managed her time so well that we were able to fit everything in.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The two photographers were included in our package, everything else is additional (we haven't placed our photo order yet).
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jennifer and Carrie were very relaxed and didn't make anyone pose in boring, routine ways. She let everyone be natural, which really makes for the best photos.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Creative and Fun Photographer
12/16/2010
  • Pasque A

  • Wedding Date: 08/13/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many to wonderful photos. My favorite is of my husband and I kissing with my families stone barn in the background.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jennifer and her assistant blended seamlessly with our guests, which enabled them to get great candids of everyone.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Jennifer and her assistant was with us the entire day. Included in the package was a dvd of all the pictures and an album.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jennifer and her assistant are very personable. They blended in with all of our guests and family. They took a lot of great candid shots which ended up being our favorites.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Helping a dream come true :)
12/14/2010
  • Alicia J

  • Wedding Date: 11/20/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? This is very hard to decide which one is my favorite but I would have to say probably the one where I am giving my son (ring bearer) a kiss. He will be 3 in February so kids that little generally don't like to sit still for too long.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? She was able to work very well when people were running around the church when they should have been getting their picture taken....I was rather stressed out about and she ALWAYS seemed cool and calm which helped me out as well. I love the candids she was able to take some amazing pictures outside in the windy cold! now that is a hard worker!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I got all my pictures available online and a CD with all my pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She listened to everything I wanted and when I had questions about where we should take some pictures at she was so helpful. I feel she blended in with everyone there and make the whole experience relaxed and just flow beautifully :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Photographer in Minnesota!
12/14/2010
  • Abbigail W

  • Wedding Date: 04/24/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? To be honest, I couldn't just pick one favorite.. we loved them all. I have never had so many compliments on pictures before!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? With only hiring Jennifer (and not her assistant), we were worried about getting all those perfect shots (candid, actions, etc... ) but Jennifer rocked it! She was able to capture all those things that you (as the bride) sometimes miss out on during the day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose to have 8 hours of coverage by only Jennifer the day of the wedding. Jennifer provided us with all of the digital images from our wedding day (about 650 photos) almost immediately.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: AMAZING Minnesota Photographer!!!
11/26/2010
  • Calie D

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Not to be cliche, but ALL of our pictures were incredible...I can not pick just one. Jennifer was able to capture our entire day in photo. She capture our emotions, our personalities, our wedding day. I was thoroughly impressed.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jennifer and I sat down about a month prior to the wedding and outlined all of the photos I wanted throughout the day. Because of this she was able to stay in the background when needed and lead the group when needed. We received a wide variety of excellent candid, action, and posed photographs...and as mentioned above, all of the photos exceeded our expectations. In my opinion, her greatest strength is capturing her subject's emotions, both candid emotion and inspiring emotion for "posed" pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Jennifer has multiple wedding photography packages available to fit your needs. We chose a package that included the digital copies of our wedding pictures, a custom designed album, one photographer for the entire day, and a engagement session at a location of our choice.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jennifer is a fun, yet professional young woman. She had multiple preparation sessions (including the engagement shoot so we could get to know each other) before our wedding so we didn't have to worry about the photography details at all on the big day. She was quick and easy to communicate with.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Incredibly talented photographer that far exceeded our expectations!
11/01/2010
  • Kristine W

  • Wedding Date: 10/16/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Too hard to pick! Jennifer is a true pro that gets the shot 99.9% of the time. Many favorites, including Veil at Sunset, featured on her blog.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? A number of our guests commented on the remarkable work ethic of Jennifer and her assistant over the course of their long work day. We literally did not notice them taking any of the candids and the shots are amazing. For the requisite formals, Jennifer and her assistant maintain a sense of professionalism to make sure large groups of people are where they need to be at the right time, while making the formals a fun experience for everyone involved -- even the crying babies! Our wedding party, along with ourselves, had so much fun taking photos on location between the ceremony and reception, with exceptionally creative and artistic photos being the results.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? All day coverage with two shooters, which included a disc of high resolution images and printing rights. Package was definitely customizable to fit our needs and budget.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We could not have felt more comfortable with Jennifer and her assistant. It takes a very talented photographer to be able to direct large groups and still create shots that capture the raw emotion of the day, which Jennifer did. Jennifer and her assistant have a strong sense of professionalism, which keeps everyone on schedule, but are very fun and accepting, which makes everyone comfortable and natural for photos.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Absolutely amazing! Worth every penny and MORE!
10/16/2010
  • Joy H

  • Wedding Date: 10/09/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have so MANY favorites! Jennifer captured all the beautiful details, amazing artistic photos, and all the love and emotion of the day - from me and my groom, or families, guests, and wedding party! Jennifer captured things that I never even got to see on the day of my wedding. I started today to go through the 703 images she took - after the first pass of picking out the "best of the best" I am down to just 691! She honestly is THAT amazing.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? In addition to her very beautiful and unique artistic shots, Jennifer took the time prior to the day to discuss my "must-have" family shots. This included a large, very-challenging-to-organize family photo. Jennifer was so patient and gracious in getting everyone together, and the results are phenomenal. I cannot express how wonderful it is to have such beautiful and thorough documentation of such a special day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose to have 8 hours of coverage by only Jennifer (she has a fantastic assistant as well). We had also done our engagement shoot with Jennifer, and that certainly helped for both of us to be comfortable and know what to expect. Jennifer provided is with 100% of the digital images from our wedding day (over 700 of them!).
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jennifer is professional, down-to-earth, cheerful, and she is an expert at putting people at ease. She made us feel as though OUR wedding was the most special event she had ever had the pleasure of shooting. On the day of the wedding my family commented on how pleasant and efficient she was, and after they saw the photos, their comment was "She is not just a photographer, she is an artist!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor