Photographers in Rochester, MN: Midwest LifeShots Photography
Midwest LifeShots Photography
Rochester, MN 55904
(507) 424-1044

Our Website



View Our Website in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.9
  • 5.0

  • 41 Reviews
Review: Do it!
07/20/2012
  • Jennifer G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Honestly, there is no way I could choose! Each one was great because of Midwest Lifeshots creativity and expertise.
  • Great with all of the above. I did not feel that the photographers were in the way at all. In fact, they were quite helpful with the whole planning process as well as keeping the day of on track.
  • $250 print credit, but photo albums, dvds, videos etc are an additional fee.
  • Coffee!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Highly recommended!
07/16/2012
  • Emma D

  • Wedding Date: 06/09/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite photo captures my husband and me laughing in the foreground while our wedding party is up to silly antics in the background. It's a beautifully composed picture that still looks unposed and genuine.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Scott and Sara arrived promptly and went to work shooting detail shots of rings and dress while the wedding party got organized. Then Scott spent time with my husband while Sara spent time with me, each blending into the wedding environment to capture wonderful candids and natural-looking portraits. Formals were organized, fast, and easy. Scott and Sara worked really well together throughout the day to get as many photos in as possible, sometimes working with us separately from the wedding party, while other times working with everyone all together. We felt that we had a great balance of candids and portraits and of shots throughout the day. Never did we feel that the pictures were primary; rather, the pictures were just capturing our wedding day, which is exactly what we wanted.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Included were: two photographers throughout the day (8 or 9 hours for us); substantial print credit; USB drive with edited images; copyright release for printing; videography; Facebook gallery; slideshow; and meetings before and after the wedding.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Scott and Sara are both wonderfully friendly, warm people. When working with them, we didn't feel like we were in front of a camera; we felt like we were having a conversation with them. Additionally, my mother is extremely photo-phobic; when we requested that she not be in any pictures, Scott and Sara were totally understanding, even though I'm sure the restriction made their jobs harder. They were gracious and pleasant to us, to our wedding party, and to our guests.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fantastic Photographers!
07/04/2012
  • Emily W

  • Wedding Date: 05/26/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Still trying to figure that out! I love the candid shots from the ceremony where you can really see how emotional the experience was for us. For now, though, I'd say the picture of us kissing while leaning against a brown shed is my favorite formal picture. All of the different colors (white dress, black tux, brown shed, red and purple flowers) just seem to pop in that picture!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I didn't even notice either photographer during the ceremony and they still took awesome candid shots! I've heard some horror stories about photographers jumping in the way during the ceremony and that was definitely not our experience. Scott and Jen were discreet throughout the entire preparation and ceremony and never tried to take over in order to get a candid or action shot. Personally, I've never cared for formal shots, but Scott and Jen were so efficient, the whole process went smoothly - even when we had to gather 50 relatives for group shots! Overall, the candid photos and action shots are my favorites and I didn't even realize I was being photographed most of the time.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received a USB of over 300 edited photos, a slideshow video that contains a short (I think 10-page) album that was also shared on facebook, a larger photo album (I think 40-pages), a facebook album with about 20 edited pictures, and all of our edited pictures were placed on an online server (Pictage) which enabled friends and family to view the photos and purchase any, if desired. We also received a print credit to use with the online server for purchasing individual photos of various sizes. Scott and Jen threw in a few extra gifts for us along the way, too!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Lots of joking! (Always tasteful, of course!) Just overall, Scott and Jen were very laid back and relaxed during the process, which helped me to relax, too. They were great with my elderly grandmother and I think being very efficient to move the photos along really helped our guests and family feel comfortable since they were able to get back to the party quickly. Scott and Jen are very personable and easy to talk to and everyone seemed to get along with them throughout the day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Solid service, great pictures
06/15/2012
  • Scott K

  • Wedding Date: 04/28/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? A closeup of her hands connected behind my neck as we danced to our first dance.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Scott and Jen Elder did a good job of coordinating who needed to be where to document our day. They captured both of us getting ready, as well as our formals before the service (we didn't see each other beforehand, so this was a feat of scheduling). We never noticed them during the service, but they did a great job getting good shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had two photographers on the day, who took thousands of photos and a few video clips. We got the photo rights for the edited and unedited photos, as well as a print credit to choose our favorite pictures and have them printed through Pictage.com. We also had their help in scheduling our day, as well as consultations on locations (many picked by Midwest) and style. Engagement photos were offered but we declined, as we had already had them done by family.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Great attitudes behind the camera. Not just nice and funny, but stern without being mean. It was very useful when we got my entire extended family (all >60 of them) in one photo! I think that everyone had a good time throughout.

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.0

write a review
Review: Best. Wedding. Photographer. EVER.
11/21/2011
  • Emily T

  • Wedding Date: 10/08/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Well, there were over 300 edited photos to choose from, so it's incredibly difficult to choose just ONE, but I really liked the last shot of Brett and I outside the reception hall with the moon in the background. It really looks like something out of a Hollywood movie set. It's so romantic and cool-looking.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Scott and Kat were VERY good with candid shots. Incredibly good... this is actually among the main reasons we decided to go with Midwest Lifeshots, because after looking at their portfolio, I could see that they really do well at capturing a story, emotions, and relationships. I really stressed in our meetings that I didn't want pictures of big groups of people smiling woodenly into a camera. Our wedding wasn't full of a lot of fast activity, so no "action shots" aren't really applicable here. Even though I did stress candid photos, they of course do VERY well with portraits too. With the incredible equipment they're working with, and their natural eye for detail and shot framing, all of the edited posed pictures were FLAWLESS.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My package included two photographers for nine hours on our wedding day. After that, I had access to all raw photos (about 1,800 were taken that day), rights to edited photos (about 300), a facebook album to share with friends, an online album to share with everyone else (and people could purchase prints from here too) small booklet with thumbnails of all edited photos (for ease of album editing), a 30 page spread album (in the works as I write this). We chose not to do engagement photos with them, or a "trash the dress" session, but those are options offered.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Scott and Kat have completely disarming smiles and attitudes. It's impossible to be in a grey mood around them because they are having SO much fun! It really shows how much passion they have for their job. Also, Scott has a process that he follows with every bride, and his professionalism shows. They are aware of many of the possible hangups that could happen throughout the day, and they are prepared to deal with them. They have phone numbers, a schedule loaded on their phones, and an emergency kit (just in case). They aren't "just" photographers, they're pretty much an extension of your personal attendant.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Midwest LifeShots Photography
10/28/2011
  • Jen S

  • Wedding Date: 07/14/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The Midwest LifeShots staff is composed of friendly and professional individuals. Scott and Jen were a blast to work with and captured photos that I will cherish for my lifetime. Not only were the photos that were taken wonderful, the slideshow was absolutely beautiful too. Another great quality about Midwest LifeShots is If meetings are difficult to schedule, the staff is happy to offer a virtual consult over Skype. I am truly happy with my results of working with Midwest LifeShots and am look forward to doing business with them in the future.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? For the package I purchased, I got engagement photos, a dvd and album of my wedding day, and at least two photographers.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Scott and Jen are easy going and so friendly. They were easy to get along with and we had no problems during our photography sessions.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great staff!
09/25/2011
  • Allison S

  • Wedding Date: 08/06/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The moments they captured us having a blast.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We didn't even notice them once the entire ceremony or reception. They were able to capture every moment of the day, even the moments we weren't a part of.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had 2 photographers and access to every photo shot whether the ones they liked or not. They were willing to help us set up the plan that was right for us.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? During our photos they provided me with snacks or beverage I needed to stay comfortable and they let us choose exactly who we wanted pictures with.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great photographers!
09/22/2011
  • Ashley H

  • Wedding Date: 08/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I had so many favorite wedding photos! Scott and Kadi got a great shot of Adam and me on his parents farm. We're hand in hand in a meadow-like field. It's just an amazing shot, and it'll be blown up and on our wall for sure!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were so organized and totally knew what they were doing! They took so many great shots without making us pose, or feel awkward. They were so discrete while taking shots during the ceremony, but somehow managed to get all of the great shots (vows, first kiss, first glance, etc.)
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had two photographers for about 8 hours, and we also purchased a USB with all of our edited and unedited photos. It's great to be able to create our own thank-yous without spending a fortune by going through expensive printing companies.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were very happy, and upbeat. One could clearly tell they loved their jobs, and it was so apparent through their work and their attitudes throughout the day! I love these guys!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fabulous wedding day
09/10/2011
  • Jenna K

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are soo many to choose from. During our consult with Scott, he showed his favorite wedding photo of us and even explained why he liked it. I wasn't expecting it at all. My overall favorite photo of my husband and I is our downtown shot in our "just the couple" session where we are making silly faces that we call "extreme smiling". It just makes me laugh and has a fun, light feel to it.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? People at our wedding didn't even realize the photographers were walking around the ceremony site. They were so quiet about getting the right shot. Everyone was incredibly impressed with their professionalism. They did great with candid shots, action shots, and portraits. I can't say enough good things about them.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We booked EARLY so we got some serious bang for our buck. We received a free engagement session because we booked with a mayo employee discount. We plan to use this for our Trash the Dress session in October! :) We also received a digital slideshow and picture gallery on facebook of selected edited images. We received a GIANT jump drive filled with all unedited photos (2500 of them, YOWZA), a proof book, and online viewing gallery for images.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The photographers felt like my own family. We got a long incredibly well. I loved the subtle sarcasm throughout the entire day. Everyone knew to joke around and enjoy the day. It was perfect.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Midwest LifeShots Photography: A True Class Act!
08/26/2011
  • Kate C

  • Wedding Date: 07/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Midwest Lifeshots Photography was the highlight of our wedding day! (next to getting married, of course...) Scott and Jen were easy-going, professional, and spot-on when it came to spending the day with us and capturing the priceless moments we will cherish for a lifetime. A true class act, dynamic duo!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? You simply cannot go wrong with the Elders. Photography that captures the beauty, mood, and memories from one of the most important days of your life is more than mere talent for the photographers at Midwest Lifeshots Photography. It is a passion for the people they work with, and a heart for the art they love.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included the whole day with two photographers, a web slideshow, online gallery to edited pics, and a USB with printing rights to all unedited pics. We made additional purchases for print credits, a DVD, and an album with our viewing appointmend discount. Also, on a logistical note, we live in Chicago but were married in Iowa. Rather than insisting we make the trip to Rochester for meetings, right away Scott was more than happy to set up virtual consults over Skype with us. This flexibility was a huge service to us, and it really set the tone that Midwest Lifeshots was our advocate throughout the entire planning process. Awesome. Their sense of humor, teamwork, and friendliness put our minds and perspective at ease with everything, from the big step towards marriage to the minor details of orchestrating the day.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? When choosing a photographer, we evaluated mainly on style of photographs in a photographer's portfolio. In retrospect, however, we realized that the quality of photographs go hand-in-hand with the character of photographer(s). In our case, we hit the jackpot with Scott and Jen! Your photographers are there for every moment of the day, and they totally enhanced and added to the fun of everything that was happening.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor