Photographers in Rochester, MN: Midwest LifeShots Photography
Midwest LifeShots Photography
2932 Shadow Dr SE
Rochester, MN 55904
(507) 424-1044

Our Website



View Our Website in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.9
  • 5.0

  • 47 Reviews
Review: Best. Wedding. Photographer. EVER.
11/21/2011
  • Emily T

  • Wedding Date: 10/08/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Well, there were over 300 edited photos to choose from, so it's incredibly difficult to choose just ONE, but I really liked the last shot of Brett and I outside the reception hall with the moon in the background. It really looks like something out of a Hollywood movie set. It's so romantic and cool-looking.
  • Scott and Kat were VERY good with candid shots. Incredibly good... this is actually among the main reasons we decided to go with Midwest Lifeshots, because after looking at their portfolio, I could see that they really do well at capturing a story, emotions, and relationships. I really stressed in our meetings that I didn't want pictures of big groups of people smiling woodenly into a camera. Our wedding wasn't full of a lot of fast activity, so no "action shots" aren't really applicable here. Even though I did stress candid photos, they of course do VERY well with portraits too. With the incredible equipment they're working with, and their natural eye for detail and shot framing, all of the edited posed pictures were FLAWLESS.
  • My package included two photographers for nine hours on our wedding day. After that, I had access to all raw photos (about 1,800 were taken that day), rights to edited photos (about 300), a facebook album to share with friends, an online album to share with everyone else (and people could purchase prints from here too) small booklet with thumbnails of all edited photos (for ease of album editing), a 30 page spread album (in the works as I write this). We chose not to do engagement photos with them, or a "trash the dress" session, but those are options offered.
  • Scott and Kat have completely disarming smiles and attitudes. It's impossible to be in a grey mood around them because they are having SO much fun! It really shows how much passion they have for their job. Also, Scott has a process that he follows with every bride, and his professionalism shows. They are aware of many of the possible hangups that could happen throughout the day, and they are prepared to deal with them. They have phone numbers, a schedule loaded on their phones, and an emergency kit (just in case). They aren't "just" photographers, they're pretty much an extension of your personal attendant.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Midwest LifeShots Photography
10/28/2011
  • Jen S

  • Wedding Date: 07/14/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The Midwest LifeShots staff is composed of friendly and professional individuals. Scott and Jen were a blast to work with and captured photos that I will cherish for my lifetime. Not only were the photos that were taken wonderful, the slideshow was absolutely beautiful too. Another great quality about Midwest LifeShots is If meetings are difficult to schedule, the staff is happy to offer a virtual consult over Skype. I am truly happy with my results of working with Midwest LifeShots and am look forward to doing business with them in the future.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? For the package I purchased, I got engagement photos, a dvd and album of my wedding day, and at least two photographers.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Scott and Jen are easy going and so friendly. They were easy to get along with and we had no problems during our photography sessions.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great staff!
09/25/2011
  • Allison S

  • Wedding Date: 08/06/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The moments they captured us having a blast.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We didn't even notice them once the entire ceremony or reception. They were able to capture every moment of the day, even the moments we weren't a part of.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had 2 photographers and access to every photo shot whether the ones they liked or not. They were willing to help us set up the plan that was right for us.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? During our photos they provided me with snacks or beverage I needed to stay comfortable and they let us choose exactly who we wanted pictures with.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great photographers!
09/22/2011
  • Ashley H

  • Wedding Date: 08/27/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I had so many favorite wedding photos! Scott and Kadi got a great shot of Adam and me on his parents farm. We're hand in hand in a meadow-like field. It's just an amazing shot, and it'll be blown up and on our wall for sure!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were so organized and totally knew what they were doing! They took so many great shots without making us pose, or feel awkward. They were so discrete while taking shots during the ceremony, but somehow managed to get all of the great shots (vows, first kiss, first glance, etc.)
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had two photographers for about 8 hours, and we also purchased a USB with all of our edited and unedited photos. It's great to be able to create our own thank-yous without spending a fortune by going through expensive printing companies.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were very happy, and upbeat. One could clearly tell they loved their jobs, and it was so apparent through their work and their attitudes throughout the day! I love these guys!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fabulous wedding day
09/10/2011
  • Jenna K

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are soo many to choose from. During our consult with Scott, he showed his favorite wedding photo of us and even explained why he liked it. I wasn't expecting it at all. My overall favorite photo of my husband and I is our downtown shot in our "just the couple" session where we are making silly faces that we call "extreme smiling". It just makes me laugh and has a fun, light feel to it.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? People at our wedding didn't even realize the photographers were walking around the ceremony site. They were so quiet about getting the right shot. Everyone was incredibly impressed with their professionalism. They did great with candid shots, action shots, and portraits. I can't say enough good things about them.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We booked EARLY so we got some serious bang for our buck. We received a free engagement session because we booked with a mayo employee discount. We plan to use this for our Trash the Dress session in October! :) We also received a digital slideshow and picture gallery on facebook of selected edited images. We received a GIANT jump drive filled with all unedited photos (2500 of them, YOWZA), a proof book, and online viewing gallery for images.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The photographers felt like my own family. We got a long incredibly well. I loved the subtle sarcasm throughout the entire day. Everyone knew to joke around and enjoy the day. It was perfect.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Midwest LifeShots Photography: A True Class Act!
08/26/2011
  • Kate C

  • Wedding Date: 07/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Midwest Lifeshots Photography was the highlight of our wedding day! (next to getting married, of course...) Scott and Jen were easy-going, professional, and spot-on when it came to spending the day with us and capturing the priceless moments we will cherish for a lifetime. A true class act, dynamic duo!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? You simply cannot go wrong with the Elders. Photography that captures the beauty, mood, and memories from one of the most important days of your life is more than mere talent for the photographers at Midwest Lifeshots Photography. It is a passion for the people they work with, and a heart for the art they love.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included the whole day with two photographers, a web slideshow, online gallery to edited pics, and a USB with printing rights to all unedited pics. We made additional purchases for print credits, a DVD, and an album with our viewing appointmend discount. Also, on a logistical note, we live in Chicago but were married in Iowa. Rather than insisting we make the trip to Rochester for meetings, right away Scott was more than happy to set up virtual consults over Skype with us. This flexibility was a huge service to us, and it really set the tone that Midwest Lifeshots was our advocate throughout the entire planning process. Awesome. Their sense of humor, teamwork, and friendliness put our minds and perspective at ease with everything, from the big step towards marriage to the minor details of orchestrating the day.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? When choosing a photographer, we evaluated mainly on style of photographs in a photographer's portfolio. In retrospect, however, we realized that the quality of photographs go hand-in-hand with the character of photographer(s). In our case, we hit the jackpot with Scott and Jen! Your photographers are there for every moment of the day, and they totally enhanced and added to the fun of everything that was happening.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Phenomenal Photographers!!
08/22/2011
  • Andrea H

  • Wedding Date: 07/09/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The one of the two of us in the alley with the cool spot light technique. It made it look like night time in the middle of the day, and it turned out so great!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Everything they did was awesome! They made every aspect of the photography so effortless and they went un-noticed through the entire ceremony yet we have amazing pictures and VIDEO of the whole thing. They did a truly fantastic job!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got whole day coverage, a 20 page album, teasers put up on facebook, a hosted website for friends and family to order from, a DVD with our slideshow/video, a jump drive with all the unedited images, a proof book, and two amazing photographers + 1 Intern who was also great!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They brought in a "Bride Emergency Kit," which included anything you could ever need... from duct tape to bobby pins it was in there ready for everyone to use! They are such an easy going bunch to work with and they are so friendly with everyone that it made everyone so comfortable and that helped everyone take great pictures!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing to work with!!
08/02/2011
  • Shawn P

  • Wedding Date: 06/11/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite wedding photo was a casual picture that was taken on the patio.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Scott and Kadi did not get in the way at all during the day and in fact they enhanced the whole experience by having wonderful ideas to capture the wonderful moments of the day. They were great in all the photos that they took throughout the day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? In our wedding package we got the services of both Scott and Kadi for all day. We also received all of the unedited pictures that they took throughout the day.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They made everyone that was around them very comfortable. Everyone that we talked to commented on how much they enjoyed the photographers. They did little things like bring an emergency kit complete with sewing kit, medications, and anything else that we might need during the day. Everything that they did was greatly appreciated and we would suggest booking them right now!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Happy Bride
07/27/2011
  • Kate W

  • Wedding Date: 06/25/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have not been able to choose yet. They are all wonderful!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I don't know how they did it, but they did not disrupt anything. They were very helpful with everything! They were awesome with candids and action shots. My mom and my husband's mom would have liked more portrait shots for the Christmas cards but I liked them all.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Flash drive of all unedited photos, 2 photographers, all day package.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were easy going and had fun attitudes.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Midwest LifeShots could not have made our wedding day photography a more enjoyable experience!
07/12/2011
  • Analise K

  • Wedding Date: 05/29/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There is no way that we could choose just one! We love ALL of them!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The photographers were so helpful with everything and made sure the day ran smoothly and efficiently. They could not have been more respectful of our time and the time of our guests.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included two photographers, a full day of shooting, an online album, a video slideshow, a USB drive of all of our unedited images, and a proof book.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We are so excited to show off our beautiful photos that tell the story of our amazing day. Thank you thank you thank you! We are eternally grateful.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor