Sarah Tew Photography
43-01 22nd St.
Long Island City, NY 11101
(917) 374-4346

Sarah Tew Photography



View Sarah Tew Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 19 Reviews
Review: <3 <3 <3 Sarah Tew!
12/22/2010
  • Maura .

  • Wedding Date: 07/18/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There are so many, both candids and portraits, but if I had to pick one it would be a goofing around moment on the street. It's whimsical and arty at the same time - the lines, composition, and colors are perfect, and we look like models. Every single shot is gorgeous, though.
  • Sarah was completely on top of everything. We met up for an hour or so of shooting around in the neighborhood, then did some pre-ceremony portraits, then she handled the huge post-ceremony family shots with assertive grace. Throughout the night she and her assistant were there to capture all kinds of moments, but always willing to indulge various requests for posed shots. Sarah has a real knack for directing without being overbearing and making us feel fake, but mostly she just let us go. The detail shots are incredible, too, and I didn't think I'd care as much about them.
  • Our package was perfect. We had an engagement session a couple months before the wedding, which was a wonderful way to all get to know each other and to have beautiful pro photos of us that aren't bridal. Then she uses those shots to put together a guest book for the wedding and little cards for the guests to remember to check the web gallery, which was a nice touch. I think we had 6 hours total (no getting ready portion), with DVDs, an assistant, an album (which Sarah is waiting patiently for us to get back to her with our favorites), and online gallery.
  • For starters, Sarah's one of the nicest people you could possibly meet. We clicked right away, and, as two brides, it was really important to feel comfortable with our photographer. She put us at ease every step of the way, gently posing us here and there but mostly just letting us have fun, and it shows in every photo. She gets obviously excited about finding cool backgrounds and locations, and both the engagement shoot and the pre-wedding shoot felt like we were all on adventure together. Her pacing is spot-on, so efficient without us feeling rushed, and always made sure we were into whatever particular shot was going on. Sarah's got a positive, upbeat vibe that made us feel completely taken care of and we can't recommend her highly enough!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: photos with style
12/18/2010
  • rachel a

  • Wedding Date: 06/22/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? i have so many... but perhaps a black + white candid of my husband and i at our table... it's artistic... almost looks like we are at a restaurant at a corner table.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Sarah was everything I hoped for in a wedding photographer. She completely understood my desire to capture as much as possible in a candid way and my hopes to avoid the permutations of posing that typically occur pre and post-ceremony.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? engagement pics, raw image files, photographer's assistant
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Her style really jived with the wedding's details, a lot of which were homemade and handmade. She did a wonderful job photographing all of the pieces, and as a result, I have a very complete and beautiful catalogue of the day and all that went into it. I really love her photographic style, and I believe that while it's consistently elegant, she tailors it to each and every wedding she does. Sarah is professional and responsive. After the wedding, she shared the photos within days. Her assistant was also lovely -- competent, helpful and personable. I couldn't have asked for more from the person that was so instrumental in shaping the memories of our day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sarah is like family
12/18/2010
  • Alice G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Of us after the ceremony, on the dock as the sunset.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? From our 'getting ready' images to the last dance, Sarah was great at everything. She wasn't obtrusive, she captured all the shots we asked her to, including a huge group photo at the end of the ceremony from a balcony up above. She went the extra mile to take small family portraits of our guests for their Christmas cards if they wanted, and she stayed late to take wonderful indoor evening shots of the whole crowd dancing. We got some wonderful wedding portraits in several locations right onsite, and some great candids during toasts that family and friends made. All of our friends and family were captured, even obscure relatives. The day is, of course, a bit fuzzy in our memory bc of all the emotion, so it is particularly helpful to have an album of images of all the people who attended.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Sarah spent the whole weekend with us, so we got images of casual family get togethers before the wedding, the rehearsal dinner cruise and lobster bake, and even a few after the wedding. She delivered images to us digitally and opened up purchasing prints to the entire gues list online, we received a beautiful 50+ page hard bound photo album (and she also made copies of for both sets of parents). I'm not sure if she does this for everyone, but it was wholeheartedly appreciated by our parents.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Sarah's laid back but meticulous and professional work was incredibly appreciated by all who attende. She made us laugh and kept a natural pace throughout the wedding day. I never felt rushed or under any pressure, other than to make sure I ate something. Just by being herself, Sarah was a joy to be around and comfortable in her own skin, which made us comfortable being in front of her camera.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Great Find in NYC!
12/15/2010
  • Elizabeth C

  • Wedding Date: 11/15/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We had our reception in Prospect Park and it was rainy. Sarah had us go out on the meadow at dusk and we have a great picture of us in the park and another one of us leanin on the park light pole.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I never noticed that Sarah or her assistant were there. She really blends in and made us feel at ease (we are not picture people but I think the engagement session with her helped). She was easy to work with when we needed family photos and those photos happened at inopportune times. What struck me when we first met with her was her attention to detail and the smaller aspects of the wedding...more of the ambiance and feel. We really liked that and it came through in the pictures we received. I feel like the day was truly documented.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had engagement session, all the proofs, CDs and 2 photographers. In NYC, she is a great deal!!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We had done a lot of research on the photographers because to me this is one of the more important vendors (after all, the pictures remain after the memories fade). In reading Sarah's background and past expereience, we felt like in another world, we could have been friends. I think by having someone who clicked with us, then it was easy for our families to feel comfortable.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing style and so easy to work with
12/14/2010
  • Amy R

  • Wedding Date: 04/17/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We loved the candid shots of our family getting ready, and the amazingly pictures Sarah managed to get with the children in our wedding party.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I wanted someone who could do both the posed portraits our family wanted along with un-posed artistic shots that captured the spirit of the day. Sarah was able to do all of that while being totally unobtrusive and incredibly nice to work with.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included engagement photos, a sign-in book for our guests, albums, DVD's of images, and albums for us and our parents. There are other photographers with similar pricing who will give you gorgeous pictures. What really sold us on Sarah was the value and service she provided. She was flexible on customizing our package, we had an online slideshow of our photos up within days, and a link to our entire photo gallery before we even returned from our honeymoon. In addition to everything in our package she included all of the shots from our engagement session and made a gorgeous video that we liked so much we ordered copies. The photos would have been worth the wait, but I'm glad we didn't have to!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We used Sarah for our wedding in April 2010, and she was such a pleasure to work with. Out of all of our vendors, she was one of the few that was so incredibly organized, responsive, and just plain nice. On top of being a total pleasure to work with, our pictures looked incredible - my family couldn't stop raving about how she was "everywhere" and I loved that she didn't interrupt the celebration to get a shot. Looking back at the photos she captured moments I didn't even know where happening, and were such a treat for me to see afterward.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Photographs and Service!
12/14/2010
  • Shireen R

  • Wedding Date: 10/09/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Sarah took some amazing pre-wedding shots on the streets of Soho with just the two of us. There are number from these that I like. Then again, I also like all the others! She was great with the crowd and we were so happy to see photos after the fact of different friends of our having a great time together.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Sarah and her assistant did not disrupt at all. She was willing to do all the posed pictures we wanted (not many- we wanted more candids) and then she was left to just capture the spirit of the event.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Sarah presented us with a DVD of all our photos as well as a book.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She was great. I highly recommend her! All of our guests commented on how great the photographer was both throughout the wedding and also after seeing the photos themselves.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful experience!
12/14/2010
  • Julie C

  • Wedding Date: 08/15/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There's a gorgeous one where we're standing together at a railing overlooking Sheep Meadow, and she captured when t the wind caught my dress just so, billowing cinematically. She included it in the sneak preview album on facebook (which she posted the next day, LIKE A SUPERHERO), and it was immediately caught our eyes as perfect in every way. We used it for our thank you cards!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? She got everything, and I never even noticed her! A friend of mine got a pic of me as I was entering with my dad, and she was right in front of me, but I had no recollection of seeing her there or anywhere. She and her assistant got each of my guests while doing the ringwarming, beautiful shots of us exchanging rings and our first kiss. She made the group portraits easy, comfortable, and quick. She got lovely details during the getting ready as well. Oh, and at the reception, she let us do a few quick jump shots, even thought it was drizzling.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? She let us tweak a package to include engagement pics, a photo booth at our engagement party, DVDs, but no albums. She had an assistant with her for the ceremony. She surprised us with a beautiful photo book of our e-session, as well as two prints from our couple portraits and a lovely soft-cover book with her faves and the proofs! Overall, she really went above and beyond in everything. We could not be happier!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She was just so friendly and competent! Once we had a great time during the e-session, I felt like we could trust her completely. That's so invaluable!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sarah Tew is the best!
08/09/2010
  • Kristin P

  • Wedding Date: 05/10/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are so many brilliant photos that it's impossible to choose one favorite. My favorite quote from a friend: "OMG, that's exactly how I always imagined MY wedding album would look!"
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I selected Sarah after seeing how great she was with candids - and she did not disappoint! She floated around the room discovering fun moments without ever getting in the way. During the "big" moments (the ceremony, the first dance, the cake-cutting) she let the moments be ours rather than feeling the need to pose us or herd anyone into a particular angle... and yet captured the perfect shot.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our original package included engagement photos, two photographers, online proofing, low-res jpgs of all photos on a DVD + a selection of high-res jpgs, and one album. We upgraded later to include two parent copies of the album.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Sarah is a really easy-going, low-key person - she doesn't let anything stress her out (or at least she doesn't show it!). It is clear how much she loves what she does. Thanks to that you can't help but relax. She uses the engagement photo session to get to know you and figure out what you'll need. By the time we got to the day of the wedding the LAST thing I was stressed about was the photography!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Hire Sarah Tew!
07/20/2010
  • Alexander R

  • Wedding Date: 06/12/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Too many perfect ones to choose!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? see review below
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Albums, DVDs, Engagement pics, two photographers, and more!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My wife and I were married in June 2010 and as predicted by everyone it flew by in a flash. Fortunately, we have the entire weekend and engagement events so professionally documented we have been reliving it almost daily for the past month. After first hiring Sarah, she took the time to really get to know our personalities and hear about what we were planning for our ideal wedding. About a month before the wedding we had our engagement shoot. Sarah presented us with several new ideas potential places she was interested in shooting as well as her portfolio of other engagement sessions. Ultimately, we decided to have an urban and scenic backdrop so we all decided on Highline Park and the West Village. We spent a few hours at the end of a late spring day taking pictures and had a great time doing it. Sarah was really in the moment and was very excited. She directed everything so well and we were thrilled with the end product. After the shoot, she put together her favorite selection of photos that we all completely agreed on for our book. A short time later we received an amazing leather bound book that we used as our guest book at our wedding reception. Leading up to the wedding, Sarah had the timing of our day covered and we certainly didn’t have any concerns about anything besides the weather! On the day of, Sarah spent the morning and early afternoon with my wife and the bridal party while they did their hair and makeup. It was amazing for me to see everything happened on the female side after the fact. On my side, Sarah’s assistant Jeff documented the time with my family and I while I got ready. When it was time for us to have our first look at each other, it was so carefully orchestrated. The two of them coordinated and captured the moment beautifully. We were at a B&B in the Hudson River Valley and it was very scenic. At one point, Jeff was tucked all the way in the woods capturing photos of us from a distance. What was most amazing about their teamwork and execution was that aside from the intimate session my wife and I had before the group photos, we didn’t see them the entire evening. We would have been happy to interact with them, but I mention it only to emphasize that we weren’t cognizant that any photos were actually being taken during the day. However, we were amazed that there wasn’t one element of the day/night that was missed. All in all, our photos were extremely professional and had a real artistic element to them that I haven’t seen in any other of my friends wedding photos. Sarah not only did an amazing job at the wedding and engagement shoot, but also was quick to load all of the photos online as well as put the ball in our court to select our favorites for the books. She also sent us a DVD (in a leather bound case) of every single picture snapped as well as bonus videos montages that we didn’t even know were being taken! The presentation of all of the materials was very impressive. Throughout the entire process, we really got the feeling that this wasn’t just a job for her, but an opportunity to make a couple very happy while unleashing her creative/artistic abilities. Sarah and Jeff were so pleasant to work with. If you’re looking for a photographer for any special event, it’s a no brainer….hire Sarah Tew!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor