Photographers in Asheville, NC: Jen Yuson Photography
Jen Yuson Photography
48 Evergreen Ave
Asheville, NC 28806
(646) 284-4997

http://www.jenyuson.com



View http://www.jenyuson.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 12 Reviews
Review: Jen Yuson Exceeded all of our Expectations!
10/29/2012
  • Rebecca F

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Jen took a shot of my husband and me hugging our two kids right after we walked back down the aisle. We had no idea anyone was there, and she absolutely captured the specialness of the moment.
  • Great with every kind of shot! She took the theme of our day and matched the photography style to it. Jen also took candid shots of pretty much everyone at the wedding. We really have a great memento of the day and all of the people who were there to celebrate with us.
  • LOTS of pictures! Couldn't have asked for more!
  • Jen knew beforehand the dynamics of the family and how we would like everyone to be pictured (groupings. etc.). She sent a very thorough questionnaire before the wedding day that helped her know exactly who we wanted photographed with whom, etc.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Beautiful Asheville farm wedding photos
10/13/2012
  • Matt W

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There's one of my wife standing in front of one of the storage shacks at the farm where we had our wedding. She looks so amazing, but not posed. It's just an amazing picture of her.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jen's portraits and action shots are terrific, but I have to say I'm incredibly impressed with the portraits she took. People often looks uncomfortable in portraits, but Jen put all of us, even our more cantankerous family members, at ease. Everyone looks so comfortable and so happy. She didn't disrupt the day at all; she helped keep everyone in a good mood.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had some engagement portraits done earlier in the year and got a DVD of our photos. We'll be buying separate album in the next month or so. We also had a photo booth that captured some great, silly pictures of our friends and family. There were fake mustaches and word balloons! It was so creative and fun.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jen's so personable. She knew just the right things to say to our dads, our moms, our three-year-old niece. My wife loves cats, so she had everyone in her family say "kitties" instead of cheese. She took the time to really figure out just the right things to say. And she never once seemed stressed out, though I know she probably had 100 things on her mind at once. She's just a consummate professional.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: So thankful to have chosen Jen Yuson Photography!
10/07/2012
  • Lindsay D

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I love so many of the photos but those that really stand-out are a posed but candid shot of my husband and I laughing; a wide-angle photo of my dad walking me down the isle, through the woods; and a candid collage of our family running for cover when it started to rain during portraits.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jen and Shawn provided a great mixture of beautiful portraits, unique action shots, and memorable candids. I think that their talent at capturing the candid moments that transpire before and after portraits and beautiful perspectives of wedding traditions within the event setting are especially impressive. Contrary to ever disrupting the day, not only did they blend while taking photos, but also were an immense help and calming presence.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included two photographers, a photo DVD, album design (with diverse and affordable purchase options), and printed photos.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jen and Shawn made us comfortable by being unassuming but kind and goofy when the need arose. They are wonderful people and a great team.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful Engagement Shoot in Chicago
08/15/2012
  • Marlene T

  • Wedding Date: 09/22/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I LOVED everything about our photos! All of them!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? She knew just what to say to get us to have a picture perfect moment. She's got an eye for capturing the candid pictures, and we absolutely LOVED each and every one. Chicago had an unexpected and abnormal heat wave during fourth of July weekend, which of course was the same weekend as our session. So we had to do the shoot early in the morning, with temps as high as 103 degrees (yowzer!). But Jen knew just what to say and how to say it to get us to have fun. We were sweating our butts off, but in the pictures (due to the heat, not because it was hard work) and you can't even tell! AMAZING! I'd recommend her a thousand times over. I can't wait for her to shoot our wedding!!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jen was great in capturing who were are as a couple. She was professional, super easy going and great to work with! Nothing but the best from her!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: AMAZING Engagement Shoot
08/15/2012
  • Laura M

  • Wedding Date: 05/25/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Jen did our engagement photos and I loved every single one of them! It's hard to choose just one. But the photo we using for our save-the-dates is of my fiance and I sitting on the dock at our lakehouse swinging our feet and laughing. It is just SO US.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? She has a knack for capturing couples as they are, naturally and not forced. She brings your personality out!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We just did engagement photos in NC since we are getting married in my homestate of NJ.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She has my fiance and I feel comfortable from the start! She had us laughing and smiling the entire time. I didn't want her to leave...she was so wonderful!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing!
08/23/2011
  • Rachel D

  • Wedding Date: 08/06/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My husband dipping me on the street with the NC Capital building in the background.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We have so many fantastic candids, action shots, and portraits; I'm not sure how she did it but it worked!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Image collection DVD, albums, parents portfolio; engagement pics, two photographers, and a lot of prints.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Her awesome personality!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: best photographer
06/15/2010
  • Alexis A

  • Wedding Date: 04/24/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite picture is one of me and my husband hugging. The picture is black and white, very vintage and soft looking. It's a very sweet, natural photo
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jen was great with candids, and she was particularly good at managing the posed photos of our very large, extended family
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got 3 proof books, a library bound album, flip book, online proofing, dvd, and two shooters
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jen is fun, sweet, and unobtrusive. Very easy to work with and able to get the photos we wanted without interfering in people's fun

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Don't wait--hire Jen Yuson NOW--she is an artist
06/12/2010
  • J H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The one where I am trying to wipe my lipstick stain off of my groom's lips and it looks like I've got my hand over his mouth and I'm looking very mischievous! I also just love ALL the photos of us at the NC Art Museum park, esp. on the walkway to the Lowe's Pavillion--as Jen says, we do look like we could be stepping out of a Fitzgerald Novel (if Fitzgerald wrote about inter-racial Asian-White couples)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I cannot say enough fabulous things about Jen (and her assistant who is also her husband, Shawn). She wasn't cheesey and in your face--she was friendly and charismatic and friendly and got us all relaxed and smiling and took fabulous candid shots that were artistic and really captured these moments in time--these snapshots that will always make me remember that day as enormously special. She was great with all form--portraits, candids, even some action! Overall Jen is just a phenomenal photographer.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got a pretty basic package--actually one thing I appreciated was Jen's flexbility since we were having the ceremony and the reception/party on 2 different days and she was great about driving from Greensboro to first Raleigh and then Carrboro--and she matched the two different vibes of the 2 different events. We are planning to order a ton of photos and to encourage our guests to do so as well because we support Jen's work/artistic vision.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Jen was just so comfortable herself and clearly interested in us and what our vision was and didn't force her own agenda but rather worked with us on our comfort level which I think matched her own--so really, it was a great fit! Great chemistry with our families and with our guests. And our families and guests raved about how wonderful she was!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: wedding in the woods
02/02/2010
  • suzanne c

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Oh...there are so many. I think my favorites (note the plural) were the ones during the ceremony as Jen captured the light coming through the trees behind us so beautifully. As a photographer, she possesses the innate ability to encapsulate atmosphere and place in her work...which her truly special.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I can't even put Jen and disrupt in the same sentence. Not an issue at all. Jen was helpful in every sense. Our wedding was very laid-back and Jen completely rolled with the punches.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? By far the best part of our wedding package was the handmade accordian-fold proof book Jen created. When unfolded the book stretches several feet and tells the complete story of our wedding day. We look forward to one day mounting it this way in our home.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? It's simply Jen's nature. She's at ease and puts you at ease as well.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Romantic, Atmospheric and Festive Results!
01/30/2010
  • Mic F

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It's very difficult to pin down exactly which photo was my very favorite, but it might very well be one of my bride, Elena, and I kissing just after the pronouncement of our marriage. The lighting was perfect and atmospheric. That's something which stand's out about many of Jen Yuson's pictures. She seems to have a really remarkable understanding of how to capture beautiful natural light. There's another picture of Elena and I holding hands and walking away (as we were leaving the site of our wedding and heading to the reception). That's a powerful image.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Jen was great at working her way around various photographable moments. She worked quickly and her timing was excellent. She was able to find great vantage points and capture each scene. She also communicated her ideas for shots very well and elicited fun shots and natural expressions of happiness from the guests.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Jen made two different photo albums for us - one hard bound and one magazine-like book (of which we ordered quite a few copies). We also ordered a wonderful large copy of the (above mentioned) scene of our kiss, which Jen produced quickly and in excellent quality.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? As I mentioned before, Jen elicited great responses from the guests. She knew how to bring out happy, festive expressions, and her suggestions for various line-ups and poses turned out very well. She has a great eye and fun creativity.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2013 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor