Photographers in Columbus, OH: Ben Barnes Photography
Ben Barnes Photography
3745 Olentangy Blvd
Columbus, OH 43214
(614) 302-6753


Columbus Photographers: Ben Barnes Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 5 Reviews
Review: Really Captured The Feeling of the Day!
01/20/2011
  • Laura G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There are too many favorites to name individually, but the ones I think I enjoy most are the many of my husband and I with the bridal party, just acting silly and celebrating the day. Ben really has a talent with capturing mood and movement in his photographs and I can’t help but smile and remember the feeling of the entire day when I go back and look at the photos. A few people have actually told us that they are some of the best photographs they have seen of themselves and I think it’s because they weren’t doing the typical ‘smile for the camera’ photo shoot.
  • Ben was in sight throughout the entire wedding day, but never obvious and the last thing from disruptive- I actually easily forgot he was there until I wanted to ask him for suggestions, etc. He was there while we were getting ready and stayed to the last song- and didn’t miss a photograph-able moment in between. He is great at candid shots (which I personally think are really the most difficult to capture well). There were no fake smiles, only genuine expressions and moments between people. We did ask for some posed family shots (which he was happy to accommodate) and those turned out beautifully as well. I loved his composition and style for all of them.
  • Wow. I actually can’t believe we had so much included for the price. We got two engagement sessions, all day, all location coverage, tons of high quality photographs of the wedding day (with rights), 3 albums, and 200+ prints. Best price I found for the high quality of art received (and I looked for what felt like a loooong time).
  • I really dislike getting my picture taken and was nervous about being the “center-of-attention” in photographs for both engagement sessions and the wedding. Ben was very easygoing and made the process totally painless. He also made us feel comfortable by listening to us and accommodating our requests while making well thought out suggestions of his own when we asked. Then he just let us talk and laugh and do our thing while he captured it- well. Both of my parents also commented on how comfortable they felt, not really liking taking pictures either. It really helped to have almost zero stress or concern about the photography before and during the day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: An Amazing Fine-Art Photographer!!!
11/01/2010
  • Talia S

  • Wedding Date: 09/18/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? This is tough since Ben took so many shots that captured the most important moments of the day. Ben took some incredible shots of my mom and sister lacing up my corset dress. We had an amazing sunset the night of our wedding and Ben got so many beautiful shots incorporating the color and emotion of the day. I also love our postlude ceremony shots of us walking back down the aisle. He captured our sheer happiness..and relief!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Ben was literally everywhere that anything even remotely significant was happening that day. Most of the time, I never even realized he was there taking photos. He managed to capture the girls getting ready at the salon, the guys getting ready at the condo, me getting in my dress, the groom reading my letter to him, and every moment from before we walked down the aisle to the very end of the reception. He got all the must-have family shots that we asked for. He also got so many great candids and action shots of the wedding party and all the guests. A guest told me they watched Ben unpack all of his photography equipment and begin shooting again upon realization that the reception was being extended for a little bit. That's just dedication!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? An unbelievable wedding package for the price! Unlimited hours on the wedding day and Ben even showed up to shoot the Rehearsal Dinner the night before. Also, a consultation, CD's of all the edited images, online photo store so everyone can view and order prints, 12 matted and mounted 8 x 12's of our choice, 200 4 x 6's of our choice.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I had so many people, both friends and guests, comment on how professional our photographer was. He was incredibly respectful and made sure we were comfortable with him being there throughout the different events of the day. While we almost never even noticed he was taking pictures, he captured every moment of our day. Because he is a fine artist, Ben creatively turned our simple snapshots into amazing works of art. Every photo tells a story, and we are so fortunate to have these beautiful pictures to remember our wedding day for the rest of our lives. I would highly recommend Ben to shoot any significant event in your life!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: The perfect mix of fine art and photo journalism
02/22/2010
  • erin m

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are so many that I absolutely loved, but I am particularly fond of the close-up, candid shots of the two of us during the ceremony. Beside the beautiful composition, Ben also really caught those looks shared between us and every time I look at them it reminds me how I felt that very moment.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I very much appreciated Ben's ability to blend into the background and still managed to capture every bit of the evening. Even during the more formal shots, Ben made it as quick and painless as possible. It was great to have someone so organized and easy-going so we could get fabulous pictures with our wedding party and family and get right back to having fun.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had DVD's of our images and amazing albums put together for us. Being a designer myself, I love Ben's sense of design, composition and style. Everything came together beautifully- we have a great mix of portraits and candid photos -Ben's style is the perfect mix of photo journalism and fine art; he's got a great eye.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Ben's easy-going personality made our day that much more relaxed- he's great to work with-asked questions before the big day and was open to hearing our ideas so he was sure of what we envisioned for our pictures. It was one thing we knew we didn't have to give a second thought to that day- we were confident Ben would do a great job and he exceeded our expectations!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Unobtrusive and Relaxed.
02/09/2010
  • Zachary G

  • Wedding Date: 10/10/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Those taken of my wife and I in the prairie grass at my parent's home. It was the complete antithesis of the typical wedding photo shoot with the wedding party line-up. There was no line-up, there was no stress and the casual action shots looked very artistic yet natural.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was virtually invisible the entire day. After the photo shoot in the prairie I recall seeing him once more during the ceremony, and I didn't notice him once during the reception. I was unaware that he stayed for the reception until I saw the photos a week later. The answer is that I don't know how he avoided disrupting the day, but he succeeded. There were never any "pose" requests; there were very few photos taken where the people knew they were being photographed. There were mostly candids and action shots, but again the action shots were rarely staged.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The photographer for x hours and a disc of all photos. We chose an "a la carte" package.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? By being relaxed and blending into the background. A minimum of posing and adjusting was requested. By not ordering anyone to do anything; rather he asked what we wanted to do and followed us around while we did it. I personally have been in numerous wedding parties and this is the first occasion where this process wasn't a nusiance. His photographry was spectactular and I would recommend him on that alone, but I would also highly recommend him to anyone who also wishes to avoid the headache that can accompany the wedding photo shoots.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Excellent experience
02/08/2010
  • Erica O

  • Wedding Date: 05/30/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have two. One was a shot from the church loft of the entire congregation and another was of my husband and my back as we greeted guests. They were the kind of photos that we can diaply in our home for years and they won't go "out of style."
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? When I looked at the photos after the entire weekend was finished, several times I said "how did he get that photo- I don't even remember that." Ben and I discussed the types of photos we were interested in before the weekend, which really helped because we didn't need to take a lot of time on the day of the ceremony to discuss photos. Ben took a LOT of pictures, so I didn't feel like he missed anything.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package includes Ben and his assistant, all photos on his website with the ability to purchase photos online and a CD of all of the photos.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Ben made me and my family feel very comfortable. My husband and I don't like to be photographed, so it was great that Ben's style of photography is so non-obtrusive.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review