Photographers in Westerville, OH: Julian Allen Photography
Julian Allen Photography
Westerville, OH 43082
(614) 599-1899


Westerville Photographers: Julian Allen Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.6
  • Creativity : 4.6
  • Unobtrusive : 4.6
  • Value : 4.6
  • 4.6

  • 10 Reviews
Review: A little Shocked
01/12/2012
  • Steve S

  • Wedding Date: 10/29/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Julian had some creative wedding shots of us climbing up a fire escape, on bridges, by the Scioto river, and in the middle of road with oncoming traffic. He seemed friendly and punctual. However, my constructive criticism comes from what happened after our wedding day that shocked me. Julian failed to backup our photos which resulted in all of my family pictures getting deleted during the editing process. These are pictures I'll never have and mentioned specifically that they were a high priority for us. I understand that a photographer can't guarantee all shots, but these were family pictures and not just any random shot. A second camera could have been used as well as simply backing up the camera memory cards on DVD's but that was never done. To complicate matters, I wasn't even told about this until after my own inquiry 6 weeks after the wedding. I assumed all was fine and was eagerly awaiting the proofs. If I would have been contacted earlier, I could have instructed him to use picture recover software on the camera memory cards - something he wasn't familiar with. He did offer apologies and compensation of $20 for deleting all of my family photos. In my opinion, I believe Julian demonstrated a lack of due diligence, customer service, and professionalism relative to the price we paid of $2,800.

Overall Rating: 1.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 1.0
  • Creativity : 1.0
  • Unobtrusive : 1.0
  • Value : 1.0

write a review
Review: Beyond Words
08/09/2011
  • Jennifer M

  • Wedding Date: 07/30/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I can not pick just one, there were MANY favorites. Myself and my groom are not photogenic people, but these photos turned out AMAZING! Julian makes you feel so comfortable in front of the camera that the photos just seem so natural and not poised and stiff. Photos of my entire wedding party were awesome, candid shots were fabulous, family photos incredible and photos of just me and my groom came across intimate and personal.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Again, all kinds of photos were taken in each of the categories (candid, formal, action) and they all turned out amazing. Julian literally blended in with our group and did not seem to ever "be in the way". Our wedding party enjoyed being out with him, and he made it more fun versus work.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received a fabulous package, where we received the full rights to our engagement and wedding photos. Julian was with us the entire day for the wedding, he also included the engagement shoot which lasted several hours. We received a wedding album, the option to purchase edited photos from his site. However we also received all edited photos and all photos taken in general on a flash drive. I was concerned about only having one photographer HOWEVER, the photos he takes (and I don't know how he does it) are phenomenal. You would have no idea that only one person was taking these photos. He comes prepared with props, umbrellas (it was rainy on our engagement shoot), anything you can think of he will have.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? His personality is seriously just one of the best. He is so naturally warm and inviting that you just automatically feel comfortable. He is not pushy or demanding like some photographers I have experienced, but he finds the best angles and shots that are meant for you and your fiance. My family, especially my dad, loved him and his professionalism. He makes it a point to get to know who your family is, who is important to you, and the relationships you have with them. All around BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Photographer in Ohio!
09/21/2010
  • Holly K

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite wedding photo was of us stopping traffic at High & Vine to snap a shot of a kiss.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Julian was fantastic with all the "moment" shots and the story telling of the day and of Brandon and mine's personalities. He handled our wedding party members well, and our tight time crunches well!!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Album.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was thoroughly prepared and went above and beyond to prepare. Completely dedicated an accommodating!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Pictures, Memories, Laughs and Class
07/02/2010
  • matt d

  • Wedding Date: 09/19/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Hard to say, but the one with my blind, 92 year old grandmother holding both of our rings in her hand is a hard one to beat. Great idea and a real keepsake! Listen, I am sure Julian can do a boring portrait grouping of pictures like your parents had in the 70's and 80's--you know, the ones that have one side of the family, then the other side, then the groomsmen, then the bridal party--all standing staggered and awkwardly, but WHY THE HECK would you want that when you can have the same shots with an artful eye? One that shows a true zest for life and really shows off the love of the day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Wow, Julian not only didn't disrupt anything, but was able to blend in, disappear and become part of the party when asked to. We had a nice intimate wedding and we couldn't have asked for someone more fun, personable, courteous and clever. His shots included action and phenomenal candid's. We did not video tape our wedding, and with Julian's eye, we don't regret it for a second. Amazing.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Can I cop-out and say that my wife handled this? No clue, but the results were amazing, so much so that my wife's best friend also used Julian for her wedding (much larger) and he did yet another masterful job!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? HA! If Julian didn't have his own family and great dog, we'd adopt him! Really, a great guy, a great dad, a lover of animal who just happens to be the most skilled and down to earth photographer you will ever find. If he has your date open, just hire him!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Pictures we'll love for life, Great Photographer!
09/21/2009
  • jenna B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Oh My, they're all so good! I think my favorite shot might be one of our family by the water. The color, angle and lighting are so beautiful! The pictures really captured the moment. We LOVE them all!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Julian was with us all day and never disruptive. He was so friendly and easy to work with and never in the way, he just went with the flow. There are several candid photos he captured where I had no idea he was even around. He suggested unique and flattering shots, and made sure to get all the most important moments. He's professional and talented! We had limited time for portraits, and Julian made the most of that time.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Online proofs/ slide show, rights to the images, and no time limit! He was literally there for everything! The pictures tell a beautiful story of our family and our day! Such a great bargain.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He's very personable and easy to talk to. Everyone agreed that he was by far our best vendor! We most sincerely recommend Julian Allen Photography!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Excellent Photographer
03/10/2009
  • Rebecca*Jim

  • Wedding Date: 03/30/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite photo was one that was captured in front of the Ohio Theater. We had our Engagement pictures taken on Valentine's day, and he captured the sign of the date behind us..It looks great, and alot of people notice the date being Valentine's Day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Great photographer all around! Weather was chilly, although he did not complain or even try to speed up the session. Great Portraits, and awesome pricing. I refer him to everyone.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? N/A Although, I am looking forward to working with him in a couple of months as my Wedding Photographer.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He has a great personality, and very personable. Julian is down to earth and puts his clients in front of himself.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: My perfect day
03/07/2009
  • tdunlap

  • Wedding Date: 10/18/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are far to many to pic one favorite, however Julian captured our "kiss" in the perfect moment.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He took most of the Pic's prior to the ceremony, we didnt notice his presence until after the ceremony. Excellent with candid shots, that truely captured those important moments.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? meeting with us prior to find out what we wanted, and he did it. He allowed us to choose which shots we wanted. Most important were the prices.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was able to get to know us and find out exactly what we wanted in the meeting prior to our perfect day. THANKS AGAIN JULIAN, YOU WERE FABULOUS.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Gemma
03/07/2009
  • holly79

  • Wedding Date: 12/17/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It was a really natural picture of Brad and I walking out of church, we'd just got married and were chatting together! Totally natural- totally beautiful, brilliant light, brilliantly captured!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Julian had come round before the wedding to chat to Brad and I, so he knew the expectations we had of our wedding pictures. He was totally unobtrusive, taking the portriats we wanted, and then being incredibly relaxed and creative with the other photos we wanted.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Album and DVD
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He got to know us before which really helped, and didn't order any of us around on the day, but worked with us. He captured some wonderful pictures which will last a life time.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: My May Wedding
03/06/2009
  • wens

  • Wedding Date: 01/06/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favourite photo was of my new husband and I sitting down peering through archway. It was shot in black and white, very stunning!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was very organised and polite, and was not in a rush. he waited for the right moment. We ahd spoken a lot before hand, so knew what we wanted.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Albums, DVDs
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The family met him beforehand, he made us feel so relaxed and comfortable, it was as though he was part of the family. very polite and obliging.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: anniversary photos -- fantastic
03/06/2009
  • Allexxandra

  • Wedding Date: 06/07/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our family -- it was a wedding anniversary and we needed great shots as our entire family were assembled. And we got so much more than we ever dreamed. Jules is extremely talented and it won't be long before we can just say that we knew him. This is a great opportunity to have the very best. To have the extraordinary at a rock bottom price.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was agreeable to whatever we wanted and when we wanted it. How lucky we were!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Whatever we wanted but we didn't need two photographers. We'd not want anyone else but Jules to do the pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He's a very relaxed intuitive person. It was a breeze.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor