Photographers in Oregon: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Portland Metro, OR 97202
(503) 936-9469


Photographers: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 4.9
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 51 Reviews
Review: Great Customer Oriented Photographers
02/06/2012
  • Tracie D

  • Wedding Date: 12/24/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • All the family by the 30 foot Christmas Tree at our reception. Unique family "formal" pictures. Not the standard "boring" line up. We wanted unique, they gave us unique ! I also real liked all the themed Christmas with a wedding photos, especially the candids of everyone having fun.
  • Never a disruption, the photographer was part of our wedding. So many pictures I can't decide on the photos for our albums and prints. We already received our photos on DVDs, but they are waiting for us to choose the pictures we want in print and in the albums. We took the Gold Package which beat everyone else we checked out by a lot. We also own all the rights to our pictures.
  • 3 albums, several slide shows, 20 print units (about 60 pictures for us), several collages, DVD picture album. I am forgetting something, but there were a couple more things. One big thing: Mel, the photographer, gave us a gift of an extra hour of his time. Very nice person. My family loved him. Made us smile all the time... He also helped me feel sexy on occassion.
  • We were married on Christmas eve, and thinking we could not get a photographer or they would "jam us" for a higher rate. We thought "customer service" was dead and that "customer-no service" was the new standard. Well, simply put, Absolutely Only Photography was #1 in customer service, great prices and wonderful photography. An definetly, we were not "jamed" on rates. Mel, the main photographer, actually convienced us to book fewer hours because he thought we were booking too long, and even agreed to gratis us the extra time, if we were off an hour (for free). Roger and I just want to say THANK YOU SO MUCH. Big hugs !!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: THE BEST
02/06/2012
  • Dannie D

  • Wedding Date: 01/14/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We asked for alot and we got more than we asked or contracted for. I cannot pick one favorite, there were so many. But push come to shove, I would have to pick a photo in a sequence of 15, after the wedding, romantic and unique pictures of myself and TJ. We also liked many pictures we never expected or asked for. rings in and on flowers, collages that were unexpected and a Modern Bride Magazine cover with us as the stars.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel, our photographer, helped in many things we would have never expected. He even put the lapel flowers on the groomsmen because nobody knew how. He basically helped us coordinator our reception, because our coordinator really had never done it before, and was a friend. He made our family AND me relaxed during the formals, and made it fun. He was cordial, professional and everybody was at ease with the photographer. Most of the time we didn't even know he was there. But he had to be because we recieved over 1000 pictures. Over 30 pictures of JUST the cake cutting for example.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We were on a small budget and contract for a package. It was about 40% less than other photographers, and he gave us bonuses we never expected. Best of all he let us know every step of the way after the wedding, where he was with our pictures and we he mailed our pictures to us. FLAWLESS and HIGHLY recommended on every level.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Mel was professional, yet he felt like the uncle everybody would want and liked. I hate my picture taken, but he even made me feel relaxed and worked with me.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Very Happy
11/11/2011
  • Sophie G

  • Wedding Date: 10/01/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My father walking me down the aisle. There were 15. He was wiping tears away in a couple. Very special.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Never knew they were there except for our formal photography of family, bridal party, family pictures. About 20% were of that type. I don't even remeber Mel being as close as he was most of the time. He caught so many things I never noticed at my own wedding... lots of portraits of people who came and all the kids playing. 80% of the 1,200 pictures where candids, but you would never know that. Absolutely professional pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Ownership rights of all our images immediately. We originally took their basic 5 hour package. But after the recieving our pictures, he gave us a deal that nobody else could give us for albums and extras.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Very professional, calming and fun to work with through our entire relationship. From beginning to after all was said and done. Even called him today over 6 weeks after for advise on frames. Customer services is THE BEST and he is a very nice man. Hope this doesn't embarrase him too much, but well deserved !

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: No surprises, honest and great photography
11/08/2011
  • Hannah O

  • Wedding Date: 10/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I am a professional photographer. I was real picky and looking for the best at the best price and offerings. That being said, I have about 50 favorites. Absolutely Only (Mel) took over 800 images and probably added another 200+ with effects. Frankly we were not even expecting that many. If I was put in a full Nelson head lock and had to pick just one: I would have to pick two. 1) My bridal party in an unorthodox depth pose centered on myself and John. And 2) I am a romantic, and I have to cheat here; our 1st kiss sequence of 10 sequenced images during the kiss nefore, during and right after. PERFECTO !
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Not at all disruptive. Photographer was gentle I directing us to keep us on track and actually made me take a break because I am used to being on the other side of the camera. They flowed with our day and were a big, yet mostly unseen, part of it. Candids of things going on I never had a clue. Catching everything and more. Lots of portraits of guestsm children at our wedding, our ring bearer and flowers girls. Sequence shots of the bouquet being tossed and 5 images of it flying through the air an dbeing caught. John "chasing me" down for a kiss...
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We went with their best package, which was about 30% less than 5 other photographers we were interested in. We recieved 3 albums, full print rights to our images, full size images on DVDs (5 libraries), and free on-line proofing and full size downloading. Our slide shows were set to the music we used in the wedding. But the best was the 3 surprises he gave us for free... collages with "best of" our images, over 300 set to 16x20 and 32x40 300dpi. Before I forget, after our alloted print units we used his on-line sight to order more professional prints at amazing prices for pro prints. I am using that service for my own business now as well.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Professional, friendly, fun. Felt like family. Made us comfortable, relaxed and laugh when needed... Simply the best

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful Pictures and saved us a bundle
10/31/2011
  • Toni T

  • Wedding Date: 09/16/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Frankly, there were so many, but I think the unusual family pictures. They did the usual, but then also others posed in different ways. Very unique and classy. Creative. Of course, our first kiss sequence was also my favorite. One more: John crying during the saying of vows. He is a tough guy, was wonderful to see him at that moment forever now.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Never disrupted, in fact our coordinator was so disorganized, Absolutely Only kept us on track in a friendly, professional and sometimes fun manner. HE got the job done. 12 pictures of the 1st kiss sequence. At least 10 pictures of me and my dad walking down. Multiple action sequences, bouquet toss and garter yoss, cake cutting. All for about 50% of what other wedding photographers wanted.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? So much I is hard to list everything. On-line free with no markup for pictures. I was able to send a link to my family and friends and they could get any pictures ( over 1000 ) to select from with which they could download the original or order at great prices through his processor. Side bar: his processor quality was 10x the quality when I got some from a local processor we all know. 3 albums, very creative. Slide show with OUR music. Over 30 prints. And 5 master disc sets with all of our pictures. He even gave us some surprise gifts. HOLY COW !
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Keeping us on track, friendly and professional. Got several grumpy family members smiling and even laughing. He helped make it a special day for all.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: OMG
10/20/2011
  • Gab S

  • Wedding Date: 09/09/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? OMG... our only disappointment is we only booked them for 5 hours. We got over 800 pictures (they promised at least 600) and got duplicates in black and white, then another 200 special effected pictures. We were very specific of only 50 pictures we really wanted; the usual family stuff, but some real "unusual poses" we wanted. They did all 50 plus dupicates with special effects. Many are gallery quality. Our extra slide show we had had a unique format and certainly isn't the typical wedding slide show with still pictures. We shared our picturesd with everyone at the wedding because we not only had them sign the book, but also give us their email to the free on-line gallery where even Minnesota family can download full size pictures, or even order from a professional processor for amazing prices. We also got a DVD master set of pictures. I think we paid $2.40 for an 8x10 for example, but we got a total of 100 for know in different sizes and different pictures just by using the shopping cart on line. We could even get an size we wanted amd crop our pictures how we wanted. Simply amazing everything. But one thing that was so important is they always called back right away, were on time, did everything AND more we asked without herstitation and with a smile; not to mention like a lot of the other reference, we saved money and got MORE.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was almost invisable, except he seemed to be there whenever there was a need for a pictures. Amazing action candids, creative. He did special portraits that actually made me more beautiful on my day, some technique he has. Best picture we ever took, especially the personal romantic portraits
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? So many pictures, it was hard to pick the pictures for our albums. DVD masters with full size photos, online sharing, downloading and even ordering PRO quality pictures at amazingly low prices. Full print rights. We own all of our pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was professional, yet fun and relaxed, making us all feel comfortable so we could get natural and relaxed photos. His personality works. We liked him, trusted him and was always there for us; before, during and even after. Great service.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Exceptional
10/15/2011
  • Scott B

  • Wedding Date: 10/01/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Abbey Road with Groomsmen and after wedding formals with my bride
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Many portraits, candids and always ready.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I was extremely pleased with the service here. Mel was right on schedule, and in fact he was ready to start shooting before the groomsmen and me were. He knew we had limited time to get all the shots we wanted, and he was very good at directing us and making the whole process more efficient. His prices are unbeatable, the quality of the photos was superb, and he had a great eye for creating elegant shots. You can tell he's been doing this for a long time and he takes a lot of pride in his work. He walked around for 5 hours with three different cameras hanging off him so there was never an issue of batteries needing to be changed and photo ops being missed. In fact, I didn't see him take a break once. The photos also came back in a little over a week....over 800. Plus he did a lot of fun things to them, like black and white with isolated colors, visual effects, etc. In all around 1600 photos to scan through! And there is still more to come, such as a slide show on CD. And one more thing I appreciated was his quick response to questions. Customer service is a big deal to me, and Mel never failed to deliver. 5 star rating all the way
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Personable and friendly, keeping us on track. Family very pleased and comfortable with easy manner

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Everything and More
09/04/2011
  • Stefanie D

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? All of them
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We left that first meeting feeling like we had known them for years. He listened to what we wanted for our wedding and gave us some ideas we had never thought of for our photos.he did not push or try to sell us anything. It was all about what we wanted! We decided before we even got home that we had to use them for are wedding! Mel was are photographer and his wife Jane performed our ceremony. They kept in touch with us and made us feel like we were there only concern. He fit in like one of the family, and went out of his way to make our day the best day of our lives!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Photos, DVD discs of images and slide shows. 12x12 album. On-line proofs, and downloading fill size images for free; easy ordering of additional prints
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We were married on July 2nd. And my husband sets up trade shows so he does not pay attention when he is working(all the shows are the same) but not this time, he Was doing his job and came across mel's booth at the bridal show.he was very impressed by the photos he had taken of other weddings and had to talk to mel. He then brought home some info and told me I needed to look at absolutely only wedding photography! Not only did he love the photos but he thought mel was a great person. So I looked at mel's web site saw his work and then i knew I had to meet him myself, mel was just as my husband had said.wonderful photos and a wonderful man! Then we met his wife, she was just as nice as he was. We left that first meeting feeling like we had known them for years. He listened to what we wanted for our wedding and gave us some ideas we had never thought of for our photos.he did not push or try to sell us anything. It was all about what we wanted! We decided before we even got home that we had to use them for are wedding! Mel was are photographer and his wife Jane performed our ceremony. They kept in touch with us and made us feel like we were there only concern. Then our wedding day arrived and they were early even though it was mel's birthday. We got every photo we asked for and more. He fit in like one of the family, and went out of his way to make our day the best day of our lives! We were so pleased at how everything went, the ceremony was beautiful and all are guests could say was how much fun they had and that it was the best wedding they had been too! In a few days all my photos were online for everyone to see and he even added some special photos for us. Then I selected the pics I wanted for my album and prints and mel added a few more then I had asked for! He kept me informed about the delivery date for my order and when it got here he took the time to meet with us in person to show us the album he created. The prints were beautiful and the album was more then we could have asked for, he even added some special touches we were not expecting.if your getting married you can not find better people,quality or service then absolutely only and wedding services NW

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Faster than a Speeding Bullet. Able to Leap etc
06/05/2011
  • Sally M

  • Wedding Date: 05/20/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Especially because we were elated and surprised that photos were waiting for us when we returned from our honeymoon. They had promised 3-4 weeks, but 2 weeks. WOW. And everything and more that was contracted was done. This guy is like that other guy that is faster than a speeding bullet, able to leap over tall building and more powerful than a locomotive. OK maybe the locomotive is too far; but lide of. We absolutely loved his work. The pictures of Donovan swinging me on the swing, and the way he was looking at me. I just melt. Mel created great pictures from nothing I thought and I wished we gave him even more time to even be more creative.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Never, ever. Early, on time, and help my day go smooth. Over 1000 pictures in 5 hours, 80% candids (photojournalist/documentary styles) in color AND black and white. One thing I have to say, and he has already done this. He promised us that IF he ever worked more on our pictures he would send that to me too. HE DID...
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We recieved our free on-line for life viewing, full size downloading and sharing; our DVDs with which we own all rights (all pictures are full size). We were just married 16 days ago so we have not got out prints yet because we haven't ordered them yet, albums are also pending. The slide show makes me cry because it seems "just like yesterday", ok, ok 16 days ago.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was the only professional I had, and by the way the best priced, that helped keep my day calm so I and Don could enjoy it too. You have to talk to these photographers. I am almost embarrassed to say, he is loveable too; making me smile during some pretty stressful periods, even before the day helping me with ideas. We loved these guys (well there is only one!). I only wish I could rate higher.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Very happy and couldn't be more pleased. 2+ thumbs
05/11/2011
  • Elizebeth T

  • Wedding Date: 03/20/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My standing in front of Jay, my husband, me black and white with brown tones; with Jay out of focus. I also liked the full color version too. He is looking so GQ.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Never disrupting, but an asset to a confusing day do to our poor coordinator. Mel helped a lot.90% of our photographs were photojournalist style, and candids. Great action shots of ceremony and our reception. Sequential pictures of the cake cutting and "feeding" were great. What a mess we made. Fun pictures. I think every family member had their own and couple portraits. Mel made me look so pretty beyond what I even thought I looked.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We only could only afford a basic plan for now. Full rights/full size images on DVDs. Over 1000. And online services with sharing and downloading. He also gets a special hug thank you for the surprise gifts. Mel is not only a wonderful, creative and patient photographer; but we liked him very much as a person too. We will get more albums and other offerings when we sell our house, but for now we wanted him 8 hours. 2 photographers were an option but he convinced 1 was a better plan because of our wedding site.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Are you kidding? Without him would have been comforting. I cannot say enough how he really helped make my day special because be captured the memories in such a pleasant and professional way. His rates were the best I could find too, but they are worth 3 times their cost.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor