Photographers in Oregon: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
13600 SE 215th Ct
Portland Metro, OR 97202
(503) 936-9469


Photographers: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 4.9
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 51 Reviews
Review: My head is spinning
05/03/2011
  • Tyler M

  • Wedding Date: 04/23/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Gosh there were so many. We got our pictures back ijust as we got back from our honeymoon, but maybe my favorite is Tyler bending over to kiss the flower girl, Kari our daughter, during the ceremony. But I also loved our relaxed romantic pictures after the ceremony.
  • Mel blended in with everyone, was never "in our face" and got great close ups of the ceremony never coming closer than 4th row, which was important to us.
  • On line proofs, full size downloading, and orering at great prioces. Full print rights to our pictures. DVDs, full size, of all our pictures, and more to come. One photographer and due to the package we got, we were surprised when we got more than our contract required. These are special photographers and great customer oriented people.
  • We are so impressed that we just had to write this comment immediately. Meg and I were married just 10 days ago, just got back from our honeymoon, and our pictures are already on line, we are able to share our wedding pictures with everyone, they and we can download them and order order the pictures they want if they want. Absolutely Only said these were just the 1st basic corrected pictures, and special effects will also be on line within a week, then we will get our DVD with all of our prints. But even these pictures are fantastic that we can't wait to see the rest. We ordered over 100 prints from his website just a little while ago and paid only $54, and again we have to say, "we got fantastic photography at a affordable cost." We were worried because of our situation, but Absolutely Only came through in so many way for us.. Thank you for everything so far. We have already told 2 couples getting married next year about you guys.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best ever customer service and pictures
04/27/2011
  • Sari J

  • Wedding Date: 02/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? All 700, but if I must pick one. When my groom, James, saw me for the 1st time in my wedding dress.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our photographer was more than helpful. He was a joy to work with.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We own all rights #1. The rest is great, but that was most important. Free online services. DVD of full size pictures, slide shows, 5 albums (3 sets of parents, ours and my sister), over 30 prints. Lots of artistic special effects. Engagement pictures included , done 7 months before where great as well. We had 2 photographers for before, during and after ceremony, then 1 for the reception.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We didn't even know they were there except for the family and formal pictures. Our families thought they were nice and professional, making them comfortable too.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Everything they said and more
04/19/2011
  • Jasmine J

  • Wedding Date: 03/26/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There was a sweet documentary style photograph of my niece holding a flower and kissing my new husband, unposed and just very sweet. But asking for one? There were more !
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? OMG they enhanced my day. We didn't have a coordinator or DJ IFYI don't do it, we IPOD'd it, what a mistake, and Mel saved our cookie. I asked if they would do double duty and help keep things going as sort of a "MC". I knew he was a former well known wedding DJ, and without a second thought, agreed to help. Absolutely Only said they'd do triple duty if it was required. GRADE A customer service
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We are still awaiting our albums, they are due in about 2 weeks, we were married 2 weeks ago; but our package included prints, DVD slide shows, full rights to our pictures so we can print anywhere, DVD library of all our pictures on disc. But the best was the free on-line service. We saw our pictures the next day uncorrected on-line, and then finalized yesterday. We could immediately down load pictures, knowing they would be color corrected and special effected later, which they were. They also included every color picture with a black and white copy. We received over and beyond what we expected.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They loved him... I can say without reservation, without them I do not know how it would have ended up. You have to at least talk to this photographer !

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Exceeded Expectations even more than we dreamed
03/24/2011
  • Danna T

  • Wedding Date: 02/13/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Jeff and my 1st kiss. Our photographer captured the entire sequence and we did not expect that actually. He told us he would get it, and he did. But there were so many great pictures, kind of unfair to ask for just one. We had over 1,000 pictures to choose from and we had about 50 favorites.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We hardly knew he was there except for the formals. He worked with our families in a very friendly, almost "family" like way; got us all relaxed and took some wonderful and differrent formal pictures. Candids galore too. Mel was there when we wanted him to be, and invisible when we didn't. Kinda harsh to say that, but it was a big positive. I have seen very intrusive photographers, and this one is absolutely not. CAtion shots of the bouquet, garter and "my girls" cutting up were fantastic. Cutting the cake sequence was great, we can see every crumb on Jeff's face.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Owning the rights to our pictures and an experienced wedding photographer was our most important critiea. Being the best value was also a major plus. We packaged 3 albums, and 15 units of prints, and 5 slide shows with music. We also rec'd free on-line viewing, sharing and what was real cool is we can order pictures at street prices from his on-line site which saved us a lot of money, especially because my family can get the picture they want themselves. We own all printing rights to all of our pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Frankly, he became my "favorite uncle"... everybody seemed to love his professionalism, friendliness and humor. Absolutely the best. 10 stars, 10 thumbs up !

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We were so very happy with everything
12/31/2010
  • Kimmy K

  • Wedding Date: 10/10/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We were very picky with our choice for photographers. We wanted a special picture we saw about 5 years ago. A sunset picture with beautiful colors, just as the sun was setting. They captured it perfectly. In fact, gave us 15 variations of that one image. We never even asked for that, and were amazed that they went 150%+ for us. We got our pictures in 3 weeks... were were surprised at how fast.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He did not disrupt my day, he enhanced it and HELPED me make it through... I could not have asked for a better person to have taken my wedding pictures. A+++
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? All of our color photographs were also in black and white; and many of the color pictures had duplicates that were special effected. 2 parents albums and our album (huge), prints and DVDs of all our images with all print rights, and what we like the most is their passworded on-line service which saved me tons of times sending pictures to friends and family (I didn't have to because they could download the pictures they wanted) REAL COOL
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was pleasant, and pleasant. Asked everyone to just ask for any special picture they would like... He made me feel like family, and we felt he was family too. Great service, price, talent and wonderful person.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: YES YES YES
12/21/2010
  • Natalie J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? About 200 very our favorites... and 800+ others were good too... but one? OK -- a candid picture of me mugging Tyler after a formal picture. I didn't know my photographer was taking so many pictures I never knew about until I saw wedding pictures 3 weeks after our wedding.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Absolutely NO disruption, in fact, during our consultations we planned everything, except of course, the things that just happen without planning, so I knew what was going to happen with our formal photography 95% of the time. FANTASTIC CANDIDS and way more than I expected. Lots of action shots. Our portraits after the family pictures were great and I wish I could put them ALL on the wall... we did make one 24x30 print from his on-line service for $15...
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Prints, parent and our album, DVD, rights to all of our pictures, internet viewing, sharing AND ordering. Amazing rates to go along with amazing and wonderful professionals to work with. Couldn't have asked for more.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Being there when needed, friendly and almost like family.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: 10 STARS for the meories of our SPECIAL DAY
12/11/2010
  • Kendal K

  • Wedding Date: 11/20/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Not just one, but all Joe's and my private session after the ceremony. We also LOVED the cute bride (me) talking to my flower girl before the ceremony... very sweet. Relaxed, comfortable, unpressured and natural. I have to mention that I was concerned about my not seeing myself as pretty, but Mel's talent (posing, natural approach and post production) was intrumental in making me look like a beautiful bride is most important to me, and he suceeded. Thank you.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Absolutely Only Wedding Photography integrated well into our day. Being there when he was supposed to be, and blending in with the event for candids and other pictures like the cake cutting. 100s of candids and really told the story of my day (our day) and fun to see things I didn't notice with the talented candid captures on film. Some actually surprised me. Many action shots: 15 of our 1st kiss, sequence of 12 shots of throwing my bouquet, and multiple exposures of a shot we really wanted. Portraits of me and Joe are romantic and will be on our walls forever.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had a 2nd photographer just for the ceremony, but 1 photographer there the entire day from getting really, to the leaving by town car at the end. We will receive parent albums (2) and our 12x12 album. We just received our pictures on DVDs (2 DVDs full of pictures, over 1000) and can see then on-line. Our engagement session was included with out packages and was at 3 locations (Rose Garden near zoo, Rose Garden N. Portland and the Grotto). We even received a gift not expected with all of our pictures in black and white too...
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? All I can tell you is I have heard NO COMPLAINTS and only compliments. I have been told Mel was courteous, fun and personable... and I felt as though he was family. Good people, professional and gave us more than we expected. Rare these days !

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: All GOOD and BETTER
09/19/2010
  • Andi M

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Absolutely Only did this photo of the ceremony from ground level and about 50 feet behind us... very usual and very nice. Everybody who see it says WOW. We also liked our picture in front of a huge fountain with my husband doing one of those movie kisses bending me over.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The day was planned as best it could be and Absolutely Only stayed with the plan. They were a big help, not a problem or disruption at all. In fact, so of my other "professionals" didn't seem to know what to do. Mel even cut our wedding cake after he took pictures of us cutting it.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We have only received our pictures on his on line service so far because we got married just 2 weeks ago, which is great because Shane is in the Army and is going opver seas so he can see them anytime he wants. He are also getting a MILITARY discount for his total package with albums for each of our parents and one for us; slide show and many prints. What you don't ask is all the unspoken great things... like being professional, yet fun to work with. They also photographed everything WE wanted and he did some things we hadn't considered. AND his cost was about 50% of other [photographers we checked out before we hired him.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? All I know is he had them cracking up, relaxed and they said it was the most fun than with any other photographer services they've experienced. I believe it because my dad was even smiling in some of the pictures. Mel actually got him in the 1st ever photo of him laughing wildly. We liked him a lot. He is the kind of person I would want as my friend. Kind, warm, funny yet professional.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Unbelieveable Photos
09/01/2010
  • Mi J

  • Wedding Date: 08/06/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Mel had us get comfortable and we did some casual photos first, and OMG they were the absolute best. The one I like the best is (it is hard to describe) but I am leaning into Ted with my hands on his chest, he is holding me and I am looking into the camera. I never looked so sweet, but sexy. Amazing photo. But there are at least 100s more, but that was my favorite. Ted liked any picture of me (I think he loves me).
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We wanted him to basically be our photo coordinator. We had at least 12 shots we REALLY wanted. Sunset pictures, my aunt and me, etc. A 40 member family portrait was the hardest, but Mel is funny in his direction and made everybody listen and laugh at the same time. He is able to get smiles out of people we have never seen smile much. Disrrupting? No. Other than the formals and the special pictures I wanted, we hardly knew he was there. We are still amazed at how he got over 1,000 pictures of our ceremony and reception. I only really knew he was around when sometimes I saw a flash. It was really cool because I knew it was him because I had banned guest cameras from my wedding because of what I saw at other weddings EXCEPT for MY photographer I was paying for. They have a service where my family and guests (if I give them a web link) can get any of the pictures he took on line for no charge. That was and IS "way cool" and free. Portraits were fabulous, the best I had ever had. Over 700 candids of my day. Action shots? Like bouqet toss, cake cutting and garter? Yes. But the ones I liked especially were us being weird. He seemed to be in the right place at the right moment. He captured pictures of stuff going on I didn't even know about.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? A special album for Ted and me. 3 parent albums. DVDs of all our pictures, we own all the rights to our pictures and even threw in all in color and and turned all into black and white as well (that was important to me) and over 400 pictures with special effects. THANK YOU, Mel. We had him for 8 hours and a 2nd photographer for the ceremony and formal pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My aunt asked me if he was married. That probably says it all. Mel is exceptional professional, AND has a sense of humor that put my family at ease. It also shows in the pictures. Everybody was having a good time. His second photographer got some unusual angles and also was like family. Great company and people to work with

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: STOP LOOKING Hire these guys
08/28/2010
  • Mary S

  • Wedding Date: 08/06/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite? How about favorites? Probably the "casual" couple pictures on a bridge. But there were so many, this is an unfair question. His photos truly told the story of the day. Rich's favorite (he is weird) was me almost smashing the cake on his head. It was cute though.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? No way was he disrupting. Except for the formals we hardly knew he was there. Mel actually helped keep us on track because the day was pretty much a whirl wind and blur. He was almost our wedding coordinator because the one we hire didn't seem to know what to do. Mel helped her alot... Mel is morre than a photographer. I think he had over 15 years of doing weddings and it shows.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? On-line viewing and downloading, our album and 2 parents albums. RIGHTS to our images with no limitations. 20 prints of our choice. Almost 1000 photos (his contract said a minimum of 400), special effects and original pictures, all done in color and black and white. 4 sets of all our pictures on DVD. 2 photographers were an option. Our engagement session was magnificient and more than we expected.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I really don't know where to start. My family thought he was fun and professional. My grandmother wants to "go steady with him". Rich and I loved everything thing about Absolutely Only. The price, the service, the quality of photographs, the quantity, the variety and especially their flexibility. Our only regret is that we didn't follow his recommendation and not party the night before. Even though I had a raging headache, Mel was patient and didn't push. In fact, except for the formals, we didn't even know he was there. One photographer charged 3 times more, and most where 2 times, but all were higher (at least 9 wedding photographers were looked at). It is funny, I didn't want to go "for the price" because my pictures were too important to me. More important than anything else except maybe my dress. But it just happened that the best photographer we found, happened to be the least expensive when we compared everything and the final cost. Mel seems to actually enjoy his work and you can see it in his creative pictures, along with the formal stuff. We are proud to recommend without hestitation, Mel of Absolutely Only Wedding Photography. One last thing: Our wedding albums was very cool and my mom cried when she saw hers. Rich's parent got one too, and we have the option to get as many as we want at cost. Owning the rights to our pictures is probably the best along with the on-line downloading and viewing for our family which is free as well. Mel, "thank you" so much.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor