Photographers in Oregon: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Portland Metro, OR 97202
(503) 936-9469


Photographers: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 4.9
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 51 Reviews
Review: GREAT service & pictures I just had to write
08/19/2010
  • Margaret J

  • Wedding Date: 11/28/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • Almost silly, but my favorite was all the cake cutting pictures. Absolutely Only caught every second of the sweetness and sillyness of it. I didn't plan it, but Sam got it all over his face "by accident". Mel helped us through the cake caking and we would have never known what to do, even saving the top layer for next year. Sam liked the special effects, about 400 out of over 1000 pictures. I also have to say all of them as well because we own the print rights to them. Oh, I also liked the retro style special effect like a 1950s magazine... very special. They are so creative it blew my mind and didn't expect the results we got. They are so good and they don't charge enough. Of course I told them that after my wedding.
  • Mel was "here, there and everywhere" as the Beatles say in their song and other than several specific pictures we really wanted that had to be timed for sunset and the traditional posed pictures, we hardly knew he was there. We didn't know why he wanted our rings for about 10 minutes, but we where flabbergasted in a very good way with the pictures he took with our rings in my bouquet. His "candids" showed virtually every aspect of my day. How one photographer can be everywhere and not be noticed still amazes me. Like I wrote action shots of the cake cutting, every second of it; over 40 sequenced pictures of just our 1st kiss and placement of the rings on our fingers. Leaping pictures of my bridemaids and groomsen were fab as well. The sequence of my bouquet flying thru the air. Wonderful.
  • We recieved 2 parents albums, and a large album for ourselves. 5 sets of 2 DVDs with pictures, full sized with print rights. Over 30 prints were included in our package. On-line proofs with downloading and sharing. Slide shows. Including and not expected: he HAND delivered our prints and albums to us. That was very special. Especially since he had reminded me many time through this last year to send me the numbers of the pictures we wanted in the album. Even thoough his contract said 30 days after getting the proofs he needed the numbers, we procrastinated for almost 8 months and he still got us our albums and why I am writing this so late. We are so impressed with the before, during and after services. Special people, they are.
  • We all wanted to adopt him. Fun, professional, regular people. I was worried after going to several weddings and seeing the snotty photographers. Not this guy. He helpped make my day; less stressful and much more fun, even during the pictures we had to pose for. Like another review: my only regret is that we should have hired him for more time after seeing the wonderful results we got in such a short period of time. How much more and even better could they have been? Is there better than fantastic? Maybe! My suster is booking him for her wedding in 2011 or 12.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfect , A1, 10 stars plus
08/14/2010
  • Kalina W

  • Wedding Date: 07/02/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? If I had to pick just one: my great grand mother who is 94 and us (4 of them) together alone. I really like the romantic huggie type formals with Jefferson which didn't seemed posed because of the way they do it. "Just be yourselves" and we got over 50 pictures of just that part. Same with the familiy pictures, before the pose, the formal shot and then some after we all relaxed. Some very funny things happened then. We were a little worried before we booked with them about our photos because we are African-American and everybody seems to not get our color right. Too dark pictures and hard to see our faces, etc. Well Absolutely Only was fantastic. Best pictures ever of us, my family.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were there when necessary and hardly knew they were there when not doing the formal photography of us and our families. Ober 900 candids and 300 formals with some having special effects, actually a lot of them. Free ON-LINE proofs and free downloadable photos of all our pictures. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about their experience, the quality was terrific and we should have had them for our engagement pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Their prices are the best we could find. We also own all the pictures and used his recommended processer also with graet prices. Computer DVD of our pictures, prints, 3 albums (our parents love theirs) and ours was bigger and very nice. Very contemporary. They also gave us 2 gifts of every picture in black and white, and again in email size (not on the contract).
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We were a little worried about our photos because we are African-American and everybody seems to not get our color right. Too dark pictures and hard to see our faces. Well Absolutely Only was fantastic. My family liked him too. He blended in just fine.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful wedding pictures, + more than I expected
08/11/2010
  • Alice T

  • Wedding Date: 07/03/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Of all the pictures I cannot select just one. Maybe a 100 favorite out of 1300. But even those were nice to good, some fantastic. Bruce likes the one showing me like a Hollywood Bride, back to camera, upper half turned showing my "curves" and me looking back. We were married on July 3 and recieved our pictures and albums, and slide shows today. WOW WOW WOW ! We had already seen our photos earlier because they have on-line services were they are uploaded. We also ordered pictures on our own thru his site that we didn't get for our package, but we can get as many as we want from his on line or order by ourselves with the 2 DVDs with all of our pictures. We didn't expect so many special effects along with all the originals pictures. Absoloutely's prices are also the best around. We came from Arizona and had a hard time finding a reasonably priced and PROFESSIONAL photographer, We are lucky we found Absolutely Only. Thank you. Everything is very nice and well beyond our wildest dreams.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We wanted pictures, we didn't care, but to answer the question: they did what we wanted, asked and more. They did even more. We love them as people and our photographers.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVDs (5 sets) of all our pictures and extra ones with special effects, 4 albums, 20 prints, on-line downloading and sharing with family (THE BEST) and ordering at regular street prices (we already ordered some, better pictures that local print makers, and price was even better). But most important and not contracted was their service. I must have called them 10 times before booking and never did I feel I was imposing. Then I am sure my 30 calls before the wedding was a bit much, but I would have never known it from their voice and personalities. Very nice folks.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My mother thought he was a family friend taking pictures. Not sure why she thought that, he had 3 cameras around his neck. He must have just blended in. During the formals he made it fun and less stressful.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best wedding... and best pictures of us
08/07/2010
  • Letha J

  • Wedding Date: 03/13/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Mine was Stu smiling because he always wants to be the "tough guy" in photos, but Mel caught him many times enjoying himself. His, the first sight of me walking down the aisle. He also like the outdoor groups pictures. So did I.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel WAS PART of our day. He made us comfortable and never was pushy. Always polite to a fault. 100s of candids of things I did I had forgotten and I don't remember he taking the picture. Many action shots too passing off the bouquet, 1st kissing, guys jumping as a group shot, girls girls throwing their bouquets in the air; just endless action shots,
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? All were no extra cost. All the printing rights to our pictures, that were all on DVD and on-line, where we can also download big pictures. Great for our family, several slide shows, 3 albums plus we are ordering 2 more at cost. No engagement pictures because we lived in Vernonia before the wedding and really didn't need them. We only wanted 1 photographer, but they could give us more if we wanted. I could ask for more, and we actually got more than our package called for as a gift; plus we saved over 30% from the other photographer we were looking at; and Absolutely Only's work was better and we got more.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He made some people smile that I have never seen smile before, including Stu, who never smiles (sadly). He is polite, courteous and even funny sometimes. He make us feel special.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: THEY gave us MORE than just on the contract
08/02/2010
  • Maggie T

  • Wedding Date: 07/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite photo was the 1st bride/groom viewing each other before the ceremony; but they also got Tom's first sight of me during the ceremony (a real bonus). One photo is unfair because we wanted photo-journalist style, and got over 1,000 photos; but also received all in colour too. We also got more than contracted photos of traditional and formal. His posing was classic, but then did so unusal creative, almost avant-guarde styles. We also liked the Abbey Road walking across the street with my bridesmaids. Tom also liked his and his guys version too...
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were part of our day telling us whenever needed to just look around and they would be there. They were very professional and followed our guidelines and flow of the day without any disruption. My family was disruptive with their taken photos however and they went with the flow. Maybe that's why they liked them too, and after 10 hrs that is saying a lot.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Several 8x11 flush mount albums, just getting them today and all I can say is WOW. Made me cry remembering my day (in a good way). DVD slide show with our exact music we had during the ceremony and special dances. About 30 bonus prints, all different sizes. The most important is we own all the print rights to our pictures so we can get reprints at regular local rates. The best yet: ON-LINE proofs and downloading for me and my family, savings me a lot of time and effort. ALL for under $1600. Nobody else could touch their rates that we saw.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Very polite and advising them that all our pictures would be on-line so they didn't have to take pictures but could if they had to. I was especially moved with his helping my grand mothers move up and down stairs. About 6 family members asked them to eat with them... my mom calling Mel "Mr. Sweet". They liked his sense of humor, and his actually making a stressful day somewhat fun during pictures.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Want to tell you a story... a wonderful story
07/21/2010
  • Toni P

  • Wedding Date: 11/28/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The story is Mel did my mother's wedding when I was 6 years old and never forget her wedding pictures. Back in those days I remember he had a MONSTER camera (I think film) but pictures were so beautiful when I was a child, and so precious now, because she has passed away. Well, I knew I had to have him do my wedding some day, I was so lucky to have found him, because his studio's name was something like "Forever More", but I remember his name, did a google search and there he was. My day was in November of last year. And even though my mom's pictures were and are the best still... mine are even better. Sorry Mom. If I had to pick just one: Sunset picture on the beach, holding hands and looking at the waves.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I wanted HIM to do my pictures, and I did care about what your question asks. But he did not disrupt the Almost too many candids... to choose is almost impossible a task, a fun impossible task. John and my portraits are real special to us, except the scrunchy nose one of John who was mugging for the photo... He likes it however.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My mother paid over $3000 (over $5000 in todays' dollars) 19 years ago, mine was about $900 in those 1989 dollars, today dollars 2,400 about for over 18 hrs... We got his largest package (and he gave us 2 extra hours as a memory to my mother thing) which was MUCH LESS when compared to 1989 dollars my mother paid, with a lot more stuff.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He is more than a photographer to me, even though his rates and packages are the best when (sadly) I did compare and would have used him anyway. He is so kind, and without be sappy... shows his love towards us in give photographs. Artist is too minimalist of a word for him... is there a better word. Mel will hate this review... and I don't care. This is how John and feel. I only hope he is around when MY DAUGHTER gets married some day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Our wedding was DYNO-MITE and so were Pictures
07/20/2010
  • Mike O

  • Wedding Date: 02/27/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our daughters (3 and 5) throwing flowers (not just dropping) as the flower girls. My new brides: She says pictures of me, but I think she likes the romantic after ceremony pictures the best. Frankly we liked the special effects the best, except for the formal pictures of family members we rarely see; even one from England.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Disrupting? No, never, in fact they helped keep everything on task gently. Over 500 candids, and 200 more formal pictures with portraits. One portrait of me I never even saw the photographer, best of them all because I have a "camera smile". They knew that so got a lot of pictures with me knowing by clicking the picture before the count and after I thought picture was taken. This photographer KNOWS what he doing. I didn't want to do one picture becomes it seemed "cheesy" but my wife made me, and it is now the picture over our fireplace and I really like it.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? On-line downloading of big pictures, we can send a link and family can download to their computer or order on line (great savings) especially for Nathan and his family in England
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Friendly, professional, made us smile sometimes by whispering to us something... My wife doesn't like to smile, so he did some without and then "maybe you will like them" had us smile. Whatever we wanted. He even told us how the cake should be cut because nobody seemed to know even at the facility, and even helped my grand mother go up and down steps... very nice guy and like part of the family. He thanked US for allowing him to "shoot our wedding". WE THANK HIM !

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: wonderful start to the NEW YEAR
07/19/2010
  • Melony T

  • Wedding Date: 12/31/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One? If I say one, my husband will be upset, and if I say the other my dad will be upset. So... I liked all the portraits of my husband and me after the ceremony, especially the artsy ones with black and white with something in the image having color. I liked the pictures of the father-daughter dance, and him walking me down the aisle.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel was not disruptive at all. In fact he was very helpful keep us on schedule without being pushy. Over 500 candids of our entire day. Lots of action shots. Many portraits of me, my husband and together... absolutely wonderful. I can't say enough. A+++++
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Slide shows, albums, DVD with all our pictures and rights to them. 30 prints. On-line website (which is GREAT)
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My mother was taken by him, giggled all the time. Had some trouble getting her to stop. My family was VERY comfortable with him.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sometimes it can be too good to be true
07/18/2010
  • Tammie A

  • Wedding Date: 05/07/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Well, I have to say two. Zeke's face when he saw me for the 1st time in my dress walking into the church during the ceremony and one very very nice special effect photo of all my brides maids and bouquets colored, but everything else black and white. But this question is kind of unfair... we loved 99%, but those 2 were my favorites. Zeke liked our casual private intimate formals after the ceremony the most.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They went with our flow. Our DJ was less than perfect for annoucing and changed things, but Mell didn't blink and got everything we wanted and more. We were also late, but he got everything there too... We received over 800 candids (almost like a documentary of everything that happened that day) with the 300+ formals. 15 pictures of my bouquet going thru the air. 10 of the garter... and more than 15 of our 1st kiss and then a dip.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We own all the pictures, evben though we got some prints with our package we can get even more with anybody who develops the prints. Several DVD slide shows. 3 flush mount (?) albums, 2 for my parents, 1 for his and one for us... and more if we want at cost. We also got a fun "bobble" head of us for the wedding since her had done our engagement pictures too.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Let me just say, "he was like family" in a good way. My aunts still talk about his been fun and gracious... I remember they had to say good bye to him. He was always worried that I would get tired, so her always checked on me and I took breaks when necessary. Nice nice guy...

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We were very happy ! 2 thumbs up, WAY UP !
07/13/2010
  • Jim J

  • Wedding Date: 05/15/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Mine was seeing Jennie for the 1st time walking down the isle. Jennie's was "different family and bridal party pictures" styles we never saw before, and they were fun to do... the traditional poses were nice too. There are just too many to pick one.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Very courteous BUT fun, making us feel relaxed. Hardly knew he was there. Actually both photographers were very personable, unobtrusive yet keeping us on track. The day just flew by and we were grateful they did that. OMG hundreds of candids including pictures of stuff I still don't remember but must have happened because I have the pictures... very artsy and photo documentary in style. Lots of action shots --- the kiss, walking back from the ceremony, bouquet and garter shots were fun... lots in the sequence. He also had us walk together... I especially liked the ones of Jennie and me after the ceremony being by ourselves holding hands and just walking. The sequence of the groomsmen and me jumping was cool too. Wonderful individual and together portraits. Jennie was concerned about a certain facial feature and Mel was wonderful in reducing her concern with certain posing.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVDs with rights so we can print our own anywhere. We also recommend the service he recommends because it saved us money and they were fast; we order from his on-line proof site. That on-line site is worth the price of his service alone... Many prints, 3 albums (1 for us and 1 for each parent), we are also ordering a very nice traditional album at cost ! They used the exact music we had for our slide shows. Our engagement pictures were part of the package... very nice too.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Mel and Jane are very engaging and pleasantly fun photographers; making everybody coomfortable and SMILES all around.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor